TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Fr Brian D’Arcy explains censure in emotional interview

The journalist and broadcaster had been criticised by the Vatican for his views on issues like child sex abuse and contraception.

Fr Brian D'Arcy
Image: Photocall Ireland/File photo

FR BRIAN D’ARCY, who revealed this week that he has been censured by the Vatican, has said that that he would have to leave the priesthood if he had to stop writing about certain issues.

The journalist and broadcaster gave an emotional interview to Marian Finucane on RTE Radio One this morning, in which he said that articles he had written for the Sunday World, as well as his attitude and criticism of the Vatican’s way of dealing with child sex abuse and his liberal views of contraception were given as reasons for the censure.

Fr D’Arcy also said that he initally feared that an accusation of abuse had been made against him when he was first contacted by the Passionist Order and told that there was something wrong.

He was censured by the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, the theological watchdog. Fr D’Arcy has been asked to pass any articles that may be ‘contentious’ to an appointed censor.

He said that it has been a ‘dreadful year’ for him since the censure and became emotional at points during the interview, which you can listen to here.

Fr Brian D’Arcy ‘censured by Vatican watchdog’ – report>

Column: Are we as a Catholic Church not mature enough to listen to others?>

Read next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• Thank God for priests like Fr. Brian Darcy
    The hierarchy of the Church need to open up, take a look at themselves, look to the future and lead. This current pope is going backwards than bringing the faith forward.
    Fr. Brian is an honourable, brave man (like many in the priesthood) who I respect and would wish more would have the courage to come to his support.
    If more like father Brian took the step, more & more would follow.
    We as a community / faith need leadership in these times now more than ever, when people are so cynical in these challenging times.
    The Church failed us
    The politicians failed us
    The banks failed us
    What institutions have not failed us?
    This is the time for the church to step up to the plate and lead from the front.
    The people need leadership. More power to priests like Fr. Brian Darcy

• The Church of Ireland . I’m not sure but isn’t that a branch of the ” established church” with the Queen as its head.? I’ll stand corrected.

• @Strongbow62 No the Queen of England is not the head of the Church of Ireland. The Church of Ireland is an autonomous province of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All Ireland is our most senior bishop and, yes you could say he’s at our head, and the Archbishop of Canterbury is the focus of unity for all Anglicans.

• Keep writing Brian!

• Fr Brian should establish a breakaway reformed catholic church.
    The Vatican is firmly stuck in the dark ages.

• Father Brian D’Arcy is one of the greatest Fermanagh living person. His sermons in the Graan in Enniskillen are electrifying he makes the word of God come alive. The church should be encouraging Priests like Fr Brian not censuring them. He is better than the Average Priests and his Passionist order does amazing pastoral and charity work in Fermanagh

• AlMar 29/04/12 #

Conor: Everything you say may be true. I do not know.

What I do know is that Fr D’Arcy can still give those electrifying homilies and do that great pastoral work. However, when it comes to his writing on certain theological matters, he has to ensure that what he writes is in not in conflict with the teaching of the Church.

As a member of a religious order, he took an oath of obedience many decades ago. This is not some new, unexplained part of his job description.

• I would argue that obedience is one thing and calling out your ‘boss’ when they do something manifestly, plainly and obviously wrong is another matter. If your boss was apparently a nice chap when you joined and then turned into an unpleasant, craven self-serving lunatic then you can call them on it and call yourself a hero.

• Al, I think you’ll find that Brian’s oath of allegiance to Rome, is superseded by his oath to an ancient, Jewish philosopher named Jesus, upon which Rome’s faith is supposedly constructed. Rome’s stance, is currently an anathema to the teaching of Jesus. Indeed, it is more akin to the teaching of Attila the Hun. How much longer do we allow the setting of the sun to fall too soon.?How much longer do we allow darkness to fall to soon? How much longer before we rise up and taste freedom, real and true freedom, how long, how long?.

• I was going to have a rant about the catholic church ltd. And their treatment of children etc etc etc. But instead I am going to pose a simple question. What would Jesus do?

• Well Jesus said that those who harm child or cause children to be harmed should have a millstone tied around their necks and cast into the deepest ocean.

The Catholic Church moved abusers to fresher pastures where more children were harmed. Those others who covered up abuse, and facilitated abusers were promoted. Cardinal Bernard Law who facilitated the harm of many children in Boston was promoted to Archpriest and here in Ireland the Torpedo Man for Ratzinger forced children, who had been raped by clergy colleague Fr Brendan Smyth – to take oaths of secrecy only 30 yards from Dundalk Garda Station. Sean Brady wouldn’t even walk 30 yards to protect children – and the oath forced on those children meant Smyth had 18 more years of raping and torturing children.

• Well said, Andrew.

• Why not just leave the Catholic Church and join a Protestant one or become a Unitarian? I am atheist, but can see why the church wants to keep its rules. Society may have a more mature debate on religion if people thought about their beliefs, and did not just hang onto the beliefs their parents had.

• Didn’t Ratzinger at one point say basically he wanted a more hardline smaller church? He’s going the right way about it, alienate anyone remotely liberal.
      Though I class myself atheist I grew up C of I and it was a really good, healthy, warm environment. To misquote Nick Cave I don’t believe in an interventionist god, but if I did I’d totally hang out with those guys.

• Cant help but feel sorry for him. The most human and most caring priests and nuns seem to always be at the lower echelons of the crazy brigade that is religion. The most perverse thing is moderate religion like the church of England dies out while the fanatical ones like Islam and evangelical Christianity grow. If religion had anything to do with ethics people like Fr Mcverry would be pope. Its up to them to sort the mess out but it is up to government to keep this mess out of State affairs.

• Saddened that Fr Brian D’Arcy has been censored by the Vatican. He is a great priest and absolutely loved by the people he serves in Fermanagh and surrounding counties. He manages to reach out to people all over the Island through his writings and should be allowed to continue to do so without being censored. He wrote his article after speaking to my brother Terence who suffers from cerebral palsy. http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/father-brian.php?aid=958 He has been a great support and friend to Terence over the years. We all need to support him through this difficult time.

• AlMar 29/04/12 #

Alice – Fr D’Arcy can still help your brother and write the types of articles that you linked to. There is no problem with that.

However, when it comes to articles which seek to undermine the teachings of the Church, he cannot continue to do this and remain a priest in good standing. This is not very much to ask.

• AlMar, I am aware of the nature of his censorship. I merely posted a link to that article as a means of showing my personal appreciation for his journalistic works over the years. I recall sitting through one of his sermons a few years back where he utterly condemned child sex abuse, the churches response and was almost in tears recounting a story of someone he had tried to help who had been the victim of abuse at the hands of a priest. He should be allowed to openly say that the Churches response to findings of abuse has been inadequate because that is the complete truth.

• Almar
      It’s sad really when you think beyond the obvious. Here’s a clergyman who has the hearts of the people, but yet they and him can’t break the shackles of the Roman Church. It’s like watching lions in the circus, pacing back and forth, up and down. Freedom within inches but years of captivity means that they would chose stay in their cage even if the door was thrown open. The lion tamer throws a scrap of food then prods with a stick – classic training techniques.

• AlMar 29/04/12 #

Alice – Fr D’Arcy remains free to say that the response to abuse was inadequate. Sure that’s what the pope himself has said.

• AlMar 29/04/12 #

John – even though we normally disagree, perhaps there is something in your analogy of the lion.
      I cannot understand why so many priests who so obviously want to turn the Catholic Church into the Church of Ireland don’t just go and join the Church of Ireland. It would be a more honest position.

• AlMar
      I respect your beliefs and admire you for coming onto these threads to state your case – many don’t. I do think we have something in common.
      My mother got very upset when I was young and chose to leave the Roman Church. I thought it was best left to those that believe and understand rather than it be plagued by those that remain and resent it’s ways.

• This behavior is typical of any totalitarian organization, that is to silence the dissenters or potential dissenters. Fr.D’Arcy has been put in a very difficult position by his superiors and they know exactly how easy it is to manipulate somebody that has dedicated his or her whole life to a faith.
    The catholic church in its immeasurable arrogance still peruses people that may be guilty of nothing else but having an opinion or thinking for ones self known from the Orwell novel 1984 as thought crime.

• It seems to me that a foreign state is using bully-boy tactics to suppress the free speech of Irish citizens within our own borders. It’s time for the government to call in the Nuncio for another talking to. Perhaps a one-way ticket back to the USA.

Certainly these priests should defy Rome’s nonsense, and if their ability to earn their living is interfered with (by their orders, for example) they should head to the courts.

Remember Pat Buckley.

• AlMar 29/04/12 #

Seos: Every single one of the priests who have been in the news recently are members of religious congregations. They are not the same as your local parish priest.

This means that they have taken a vow of obedience and of poverty. The obedience part means that they accept the restrictions placed on them; the poverty part means that they don’t “earn a living” as you put it. They knew what they were doing when they signed up to these vows.

I assume you are similarly outraged whenever a politicians loses the party whip after even one incident of rebellion, never mind three decades of it?

• We mustn’t forget either that Ratzinger swore an oath of obedience to Adolf Hitler himself.

• Almar,
      If more politicians followed their conscience at the expense of losing the whip we would all be in a better place. The same can be applied to the church.

• Brian D’Arcy should not leave the priesthood. Rather he should courageously stand up to what is clearly dysfunctional behavior in the Catholic Church. Where does the ultimate authority lie … with the church authorities or within your own conscience? Brian – stand on your own authority as Jesus did when he faced down the Jewish religious leaders.

Did Jesus leave Judaism? No. But he did confront its leaders and he did enunciate his own alternate vision.

What is the point in organizing yet another breakaway church? All the churches are emptying out, regardless of denomination.

The Pope has no power. He cannot have you arrested, prosecuted or imprisoned. Fair enough, he is the chief executive of a multi-national organization with a lot of wealth and influence. But if you are inspired to imitate Jesus, that power, wealth and influence is of no interest to you. Brian doesn’t need it to do his work. So the Pope and the Vatican are powerless to do anything to him. Stand up to him Brian, and show us that the Pope has no clothes.

And you other ‘silenced’ priests, do the same. You have tongues in your heads. They have not been cut out.

• I said the same thing elsewhere; you can’t openly criticise the Church and wear a collar at the same time because you’ll never be able to fully engage with your readers. There’ll always be an element of censorship in what you say and that’s why Fr. Darcy needs to make up his mind which side of the fence he is on. If you’re going to speak out, speak out and have the courage of your convictions. I certainly wouldn’t tolerate my writing being censored by someone more interested in the Church’s image than the rights of a child. That’s not journalism, that’s corporate speak or shite talk however you want to paraphrase it!

• May God forgive the Catholic Church and it’s totally, misguided, blinkered and moronic representatives.

The priests are going to carry on protecting paedophiles, by not disclosing information received in the confessional. They’ll probably give them apartments in the Vatican …. as has happened before!

Now they are, also, censuring priests for being honest and for (how dare they) speaking their minds. I speak of Fr Brian D’Arcy, in particular. Here is a man who, whilst, obviously, being a totally ‘good’ Catholic, is prepared ask the questions, to which the majority of Irish people would like to know the answers.

This is the year 2012. Catholics are now educated and are no longer prepared to be bullied by supeficial egomaniacal ‘demi-gods’. The days of morons like McQuaid, Brown and Lucy are gone. Can some one, please, tell Catholic hierarchy that we are prepared to stand up and be counted.

It is time that the Church and it’s dictatorial masters got off the high horse and learned that their ungodly, unchristian behaviour has nigh on destroyed all credibility of the Church.

The repeated sexual corruption of minors by priests, nuns, bishops, cardinals, right up to the leader of the gang has lowered the church into a morass of devious, underhanded hypocrisy.

When someone like Fr. D’Arcy has the GALL to speak up, he is rapped across the knuckles severely and semi-gagged. His writings have to be censored, before they can be published.

Some one should gag the gaggers, before they totally destroy the religion.

Support Brian D’Arcy, one of the only priests to speak out in this unholy Ireland.

• This censure by the Vatican of D’Arcy actually confirms that D’Arcy is a safe person. Bear in mind that cardinal Bernard Law facilitated abusers and got promoted, cardinal Brady’s investigation of the Most Reverend Father Brendan Smyth meant Smyth continued his reign of abuse for nearly two more decades …. was Brady’s promotion linked to the coverup of abuse by Smyth?

It’s arguable that it was!

It’s up to the people of the Church to wrest control back from the malign hands of those who see the organisation as of more importance than the safety of children who were physically and sexually tortured by clergy.

• A quick question. Based on what happened within his lifetime, or equally, based upon what happened, within your lifetime, which religion would you join?. Bearing in mind that he was disgusted with all the gold adorning the temples, which would you pick?. None?. Then you’re like Jesus. Unfortunately, you’re not like all the people who pretend that they are.

• D’Arcy, like all other clergy in Ireland, gave syrupy weaselly statements on publication of the Ryan and Murphy reports – both reports exposed his Church as being responsible for the cover-up of the physical and sexual torture of thousands of Irish children.

Not one priest, or member of the clergy resigned .. though one priest did walk from here to there in atonement.

D’Arcy also hasn’t commented on the startling fact that clergy who abused children were NEVER censured by the Vatican – that bishops/archbishops who facilitated abusers also were NEVER censured by the Vatican!

Could a journalist from the Journal ask him to comment on the COMPLETE lack of resignations from the priesthood in the face of the physical and sexual torture of children by clergy, and the the lack of censure for those bishops who facilitated these child torturers?

• I can’t understand all the red flags on this comment, are some of you so utterly out of touch with public sentiment that you can’t see the wood for the trees anymore? Andrew Brennan is absolutely right. There hasn’t been any resignations and there should have been hundreds. Would you wake up the lot of you!!!

• @Edward It’s par for the course really. One Catholic blog, supporting the censure of D’Arcy and the other priests who show some humanity, saw no problem in a comment that seemed to be advocating the murder of priests like D’Arcy. The comment was suggesting that if you shoot the leaders … the rest of these humane priests would disperse. The blog said the comment was only a ‘figure of speech’, but the comment was made in support of an organisation that physically and sexually tortured thousands of Irish children.

There’s no doubt in my mind that if I advocated the shooting of Ratzinger and his cardinals – in order to deter those other senior clerics from facilitating the physical and sexual torture of children – there would be a hue and cry from these people the like of which you’ve never seen before.

• Andrew Brennan
      I’m a bit late coming onto this discussion thread. I fully support your comment.

• Fr Brian. I think the time is right for an orthodox Celtic church. Rome is as corrupt now as the day Martin Luther protested against indulgences and corrupt priests. The writing is on the wall. They broke the unwritten commandment. Thou shall not defile your children.

• Attention seeking here by Fr Trendy, if you are part of the club you must abide by the rules , he has had more than his fair share of comment over the years without affecting his status and to be honest took a very middle of the road approach with his criticisim on many issues , if he is not happy leave and serve god in another way or with another church, now its all about self pity and poor me when the real victims of the catholic churches injustice have suffered much more,get on with your life Darcy, get off your high pulpit and get real and less of the poor me please there are a lot more worse off than you

• Andrew, you are letting your anger damage your worthy cause, total transparency should be given by religious orders for what happened in the past, but taking pot shots against Priests like Fr Darcy will not achieve that.

• @Val It’s not a potshot at D’Arcy himself – but at the culture and system he is embedded in. D’Arcy himself is seen as ineffably bland and not apt to foment change. He’s a nice guy, popular amongst other priests – probably other priests would like to regard themselves as being like him … nice, safe and bland.

Hasn’t D’Arcy learnt anything from recent happenings … where a ‘nice, safe and bland’ guy shook the nation with a stirring and angry speech?

D’Arcy has the same capability as the Taoiseach (a Taoiseach whom I’ve slagged off unmercifully in the past) to shake the system he is a part of. Change to the hierarchy in Ireland has to come from within – and he and a few other clerics have the power to foment change.

Sometimes ‘nice guys’ come out on top.

• Ya know the problem with this whole church thing for me is,
    i just can’t stand ANY tossers preaching to me :-)

• The Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith is the Gestapo of the Catholic church. From 1981 to 2005 it was headed by Joseph Ratzinger, a former member of the Hitler Youth. Coincidence?

• AlMar 28/04/12 #

No organisation tolerates its members/employees/representatives attacking it and undermining it in public. It’s very common for politicians who split from the party on policy to lose the party whip. This happens instantly and for just one “offence”.

In contrast, Fr D’Arcy has had a very minor slap on the wrist and remains a priest in good standing. This is after 20-30 years of saying whatever he wanted. He can still preach, say Mass, give his “emotional” interviews. He just has to ensure that when he writes on certain topics that he has to abide by Church teaching. It’s no different from the rest of us who have to abide by certain company policies when we represent our employers in public.

• Almar
      You know your right! My ole Dad had a saying. ”If yer goin’ to join the army yer gotta wear the boots”. I think Mr. D’Arcy should take his ‘emotion’ to a further level and chuck his collar in the fire.

• Well, maybe it’s time for Brian D’Arcy to go. No point in sitting on the fence any longer. If he really does believe that there should be women priests, then let him go and join the Protestants.

• He could do worse! They are very tolerant, they might take him in.

• Joan
      Around the time that I defected from the Roman Church a friend took the decision to put different string to his bow and join the Church of Ireland. My cynical response to this was that he was jumping out of the frying pan and into the fire to which he replied that he now considered he had a better chance of rising from the ashes!

• What’s wrong with women priests? Seems to be working out fine for C of E and C of I. I really don’t understand what the nature of one’s genitalia has to do with their ability to minister to their flock.

• Its not just that easy, the differences extend much deeper than women priest and married clergy, to be honest they are just window dressing topics.
      For a Catholic to convert to Protestantism the core of their beliefs would have to change I.e. the transubstantiation of the body and blood of Christ and the virginity of Mary.
      Hence what would be required is a new church with theologically identical beliefs, but a different management structure. This has happened before with the Roman, Greek and Russian Orthodox churches, all all cross comparable (e.g. Roman Catholics can receive communion in Greek Orthodox churches) but are structured differently.

• @Paddy Not all protestants reject the virginity of Mary – most mainstream protestant churches accept this doctrine and that’s why Anglicans and others refer to her as the Blessed Virgin Mary.

• Liam M 29/04/12 #

I don’t know of any mainstream Protestant denomination that rejects the virginity of Mary, especially at the time she became pregnant with Jesus.

After that however, it’s fair game…as the Bible says she had other children and that Mary and Joseph waited till Jesus was born before they “knew” each other ;)

Just sayin’

Also, No non Orthodox Christian can receive Communion in an Orthodox Church unless it’s an Eastern Church that is in communion with Rome…in which case, it isn’t really part of the Orthodox Church any longer.

• Does Fr Brian D’Arcy ever have anything good to say about he Church he is a member of? I tuned in to hear his comments on the letter to the Irish Bishops and all he could do was find fault;;he seems happy to point the finger without publicising the positive advances in child protection that have been put in place and he admitted himself recently that he hasn’t mentioned contraception for 20 years because the people have made up their minds. What sort of leadership is that? Has he even read ‘The Theology of the Body’ or made any attempt to pass on the Church’s very positive message on sexuality and love? He’s the darling of the media and paints himself as a victim, but how hard is it for him when he espouses populist opinion and is lavished with praise? I think it would be much more difficult to stand up and preach the unpopular doctrines like the value of marriage and fidelity or the importance of valuing life from conception. If he did speak out on these issues, how long would it be until his name was dropped and his guest invitations flittered out?

• he is a fu@#%n clown of man

Add New Comment