TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Gardaí arrest 25 people and seize ammunition, drugs and cash in Dublin

The arrests and seizures are part of an ongoing operation focusing on drug dealers in the capital.

File photo
File photo

Updated 5.35pm

TWENTY-FIVE PEOPLE have been arrested and ammunition, drugs and cash seized by Gardaí in Dublin.

The arrests of 25 men and women, aged between 18 and 60, have taken place over the last 48 hours in various locations in the Coolock area of north Dublin.

Crack cocaine and heroin intended for sale were part of the drugs that were seized. A large amount of cash and a quantity of ammunition were also seized by gardaí.

Gardaí say that all 25 people have been charged and released on bail to appear in court at a future date. Fifteen people have already been arrested and charged as part of what is known as Operation Boa.

The arrests were part of a joint operation by Gardaí in Coolock and the Garda National Drugs Unit which has focused on gathering evidence against significant drug dealers in the local community.

Gardaí say that Operation Boa has been a six-month long covert operation which has dismantled significant drug distribution networks operating in the Belcamp and Darndale areas of Dublin.

Read next:

Comments (20 Comments)

• Fair play to the Gardai . The past few days have seen terrible
    attrocities and tragedies ,on top of all the usual stuff too….
    Well done !

• well done the cops get those smackheads off the streets, sick of looking at them and being pestered on your lunch break by zombies. Now for the good people in our judicial system and their pals the solicitors to let them all off! keep up the good work folks.

• Drugs seized..ammunition seized..cash gained by criminal activity seized..25 people involved in an industry which causes & promotes murder, robbery, needless loss of life yet some muppets cannot see behind their own personal grievance against a body of people who put THEIR LIVES at risk for the protection & well being of those who live on this island. Whilst you sleep, these men & women patrol & protect your homes, property & your lives from those who care not for you “ideals or politics”. Within every organization there are weak links & bad apples. Scorn the individual rather than the collective. An educated nation…? Sometimes I wonder..

• God love the poor Gardai but it must have been heart wrenching to have arrested so many absolute scumbags only to see them “charged and released”! They probably left the stations laughing and there will be Gardai interview dvd’s on the telly in quite a few scumbag pubs tonight!

• Good!
    To be fair, the cops in this country are on top of their game.

• D Burns 08/03/12 #

It’s good to hear of wretched drugs like heroin and crack cocaine being taken off the street and I commend the Gardai involved for doing such a diligent job. The unfortunate scenario is, however, that for every one of those criminals taken off the street, another one is only too happy to step up and take their place. That is the fact of the matter. The ‘war on drugs’ is a losing battle because the criminals have far more financial resources at their disposal than any law enforcement agency have, so maybe it is time to take a different approach to tackling the issue of drugs.

• While it is comforting to see this kind of police activity, and I laud the Garda for their dedication, this will have little or no impact on the total picture of drug abuse in Ireland. Taking drugs off the street, as history has shown over and over again, merely ratchets prices up, so the desperate devils who need a fix will have to work harder to cover their daily drug habit.
      Taking guns off the streets is welcomed by all, I hope. But the cash that bought those guns is still flowing.
      The war on drugs cannot be won by noble Garda efforts. You have to make it unprofitable for the scum who are dealing drugs, and the way to do that is to beat them at their own game, by legalizing and controlling it as we do other even more dangerous drugs.
      Tomorrow, all the drugs that have been taken off the streets will begin flowing back onto the streets. The guns will be replaced, and the criminal enterprises will renew their efforts, including attempts to corrupt the Garda with bribes. If you want to see the end result of the “War on Drugs”, look to Mexico. Tens of thousands slaughtered. Prisons set on fire. Military officals bought by powerful drug cartels. The very nation is at risk.
      It’s a one-way ticket to hell.

• Thank God the war on drugs has worked. No more do we have to read of horror stories of murders, violence and fear. All the criminal gangs have disappeared and are now returning to civilised life. What a terrible chapter in our lives it has been. Thankfully, it is no more due to the success of the war on drugs. I have to admit that I had my doubts, but I am glad to have been proven wrong. I always thought that as soon as the gaurds arrested one drug dealer, that they would be replaced by another. Apparently, I’m wrong. The drug addicts that people see are actors, hired to show what life was like before the war on drugs was won. It’s a tourism concept apparentely.

• @aydo, I’d like to hear your suggestions on how the drug war could be solved? Let me guess “legalise drugs”, that way all the problems will be solved? Some people really have no clue as to what’s really happening in our little drug ravaged country!

• Good point. I’d love to see the island then. Rampantly ravaged by coats of paranoia, brought on by daily drug usage.
      Drugs are not the way forward, destroying them is. And it can be done. We have a naval service capable of coastal/port check points with the assistance of the byrds at the first sight of a dodgy cargo, etc.. Those coming of ferries and sea links should also be randomly searched.

• Guards rather than Byrds..damn phone.

• Shouldn’t those Gardai be evicting peaceful protesters somewhere in Dublin city? *Queue Thumbs down

Add New Comment