TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

‘It’s not on’ – Garda Commissioner critical of work-to-rule, ‘blue flu’ threats

Growing tensions between gardaí and the government, which is seeking €60 million in new savings, could lead to protests that would hamper the ability of the force to operate to its full capacity.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

GARDA COMMISSIONER MARTIN Callinan has said he would hope that reported threats by gardaí of mass work-to-rule or so-called ‘blue flu’ will not transpire amid tensions over cuts to resources.

The closure of nearly 100 garda stations last week and difficult negotiations over the €60 million that the government is targeting in new savings is leading to claims that gardaí could stage a number of protests in the coming weeks and months.

The Irish Independent reported this morning that a bout of ‘blue flu’ – where gardaí call in sick in large numbers – is being mooted as are possible work-to-rule protests.

It is illegal for gardaí to go on strike but other protests are not being ruled-out.

Speaking at the launch of a new initiative aimed at tackling cyberbullying Callinan said this morning: “I am on no notice that such an event [protests] is planned for the future. Obviously I would hope that something like that would not happen.

“We are a professional policing service, we are the guardians of peace, our job is to ensure that we maintain that peace. Any form of industrial action would mitigate against providing that type of service. It’s not on.”

The Garda Representative Association is meeting with today to consider its position in relation to talks on a successor to the Croke Park Agreement on public sector pay and reform with the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors having withdrawn from talks last week.

“We hope that people will hang in there and that we reach a satisfactory conclusion for all,” Callinan said of the ongoing negotiations.

On the recent spate of station closures, he said the move was part of a suite of reforms in the force.

“It is incumbent on me that we provide a most effective and most efficient policing service. And it’s about policing through people, not policing through bricks and mortar.

“We fully understand the sensitivities involved and the public perspective around the issue of station closures, and of course it is an emotive issue. But the object of the exercise is to provide a greater and more efficient policing service.”

Asked about the investigation into the murder of Detective Garda Adrian Donohue, the Commissioner said “steady progress” was being made. He reiterated an appeal to the public to bring any information “no matter how small” to Gardaí.

He warned that it will be a “slow process”, calling it a “very serious and sad time”.

- with reporting from Sinead O’Carroll

Column: My father was a Garda – I’ve seen what they have to go through.

Read: AGSI demands ‘actions not words’ from Noonan over garda pay talks

Read: GRA rejects proposed cuts to garda pay and allowances

Read next:

Comments (138 Comments)

• A professional force with unprofessional leadership bowing to the shortsighted demands of a bad solicitor in charge with a grip.

• DM 04/02/13 #

Maybe the ‘Professional’ Gardai Management or Administration could answer…. How many bankers have been arrested, investigated and imprisoned? How many arrests, investigations and sentences have there been for white collar crime or political & planning corruption in this country ? How many Tribual findings have been acted on and arrests made in this country ? Why is anything related to the banking crisis, planning or political corruption if investigated at all these investigations are at the speed of a Tortoise in reverse ??

Does our Professional Police force actually want to catch anyone or are they doing what they are told ??

If the Gardai could stumble into Easons some day and look at the number of published books which identify the corruption and strokes that have been pulled in this country and answer how these go unpunished in a supposed civil and fair society with an Independent and Profeesional Police Force?

This country and the Gardai (presumbly at management level) only seem to implement the laws for the little people… When the Professional Gardai Management and Administration show the moral courage to enforce the full rigours of the law for all of society then they will have my full support….

I do have sympathy for fontline services but we have allowed a society were its one rule for us and one rule for the rest. I’m afraid the frontline Gardai are on the other side of this rule…

• Just to answer your question on bankers. Sean Fitzpatrick should be in court January next year. The file for his prosecution has about 28 million documents in it. It is slow tedious work and we all wish it could be done quicker

• The DPP decide if anyone is charged and brough to court, the courts decide if they are to be convicted, the gardai just do the arresting and gathering evidence etc. the gardai dont decide on guilt or innocence or hand pick who they want to send to jail. Last time I checked Seanie Fitz etc were before the circuit criminal court awaiting trial. White collar crime along with other complex criminal investigations require a stupuidly high level of investigation here as our justice system is completely set up in favour of the offenders, the courts heard that there was several million documents that were part of the criminal case against the former Anglo golden circle. Investigations of that size do not get done over night.

If we were to convict people purely on the basis of what is wrote down in books in easons then what would stop someone writing lies to vindictively have an innocent person go to jail?

• I’d hate to break it you but anything found in a tribunal isn’t admissible in a criminal prosecution. That’s why they’re only blame laying investigations and pretty much defunct. They cost millions, take years and only point the finger.

• you comments are so true and you comments are truth, you should be awarded”"” person of the year.

• We are not independent of the govt and that the problem, bankers etc has brought the country to its knees, they thought the Provos were going to destroy the govt. it’s all these lads should be arrested under offences against the state.

• Hear Hear Very Well Said.

• Gra should table a motion of no confidence in both the commissioner and shatter maybe then they will finally realise that the gardai have had enough.

• Cop on callinan . Start looking after your troops instead if constantly bein the yes man .

• the most effective legal striking action is to use their official equipment and nothing else: using PULSE, unroadworthy gda vehicles, communication equipment etc would have the system crumbling in hours.

in the alternative, those gardai on VIP protection could get blue flu and im sure that would focus a few minds after politicians had to face the electorate without protection

• Might be the indo stirring the bucket. I read sundays paper and thought to myself, since when did they pro guard and now i know why!

• They are looking for 60 million in cuts?? In an article further down the journal reports that over 92 million was paid out in error by social welfare last year, IMO if they sorted out the social welfare system and cut 2/3 of the fraud in it they would have this 60 million easy peasy.

• These proposed cuts won’t affect anyone of superintendent rank and above. Sure why would he care!

• Interesting that a man at the top of his chain is still licking arse.

You can’t climb any higher sweetie, you don’t have to Rim Mr Shatter anymore!

• I’m impressed if nothing else with the overwhelming support from the public in these times for all members of the Frontline Services.

• Bunch of cowboys ted!!! Bunch of cowboys!!!

• Callinan and Shatter have lost the respect of the members speak like this will only infuriate them more the time for downgrading and weakening the force is no longer acceptable pay peanuts get monkeys

• The members are are professional but it is by no means a professional service. When you expect them to do their duties with substandard equipment

• If these cuts to their alowances are forced upon them, It will be interesting to see how many Gardai are prepared to work unsociable hours when both the Croke Park Agreement and the Pilot roaster periods run out shortly. And why should they!!! They are being treated disgracefully by government and being taken advantage of due to the fact they are not entitled to participate in industrial action. Nor are they allowed to get a second job, in certain other industries to supplement the loss that they have encountered, yet if they fall into debt they may be sacked as this is a sackable offence!!! What a country we live in.

• One garda gets shot killed trying to his job . Now the rest of the Force gets stabbed in the back.

• Ryan'O 04/02/13 #

Cullinan and shatter make a lovely couple don’t they.

• Mick 04/02/13 #

Today’s comments and indeed the sheer level of remoteness and disconnect shown by Commissioner Callinan towards those on the front, illustrate everything that is wrong with the political appointment of the head of a police force .
    I actually, am embarrassed on his behalf at times when I see the price he willingly pays for his two year extension of term by Mr. Shatter.
    For An Garda Síochána not to have the support of the Minister is one thing but for the Commissioner to advocate any and all of his policies without a hint of rebuttal or display of respect for the truth, which is blindingly obvious to the vast majority of the population as displayed by recent outpouring, can only lead the force to despair. It might well be time that some action is taken not only for pay conditions but on behalf of the greater good of society before it is too late.

• well as a former ass commissioner said yesterday he does not think much thought if any was put into this. of course playing ball gets 2 year extension and if he did not play ball would be out on his ear and next man willing to cut would be appointed. But really they should think of legacy. Pat byrne was seen as a good fair commissioner who smiled engaged with guards and media, Conroy media shy quite man who did not want to rock the boat. Murphy was much the same but a nice man by all accounts.

just goes to show really FG are pushing it same with hospitals being closed and they are rotten to the core. Promise the sun moon and stars but deliver nothing. Say what you want about FF sure they got us into this mess in first place but….. during the boom years did not hear FG objecting, would have done same thing had they been in charge. As for SF if they told me the sky was blue outside id still wanna go out and check.

• Funnily Enough Stewie Your Comment Re Pat Byrne As Commissioner has been mentioned by A few Guards over the past Few Weeks. Some Comments Even Suggested that He Would Be Welcomed Back If He Was Allowed. As For The Shinners I have to Agree With YouThere Also But It Looks From Listening To People Talking Both Young And Not So Young S/F Are Going To Have Hugh Support At The Next General Election. They Can Thank The 3 Main Stream Parties In The Republic For That Support.

• Work to rule is not industrial action, it is actually doing what you are contractually obliged to do and no more

• What will happen if closing the stations end up costing more than it saves? I would hate to be a Garda, really are getting it from all sides.

• “We are a professional policing service” with inadequate services, equipment, training… etc etc.
    Now don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge supporter of AGS, its just Management and Shatter which I detest. Shatter would want to change his approach quickly or these protest will happen, and it will affect us the people. Whatever is necessary for AGS to do in order to improve their working condition, stop cuts, raise numbers in rank and file, is certainly welcome. You could see this Blu flu coming from many many months ago.

• Shatter won’t change so expect this bout o blue flu i reckon and the people are fully behind the Garda for foing so too.

POWER TO THE PEOPLE \o/

• The Men and Women Of The Gardai Are 99.9 Per Cent Decent Ordinary Fathers / Mothers / Sons / Daughters And Do a Dangerous Thankless Job. Many Have Made The Ultimate Sacrifice Protecting The People Of Ireland. They Deserve to Be Looked After Properly. The Parasite Politicians and Garda Top Brass On Massive Wages And Perks Should Be Shown To Be The Pariahs That They Are. How Dare They Think and Insist That The Front Line Garda Should Do Their Job On Wages That Do Not Reflect The Dangerous Job They Do.

• Tony 04/02/13 #

He has lost the support of the GRA and the AGSI, his position isnt tenable – time for him to come clean, stop allowing Shatter to say that he is the one closing 100 Garda stations and allow someone with some intergity who isnt a political puppet to take on the role.

• He seems a little out of touch with the gardai and more in touch with his buddy shatter.

• The whole job is political appointments ! ! I pity the poor garda on the ground doing the work , while commissioner sits in his office getting €250k and a driver car etc ! !
    What’s worse is that the GRA are meant to be the biggest shower of useless monkeys who are also “in” with management so as to keep their nice handy well paid jobs !
    Lets see what they do for their members this time or will they give in to management and shatter ! !
    RIP – D/garda Donoghue

• Slowly corroding…. Civil unrest beckons.

• Superintendent Rank up to Commissioner Rank is a political appointment,until the Gardai is totally independent of government there will always be government yes men in senior positions in An Garda Siochana who couldn’t give a f**k about rank and file and when the Minister for Justice says ‘Jump’ they reply by saying ‘how high’.

• And today we have seven Gardai injured as three Garda cars are rammed, those in charge need to wake up and realise that an awful lot of criminals have no fear in harming Gardai and view the entire judicial system as a playground for their ill minds, but sure less pay, fewer stations, crap cars and in comparison to forces in the U.K., no equipment, will send out a strong message to the perpetrators of wrong doing

• He’s nothing but another lap dog.

• they are entitled to a sick day Martin, don’t be so silly, there’s a bad dose going around anyway!

• Indeed Ted. Of late I have actually begun to wonder how the Commissioner sits down comfortably while Minister Shatters arm in lodged in his rectum…can’t be a nice feeling! Then again the Commissioners €200K Salary with benefits easily offsets this inconvenience. He doesn’t need to worry about cuts as they won’t affect him…

• Toorkeel, just because he’s earning a high salary doesn’t mean that he doesn’t feel bad about cuts. I think you should cut him some slack, he’s under enormous pressure and he seems to be doing a good job. Besides, the cuts were brought in by the Minister and I’m fairly certain the Commissioner doesn’t haven’t any power in that area.

• Has he no power to fight for the people under his control?

• The best thing for the gardai to do, if they do indeed suddenly come down with a flu, is to all get it. Stick together.

This time round there are no probationers under threat of losing their jobs if ye ring in sick. But do it together as one. They won’t sack ye all !!!

One for all and all for one !!!

• Denis, of course he can fight for them. What I meant was that he has no power to, for example, reverse pay cuts or reopen garda stations.

• It was his suggestion according to Shatter that and what Stations were to be closed. He Callinan is a disgrace to Irish Society and Insult to the Uniform that Front Line Garda wear with Pride.

• Agree totally and this time the Public are behind them

• dave 04/02/13 #

What kind of cuts are in line for the top brass this time I wonder.. it’s great to see the Garda commissioner pay is just about in line with the president of the united states… That seems about right..

• Red Ed 04/02/13 #

There are too many political appointments in the gardai. No wonder Callinan is not supporting his members. What would they know about policing? Half of them should be locked up

• As usual people are been divided. The original problem is been lost in the arguments. The so called BANK BAILOUT is the reason behind these cuts. About 100 greedy people broke the banks and have caused all this strife in this country.

• JakkiB 04/02/13 #

This is the same dude that Shatter quoted as agreeing to the closure of 100 garda stations #TakeAseat

• Impressed if nothing else with the apparently overwhelming public support from the public for the Frontline Services!

• Cough cough, I think I’m getting sick from some of the bullshit comments by some of the idiots here!

• Please stop reporting indo lies as fact.

• If the Gardai want to hurt the government but still serve the people all they have to do is stop issuing fines. They have discressionary powers, they could just issue warnings to people instead of fines. Dry up a source of funding to government. Remember, the government only get to bully the people by using our money against us that they steal through the tax system, fines etc. We all need to stop complying, don’t be paying the likes of Edna Kenny to bully us all. By doing what I suggest here, the Gardai would seriously hurt the government and gain some much needed traction with the people. Stop protesting, striking etc-think- how can we hurt the government? As they don’t seem to mind hurting us.

• Flexibility is a necessary part of structural reforms.

• The gardai are doing very well when compared to the rest of society. Fair play to the Minister
    and the Commissioner, its about time they regained control of this flawed
    origination which contains more than its fair share of very flawed people. The government have to show backbone and face down these people. The gardai are showing their true colours as a police force that threatens and bullies the elected legislature.The last bout of blue flu did immense reputational damage to AGS.

• Don’t feed the troll people :)

• If your going to make a comment like that at least back it up, otherwise you look like nothing more than a troll

• It’s actually so obvious that he’s trolling it’s getting laughable but sure hey, if that’s his only way of getting kicks then I say let him at it.

• Good lad joe!!! Anymore jokes???

• I suspect that joe is the joke here. His comments are like the ramblings of an idiot who believes anything he reads in the media. He’s not being taken seriously on this site and I suspect that he’s probably not taken seriously in life either.

• Totally agree Jim!

• Stop Jim Melia, you’re really hurting my feelings today.

The fact is the last time the Gardai had a “blue flu” day, they did immense reputational damage to themselves. 5 members of the Real IRA attempted a robbery on a cash in transit van in Wicklow. Let them have a blue flu today, and see how much public support they have then.

• Lol

• Yet again joe you’ve shown how delusional you are. There is massive public support for gardai out there, I suspect more so than there’s ever been. You just keep coming with the comments, they really are a source of amusement for me at this stage :)

• Happy to oblige Jim.

And my point is let’s see how much support they have if they try another blu flu day, and the Real IRA or some other subversives try another heist, as they did last time there was a blu flu in AGS.

• that robbery was put down with one fella shot dead that day of blue flu joe :)

ah your priceless really. Why are we feeding him i must ask?? is it the case that trolls are cute when like puppies??

• actually this point is not troll feeding but a good way to gauge public support for front line.

If you feel that gardai should have industrial action green thumb

if you feel no red thumb and lets see the ” damage”

i’ll kick it off with a green

• Correct us if we are wrong Joe but weren’t the criminals caught on that particular day. You really are doing your best here aren’t you. You may very well be an intelligent guy for all we know but your posts are so predictable at this stage that no one is taking you seriously.

• Ah Stewie, you’re back again after running off yesterday. Are you still claiming you know more about policing than the highest ranking police officers in the State?

And in today’s Irish Times – http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2013/0204/1224329604399.html

“Any discussion of the number of Garda stations in Ireland should begin with a recognition that the country has an exceptionally high number of police stations, even with the recent closures.”

“This will not be done in local Garda stations but by organised Garda units that work across the country, conducting investigation and surveillance, and co-operating with policing agencies beyond our borders.”

But I’m sure your vast knowledge still trumps that of a leading criminologist, as well as the highest ranking garda officers.

• Mike Brennan, they were caught and there was a Real IRA member shot dead. Hence why I said “attempted” robbery. Nevertheless, at the time there was a public backlash, and the gardai lost a lot of public support, and suffered reputational damage.

• hehe it does :) and yes when it comes to front line policing i feel i do know more then the pen pushersbut of course if people were to listen to management of ANS everything is rosey in the garden. Car shortage what car shortage?? well all someone has to do is walk down to local station and ask if they have transport.

Not directed at Joe but just in general. My way of cutting cost in AGS

lets say your standard 1.8 ford monedo 30k to buy gov takes vrt and vat away from that and on fleet deal lets say they get it for half that so 15k (i am being very very kind with that figure). Driven into ground as its run 24/7 up to 300,000km in that time has to be services every 10’000km and must be overall each time new brakes disk and pads new filters new bits and bobs so thats €500 at least so thats €15000 to maintain it over its life……. but also cars are rammed and crashed and instead of being written off are put back on road so repair damage can run maybe up to €10’000 euro in its life. so overall that car has cost the taxpayer anything up to €40’000 euro. and no return for state

My idea would be by fit for purpose cars lets say 525D BMW take out vat and vrt and fleet deal probably would be in mid €20.000. so anyway drive it till 100K take it off road and sell it to public. Car would have best of services and still a long happy life ahead of it and 100,00km would be up in under a year so think of it joe public getting 5.25 thats a 131 reg for around mid €20’000. The car has now cost the state nothing at all only its upkeep. everyone is happy proper patrol car, tax payer getting great deal and some body getting a car same year for almost half the price. Savings would not be noticed for almost a year but apply that across the garda fleet. There you go truckload of money saved.

Actually this is the model they use down under. so ask me again do i know more then they do and i will say YES.

not engaging with you Joe the troll but glad i got chance to show public how savings can be made without reducing service.

• About 3/4 of gardai were not even in the guards when blue flu happened. I can see nowhere saying that the rep bodies are considering blue flu. It’s a media speculation at best.

• media speculation yes but seems to be alot of anger among the guards. The gra and agsi have to ballot members do they accept the terms of any deal. Want guess result?? When that no vote comes in they have to ballot again on taking action. I’d say we will see something be it blue flu or work to rule but its down the road.

• It was the provisional IRA and they were all caught. Your a tool.

• It was the Real IRA in 1998, not the Provisional IRA. One of them was shot dead.

Quite ironic to call someone a moron and not know the difference between “you’re” and “your”.

• Quite ironic that you question intelligence with your comments

• I made no statement on intelligence, rather you did with your “tool” and “moron” reference. I made a comment on the irony of your attempted insult.

• So Shatter has Two Arse Lickers I Suppose Callinan needs a Break Every Now And Then Well Done Joe Don’t Get Any Stains On That Blue Shirt.

• Joe let the bloody Cash Vans Go To Hell, The Staff Could Refuse To Operate Them Without Escort. Or maybe yourself Might Offer to Mind Them If Your So Worried About Them. Why Should Our Gardai Put Themselves In Harms Way When They Are Being Treated Like Something That Stuck On Shatters Shoe. They Do An Extremely Dangerous Job As Unfortunately Has Been Shown Over The Past Few Weeks. Stop Believing all The Spin Being Put Out By Your Fellow Blue Shirt Agitators. No One Other Than Blue Shirt Wearers Do.

• Again Joe You Seem To Be The Only One That Is Worrying About Cash In Transit Vans. Maybe Your One Of The Few People With Enough Money To Worry About It.

• What Comic Did You Read That On Joe, The Key Stone Cops.

• Stewie No One In Government Or Garda Management or Top Civil Servant Would Have The Brains Or Foresight To See That This Idea Could Save The State Money. They Are Only Programmed To Do One Thing Squander Tax Payers Money.

• Who in their Right Mind Would Blame Them.

• Clutching At Straws Joe.

• Wow, Joe, do you really think the Minister is doing a good job? You must really like the idea of a police State!

• @ Aaron Broughill “I’d say a good bitch slap would wake you up”.

Thanks for making my previous point on the calibre of posting on this website, and what attracts the most thumbs up.

• Remember the last blue flu and the question of treason, who will bring the case in the court this time/or report to the garda ombudsman to investigate self , as i said to day call in the P.S.N.I. THEY HAVE GUNS

• Call in the Army, they have more self-respect.

• Harry Harry your logic is flawed there my friend. PSNI stands for the police service of Northern Ireland, they have no jurisdiction to operate in the republic. Besides the fact they police using a different set of laws. I’m actually a little embarrassed for you.

• Ah Harry! Are ye still bitter about no getting into the Guards!?! C’mon now! Chin Up & move on, stop ranting about the Gardai! Besides, why would u prosecute someone for being sick!?!

• Oops, you had another little brain fart there Harry.

• That’s a very good point Joe.

• Under the Garda Siochana Act 2005 balloting gardai on industrial action is illegal.

• Who is gonna prosecute the gra or 10,000 guards when they walk out? Maybe you will joe. Best of luck with that. By the way your surprising silent on your other little thread but tjemwhy wouldn’t you be.

I Wonder the journal is it possible to permanently block an obvious trolls IP? ?

• @youdontknowme

A criminal conviction will be a lot worse the guards than the three mortgages they took out and are struggling to pay.

• Your a moron.

• @ youdontknowme

“Trol ;) nom nom nom.
      I’d love to know any guards with more then one homeloan.
      Anyway journal as you monitor comments as I asked is it possible to block trolls?
      Thinking of the site here. This trol could make very slanderous comments. Has done and they were removed but sure all it needs is to be seen and the journal would be subject to legal action. Personally id be watching troll comments like hawks before the journal does get sued.
      Anyway thats just me ::) ”

Signs of getting desperate in an argument.

1. Lying – no comments of mine were removed, none were defammatory.
      2. Advocating censorship
      3. On the grounds that something might be said – is that some kind of George Bush pre-emptive strike?
      4. Lack of knowledge of defamation law – each author on here is responsible for what they publish, and is traceable through their IP address. Thejournal would not get sued once it can show it has a systematic approach to removing problematic comments, carries out regular reviews.

It’s actually frightening to think there are members of AGS like you walking around.

• Who said I’m a guard? Could have family in the service? Could be just concerned citizen. Your comments by your own admission were blocked. You would get them removed several times before that happens.

Actually while the poster posts comments it can be the site owner who also gets done. This goes back to Transport minister Martin Cullen and his former PR adviser, Monica Leech, sought compensation in 2005 for damage to their reputation after a caller to Liveline made lewd suggestions about them live on air. Rte settled.

Anyway you only think you know what your talking about.

Mind you obvious guards on the site do take your arguememts apart.

Don’t worry joe the troll about me or my likes in guards upsetting you. Don’t have worry about that. Mind you does please me to know with that intelligence level and huge misinformation that we don’t have to worry about you having to make decisions. Well I’m sure your in position where you can offer EXPERT advice such as would you like fries with that!!!

Done joe the troll you blatent lies and hated have been exposed. Won’t be answering :) mind you others are welcome to quite like the ramblings

• Your a blankety blank :-)

• @Clarence Sweney “Your a moron”.

Quite ironic that you don’t know the difference between you’re and your in that attempted insult.

• I suppose you would like to see them ( army) wear Blue Shirts While Minding The Cash In Transit Vans Joe.

• And who Thought Up That Legislation Joe, Could It Have Been Politicians So That They Could Make Sure Their Minions Stayed Where They Wanted Them To Be. Under The Boot.

• Does Jealously Or Maybe Envy Appear To Be Raising Its Ugly Head Joe.

• Ah, someone else who wants a police State! Yes that’s a good idea arm the police, set them apart from the people even more-nice call Harry!

• The use of words like we ,us ,wife, husband, gone to work ect in the articles heirein clealy shows that gardai are writing and trying to hold the page for self thats nothing new its their way of dictating and subverting.Sure you lot have lots of time to do so but I hope you dont use tax payers computers .

• Your of the impression garda stations have internet. Never mind working computers

• Tony 04/02/13 #

Tax payers computers…in a Garda Station – you having a laugh Tony or are you just really that poorly informed? You seem like you have a bit of an agenda yourself – care to give us some more examples of when the Gardai have dictatedand subverted?

• You’re a sap Harry! Get a grip man!

• Tony 04/02/13 #

*meant Harry obviously!

• Oh dear Harry, the amount of verbal diarrhoea you’re coming out with is incredible. Have we a new troll among our midst I ponder??

• The members of AGS swore a solemn oath to protect lives and property and to bring criminals to justice, yet here they are about to tell lies again en masse, and not bother show up for work. They should not be paid if they go absent.

• Good man yourself Joe. Keep it up. A few more posts by you though and you will have to change your name as the attention that you so badly crave will run out. Where will you be left then you poor divil?

• Mike, when I see posts about Shatters rectums getting several hundred thumbs up, I know I’m on the right track when a post containing facts and statistics gets an equal number of thumbs down. The day I base my posting on populism, or number of thumbs up I can get, is the day I get a lobotomy.

• No one said anything of the like, the indo spreading unfounded dangerous rumours. They are not facts.

• Obviously Harry your still in fantasy land. Do you not think that wives, husbands and partners of Gardai can make there feelings known. Or is it that we have to read the crap that you come up and except it. Obviously you do not want to here the truth because your just a small minded man who reads something and believes its gospel.

• Seriously! What is your problem?! If I didn’t know better I’d think you were purposely trying to get a rise out of people for a laugh… Here’s the joke then-I’m a guard’s wife, we’ve 3 children, no fancy house/car/second home, 3rd mortgage, no private schools etc, yet we just about make ends meet. Get real and climb out of your ivory tower. Pity my husband and others like him are obliged to look out for your safety. Thing is I actually pity your arrogance and ignorance….

• Well Harry I Have Used All These Words But I Am Not A Guard Nor Have I Ever Been. I’m Just An Old Retired Trucker, Oh And I Use My Own Computer.

• Tell Lies Joe Are You Having a Laugh Then again If They Do Are They Not Just Learning From Their so Called Masters In Government. after All They Have Proved To Be The Biggest Liars This Country Has Ever Seen And Some Have Proudly Admitted Same In The Media / Tv Etc.

• Well Said Brighid.

• Work to rule would represent a 300 per cent increase in Garda productivity.

Add New Comment