TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

French minister says the country is “totally bankrupt”

The minister said reducing the country’s deficit was fundamental for the economy, enterprise and jobs.

French Labor Minister Michel Sapin.
Image: Michel Euler/AP

FRENCH LABOUR MINISTER Michel Sapin has said that France is “a state totally bankrupt”. In an interview with Radio J, the minister said this means it is necessary to put in place a programme to reduce the country’s deficit.

“Diminishing the deficit is fundamental for the financing of the economy, financing enterprise and for the creation of jobs,” he said in the interview.

He said there was “an urgent social and economic emergency” and that was why the government had taken immediate decisions in terms of the recovery of Europe growth and employment policy.

Spokespeople for the minister later said that Sapin used the phrase in reference to former Prime Minister Francois Fillon’s words, which the journalist interviewing him had used in his question, France 24 reports.

Yesterday French Trade Minister Nicole Bricq said that France has trimmed its record trade deficit thanks to resistant exports of agricultural, aeronautical, pharmaceutical and luxury products.

- Additional reporting from AFP.

Read: French teachers strike over plans to work 5-day week>

Read next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• Sure if you’re not bankrupt by now you must be doing something wrong..Welcome France…it’s like they were waiting for their Friend request to be accepted

• Its the opposite really – we and otheres should have followed icelands example .

following taken from Jeff Neilson article on Znet -” Iceland was right – we were wrong ”

”What was Iceland’s approach? To do the exact opposite of everything the bankers running our own economies told us to do. The bankers (naturally) told us that we needed to bail out the criminal Big Banks, at taxpayer expense (they were Too Big To Fail). Iceland gave the banksters nothing.

The bankers told us that no amount of suffering (for the Little People) was too great in order to make sure that the Bond Parasites got paid at 100 cents on the dollar. Iceland told the Bond Parasites they would get what was left over, after the people had been taken care of (by their own government).

The bankers told us that our governments could no longer afford the same education, health care and pension systems which our parents had taken for granted. Iceland told the bankers that what the country could no longer afford was to continue to be blood-sucked by the worst financial criminals in the history of our species. Now, after three-plus years of this absolute dichotomy in economic policymaking, a clear picture has emerged (despite the best efforts of the propaganda machine to hide the truth).

In typical fashion, the moment that the Corporate Media is forced to admit that it has been serially misinforming us for the past several years; the Revisionists are immediately deployed to rewrite history, as shown in this Bloomberg Businessweek excerpt:

…the island’s approach to its rescue led to a “surprisingly” strong recovery, the International Monetary Fund’s mission chief to the country said.”

• Dave 29/01/13 #

Welcome to the club, France. Your gonna love it here with the Piigs. Must coin new acronym….

• howya 29/01/13 #

Well if France is bankrupt then Ireland is utterly banjaxed

• We wouldn’t be if we just cut welfare and public service wages. Also reduce the minimum threshold for taxes eg 10% on everything then the normal system applies after 22,000. Everyone should pay, not just the wealthy and middle class.

• John. If we introduced a tax system like Germany or Holland or Finland, the people bailing us out then we would be a long way to solving the problem. That however would be called communist, better to take your approach and keep cutting bits off the bone and pretend that it will lead to growth.

• John we should cut the buns.

• @ John. You should be ashamed to call yourself Irish with a comment like that. You mean to want to force people into further poverty so that you can justify taking a few more crumbs off the Rich??? You don’t give a damn obviously.

• @John Duggan .
      If welfare was cut out – the banks – at least the banks we have today – would not exist – and we would not have the massive problem we have . We should have folowed Icelnds example . Look up Jeff Neilsons article on Znet –
      ” We were wrong – Iceland was right ”

• John

Instead of trying to pull cash from an already severely hampered economic system, perhaps u should ask, where/who all this money has gone too?

FYI their is more Drv’s & cr swaps on the market now then in 07/08 what does this tell you?
      It tells me the underpinning $ is now fooked, as it is linked to nought, and only a matter of time before failing, why QE is now constant here & US. Gold has gone through the roof (the real currency standard). % rates a zip.
      If u fail to learn from history you are doomed to repeat it.

U must expand ur view stop thinking local and think globally, the pieces tend to fit the puzzle better.

Wake up

• @Christopher, why should anybody be ashamed of trying to save the country? It’s people like you who have put us in this position.

• but watch the french hit the streets the second they’re asked to participate in any scheme that is none of their business or responsibility

• I sure they’ll get a better deal than we got if it comes to a bailout, because they not lye back and think of europe.

• Oh dear, the French may have to work an extra hour a week. Well everyone’s got to pitch in and do their bit.

• France has been falling behind since it joined the Euro, same with Belgium. The Greeks were the canaries in the coal mine, there are many others that are stuck in a flawed economic project as well. Greece and ourselves fell off a precipice. Italy, France and Belgium are taking the scenic route down, slowly walking down the mountain. Same destination.

• Was kinda hoping he’d used the word “banjaxed”…

• Bankrupt is a relative term. By Sapin’s measure the bankrupt nations would include Italy, Britain,US, Japan etc i.e. countries whose governments are spending more than their incomes and hoping something (growth) will turn up to fix things for them.

I don’t think we’ll see the brokers men turning up in Paris anytime soon.

• soon there will be more countries in the bankrupt club than ln the functioning eurozone, Germany better watch its back : P the peasants will rise up and overthrow the aristocracy

• The reason Germany has low employment and remains “competitive” is that they have had austerity policies in place since reunification to cover the cost of the former East Germany having a near total economic collapse, and they’ve maintained that policy to the present day. They also have not raised wages to match the rising cost of living for many years and they continue to delay to implement a minimum wage. There is no minimum wage in Germany, people working for buttons there is not a myth. These policies will be maintained until after this autumn’s elections, but it can’t go on indefinitely. You simply can’t run a country where the real average full time wage after tax puts the worker below the poverty line.

• Also a reason what we’re in the mess we are, is that ECB interest rates were set at a rate that would help Germany overcome unification.
      These long term low rates were bad news for long term banking in Ireland.

I don’t for one moment blame Germany for this outcome, but surely the EU together should have allowed for such circumstances? Did they presume that ‘This time it’s different’

• I’ve read that Germany is the major beneficiary of the euro. If the DM was still around German exports would be 30% more expensive?

• Old news!
    I spend a lot of time in Paris due to my passion for fashion.

Bankrupt is the new black.
    A. F.

• So France’s economy is totally bankrupt.

We we can better that, as well as our economy being totally bankrupt our politicians are as well.

France 1 – 2 Ireland

• Is it just me or does he look suspiciously like one Phil Hogan?!

• Luckily they have sufficient funds to mount military operations in Mali.

• JakkiB 29/01/13 #

Bankrupt in a false economy that was created to introduce the Euro, Lets say it like it is

• Freudian Slips are precious when they come along.

• If the euro zone and EU project is to survive the ECB will have to buy a portion of debt belonging to the ailing countries and hide it in a dark room for a long long time. It is the only way forward. Of course it would have to be followed by structural changes to ensure it doesn’t happen again. The can has been kicked down the road for far to long in the hope growth might just happen. It’s not happening and won’t !!! What probably will happen is that France will get a lifeline from the ECB and we will limp on for another year or two . When austerity is then forced harder on the French citizens things could get very interesting indeed. They are not known to take pain lying down.
    Bottom line is that there will have to be some sort of reset button pressed by the ECB. To what degree they press it or if they even will remains to be seen. One thing is for sure. If civil unrest becomes an issue they may have no other choice.

• Wouldn’t matter the French will definitely have a revolution, no doubt about it and get an amazing deal, Ireland would still lie down and take it, never getting a deal while everyone else does. We will be pushed into extreme poverty, no hope or prosperity in our lifetime but we still wouldn’t take to the streets. We’ll emigrate instead. I still can’t understand why the Irish take such a battering and remain sitting on our arses.

• The French are proud of their country, and will not leave. The Irish are divided as always, and the smart ones are leaving in droves. What’s left behind?

• Karolyn the boom made us all posh that’s why .

• And another one bites the dust…..

• There’s only one solution to these problems, put a legal cap on what the governments can spend. Say 25% of the country’s income. The amount of money wasted by the French government is awesome. The bureaucracy there is chilling.

• While I’m all for the idea of a balanced budget constitutional amendment. If a govt can only spend 25% of what it earns what does a govt do with the rest? Seems to leave 75% just lying around

• The GDP. The exact percentage and what it’s a percentage of is up for discussion. Basically it prohibits the politicians and the government from spending more than a fixed percentage of what the entire country earns. It limits the total take in all taxes. It limits their power. Power they get from taking and spending people’s money. That’s their budget and they have to live within it.

The civil servants and public servants might do well in good years but then their salary would be limited or they might be laid off in bad years, just like those in private businesses. Also they should prohibit reckless borrowing for day to day spending. Doing that means we consume in a year what others must pay for for in future.

It could also put limits on what the can be spent on, e.g. capital spending (unless proven independently to produce a profit), social welfare, subsidised health care, RTE, sports, arts, army, Gardai, bank bailouts, grants, etc. Maybe the people could vote on what they regard as priorities. Maybe via this new Democracy Direct initiative. Would the people vote to spend €20,000,000 on doing up a museum in the middle of the worst recession since the state was founded? I doubt it.

• Ok I disagree with Direct Democracy idea because its so infeasible. However we already voted on the GDP spend in the fiscal compact treaty

• AMERICA is also bankrupt so strap yourself in its going to be one HELL of a ryde.

• How can this be when Ireland paid off the unsecured French bond holders!! Sacre blue

• soon there will be more o

• Are they not taxing the rich at 75% I thought that was the solution to all financial worries!!

• Phil Hogans long lost brother?

• Fig Sip
    Sip Fig
    If Pigs
    Pis Figs – that’s the one

• That’s not news that’s “olds”

• But that can’t be. They had a revolution and voted in a socialist party that had magic powers. Go back and check the bank account again…

• Dr.fury 29/01/13 #

Banana republic

Add New Comment