Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

From a Sixmilebridge dairy farm to Dublin Castle…

Chinese Vice President Xi Jinping photographed while meeting Hillary Clinton yesterday.
Image: AP Photo/Charles Dharapak/PA Images

THE STATE VISIT of China’s vice-president Xi Jinping kicks off on Saturday afternoon and will include meetings with the Taoiseach and President Higgins before concluding on Monday.

Xi is currently on a state visit to the US, where he met with President Obama and addressed the US-China Business Council warmly on relations between the  two countries. However, the visit has offered few clues as to how Xi will lead China.

Xi is expected to succeed current Chinese leader Hu Jintao to both the leadership of the communist party and the presidency.

His short visit to Ireland begins with his arrival on Saturday afternoon to Shannon Airport, where he will be greeted by Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore. Xi will also meet with the head of Shannon Development before attending a Gilmore-hosted banquet at Bunratty Castle – famed for its medieval-style meals.

On Sunday, Xi is scheduled to visit a dairy farm in Sixmilebridge, Co Clare, followed by a private visit to the Cliffs of Moher. The Chinese vice-president will fly to Dublin for a visit to Croke Park and a “demonstration of Gaelic football and hurling”, according to the programme of events.

The Taoiseach and Xi will meet at Dublin Castle for official talks that evening, before the day is rounded off with a Riverdance performance.

President Michael D Higgins will receive the Chinese leader at the Áras on Monday morning, before Xi travels across the city to Leinster House. He will also attend the Ireland-China Trade and Investment Forum in Kilmainham before leaving Ireland that afternoon for Turkey.

Xinhua reported last week that Xi’s spokesperson said that the Irish visit would focus on relations between China and Ireland, and China and Europe. The spokesperson said that China and Ireland enjoy “traditional friendship” and that the visit aims to increase relations between the two countries.

Read Next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• Darren Bates 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Traditional friendship lol

• Senan 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Cool, we need to become the Chinese gateway to Europe

• Begrudgy 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Now, this is someone to roll the red carpet out for and spend some money on entertaining.

• Mark Rodgers 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Bet the Chinese press aren’t hammering away at their Vice President for being on a junket the way they slammed the Taoiseach traveling to the US twice in the one week.
    It is visits like these that dramatically improves relations and trade between nations and both mean jobs.
    What part of that do the naysayers misunderstand.

• Kev Dunne 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

no they aren’t, because there isn’t a free press in China, its all controlled by the party. their human rights record stinks and their labour and environmental laws are awful. but they do have lots of cash. all in all a model superpower for the 21st century

• Jamie Walsh 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I wonder will Michael D. bring up China’s appalling human rights record. Probably not.

• Rodger O Waters 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Prob not but a chance to showcase the potential food export business to emerging economies…give him a full irish and off with him.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You should talk. We forbid women their full reproductive rights in the Republic of Ireland, including the right to an abortion. Cloying hypocrisy.

• Jamie Walsh 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul, your ignorance is astounding. You (and I) may not agree with it but this country had a democratic vote on the right to abortion in 1992 and again in 2002, which were both defeated.

China, which does not hold free democratic elections, has no freedom of the press; no freedom of religion; no freedom of sexuality; a ‘one child’ policy resulting in the deaths or adoption of millions of children; executes more people every year than every other country combined; persecutes minorities; and is attempting cultural genocide in Tibet.

Cop. Yourself. On. Paul.

I’m just surprised The Journal hasn’t even mentioned the issue of human rights in any reporting on the visit.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Jamie: there was no democratic vote on the right to an abortion in 1992 or 2003. There was a vote on whether we should rule out abortion in the Republic of Ireland in the event that the pregnant mother threatened to kill herself if she couldn’t get an abortion. The Irish people voted no to that measure.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Regarding the abortion referenda in 1992 and 2002, regardless of what the outcome was of what you describe as a “democratic vote on the right to an abortion” , the practical result would have been the same – no abortions in practice would be allowed in the Republic of Ireland. The only real democratic abortion referendum we had was the one in 1983 when we voted to give the so-called “unborn child” equal rights to those of the mother and put this into the constitution. The Irish people have never had an opportunity since to repeal that measure so as to allow our legislators to more freely legislate for abortion in the Republic of Ireland.

• Jamie Walsh 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You haven’t responded AT ALL to the list of human rights abuses that I listed out. They’re ok are they, Paul?

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Jamie: regarding your list of alleged human rights abuses in China, the last one, “cultural genocide”, appears to be pulled straight out of your ass. In fact, Tibetans are exempt from China’s one child policy and it is relaxed for the other official ethnic minorities in China. Tibetans enjoy a great deal of autonomy in the Tibetan autonomous region and in prefectures and counties in neighboring Chinese provinces such as Gansu, Qunghai, Sichuan and Yunnan.

Regarding your allegation of “persecuted minorities”, that is a broadsweep allegation that can be applied just about everywhere. One can argue that Irish travellers are persecuted because they are not recognized as an ethnic minority in the Republic of Ireland, unlike in the UK.

The one child policy in China has been a huge success. Without it, it is estimated that there would be 1.75 billion people in China today instead of the 1.35 billion that there is. Without it, the Chinese population would still be increasing rapidly. Instead, there are fewer mouths to feed, fewer people in shelter, which means that Chinese government planners can have greater success lifting more and more people out of poverty.

As for freedom of sexuality, I have no idea what you’re writing about there. Chinese people are free to choose their partners. There has been a annual gay pride event in Shanghai since 2009. Contrast that with many Muslim and southern African countries where people are executed or face penalties for being homosexual.

• Jamie Walsh 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul, your cheerleading for the Chinese Government would be laughable if the situation there wasn’t so serious. “Alledged” human rights abuses… They have been documented by countless NGOs and backed up by eye witness accounts and survivors.

I never said the cultural genocide being perpetrated by the Chinese in Tibet had anything to do with their one child policy. Try reading the comments instead of tossing insults. Rather than it being ‘pulled out of my ass’ the term was in fact coined by the Dalai Lama, in an article where he blamed the recent cases of self immolation on the Chinese Government’s policies toward Tibet. Try reading something other than Chinese propaganda.

A one child policy by definition is a human rights abuse as it restricts one’s freedom to determine the size of one’s family. Forced abortions (of women in their third trimester), sterilizations and female infanticide are also common in certain regions. Nice of you to stick up for that practice.

Freedom of expression is heavily curtailed in China – the Government block access to content that doesn’t suit them and restrict news reporting and access. Freedom of sexuality may be tolerated in cosmopolitan cities but it certainly is NOT the case in rural provinces. It was considered a mental illness up until 2001.

Anything to say about the 200,000 (minimum estimate) people being detained without trial?

You obviously don’t have any problem with extensive use of the death penalty, even for non-violent crimes and political prisoners. You should be ashamed if you think that’s ok.

You keep deluding yourself, Paul.

• Paul Carr 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So let’s get this straight. I am taken in by Chinese government propaganda whereas you take your information from a reliable source, the Dalai Lama a.k.a. Tenzin Gyatso, who heads up a Tibetan government-in-exile in Dharamsala in India.

Ah sure, Ahmed Chalabi headed up his own Iraqi government in exile in Washington DC until George W Bush’s invasion of Iraq to get rid of Chalabi’s enemy, Saddam Hussein in 2003. Before that war, Ahmed Chalabi was telling us that Saddam Hussein was developing chemical, biological and nuclear weapons of mass destruction and provided so-called evidence. Some of us thought he was a source of objectivity too, the US government certainly did – until 6 months after the US invasion of Iraq when it was reported that Saddam Hussein had abandoned all his chemical, biological and nuclear weapons programs just after the first Iraq war in 1991.

• Jamie Walsh 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I never said I take my information from the Dalai Lama – I simply stated that it was he who coined the phrase ‘cultural genocide’. I prefer to take my information from news agencies that are not State controlled and independent NGOs on the ground. There are plenty of survivors’ records out there if you care to look.

Your example of Iraq is nonsense and out of context. TIbet is an occupied country, Paul. Up to 1 million Tibetans and thousands of monasteries were destroyed during the Cultural Revolution. The bogus invasion of Iraq in 2003 is not comparable. No NGOs or international organizations (the UN or the IAEA) believed for one minute that Iraq possessed nuclear weapons. The US acted unilaterally until it rounded up a coalition of the willing. I’m certainly not into getting personal on message boards but comparing Tibet to Iraq makes you look foolish.

Engage with what is being discussed. Stop trying to weasel out of the issues I raised in my last post with poorly considered comparisons. If you can’t answer directly then maybe you should reconsider your vehement support for the Chinese Government’s human rights abuses.

• Paul Carr 18/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You’ve been putting words in my mouth. I vehemently support China’s human rights abuses? I never wrote any such thing. I am cheerleading for the Chinese government? I never wrote any such thing.

Right from the get go, you have made a number of claims about China for which you have provided no specific sources. You give as a general source non state controlled news agencies and independent NGOs on the ground but you give no specific sources so it is impossible to verify your claims. The only specific source you give is the Dalai Lama for your claim that cultural genocide is being attempted in Tibet. The Dalai Lama, heading up his Tibetan government in exile in India, is hardly an unbiased source.

Your assertion that forced abortions, sterilizations and infanticide is common in certain areas of China is scare-mongering. 

Your claim that freedom of sexuality was a mental illness up to 2001 doesn’t make sense. Presumably you mean homosexuality was a mental illness up to 2001. In which case, so what? Buggery was a criminal offense in the Republic of Ireland until 1993. Your point is that China is 8 years behind the Republic of Ireland in social development?

I am certainly not going to be criticizing China’s alleged human rights abuses. Who should be criticizing them? The Chinese! And the overseas Chinese. I am foreigner. From the Chinese perspective, I am a foreigner. I have lived in China for the past 5 and a half years. I am a guest here. 

Lectures by western governments to China on alleged human rights abuses is a waste of time in my view. As Xi Jinping said in the US a few days ago, China will democratize at its own pace and not at a pace and timetable dictated by western powers.

Also, there is more freedom of expression in China than you think. It is not a black and white issue. For example, take environmental issues such as pollution, there is a great deal of discussion in the Chinese media about these issues and even criticism of the different levels of government. Contrast that with the US corporate media. The whole discussion in the US still hasn’t seemed to have gotten past the “are human beings responsible for global warming?” part. Clearly we are, as the overwhelming scientific consensus says we are. But the US media is still bogged down on the existential question whilst the rest of the world, including China (thank goodness, with 1.35 billion people!)  has moved on to more fully discussing and proposing solutions.

• @HughLynchsBar 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Will he be served tea in a china cup?

• Lionel Hutz 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Micheàl Martin is providing the entertainment on Sunday night with a special performance of his latest Chinese impressions

• jumpthecat 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Micheal Martin offered his services as translator “uo erich very god ah software”

• Ardo Ci 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Chinese were in Limerick. Very short while ago looking the place over. Now we have the VP. Are they about to make an offer for the country?

• RDX862 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Will the usual anti-American/Israeli protestors have their Tibetan flags ready to greet the Vice President?

So those this guy travel American style with the big motorcade and security team? I think he has Boeing 747 also.

• Philip McGrath 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“Look at them there, aren’t they great? The Chinese; a great bunch of lads.”

• Gerard Murphy 15/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Making money is more important than human rights…..

• Eugene O' Neill 15/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Yes that’s the way our morals has gone.open our legs for investment from the chinese and shut up about human rights.Our world has gone to shit.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Eugene: as opening our legs to “America” aka the USA is morally upright? The USA is bombing 6 countries, killing civilians, and violating international law. China isn’t. Like us, its military interventions abroad amount to UN supervised peace keeping operations. Let’s go where the money is – China not the USA.

• Réada Quinn 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“Let’s go where the money is”! Jesus. I’ve heard it all. China, the lesser of 2 evils. Holy cow!

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Reada: we wouldn’t even be changing existing government economic policy. We’ll just be targetting a new country to invest here and opening up their market to our products and services.

• Jambbie 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

A Chinese friend of mine passed away and not one person attended the funeral.
    Unbereaveable.

• Shane Terry 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The welcoming committee should try something different for e.g. take him to the Goodworld Chineser on Sth Georges St best in town then a few pints in Kehoes get him drunk get him to sign a trade deal with money up front and allow some nukes to be based in Galway in lieu of paying off the Euro Bankers. But oh no cue Riverdance the ol reliable worn out let’s pretend to be happy sure we’re Irish and we love a good dance routine. And they’ll have to get two translators one to translate Michael D. to English then English to Chinese.

• Dario Fo 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Now this is progress…

• Report this comment

Bring him out for a rake of pints of Guinness and then a 3 in 1 at Charlies. He’d love that.

• Sid Cassidy 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What a great country we have become with the excuse of creating any type of job we will prostitute our nation to any regime throughout the world,so proud to be Irish NOT.
    Look across Africa if you want to see what Chinese investment takes.
    Not one cent more Enda.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sid: Re Africa, regarding Chinese investment in Africa, ask the people for whom it matters – the Africans. They’ll say they welcome it and they’ll say that they prefer it to USA and European “humanitarian” intervention.

• Sheila Murphy 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul, throughout this thread you’ve constantly brought up Africa.

China has bought huge tracts of land in several countries in Africa so that food can be grown and brought to China; the people who farmed that land have been displaced with nowhere to go…….. if there is a famine in any of those countries, do you think that China will stop bringing home the produce on the land they own? So local people will starve to death, whilst tonnes of food is exported to their “lord & master” – sound familiar at all?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/world/ethiopia-evicts-thousands-from-farms-180496.html

China invests on a no-strings basis (their money, their rules) however, that does allow despots & dictators to disregard their own people. The devastation caused environmentally are horrendous. People defacing their land with poisons such as mercury, Sulfuric Acid, Cyanide etc for gold/diamond/mineral etc which means that the land is completely useless after the resources have been extracted. And not to mention the localised wars in various African countries over conflict minerals, diamonds etc.

http://www.eastasiaforum.org/2010/11/03/chinese-investment-in-iran-one-step-forward-and-two-steps-backward/
      http://inventorspot.com/articles/conflict_minerals_cell_phones_fuel_genocide_congo_44096

It’s estimated at the moment that 10 elephants are killed a day for ivory export to China; At the current rate, elephants will be extinct shortly.

http://www.biglifeafrica.org/content/china-ivory-demand-spurs-elephant-slaughter-news-article

If African leaders respected their own peoples, they’d use the resources of the continent for the people of the continent. Instead they choose to live the good life and have a laissez-faire attitude to the general population. After all it’s the wealthiest continent, in natural resource value, on this planet.

However just because Africa choose to do bad deals with China does not mean that we have to. China is a huge market for us to get into and export to. When we have a good mutually beneficial relationship with China, that might be the time to start raising concerns – if you want successful conclusions, you don’t barge in at the beginning if you need to talk to someone about something, regardless of the situation.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sheila: Throughout this thread, I constantly brought up Africa? No I did not. I only brought it up once.

Report this comment

Paul, you brought it up in 3 comments including this one; and the other point you got involved with was about abortion!! not that you shouldn’t comment as much as you want – is that the only part of my post that you’d like to address?

Report this comment

and as I scroll down, I notice a few more, then also comments about the Magdelene laundries

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sheila: Oh good grief! Before you commented, I only brought it up once. I wasn’t constantly bringing up Africa, like you falsely claimed.

• William O'Shea 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

’bout time someone of significance came to town…….. and I ain’t jokin’…..

• Mark O'Flaherty 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Chinese, a great bunch of lads….and in my view, the best!

• Réada Quinn 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m sorry about my language but putting the begging bowl out to s country that won’t look after its own seems all wrong to me.

• Wujashtop 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What begging bowl is this you refer to?

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

*We* don’t look after our own, Reada. At least 70,000 citizens have emigrated in the past 4 years. Thousands of women go abroad for an abortion because they can’t get it in Ireland. 450,000 or so signing on in the Republic of Ireland and the government thinks it can create about a 100,000 jobs in the next 4 years.

• Réada Quinn 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I know we don’t Paul. We are too busy apologising for being Irish. I still don’t think we should ignore human rights issues abroad either but the falling over ourselves to attract foreign money is pathetic. To the other reply – read up. The EU has the begging bowl out to China. It’s been making me sick for ages.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Reada: Apologizing for being Irish? Bertie Ahern was castigating the Irish for being so apologetic for years. Back in 2007, I think it was, he suggested that those who were predicting a hard landing for the Irish economy commit suicide.

Perhaps, we should be more critical of ourselves. In fact, that is the patriotic thing to do.

• Dennis J'O'Brien 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Pursuing foreign direct investment isn’t putting out a begging bowl, it’s a mutually beneficial relationship. Ireland could do with this & is ideally placed for China.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Perhaps they’ll find a village in Ireland where Xi Jinping’s ancestors came from.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If Kenny and Gilmore are spending so much time going cap in hand to the USA to shake the begging bowl for investment in Ireland, then why not China? I hear its economy is in much better shape than the USA’s. Indeed, let’s pitch as China’s gateway to Europe.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

All these people complaining about human rights abuses in China. What about human rights abuses in Ireland. Up to 30,000 women were trafficked through the Magdalen laundries. The religious orders that ran them refuse to offer an apology to the survivors of their slave camps. The Government won’t acknowledge the systemic abuse of these women that took place in their jurisdiction. And we’re complaining about human rights in China. Is this a joke? Let me answer that one. It is!

• Jamie Walsh 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Just as well you answered it yourself, Paul… No one else would.

Magdalen Laundries don’t exist in Ireland anymore. Civil and human rights abuses take place in China everyday. That clearly doesn’t bother you though.

• Réada Quinn 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So are you saying that because we were abused by ourselves it is now ok to go looking for investment from a country that is doing the same thing? If so you’re a joke Paul.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Jamie: you miss my point. I know the last Magdalen laundry closed in 1996. Many of the survivors are still alive though and many of them want a meaningful apology and compensation from the religious orders that ran those laundries. Those religious orders refuse to give either of these things. The Irish government sits on the fence.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

In 1993 the Sisters of Charity sought and got permission from the Irish government to exhume and reinter the bodies of 133 women inmates in unmarked graves in one of their properties. That, in and of itself, is a scandal and a human rights abuse.

But, there’s more. It turns out that a total of 155 bodies were finally exhumed. That’s 22 people that the religious order couldn’t account for at all. So what is that? A case of Oirish inefficiency? No, that is a human rights abuse.

Now, let’s say this took place in China. Good grief, there would be people posting here in the comments section, drooling at a mouth, spouting sanctimonious outrage at this latest instance of human rights abuse from China.

It is the merest truism that as a citizen of the Republic of Ireland, I am concerned about the human rights abuses that take place in my own country.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Reada: the USA abuses human rights and we are perfectly happy to ask them for investment. Their government is bombing 6 countries in defiance of international law and killing innocent civilians. Read about their drone campaign in Pakistan for example. They are committing disgusting war crimes as reprehensible as those committed by Bashar Al-Assad in Syria.

• Réada Quinn 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul. Look in the mirror. You’re calling some sanctimonious. Why are we arguing among ourselves. As I’ve said before, who needs masters when the slaves are so eager to whip each other??

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Reada: Where am I being sanctimonious? The Republic of Ireland seeks investment from the USA which violates human rights on the international stage. All I suggested was that we also seek investment from China. I thought I was being pragmatic, not sanctimonious.

• Réada Quinn 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul. It’s just interesting that you linked up with commentators who care equally with the injustices you listed. You raised very valid points, points that might have been more appropriate for a religious thread rather than a Chinese one. That’s all. The fact Ireland suffered abuses of its own should, morally, make us less likely to deal with a country with a record like china. I just don’t understand why you’re keeping it up???

• Jamie Walsh 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Paul, I’m not missing your point. You are arguing about a dreadful occurrence that happened in Ireland’s past. Yes, there are issues that remain to be sorted out but it is certainly not condoned on a National level by our Government.

Comparing this one instance to the ongoing gross human rights abuses that take place in China and are perpetrated by the Chinese Government TODAY is utter nonsense.

Do you live or have business interests in China, Paul? Sounds to me like you are desperately trying to convince yourself of something and there must be a reason for it.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Jamie: I live in China and I have lived here for the past 5 and a half years – which is irrelevant.

• Paul Carr 16/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Reada: Ireland suffered abuses? There is not -ed- about it. Ireland still suffers abuses. Enda Kenny said in his Cloyne speech last year that the Catholic church is covering up the physical and sexual abuses of unfortunates in their care right up to the present day. Many of the survivors of the Magdalene laundry human trafficking operation want a sincere and heartfelt apology from the religious orders that ran them and they want compensation. Instead, the religious orders refuse to meet with them or their representatives. The Irish Government appears to be happy with this.

What I have always found annoying  is the tendency of social conservatives in developed world western countries to turn a blind eye to human rights abuses in their own countries whilst turning to “Big Bad China” to sound off in outrage about alleged human rights abuses there.

The abuses in Ireland I mention above are not religious abuses, by the way, they’re human rights abuses.

You complain that I’m off-topic. You wrote about human rights abuses in China in the comments section here even before I arrived. Isn’t that going off topic? I merely suggested that since the USA also engages in human rights abuses internationally the Irish government should feel no compunction doing business with China, something you seem to have a problem with.  The Republic of Ireland seems to have no compunction about doing business with the USA. As I’ve pointed out, human rights abuses take place within the Republic of Ireland so perhaps it is a case of birds of a feather flock together.

• Andrew Lyall 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Father Ted: “I’m not a fascist. Fascists wear black and tell people what to do…. Er… let’s have another drink.

• Ruairí McKiernan 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“Looking around this assembly, … I think how many benches would be empty in this hall if it had always been agreed that when a small nation or a small people fall in the grip of a major power no one could ever raise their voice here; that once there was a subject nation, then must always remain a subject nation. Tibet has fallen into the hands of the Chinese People’s Republic for the last few years. For thousands of years, … it was as free and as fully in control of its own affairs as any nation in this Assembly, and a thousand times more free to look after its own affairs than many of the nations here.” – Ireland’s Frank Aiken at U.N.’s debate on Tibet in 1959

• Luke Ó Rourke 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This is very welcome in my view! Its not about human rights abuses, its about Business, enterprise and trade. things we need to grow our economy and get down unemployment! its very hard to try and get other countries to change when you have no or little dialogue with them! So the stronger friends we become with China then more we can try push not just trade but also Human rights issues.
    For those who give out about Ireland’s Human rights problems such as trafficking women and the Magdalene laundries; at least we try to fix these problem, there are no more of these laundries and we bring in new laws to deal with other problems when they arise and become noticed. some people can’t just take a good thing and have to put down the country and Government, when they should be more positive. so over all its a bit of good news for Irish trade and relations and its also good news for human rights because as we become better friends with china we can convince them more to do the right thing by their people!

• Report this comment

If you go through the comments under this topic, it looks like some might even sell their daughters to be rich. The fact is Ireland is a colonised but a proud nation & China is one of the greatest oppressors/ colonisers with evil unelected dictator like Hu Jintao or Xi Jinping. For them Ireland should be the last country to be their friend & we are going to bed without mentioning Human Right?
    God Bless Ireland to do business with Blood Money from China.
    TOP SHOUT- China Xi Jinping, STOP KILLING TIBETANS & STOP THE REPRESSIVE POLICIES IN TIBET. CHINA LIES, PEOPLE DIES.
    SHAME ON CHINA.
    FREE TIBET TO SAVE TIBETANS

• Lhamo Tsering 16/02/12 #
    Report this comment

IT MIGHT APPEAR SO EXCITING WITH XI JINPING VISIT IN IRELAND YET WE ALL SEEM TO BE BLIND SIGHTED BY THE FACT OF COMMUNISM CRUELTY BEYOND MANKIND IN TIBET.WE ALL RESPECT AND TREAT EVERY ONE FAIRLY INCLUDING ANIMAL BUT DOES THE TIBETAN GET THEY BASIC RIGHT IN TIBET ABSOLUTELY NOT.THAN WHY DO WE THINK WE NEED TO BE SO ELATED ABOUT HIS VIST. I THINK WITH TODAYS ECONOMY AND MANY NATION BEING TOO DEPENDENT ON CHINA WOULD DEFINITELY LOSING GRIP ON MANKIND AND ONCE OWN FREEDOM OF SPEECH. SO SAY NO TO MADE IN CHINA ,FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE TIBET AND LONG LIVE DALIA LAMA

Add New Comment