TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

GRA: No option but to register Garda anger through protest

The Garda Representative Association said that it is “disingenuous” of Minister Shatter to mention them re-entering talks when they “have always been excluded” from the main pay talks.

Pictured (LtoR) Tony Ferris from Wexford and Michael Corcoran from Cork City who are members of the Garda Representative Association, protest outside Landowne House.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE GARDA REPRESENTATIVE Association has said that its members have no option but to register their anger through protest.

They also called Minister Alan Shatter “disingenuous” for his comments on them re-entering talks.

The GRA’s comments came a day after the Justice Minister described Thursday’s picket by members of the association outside talks on reaching a new public pay agreement as “a bad day for the force”.

The GRA said today that it stands over its position on the current issues affecting the Force.

Despite the Minister for Justice’s assertions, at no time have gardaí been allowed into the main pay talks, but have always been sidelined in another meeting room and provided with irregular briefings on progress in the pay talks. This is not acceptable in modern industrial relations, and harks back to a bygone era. The Garda Representative Association is denied union status; and only trade unions affiliated to the Irish Congress of Trade Unions have a voice in the pay talks.

It also said that at no stage did any member of the Garda Representative Association insult An Taoiseach, but acknowledged that the central executive committee of the GRA did pass a vote of no confidence in the Minister on Thursday 14 February.

This is the first time that the GRA has ever passed such a motion, and reflects the dissatisfaction and growing dismay at the way in which the Force is being systematically dismantled.

General Secretary PJ Stone said that it is “disingenuous of the Minister to talk about our members re-entering talks when he knows full well that we have always been excluded from the main pay talks”.

Stone continued:

Until such a time where a positive development is given due consideration, our members have no other option but to register their anger and frustration through legitimate peaceful placard protest and the turning off of the goodwill tap that has sustained the Force through a period of under-resourcing.

Members of the GRA said yesterday they were “turning off the goodwill tap” in protest at proposed cuts to their pay, while the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors said that its members have begun similar actions.

Read: GRA protest at pay talks ‘a bad day’ for Garda reputation: Shatter>

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• Does shatter know what’s going on?
    Is there some sort of plan to all this.
    How can you re-enter something you weren’t in.
    The man comes across as a fool or a liar. And I don’t think he’s a fool.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Would really like to see the guards alternatives they put forward as apposed to cutting their wages, and would be interesting to get an explanation why they were refused?

• Refused because shatter know best don’t you know

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Shatter doesn’t know his arse from his elbow along with the other clowns. What do they do,sit around discussing things and attending meeting, nurses save lives, guards protect lives, politicians ruining lives and I’m meant to believe that Enda deserves 4 times more than a guarda. Shatter your having a laugh.

• They can save money but allowing prison officers to transport remand prisoners to court as most times they are at court and have resources and cellular transport to do this, also collect prisoners from Garda stations after being sent to prison, to save on transport and overtime, you see these vans all over the country everyday.it’s only a decision to be taken to allow this .
      There is nothing in law to prevent this. Also free legal aid where a district court appeal to the circuit court is withdrawn no legal fees should be paid, this would save approximately 400 euro per case.
      And also the cost to the court service to prepare these cases would be saved, all of these suggestions would save the state on a cost neutral basis but it is as if the management do not wish to make savings

• @Julie- your party lobbies for the release of Garda murderers so bottle the hypocrisy, please.

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Vinny go take your vile unwanted opinions else where. 75% of the Island of Ireland voted for Good Friday agreement which included the release of prisoners. I am living in the present not the past.

• @julie- did I hit a nerve there? Were you at the party held by Sinn Fein to welcome the release of those same Garda murderers. 75% of the country supported that, do you think?

• Julie 23/02/13 #

Vincent okay do you support what the guards are doing, you support FG so I presume NOT, I do support them, away from the past now Vincent, lets look to the future. No didn’t hit a nerve at all.

• When the Nazis came for the communists,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
    I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
    I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
    I remained silent;
    I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
    there was no one left to speak out.

• Excellent comment… We all need to stand for each other and overcome all the divisive spin from our government…..

• We also need to take whatever steps are necessary to pay our way

• We do pay our way Jim.
      We don’t want to pay for someone elses way.

• Ultimately, it was the *police* who arrested for all those people (even if working for a facist state) .

So, you are saying that when the *police* come for the *police*, there’ll be no-one left.

Makes sense.

• Unlike your comment Declan which makes no sense.

• @Jim Ky. we do pay our way and unfortunately some of us pay the ultimate price.

• Great Comment, the guards have stood by since this goverment and the previous goverment started screwing the people over for the benifit of bondholders and bankers, not opening there collective mouths until the goverment looked in there direction. Hell they probably could have stopped prom night if they wanted considering most of the TD’s were drinking on the job they could have removed them on health and safety grounds, even Gerry Adams referenced closing the bar before the debate alluding to them all been pissed and yet the guards standing outside did nothing.

The goverment are not going to back down at this point, all other protests againest cuts have failed and in some case’s the Guards have stopped the protests, what makes the guards think they have a chance to change things now? only 1 way left to change this and thats to change the goverment.

• Comparing a goverment of a bankrupt state cutting premium allowances to the mass extermination of ethnic minorities by the Nazi’s is quite disturbing. Worst thing is the couple of hundred of gobsh!tes who gave it the thumbs up.

• ‘Don’t cut me, don’t cut thee, that the one behind the tree’

• It wasn’t police it was SS And Gestapo these are not police you dumbass

• @john McCarthy This government through spin and media propaganda has created the public private sector divide, we are all tax payers. You have obviously bought into this. The point of the post was that when they’ve cut garda nurses pay they will come after yours next and who will listen to you whine then? Go back to your cubicle in your office and do your meaningless job which you hate and troll somewhere else.

• Nice to see your “don’t cut thee” mantra making its reappearance there Reginald… Your getting a bit repetitive at this stage…..

• smudge 23/02/13 #

It’s time the GRA hired a public relations person to get there message across to the public, to much spin been put out by the government about gardai been involved in the talks.
    If they returned & i hope they dont,they would still be in the room at the side with other people deciding there fate.
    FAR PLAY TO THE GARDAI for having the balls to stand up to the government

• Are they not already well-paid? Isn’t the public sector payroll partly helping to spur tax rises, new taxes and questions? The public sector pay levels are financially in deficit. Where do you think the money will come from?

• It is completely dis-ingenious of government to suggest that shift premiums are not part of our core pay. When my wife and I applied for a mortgage we had to supply a statement of income to include basis pay and allowances. The bank took our total pay package into consideration when accessing our ability to service the mortgage. I’m fairly certain that very few 24/7 frontline workers would have been approved for a Celtic Tiger era mortgage based solely on their basic income. I fully support the actions of GRA/AGSI.

• Support the guards 100% . You have the support and good wishes of the vast vast majority of the people, ye have the bit between the teeth now and shouldn’t stop until ye get full union status even if it means fighting it out in European courts. Keep going guys proud of ye

• Even Kenny in fairness admitted that morale was low in the Gardai . Yet shatter still maintains its high . Just go shatter . Go now before u do any more damage .

• B 23/02/13 #

Finally the truth is reported.

GRA are not in ‘the talks’…we are briefed on whats happening

• Shatter is showing a lot of contempt for the Gardai.

• smudge 23/02/13 #

So burton gets heckled in Dundalk today and says that they give Dundalk a bad name…… Shatter says the GRA/AGSI are giving the gardai a bad reputation……… At least there singing from the same hymn sheet

• As far as I know there is a railing around the building where the talks are taking place. I suggest everyone tie a black ribbon on the railing to mark the death of democracy in Ireland. The people in power paying themselves vast salaries and taking care if their wealthy friends. This is Russian Oligarch stuff and I call it communism. The private sector is being turned against the public sector. The public sector is the guinea pig and then the same types of cuts will be levelled at the public sector. It’s time for everyone to stand together, not just the 24/7 alliance. This isn’t taking from the rich to give to the poor, it’s taking from the poor to reimburse the rich. Wake up Ireland!!

• We all need to stick together all this fighting and sniping between different groups is what the goverment want divide and conquer us.some people dont like the gardai and some of the methods they use and the gardai dont like some groups either.we are all in this together we have one common enemy so people focus your time and hate anf them and not each other.

• Reports of a Garda pension being worth 1.1mill. are just lies.If you live for 40 years after you retire possibly, but retiring as millionaires? Pure propaganda.Some people( plenty) on social welfare are getting paid more than the average Garda.Fact.

• The greatest difficulty Gardai have in making a case for their stand in this dispute is that they must first educate the woefully ignorant commentators who spout all sorts of tripe and nonsense. Of course, that does not stop every plonker mouthing-off ‘facts’ that are utter sh*te!

It would be far better for these know-alls if they had the self-respect to find out what the real facts are before letting the whole world know that they are morons and totally ignorant of basic well-known and available information and facts.

• So are you getting paid under 40 grand a year john???

• Here is a genuine and honest suggestion. The big problem seems to be personal debt. Now the goverment has a liability to each member of AGS of circa 80k or thereabouts assuming they do the 30 years in the form of a lump sum. Leaving aside the whole issue of cuts why not make a suggestion that this could be drawn down today in situations where the mortgage payment is eating up a large proportion of the persons income and offset against the mortgage. The bank could then offset the amount against the amount it owes to the goverment by way of the guarentee scheme? I think it would go a long way towards helping those in need without hitting the taxpayer to hard

• The old belief that Gardai were well paid was once well founded, however times have changed and with it so has the Garda pay, for instance those recruited in 2008 would only be on 3rd year pay as for the first two years you only get 98euro per week as you are in training.

Secondly, 42k (when you finally get there) is taxed at 42% include a compulsory pension contribution (that most if given a choice would opt out of as they cannot afford the luxury at the moment), a pension levy, USC charges, personal injury protection (necessary given the nature of the profession) and health insurance contributions (also necessary given the profession) there is in no way €500 per week left to pay bills, in most cases this figure is close to €300-€400 minus substantial travel costs as they are not allowed live close to the station.

The cuts proposed would see Gardai lose almost half of this per week ( pay per week €130-€230 probably just cover travel costs) in many households there are two frontline workers which for that one household would see a deficit of €1400 per month in June 2014 should the cuts be legislated for.

Now take a household with both parents on the frontline, average days they get as a family together is 29 days per year inclusive of available annual leave not required for overnight childcare compare to 9-5ers who get 104 days plus leave per year.

Now tell me these cuts are fair and just!

• I feel very sorry for the rank and file NOW .. The problem is the old Gardai (sorry) but they had it made and now the new.. Younger ones have to pay for the past .. So not fair … Hopefully they can hold Enda to randsom !!! Good luck guys and ladies out there keeping us all safe xx

• 1913 lock out 2013 lockout ??

• god Im So sick of the bitter self employed brigade attacking the public sector. ok. We get it. youre hard done by. why not get a union to fight for you? get a voice. stop bitching.

• Apologies..thats 42k after 5years and 45 after the 17

• Another keyboard warrior I see…
    Thank you for your intelligent comment on the subject…..

• Special rules and exemptions for An Garda Siochana. They have dependent children and big mortgages.

• It seems almost impossible to figure out the minimum pay a Garda is earning and before anyone gets defensive, I do think its only fare that public should know this. I think most Garda are worth every penny BTW so I have check on the GRA website and found the following information. I have to ask why its so complicated and given that some payments are always added to core payments, aren’t these payments defacto core payments??

The Gardai recruitment embargo started in 2008 and from what I can tell the lowest core payscale for a Garda recruited in 2008 is €42609; this is Class A Garda 5 years after recruitment., so is this the minimum any serving Garda is paid, not including the extras below.

This doesn’t include subsistance made up of
    Night Rates Other Than On Temporary Transfer
    Night Rates On Temporary Transfer
    Sleeping Accommodation Without Messing Facilities
    Mileage Rates

This doesn’t include Rent -
    Historic List Of Rent Allowance

This doesn’t include Weekend or Nights or Public Holiday rates -
    Night Duty
    Saturday Allowance
    Sunday Allowance
    Public Holiday

• Joyce..

Salary scale starts at 25,745 and rises to 45,000 after 17 years…

• I seem to have heard from a close source it was actually 7 years.

• There is a terrible ignorance of Garda pay and allowances. Allowances are NOT paid unless earned and subject to qualification. They are there alright, BUT ARE NOT PAID UNLESS EARNED IN SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES! They are designed to compensate for actual costs incurred upfront in the line of duty. They are a rarity! NOT LIKE THE TDs’ UNVOUCHED EXPENSES and THE DAIL BAR which might never recover the beer-tabs of some porter-sharks in the Dail.
      And the higher ‘officers’ get a far higher rate. You see, like the TDs, they feel entitled to to to better hotels and restaurants than the ‘ordinary guard.’ And who have a ‘Officers’ Mess’ in Garda H.Q.!! A British legacy, you see! It’s a way the Govt. has to keep them sweet and to keep the ordinary Guard in his or her place for the likes of Shatter or other dictatorial right-wingers- and/or Labour’s former left-wingers.

• Stephen – Reread my post; and you will realise there hasn’t been any Garda recruits since 2008, so the core on GRA is €42609 after 5 years service. Again since no one has been recruited since 2008 that is the core for the lowest ranking shortest serving Gardai

Regonald – the salary scale is easy to find on the internet – here is the link – http://www.gra.cc/payscales.shtml

It is almost impossible to figure out exactly what Gardai earn at any stage in their career and there is no point in throwing a dummy out of the pram just because people would like to know exactly how the pay scale, substance and extras are calculated.

• BTW I think Gardai should be well paid when they are out doing their job.

• Come on lads somebody needs to publish there pay slip just block out the private information we just want to see the gross and net pay.there are to many figures been thrown around the public dosnt know what to belive.

• Now if the Gardai were in the Private Sector’s Horse meat Scamming business, they might be pretty well-off. But that is a crime best left criminal elements in the Private Sector. They and we know who they all are! Those crims are the next wave of traitors, following hot on the heels of the Private Sector Traitorous Crooked Bankers so beloved of persons in high places, including the Dail. The Public Sector need take no lectures from those who betrayed and ruined this State!

• Fair play gary people finally know what the pay rate is after weeks of gardai commenting here some even sayin that they were coming out will less than 300 a week.still we all need to stick together against our common enemy but ill give my sympathy to the nurses who get 20 grand starting off.

• The best thing people on this and any other site like this is to “go silent” ….say nothing….

• Stephen,i checked out the GRA site and the info Joyce has posted is correct..not 17 years to reach 42k but 5, this means that the min core pay of a member of the force is currently 42k today since last recruitment was2008 and this is exclusive of the other allowances..no need to see payslips.Its disingenuous to suggest that any current members pay is less.

I believe Gardai should be payed properly but feel that a new pay deal should be negotiated where allowances are no longer and only a strong but fair core pay exists..

• We. Have. No. Money.

• Frontline workers aren’t looking for a pay rise, all they are looking for is to be left as is having already taken massive pay cuts. And it’s people like you who facilitate these government muppets in their actions. I will accept the proposed
      pay cuts if Ministers Shatter, Howlin and O’Reilly work for the same money. They seem to think that what wages will be left is sufficient to pay bills and feed a family so why don’t they try it?

• @vicent. You must be copying and pasting that sentence…. You must have written it a hundred times in a hundred different posts! Take a break would ya!

• Sure why not take every cent I earn so? Never mind the previous pay cuts, income levy, pension levy … Etc… Sure I’m lucky to have a job… take away all the night and unsocial hours, why not make me work even longer hours, sure I don’t need to see my family, you know what else, why not take the rest of my flat cheque pay, all €267 of it. Sure I’d only be wasting it on luxuries like paying my mortgage and maybe having a sandwich or 2. It’s only fair that I, and the rest of my colleagues who caused the whole mess are now paying for it!

• What did you do with it? Big Merc and houses to let?

• A Garda earns approx €500 per week, correct me if I’m wrong, but when I examine Tadhg’s definition of “pay cuts” it amounts to approximately 14% (compared to 60% in Greece and 30% in Latvia)

Now I’m pissed…..

• No where near 500 a week dear Reginald…. Give me ure address and I’ll post u a payslip dear fellow ;)

• John. Did you fail the entrance exam for the Gardai or something. You have a serious axe to grind. Your pay-scales are correct. The issue is what a Garda is left with after deductions come out. And other than rent, uniform and boot allowance only a few Gardai assigned to specialist duties get the other allowances. The locomotion allowance in for Inspectors to use their own car to visit stations or posts around the district. The once of uniform payment is paid to Inspector rank up on promotion as officers have to purchase their uniform from the state. Dog handlers feed, vet, house and train Garda dogs. Every allowance you list is fully legit and deemed appropriate. If successive governments had paid Gardai a fair basic rate instead of inventing an allowance every time to disguise a pay-rise we wouldn’t have this over complicated way of paying our police force.

• John -Members joined after 2007 must be 55 to retire. And seen as the average life expectancy of a guard after retirement is shockingly only 5-10 years , the pensions not worth as much when you look at it that way

• Utter ignorance of the facts!

• The Gardai in 1978 when the then Commissioner Ned Garvey tried to implement arrangements for better policing that meant that some of them would have to work for a change didnt pass any vote of confidence in the then Minister for Justice.No they just appealed enmasse to their local Fianna Fail TDs and Fianna Fail obliged and sacked the Commissioner.The Govt. comprised of ,among others,Haughey, Flynn ,Burke ,Lenihanand,Bertie,had lost confidence in the Commissioner–nowadays is there anyone in the State who would have confidence in any of them? Would we have had any costly Tribunals or inquiries in subsequent years into dubious Garda activities if the Govt of 1978 had not shafted the Commissioner of the day.?

• the use of my name is ok when the writers know what they are saying and keeps to truth and stay within the law but too take my good name by the use of unfounded statements alledging that in some way i am a child molester is what it is and i will be at the dail investigation into the writers that alleged same herein against me. Further i have taken copy of all written insults and declarations

• Harry C 24/02/13 #

Sounds like John was waving his baton around. I know you’re frustrated and angry but we must try and show calm and constraint and respect peoples opinion.

• here’s a question for the gardai……. how is it that no-one has been arrested in the horsemeat scandal ? …….does the constitutional right to mental and bodily integrity not mean anything anymore? …
    just wondering …………….

• Arrests a merely a tool in the investigation of any crime. You’ve got to gather evidence first.

• Ah god ….. @Dermot Ryan – Bash the Gardai for everything thats wring in the country …An Garda Siochana are not the primary supervisory body for Food Safety or regarding Agricultural/ Veterinary meat factory Inspections… Other Govt Agencies are. The Garda Siochana are often only called in as regards Fraud element of it. Then cases and prosecution is not an overnight thing….. Chew a reality pill before exhaling bags of ” natural 10-10-20″ at the levels you are

• Arrest all the horses quick! The rest is baffling, to say the least. A private ‘beef?’

• John don’t even bother, there are people on here 24/7 who just hate the Gardai and are blinkered to everything because of it. This makes the majority of their comments absolutely laughable and deluded. Unfortunately Alan shatter seems to be of the same mindset

• John,

Stop living in a fantasy world. Look at the polls yesterday.

Add New Comment