TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Gaybo, Tubs and Kenny get together to celebrate golden anniversary

The Late Late Show turns 50 on Friday week.

Ryan Tubridy at a photocall last night.

GAY BYRNE AND PAT Kenny will join (relatively) new kid on the block, Ryan Tubridy, for the Late Late Show’s 50th anniversary celebration on Friday, 1 June.

From 9.30pm on RTÉ One, normal operations will be suspended so the milestone can be marked with the help of a host of Irish personalities.

According to the broadcasters, Friday night’s audience will comprise of “people who have made the Late Late Show the most successful and watched chat show in Ireland over the past 50 years”.

Liam Neeson, Imelda May, Horslips, Tommy Tiernan and Daniel O’Donnell will also appear as guests with Kenny and Byrne.

The Late Late Show first went on air on Saturday, 6 July 1962 but was moved to Friday nights in September 1986.

In a press statement announcing the special show, RTÉ’s communications department named some memorable moments from the past 50 years, including the whole Bishop and the Nightie affair. The 1966 furore saw the Bishop of Clonfert Thomas Ryan condemn the show as ‘disgraceful filth’. The official complaint came after a small segment saw Byrne ask a woman from Terenure if she would remember the colour of the nightdress she wore on her first night of married life. She cheekily responded that she may not have worn anything at all. Oh my.

What are your enduring memories of the Late Late Show? Let us know in the comments section.

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• The toy show ticket lady with Pat Kenny, the one where Gaybo phoned a bereaved family member who won a prize,boyzone,dunphy in tears, P Flynn…the list is endless

• Why not have it on the actual anniversary?? The 6th of July is a Friday!

• Late late show has always been my gage as to how old I feel.

0 – 19: hating it and absolutely detesting it being on except for the toy show.
    19-22:Then just not liking it, but appreciating why others might like it. From time to time an interview with a sportsman or interesting celebrity would capture my attention.
    22-25: if someone else was watching it I wouldn’t mind too much at all. Almost a guilty pleasure.
    25-28:slowly choosing to turn it on over other shows.
    Now I’m 29,if im not out :ah yes the late late show is on.
    I can see myself in a few years buying 2 cans of Guinness on a Friday evening and planning my night around it.

• I am sure I am not the first and won’t be the last to say that my most enduring memory of the Late Late has to be the many years during and since my childhood I spent with my family watching the Christmas Toy Show. Back then it was the event of the season. To us kids it meant Christmas was near and it was the last chance you had to pick what you wanted from the big guy himself. And it was one of those rare occasions where the theme song to Eastenders or Corrie didn’t herald bed time. We would get popcorn, sweets, and wash it down with a few glasses of TK red lemonade.

Gaybo was the nations grand dad and I still to this day wish I got to demo a toy on the show…..like every other child in Ireland. Thank you Late Late for a fond childhood memory :-)

• For me the enduring Late Late memories are the toy show every Christmas and Gerry Ryan’s “Lambo” appearance.

Then there was Sinead O’Connor over the years, mad as a brush each time; Tommy Tiernan; The Pogues (And Shane MacGowan’s wonderful teeth) and plenty more I suppose.

• I hear it’s a trick to get them all into the same room to give them there P45′s…..

• Bunch of D4 types back slapping each other for a programme that hasnt been any good since Annie Murphy walked off the set when asked questions about Bishop Casey first time i saw Gaybo lost for words

• At least we D4 types can remember what actually happened. She didn’t walk off when asked a question. Gay wrapped up the interview by patronising her and praising Bishop Casey. She came back with a zinger of a reply, got up and left in her own good time.

• I dont care whos on RTE, but why do we have to pay a licence and they advertise as well.Did ye know that the presenters at RTE are better payed than ABC,NBC and FOX in the USA.

• I just realised that I haven’t watched this show once in the past three years or so. I just dip in and out of Twitter on a Friday night to see who’s on. The quality of the guests has plummeted from what it used to be and I doubt it will make another 50 years at this rate.

• It’s a pity us Irish seem to.have put down anything successful . The late late does has had flaws and still has. But the fact that a live 2 hour show going for 50 years is a great achievement. People working in tv from UK and US can’t belive that its done live , its always been admired from abroad . Pity we can’t celebrate it ourself

• Gay Byrne was and still is ‘The Late Late Show’ a presenter you could have the craic with, as for the current host along with pat kenny sorry but pass, Craig Doyle would have been a way better presenter to take over from Gay Byrne.

• Perfect opportunity for them to call it a day and bow out gracefully.

• “the” Horslips??? Oh dear. I thought we’d buried that particular journalistic boo-boo back in the Seventies. Maybe the U2 will be on as well.

• Oops..amended. Hoping my age will excuse me? Plus, my birthday falls on this day of celebration and a colleague has already warned that the world may implode – or something less dramatic – when all three appear on telly together. At the very least, I may not be able to drag friends away to come give me 27 bumps. Therefore, I please distractedness.

• The Muppet show Byrne, Kenny and Tubridy.

• What an awful show, the presenter and quality if guests of guests are atrocious. You have to wonder why they keep it going.

• jrbmc 21/05/12 #

Gerry Ryan standing in !

• Would be fantastic for Uncle Gaybo to give Turdbidy a bolloxing for destroying this show, its appalling stuff and beggars belief it still gets such high ratings (or does it?) ever since Turdbidy took it over, its been a slow, painful (the bits we have to listen to Turdbidy) death.

• Antiques roadshow, won’t be watching

• bejebus 21/05/12 #

Rte presenter interviewing other rte people, wow original.not

• Tubridy was 50 when he was born, what a tosser. His unbearable smugness makes for nauseating viewing. RTE is an out of touch, insular old boy’s club that are flogging a decomposing horse with the Late Late. They should put it, and us out of our misery.

• The good, the bad and the ugly.

• Yes Most Certainly Gerry Ryan R.I.P Gerry
    loved Gay Byrne… When I was a kid but then it was the only station we had so if we did not sit down and watch it we would have had to go to bed
    Pat Kenny in all the Talent Ireland has to offer Pat Kenny got the late late ?????? I know he kept the job of host for years still I had choice because it is my tv and my remote control lol lol do not like never did like the late late but as I said the late late that Gerry hosted I did watch and enjoyed

• Will Gay Byrne or a company associated with him get paid for this?

• Count how many times we are told “The Late,Late Show,is worth the TV licence alone”.Yeah right!!!

Add New Comment