TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Gender quota legislation goes before Seanad

The reforms – described as “groundbreaking” by Minister Phil Hogan – will also introduce new controls on political funding.

Image: loop_oh via Flickr

LEGISLATION TO INTRODUCE gender quotas into Irish electoral politics went before the Seanad today, where it was described as “real change” and “real reform”.

The measures will mean political parties must field at least 30 per cent female and 30 per cent male candidates, or face their funding being cut in half.

Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan said the legislation was “an important step towards achieving a significant improvement in the balance of representation in the Dáil.” He added:

When citizens of this country look at our national Parliament, they should see something more akin to their own reflection looking back at them.

The legislation will also introduce reforms to the system of political funding. The amount that political parties can receive in any one donation will be slashed from €6,348 to €2,500, while for individual candidates the limit will drop from €2,539 to €1,000.

Corporate donations of more than €200 will be prohibited “unless the donors meet the most strict and exacting conditions”, according to a statement from the Department of the Environment. Minister Hogan said:

This Bill will decisively shift the balance of the current political funding and regulatory system in favour of the citizen.  It will affirm the right in law to know how politics is funded, who is providing the funding and how that money is spent.

There will also be stricter thresholds on which donations must be declared to the Standards in Public Office Commisions. Moreover, political parties will have to submit financial accounts to the Standards in Public Office Commission, or face a withdrawal of State funding.

More: Gender quotas welcome – but ‘token’ women candidates won’t work>

Read: Leinster House is ‘unnatural’ – Gilmore>

Read next:

Comments (46 Comments)

• Being elected because you ARE a ‘Woman’ and not because you DESERVE to be elected doesn’t make sense to me! ???

• Should the best candidate not be elected, regardless of gender?

• Well we have that system now and an accountant is working in Social protection while a teacher is working in finance, hardly sounds right to me.

• At Karl. That is perfectly normal in most countries. The problem is that people vote for party labels and elect people that couldn’t give a shite about the country.

Elect honest people, it doesn’t matter what they do. That will take the ending of FG/FF for that to happen.

• Look I agree with you that its normal for most countries but it’s not every country and even if it was shouldn’t we want to be an example? You’re attitude is hypocritical you say ‘that is perfectly normal in most countries’ yet go on to say that’s a problem then say it doesn’t matter what they do wheres your head at? as in what do you truly believe? and should we not have people qualified at their job doing the job rather than anyone making up numbers as they go along? Furthermore, i’d add LAB & Greens(tho that job is almost done) to your list.

• I agree with you Tim re electing honest people and that qualifications shouldn’t matter. There are plenty civil servants in there to give advice. But if there were more women in An Dáil they’d be well able to know which advisor was telling the truth and who was bull shitting. Did you ever come across a human lie detector like a woman?

• John 02/02/12 #

Hopefully they’ll introduce an intelligence or aptitude quota next.

• what a load of “politically correct”, nonsence. Shame on you Phil Hogan.

• Just curious on this one – if there is a small party which can only muster 2 candidates to field in an election, will this piece of legislation apply to that party? Or is it specifically for larger parties? If, hypothetically speaking, there was a political party which just happened to have no women members (i.e. if no women were interested in joining it or simply hadn’t joined it yet), would that party then be prohibited from running candidates?

• I don’t think it would prevent them from running, it would just cut their funding from the State. But then a small party without any seats probably wouldn’t be getting any funding from the State anyway. I do think the legislation could well be challenged constitutionally re the cutting of funding, but it’d be a brave man or party who challenged it! The tag ‘sexist’ would forever follow them.

• Thanks for that Ryan. I really was just genuinely curious, just in case anyone thought otherwise.

• No no no. We want equality not preference. What they need to do is get more woman interest and running.

• None of those elected have the ba**s to do the right thing anyway so the gender issue for our government is the same all round.

• I swear this idea comes from EU Commission, it does not seem a local-made initiative.

• Unless something changes in regard to the type of people generally attracted to politics as a career, particularly in regard to the larger parties, then I can’t see the point of having more of the likes of Harney, Coughlan and Hanifin.
    Oh and O’Rourke..

• I’ve very mixed feelings on this. There are some very good points in favour and against this legislation.

Given the fact that such a small amount of women run for office, something needs to be done to encourage them to do so. This legislation doesn’t encourage them per se, it simply helps those already interested in politics to get on the ticket. But on the flip side 30% is a realistic amount and the legislation is a blunt instrument which has proved successful elsewhere. And obviously the quota is on the party rather than the electorate which is the better way of doing it. Also Ivana Bacik is always vocal on the 5 C’s which can stop women getting involved in politics, yet if women don’t get into the system – they can’t change it to better suit themselves and their circumstances (e.g. less late nights in the Dáil)

2 things that disappoint me though:

1) It’s a pity that the legislation doesn’t apply to local elections – as these are the true starting point for most politicians.

2) I’ve yet to see this being accompanied by specific measures from ALL of the parties saying how they’ll interest more women in joining.

• In this country you can only get elected if your father or uncle was a TD which a load of shite

• If there are five people running for 3 place on a ticket how do you choose who to put on it. What if three women finish top 3. Will the lowest place woman have to give way for a man to go on the ticket ? If so thats a woman not been allowed to run because of her sex. Thats sexism and not democratic. The only other way i could see them selecting candidates is having a vote for each place on the ticket. One woman only, one men only, and the other an open vote. Segration is also a form of sexism. So to solve the probelm of not been enough women in politics this joke of a governments solution is been undemocratic and sexist. The women of Ireland have a vote. Every constituency had a woman candidate in the last general election. Im sure every party in most areas had a woman running. If lack of women in the dail was an issue to women they would of voted for women. Then we would have more women in the dail.

• 03/02/12 #

Exactly, well said. There’s nothing democratic about this at all and it’s more sexist than forward thinking. If people voted for women candidates then we would have more women in the dail. Simple. As this is not the case, I don’t see how bringing a rule like this in at the wrong side of the issue prompts or solves anything.
      As usual, the Govt.’s “fix” is focused at the wrong step in the ladder and does nothing to tackle why more women aren’t running and successfully being elected. Forcing rules that don’t stand up to the reality of male to female ratios does nothing to help this but only effect current parties and their funding.

• The 5 “barriers” to women entering politics are cash, confidence, candidate selection, culture & childcare (the so-called 5 Cs)…
    However, since cash, confidence & candidate selection also applies to male candidates, it’s hardly exclusively a problem associated to female entry into politics (equality for women, not preference!!).
    The Gender Quotas legislation does not address either culture or access to childcare at all (it doesn’t even pretend to!).

Hence, while we can all accept the need to address the issue of better female representation in the Dáil, this is simply a tokenistic sop that does not even try to address the real issue.

Also, there is some evidence to suggest that it will actually hurt the cause of gender balance in the Dáil since it is likely that political parties will simply have to go find a women to stand to make sure they don’t lose funding. Realistically, since who could tell who is the real candidate, who just happened to be female & earned her place like any other male TD, & who is the “token woman”, thereby risking a situation where every politician who happens to be a woman gets labelled as the “token woman candidate”.

And don’t get me started on how horrifyingly undemocratic the idea of pre-selecting candidates by legislation is… Am shocked this is even Constitutional!!

• Reada
    Sorry for arriving late with a comment but I am genuinely puzzled . Do you really believe that women are good at detecting lies? Would that be lies offered by men to women or would two women lying to each other negate both lies?
    I have nearly lost the point I was going to make due to the silliness of this idea!

• I’m kind of torn on this one.. obviously candidates should be chosen on merit but on the other hand the under-representation of female candidates highlights a clear bias. In the absence of a better idea I think I’ll be tentatively supporting the move.

• Eoin Faz 02/02/12 #

Gender quota, great idea. Spread the funding a little thinner over candidates and force voters to put thought into their preference.

• Why is Seanad still going????

• I can guarantee if I wasn’t the only male to have read about the 30% men quota which is part of this legislation also all the men above would have a totally different attitude. What you say about women, they could say about us.

• You betcha Karl.

• I know Réada, i knew you’d agree with me on this one, actually thought of you when I read that to check for typo’s after posting it ha. If only closed minds came with closed mouths and fingers in this case ha.

• Feicit. Didn’t want to but I’ve a death/red thumb wish obviously. You obviously spotted me on these before. Lol. I can’t understand why people have a problem with it. The gender quota police won’t follow us into the booth to check we vote 30% male, 30%female and give us a choice with the remaining 40%. Wtf. Change always has a fight price though. Wth!

• Ha. Yes i have saw you here before and you think out your posts well not think with your genitals as a lot of people of both genders tend to do tho one gender does do that more than the other. Exactly people seem to miss that point and if they want mostly men in there so badly then this allows them to get 70% men in so a 7:3 ratio. Secondly, the change in the amount of females in politics is going to come in the future inevitably with or without legislation as women already outnumber men in Ireland and this will likely continue I reckon and as you said above there is no lie detector like a woman so they’ll gain a better track record meaning they’ll get elected or re-elected over the male counterparts. Regardless if they like it or not this change will happen sooner or later with or without this legislation.

• oh and 7″3 ratio is for party politics as quota applies to parties and the independent ticket is always there and if we’ve any sense we’ll be like the Isle Of Man in 10-15 years in the way that parties are next to non-existent there, 4 seats total all round there.

• I’d still allow 30% quota for men tho Karl. Ha ha. Good to have a bit of balance.

Tbh some of the male comments that come up on these threads re hair colour, height etc just make me laugh. I’d nearly take the vote off them. Nearly… ;) But the safe comments from the ladies really do my head in. You know the ones. Half of them sucking up and the other half unable to challenge themselves or the lads.

But as you say change will happen and this at least is a step in the right direction. My favourite feminist vinb about to start so bye and thanks for putting it up to those lads and giving the red thumbs something to do. It might keep them off their genitals for a bit anyway. Sorry if you’re prudish reader. Lol.

• No bother Réada i was watching him myself there ha. Of course balance is required in everything. Yes indeed there can be very immature comments when it comes to things like this, they should be more mature than that considering the passports they hold and one of the nicknames of our great nation. Yes it will and of course it is a step in the right direction change is almost always good thing. No bother ha ye with any luck.

• I love these gender quota threads. It really brings the colour back to my cheeks. All the smacking – rosy cheeks. Oh to be a good little girl. Nah. Can’t afford the blusher. Bye guys. ;)

Add New Comment