TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Interview: ‘Ireland’s EU Presidency will make no difference’ – Shane Ross

The independent TD tells TheJournal.ie that Government ministers are in denial about the depth of our crisis.

Shane Ross
Shane Ross
Image: Photocall Ireland/Eamonn Farrell

As he appears in Four Angry Men, Shane Ross TD spoke to TheJournal.ie’s Christina Finn on why the government should not be happy with their ‘best in class’ award from the EU. He said:

THE PEOPLE OF Ireland are deeply angry. While the Irish people are looking for anywhere to vent their frustration, the government are off receiving pats on the back for their “good work” and congratulating themselves on implementing austerity on their own people. People have nowhere to voice their discontent – Joe Duffy can only take so many callers, you know!

Not only are they angry, but they are disheartened. They voted for change and it never happened. It is the same thing. One government changes, but the people see no change in economic policy, European policy or cronyism. The faces have changed but the game remains the same. They are taking the same measures as the previous government and people are totally disillusioned by it all. The great new dawn people thought they might get, is dead and gone. I hope in some way to sow the seed of radical and alternative thought.

Start the dialogue

The people need to be listened to. The Government aren’t listening so I hope to get the people talking at discussion groups around the country. So that finally we hear what they have to say. People need to be given a platform where they can voice their views. While myself, Fintan O’Toole, Nick Webb and David McWilliams will be belly-aching at these events about what is happening in the country, what is important is we pass it over to the people. There needs to be a dialogue started so we can see where we can go from here.

I think it is very simple; we need to dig our heels in on the promissory note, which is €3.1 billion and due to be paid over in March. We need to say no, we are not going to pay that, we are going to park the payment. We are not going to default overnight. The Government think that by negotiating the interest rate we will get a good deal, but we are delaying the inevitable. The Government’s negotiation has been weak in the EU. We have essentially taken a few crumbs that they have thrown at us and the Government pass this off as progress.

Denial

We need to tell the EU and Merkel that we are parking the payment in March and it is better that we do this earlier rather than later. Soon this has to dawn on the Government, they must know that this is an inevitability. They were hoping that something would turn up, they were expecting super growth, but this hasn’t happened. Growth has continually fallen year on year, so whatever they were hoping for is not going to happen now. They are in denial – they should be refusing on the repayments and telling Merkel that this is now a crisis.

We have opted for a subservient role in Europe. We have been flattered by being the poster boy of Europe. Ministers love being lauded in Europe and internationally we are recognised as posing for the image of austerity. Ministers seem to think this is a good thing because they believe this is the way to get what we want, but it’s not.

Ireland next year will host the European Presidency, with some people thinking that this will make a difference to our negotiating stance in Europe; that this will somehow change things and give us more clout in Europe. But it is all theatrics. Ministers will enjoy the year, chairing meetings and getting attention, but in the reality of power, it wont change things, not at all. It won’t make one iota of difference to our situation.

Shane Ross is an Independent TD in Dáil Eireann, a journalist and author. He will be taking part in Four Angry Men - Debate the State of the Nation, which will examine the current crisis and debate where we should go from here. David McWilliams, Fintan O’Toole, Shane Ross and Nick Webb will debate the issues with Olivia O’Leary. The debates have already taken place in Cork and Dublin, but one more debate will be held in the Radisson Hotel, Galway, Sunday 2 December at 7.30pm.

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• Time to get the Irish people thinking about what they should do!
    Should they try to have the payment stopped in March, if so how can it be done?
    Do we vent our anger like the Greeks or do we sit tight and do nothing (as we have been doing so far)!

• When we understand that we are supporting the institutions that are acting contrary to our interests; then we understand that we are complicate in our own oppression. The most effective resistance is to refuse to continue to bear the burden of our oppressor.

Nobody can hurt me without my permission.
      Mahatma Gandhi quotes (Indian Philosopher, internationally esteemed for his doctrine of nonviolent protest, 1869-1948)

• I wish I could have put it so succinctly as you have!
      Good quote too!

• Come January the 1st 2013 the Irish people should be out on the streets showing Europe what we think of those that rule us.

• We are being asked to pay property tax on properties that are heavily mortgaged to the banks? This doesn’t make sense , many properties are in negative equity and have little capital value. The banks themselves , in spite of being told to make manageable repayment arrangements with their customers continue to make unrealistic demands . Time something drastic was done to make them wake up to reality.

• ”The faces have changed but the game remains the same.” Yeah that pretty much sums up this country.

• It will help. Help to show how much of an inept and clueless clown we have running this country.
    If these political failures lie as much to europe as they have to the electorate that made the mistake of believing one third of the promises they made during their pre election and kennys biggest joke of all was his state of the nation address.
    They bring gombeen and sleeveen to a new level.

• This government think they can tax the country out of ression! il get my coat.

• Nothing personal against Shane Ross, but I find it hard to accept his rantings about overpaid executives when he himself has at least two well paid jobs. If you are a TD then you should have to step down / take a sabbatical from any other job while you are a serving TD.

• Mike there is another word I use backpedal they have done a lot of it coming in as a clown goveenment.

• The elephant in the fridge is little or no movement on €25 billion current budget deficit with the highest pay and pensions for public representatives and public sector in Europe. We keep cutting services instead of pay putting pressure on those still working in the public sector. Regardless of EU or IMF we are going bust and sooner or later the tap will be turned off and we will have to balance our books.

Oh for a government with the balls to deal with it!

• We all agree the country is fxxxxx.
    Shane Ross and his buddies are part of the only growth industry in Ireland at the moment. Writing books about this stuff. They write books about the stuff, offering solutions and spelling out their solutions.
    As was mentioned above Shane Ross was a huge supporter of Anglo, Fingleton and Fitzpatrick in his weekly rag column where he is Business editor and his son in law is deputy editor.
    Newspaper columnist
    Editor
    TD
    Author.
    Glad to see the day job doesn’t keep him too busy.
    I’m not ready to take lectures from Shane Ross.

• who are you ready to take lectures from? gilmore and kenny? or do you just prefer any woman that resembles tatcher?

• I assume you mean Thatcher?
      I have no idea what you are asking?
      I am speaking about Shane Ross and nobody else. Shane Ross has written extensively about Anglo, Fingleton and Fitzpatrick. I am not ready to be lectured by Ross.
      That was my only point. I’m sorry if it went over your head.

• my question was simple, i have no idea how to dumb it down for you

• Thatcher not Tatcher you illiterate.

• oh? so fxxxxx is a word? where are the capitals in Editor? where are the – in son-in-law? if you are so anal as to be correcting other peoples spelling and calling them illiterate maybe you should try and learn the correct structure of the written word, moron…

• Your 100% correct Sean…

Shane Ross has many salaries, and with his holier than thou attitude, has backed up all those people you mentioned, he appears to have selective amnesia…

Never heard him in the Dail advocating all the Goverment should take a 20% cut in salaries and expenses.

Never heard him in the Dail advocating that all Goverment personnel should wait till 65 to get a pension.

Would not be lectured by him ……….Good advise Sean…

• judging by the shafting we are recieving from this government we put into power thinking they would implement change for the better. then we learn there is no light at the end of this tunnel for us the peolpe.
    I think we should look at reducing the term in office back to 2 years instead of the 4 we now have. it wont cost anything to the tax payer. when you look at the waste and squandering in salaries and benefits to public servants nice word that .it makes you wonder who are the servants.
    there should be a fixed salary like every other employment, benefits should only be given when the majority of citizens benefit for the action of a government.
    give politicians vochers to fly and free travel on public transport for all other journeys they have become to acustomed to everything being done for them and they have become lazy at least the green party tried to ride bicyles into the dail on occassions.
    if we the people dont do something some we will along with our kids be starved to death we will have no quality of life, we will end up turning on each other for scraps will the fats cats laugh and wine and dine each other and there counter parts in the E.U.

• Shane Ross lauded Anglo during the boom, ran as an Independent knowing that he would form no part of any government or any “change” but would be free to shout from the ditch and from the Sindo, and now seems to misunderstand the function of the Presidency of the EU Council. The role is to manage the business of the EU on behalf of all member states. Any attempt to use the role to further Ireland’s interests would probably backfire.

• Shane ross is the only one who talks sense

• Shame Ross (typo intended) using his status as a TD to promote his latest book and/or talking shop – what a surprise!

• you use ‘oh my god’ in a sentence and then call me son? you say you dont live in ireland but refer to ‘our imports’? you say you are not indoctrinated yet blindly support a failed system, yes i remember the early 80′s, it was shite, are you trying to suggest the euro stopped things from being shite in the 80′s?

• I met Shane Ross a few years ago before he was famous and he is a very nice man.

• I don’t agree that the presidency will mean nothing. That’s defeatist talk. Us Irish will have the eyes and ears of Europe on us. We can moan and groan as individuals as usual or we can all make a huge difference together.
    ………… well, what are we prepared to do?

• The eyes and ears of Europe won’t be on us. Who held the presidency for the last 6 months? Did anybody listen to anything they had to say?

• Yep you are right, it will make a difference! The foreign politicians will be kept away from the “plebs” especially the hungry, the homeless,the unemployed and any protester that has the right to Freedom of assembly or the Democratic right to have their voices heard!
      Except, every one of those aforementioned politicians from Europe will NEVER have to worry where the next cent will be coming from, the next hot meal, they won’t EVER have to worry about finances again!
      Yep, that’s the difference that will be made!
      It would do Enda Kenny no harm to read the 1916 Proclamation or the Constitution of 1937 again, because he (and Cowan et all) have ignored the centiments espoused by the men who constructed those documents!
      We will be welcoming our “owners” in January, because Ireland was “sold for 30 pieces of silver” (metaphorically speaking) & we will be like the School teachers of the 40′s, 50′s & 60′s telling the pupils to be good boys when the Inspector calls!
      If that’s what you call difference you can have it!

• He’s chasing the whinge vote, and has a right to do so leave him alone.

• Surely Shane Ross must understand that their a whole lot more that can be achieved by holding the EU Presidency e.g. CAP reform, cohesion policy, digital market expansion, a free trade agreement between the EU and the US, youth guarantee to help job creation etc.? You can’t look at the six month Presidency and say it’s all about a bank debt deal because it simply isn’t. On the Promissory notes, the government has strongly hinted it won’t be paying the €3.1 billion payment next March.

• Hinted that’s about the sum total of this inept Govt. Not once have they come out & Confirmed that this prom note will not be paid.

wait & see this hinted vagueness will turn out to be We had no choice the troika made us pay it, like everything about this govt it’s always someone else’s fault not 1 bit proactive just selling out Our Country further just like the last lot.

• FG/Lab – Hinting after our interests in Europe since Feb 2011. What a joke!
      It’s a pity they won’t be so slow, come Wednesday, in screwing the people here who turned to them for leadership.

• “hinted strongly” excuse me while I laugh. I’ll file that along with “seismic shift”, “game changer”, early September or maybe October or before the end of the year moving to some time next year claims from Enda and Co.

• This is the stance the Journal.ie should be taking. If cybernews is where modern day revolution takes place then we should at least have the support of a cyber paper….some how I don’t think the majority of writes here can bring yourselves to jeopardize the prospect of a cushy future in a nice middle class broadsheet.
    Well done Christina Finn. Well done Shane Ross

• One of the priorities for our Presidency is to help further negotiations between the US and Europe on a free trade deal. If any country has strong relations with both the EU and US it is Ireland. Such a deal could be a massive boost to the Irish economy since we rely so heavily on trade.

That alone is a reason to hold the presidency.

What are we supposed to do, refuse to host it?

How embarrassing would that be?

Ross may be correct that hosting the presidency doesn’t help our bank debt negotiations, but he has no credible point to make that it hinders it.

• I agree with you David in princible and in the right hands this would be a huge benifit to Ireland but the only tools (and I really mean “tools”) we have is a spinless egotistical clown that cares more for his 5 mins of fame than actually doing what he was hired for. Then we have the lab party that is on the verge of imploding into it’s self because of turning it’s back on it’s princibles and it’s members.
      In theory we should be sitting high in the pecking order with so much to offer but kenny and his euro lapdogs will only do as they are told.

• free trade deal? akin to globalisation, thats working really well…, you just keep lying to yourself that we were/are helpless without europe

• @ peasant. Without Europe we have no euro. Without the Euro the punt would trade about 60% value against the euro. Our imports would be unaffordable resulting Ina further contraction. Foreign travel would become unaffordable. You may think great this would make people holiday in Ireland and buy less material goods. It would. Remember the early 80′s? How much fun was that?

• “Without the Euro the punt would trade about 60% value against the euro” on what exactly are you basing that? pure speculation, this idea ‘we would be a nation of farmers without the eu’ line iv’e heard repeatedly trotted out by the brainless zombie sheople for the past 30 years is utter tripe, using your own logic i offer a counter argument, new zealand is an island that ship all its imports, it has a smaller population than ireland so goods versus head of population are more expensive, its nearest medium to small sized market (australia, pop est 22 million) is roughly 1000 miles away, they had no eu and they also had no recession, our 2 main political parties here have spent most of the last 30-40 years convincing people like you that ‘we need’ europe, i disagree, we have great natural resources, if only we had someone to tell us we are actually capable of doing things for ourselves

• @Simon i can see your grasp of economics is entirely based on the insane guesswork of our current leaders, let me point out the glaringly obvious for you, if we could devalue our currency we could get out of debt much faster

• Oh my god you are retarded. My basis of the value is on the fact the euro is basically the Deutschmark. Now go figure where the value if the punt is against that right now. And if we devalue it makes paying back our euro debt harder. You should run for office. You’d probably get elected.

• I don’t live in Ireland son so I haven’t had the indoctrination that you suggest I, and every other citizen, have accepted. Next?

• im not talking about our euro debt as i dont consider that to be our debt, im talking about our actual personal debts, i seriously dont know how on earth you are valuing the punt, what data are you using to come to your conclusion that it would be roughly 60% of the value of the euro? what are you comparing it too? historically the punt was worth more than the euro when it was introduced, and the punt was always worth more than the Deutschmark, plus there are many advantages to a cheap, well regulated currency, your exports are worth a lot more and it stimulates growth in local industry because imports are expensive

• It would take me too long to exain basic macro economics. But rest assured I am right.

• you use ‘oh my god’ in a sentence and then call me son? you say you dont live in ireland but refer to ‘our imports’? you say you are not indoctrinated yet blindly support a failed system, yes i remember the early 80′s, it was shite, are you trying to suggest the euro stopped things from being shite in the 80′s?

• dream on simon, macro economics, do you want fries with that?

• David Higgins said “What are we supposed to do, refuse to host it?”

Yes we should refuse it as we cannot afford it. The money would be better spent on home help hours, ensuring we have paramedics travelling together or on special needs assistants. We do not need to be spending money on ties and scarves for functionaries.

• Average lifespan for fiat currency system: 38-40 years
      The US dollar became a fiat currency 41 years ago. Since the dollar is the global reserve currency, all of the worlds major currencies also became fiat currencies at the same time.
      There is a common pattern to the demise of fiat currencies. Massive speculative bubbles followed by catostrophic economic collapse.
      Can anyone smell coffee yet?

Yes the Euro will fail. No a new punt is not the answer to this crisis.

“”The supply of gold is governed by nature; it is not, like the supply of paper money, subject merely to the schemes of demagogues or the whims of politicians. Nobody ever thinks he has quite enough money. Once the idea is accepted that money is something whose supply is determined simply by the printing press, it becomes impossible for the politicians in power to resist the constant demands for further inflation. Gold may not be a theoretically perfect basis for money; but it has the merit of making the money supply, and therefore the value of the monetary unit, independent of governmental manipulation and political pressure.

Inflation itself is a form of taxation. is it perhaps the worst possible form, which usually bears hardest on those least able to pay. On the assumption that inflation affected everyone and everything evenly (which, we have seen, is never true), it would be tantamount to a flat sales tax of the same percentage on all commodities, with the rate as high on bread and milk as on diamonds and furs. Or it might be thought of as an equivalent to a flat tax of the same percentage, without exemptions, on everyone’s income …

But the situation is worse than this, because, as we have see, inflation does not and cannot affect everyone evenly. Some suffer more than others. The poor are usually more heavily taxed by inflation, in percentage terms, than the rich …”
      – Henry Hazlitt, Economics in One Lesson: The Shortest and Surest Way to Understand Basic Economics

• Do you do anything else in life but post on here? You got to get out more.

Add New Comment