Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Gallery: Bertie’s Croker birthday bash… but where’s the man of the hour?

(L to R) Bertie Ahern's son-in0law Nicky Byrne and daughters Georgina and Cecilia arrive for his birthday bash at Croke Park
Image: Photocall Ireland

FORMER TAOISEACH BERTIE Ahern celebrated his 60th birthday in style last night, at a party in Croke Park organised by his daughters Cecilia and Georgina.

A host of well-known names arrived at Croker last night to toast Ahern, but there was no sign of the man himself, as photographers waited outside to catch a glimpse of the birthday boy.

It’s speculated today that he slipped in through one of Croke Park’s less public entrances, as his daughters, ex-wife Miriam, Fianna Fáil pal Charlie McCreevy, and Dublin football boss Pat Gilroy arrived for the party.

According to Mark Hillard and Lisa Hand’s report in today Irish Independent, guests were served a three course meal, while the walls of the venue were adorned with pictures of Bertie through the years.

Ahern’s daughter Ceclila said that her dad hates this kind of fuss and that he was just doing his ‘duty’ by turning up.

It’s also reported that Bill Clinton, Tony Blair and Alex Ferguson all sent video messages to the birthday boy.

Gallery: Bertie’s Croker birthday bash… but where’s the man of the hour?
1 / 11
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Bertie Ahern's former wife Miriam Ahern and her partner Terry McCoy arrive. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Who could this mystery guest be? The unidentified man hid in the back seat of a Land Rover Jeep as he was driven through the back entrance of Croke Park. Photo /Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Not everybody was there to celebrate: Eamon Reid protesting at Bertie Ahern's 60th birthday party at Croke Park. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Noel Ahern, Bertie's brother, arrives at Croke Park. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Charlie McCreevy with his wife Noleen arriving at Bertie Ahern's 60th birthday party at Croke Park. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Paddy The Plasterer (Paddy Reilly) arrives at Bertie Ahern's 60th birthday party at Croke Park. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Louis Copeland arrives. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Charlie Chawke with his wife Bernice. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Dublin football manager Pat Gilroy arrives at Bertie Ahern's 60th birthday party. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Yvonne Keating arrives at Croke Park. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Happy Birthday Bertie

Sisters Georgina and Cecelia Ahern pose for photographers as they arrive for their father Bertie Ahern's 60th birthday party at Croke Park. Photo Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Read Next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• Dave O'Shea 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Who gives a flying f***

• Chelsea Byrne 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Slipped through the ranks as he always did!

• Del Diamond 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Exactly, who gives 2 fooks.
    He should be ashamed of his life the corrupt git.

• Del Diamond 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Horrible horrible man.
    Arrogance beyond words, corrupt to the highest,
    Birthday Bash me bxlls

• Stephen G 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Isn’t there some paint drying somewhere that’s needs reporting?

• Gordon Bernard 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Guess a majority of people shouldn’t have voted for him numerous times if they hated him so much!

• Tony Stamper 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Thankfully a majority never voted for him. It was 41% that voted for FF at his highest. It is worrying that so many have so little respect for themselves, their wider communities or their country to vote to that degree. Thankfully the fog has lifted, Jesus be praised, oh yeah!

• P Mac Eochaidin 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

What worries me is that almost 1 in 5 who voted in the last election voted FF.

THEY HAVEN’T GONE AWAY!!!

• Stephen McB 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

No doubt he’ll have found a way to ensure the taxpayer foots the bill for this..

• John Manahan 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

The man’s vanity , or should that be insanity knows no bounds. Having a bash in Croker is typical of him. Though his 2 ‘daughters’ were partly responsible. PS Bertie I don’t love U !!!! Hope u are behind bars for ur 70th.

• Pat Mulcahy 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

he is home checking his brown envelope collection.

• Sheila Murphy 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Well done Mr Eamon Reid.

Seems like bertie still has his “buddies” if they can any of Croke Park’s rooms

Report this comment

I heard that the FF’ers left the place in a right mess, that in places that they even stripped the copper wire from the walls. Fights outside and inside etc.

Personally I have nothing against them gathering for a bash, we all enjoy a night out. However, if they do not behave in accordance with the rules of society, they can’t turn around and shout “discrimination” or “Yiz are all against us”. For too long they have been mollycoddled by the politically “in tune” media. Next thing they’ll be looking for ethnic status and grants from the EU.

• Gordon Bernard 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

To your previous comment Tony, if there’s two parties involved, 41% isn’t a majority, but when there’s 4 parties and independents, 41% to one party IS the majority, for all intents and purposes. My point was clear, no need to nitpick!

• Morgan C.Jones 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

60. Years. Old – he’s young; and we’re facing paying him his â

• Guinness Follower 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

His daughters wanted to throw their father a party for his 60th birthday.

If anybody sees anything wrong with this then they need to get over themselves.

• Sheila Murphy 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Hi Guiness I’m only speaking for myself here – and I’ve nothing against family throwing parties for anyone – but yesterday’s Examiner reported that pensioners are going to bed at 7 in the evening to save their heating bill and also even for the afternoon so that they can save money. The St Vincent de Paul have said that their contributors have now become their clients. This man who apparently had a great hand at winning on horses has claimed over a quarter of a million in expenses since stepping down as toiseach. He’s only 60 years old – the rest of us won’t qualify until 65 or for many of us now, 67……. I’m frustrated at this constant 1 rule for them and a different rule for the majority of us. They are still aboard the state gravy train with us doing the work to pay for it all.

Report this comment

I wonder was Micheal McDowell there, given the years of unquestioning service to Bertie Ahern, his years of not caring what the his Govt. were doing. Or did he ask one of his Party’s donors to give Bertie his best wishes on his behalf. The PD donor and member list looks like a cross-index of bankers and developers and Nama, so Ahern was bound to know lots of them as well.

For all McDowell’s ranting and roaring, he was just another notch on Bertie’s bed. No one respects an easy lay, especially one that debases themselves that much for a power.

• HELLO SPRUIKER 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

McDowell probably crawled in covertly through the ”Specially Constructed Sewer Entrance” with the rest of the rats.

• Joan Featherstone 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Sheila, you rock! Bertie is a complete and utter asshole. What the f.ck we’re they thinking of, why didn’t they have a ‘family’ party like everyone else, don’t tell me didn’t anticipate this kinda backlash!!!!

• Charlie Kiernan 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

It’s birthday party get over it we all have them

Report this comment

Tony, you need help. Wishing death on somebody is a disguisting thing to do.

• Cormac Kavanagh 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Yeah, absolutely disgusting, Bertie would never say something like that…..

‘Sitting on the sidelines, cribbing and moaning is a lost opportunity. I don’t know how people who engage in that don’t commit suicide”

• Kieran Holland 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Of course it wouldn’t be a private, family affair. When my Dad’s birthday came around recently we went for dinner and then afterwards to the pub. I’d imagine that would be too prole like for Bertie….not enough money could be spent (by other people) in that scenario.

• Julie Swayne 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Wonder who the guy hiding in the car being brought around to the back is?my guess is one of the property developers he frequently cozied up to in the galway tent.

• Rommel Burke 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

my guess it was ahern being dropped off from the bookies where he won a load of sterling and his heads down reading “an idiots guide to opening your first bank account”
      Treacherous Tosser!

• HELLO SPRUIKER 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Sneak him in like a criminal ????

• Pilib O Muiregan 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Na Mc Dowell is a Bindenberg member now, too busy trying to take over the world

• Tara 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Irritating little creep of a man, who cares? And the simpering daughters just send me into orbit…..,

Report this comment

@Sheila. I agree, its shameful that there are some old people suffering. However, Bertie has 2 daughters, both of which are millionaires in their own rights. Cecila is a world famous author and Georgina is married to Nicky from Westlife.
    If 2 millionaires want to throw a lavish party for their dad’s 60th then good luck to them.
    The nations poverty is feck all to do with them.

Report this comment

@Cormac. There is a big difference between (a) wishing somebody would die soon and (b) wondering why someone doesn’t commit suicide.

Report this comment

Ok, I take your point..
      But from his irritated tone of voice in that infamous speech he probably wouldnt have been bothered if they did kill themselves. Still a really stupid thing to say from a country’s leader.

• Noddy Mooney 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Is wishing someone dead worse than causing premature death to many of our elderly and sick citizens?

• Tara 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Is the Guinness Follower really Bertie??? ‘cos it sure sounds like it from here….or else you’re the last person in Ireland who actually sounds like a supporter and isn’t related to him….

Report this comment

To be honest with you, I’m neutral on the man. He did some good and some bad for the country.

The thing that interests me is the over the top hatred that has developed for the man. Most commentary suggests that our problems are the result of cheap credit flooding our banks, aggressive policies persued by the banks and finally non existant regulation. However, when you read the comments above, you would swear the man was responsible all on his own.
      I can only presume that people are angry and are taking their anger out on him. The problem I have is that this story is about a family party, simple as that. The comments that he does not deserve a family party and that he should die are quite honestly shamefull.

Keep things in perspective, thats all.

• Elrat 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Agree with you Tara the whole bloody family are obnoxious !!

• Kevin Maughan 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Birthday bash? The only bash should have been the sound of Bertie getting his head kicked in. He and his mob are the reason this country are in the shits.

• Kevin Maughan 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

No touch of the green eyed monster here honestly. Just anger at his pure cheekiness and corruption.

• Tara 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

I think you’re the one missing the point here, which is this; the man was entrusted with the running of our county for many years..as he was leader he should now be held somewhat accountable for the fact that while he was supposedly leading, he was being completely dishonest, lying and lining his own and his cronies pockets….and we’re all supposed to say now "ah look, fair play Bertie is 60"..I don’t think many people will be wishing him well. If they wish him dead, while it might be over the top, that’s their prerogative.so get over the fury Guinness Follower, there’s no love left for Bertie.

• Report this comment

Millionaires in their own right???? Seriously who said that? her books are total tripe, the other one married a famous kareoke singer…. Bertie is slime! Enough said! Why his birthday made the news id love to know! Noone give a flying £&@/!!!

• Oil Foster 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Green eyed monster? Jealous of a man who has to sneak into his birthday? A corrupt disgusting individual who used his position in public service to profit at every opportunity. Yes Guinness follower, we’re all jealous!!

Report this comment

But you are!!!!

It’s the fact that despite the countries problems, his family are minted and are not affected by any of the cutbacks. They are minted, money to burn and can afford to live in the lap of luxury!!!!!

The only reason he ‘sneaked’ into his own party is because he didn’t want to make a big fuss and rub peoples nose in it all.

Personally, I don’t like him, however when he was dishing out the tax cuts to one and all and we were living the high life buying our fancy houses and second cars, nobody was treating him with the contempt they are now.

Seriously, we as a nation have very short memories.

• Noddy Mooney 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

“nobody was treating him with the contempt they are now”

I was, and always have. And many I know were too, because he has always been a self-serving sleveen crook.

Report this comment

WTF, “we” were living the high life with fancy cars and second cars??

I personally was never invited to THAT party. Maybe I should have voted for Bertie and his chums.

Report this comment

oops, “fancy houses”

• Report this comment

Absolute arrogance of it all. No shame!! Bertie should crawl under the nearest man hole and stay there!

• Tara 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Guinness Follower-I think you’re onto a loser here.no one seems to be agreeing with you…..good luck trying to convince everyone…

Report this comment

I’m not looking for anyone to agree with me Tara. I’m simply giving my opinion and pointing out the over the top and unfair comments given towards a family celebrating the 60th birthday of their father.

• Kieran Holland 10/09/11 #
      Report this comment

Guinness, this isn’t just any 60 year old man celebrating his birthday with some friends and family – this is a man who was head of the government throughout the 2000s when our wealth was amassed and then squandered and he has many things to answer for in my opinion and a lot of other people think so too.

Fair enough – you can say it wasn’t all down to one man, and it’s true a lot of public anger is directed towards him and he is a bit of scapegoat, but it’s not like he doesn’t deserve either. He was as corrupt and as conniving as the worst of them. When the going got tough he bailed out – See ya!

This is a man, who, when asked what his greatest regret in political life had been, was that he hadn’t built the “Bertie Bowl”. He did some good….apparently, his contribution to the Good Friday agreement, but I think that is outweighed considerably by the rest of the shit he was involved in.

Report this comment

Granted. However, no matter how bad a job he did, no matter what mistakes he made and no matter how corrupt he was, he is entitled to have a party with his family and friends.

• Report this comment

He’s having as much fun and partying as much as he can now, because he knows that when the Mahon report comes out, that will all be over… Even his own party wants to have nothing to do with him now, and I speak as a member of it. He may have done a lot of damage to the political system as a whole, but he did even more to Fianna Fáil (relatively speaking).

Corrupt piece of &%^£.

• Report this comment

Yes he is entitled to have a birthday bash. He should have it in private at his house (still question about that transaction) or at a discreet location not at Croke Park.

• Julia Smith 10/09/11 #
    Report this comment

He deserves to be shunned. Despicable man.

• Declan Ryan 11/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Biggest criminal n hyprocrite in ireland and they throw a party for him

• Declan Ryan 11/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Guiness the man is a lying coniving hypocrite,he has been a dishonest politician ever since he became charlie haugheys puppet boy,he is obsessed with money’remember cupboard ad’if he had any decency he would donate all the money he stole to the homeless,and the reason hes getting his big party thrown is because hes family r not going to disown him,and finally i rest my case with a recent qoute from bertie seemingly his biggest regret whilst in office he never got the bertie bowl,unbelievable totally out of touch with ordinary people who are suffering ,shame on you bertie karma will come back on you.

• Catriona Morgan 11/09/11 #
    Report this comment

Happy Birthday Bertie, may you have many moreâ

• Gerald Martin 11/09/11 #
    Report this comment

hope his next birthday cake has a file hidden inside it

Add New Comment