TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Government accused of designing referendum guide ‘to mislead public’

Sinn Féin’s Caoimhghín Ó Caoláín says the Stability Treaty guide being sent to homes understates the loss of sovereignty.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN HAS accused the government of distributing “deliberately misleading information” in the referendum booklet being sent to every home in the country.

The government’s booklet, in conjunction with its StabilityTreaty.ie website, is being distributed to homes at present – but Sinn Féin says the booklet understates the effects of the Fiscal Compact’s “new enforcement and punishment mechanisms”.

The party’s health spokesman Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin said the booklet claimed to offer balanced and objective information, but did not “explain the full consequences of key elements of the Treaty”.

Ó Caoláin said the booklet was particularly silent about “the consequences for our economic sovereignty” as a result of the provisions of articles 5 and 8, which deal with the methods through which European bodies and other countries can ensure that rules are the followed.

He said Article 5 ceded “significant new powers” to the European Commission, which could allow it to dictate what happened in future Irish budgets if Ireland was to breach the treaty’s rules, while Article 8 gave the European Court of Justice the power to fine countries which did not comply with the rules.

“All of this undermined the ability of the Dáil to control our economic affairs and is a significant transfer of powers to the EU. And this is happening without any proper debate or scrutiny,” Ó Caoláin said.

Sinn Féin has previously complained that the material on the government’s website, and that contained in the guide, is in breach of Supreme Court rules which ban the use of public funds on material advocating one side over another in the referendum.

The booklet being sent to homes contains the full text of the treaty, across 16 of its 19 pages, with the other two pages devoted to a general guide to the Treaty and the reasons why it is important to Ireland.

Under one of these sections, ‘Access to EU Assistance Funds’, the booklet reads:

It is important that Ireland be eligible to receive this [ESM] funding in the event of any future economic problems, and to reassure those who wish to invest in Ireland.

Read: Translated: The Fiscal Compact rewritten in layman’s terms

More: Today’s your last chance to post your application for a Fiscal Compact vote

Read next:

Comments (120 Comments)

• What the hell does he expect the government to do??? The Government couldn’t tell the truth to save our lives (literally) Just look at the mythical election manifesto and programs for government from both Labour and FFg.

• They could send me a golden booklet, printed on the rarest snake skin – I’ll still vote no.

• 2 1/2 weeks to go and we are faced with Greece totally rejecting this, Germany unable to ratify at the moment due to lack of support in their Parl. The next probable Dutch Govt. still saying they are going to reject it, the new French PM still making bellicose sounds against it. The Italian Govt. starting to call for it to be re-negotiated.

Nobel Prize economists Like Krugman, calling it an economic suicide pact. Roubini knocking it.

The treaty is dead, events are moving so fast that even by the Ref. date there will be new events that will reinforce the redundancy.

• i have 2 words to say: VOTE NO….

• sarah 11/05/12 #

To repeat what Ray D’arsy said on his show during the week. This booklet is suppose to explain the treaty in plain English for the average person but even Ray couldn’t make sense of some of it. I started reading and it might of well been in German I had no clue. So no wonder they skimmed over the finer detail. It is published by the government so it’s going to be full of bullshit promising a yes vote will give us the sun the moon and the stars but it’s not telling us about the hell bit!! I’m voting No.

• Still don’t know where the Government purchased all the posters, leaflets and booklets!

• New World Order

• I am just surprised they haven’t printed it in German, hope Angela will not be upset with the 2 little schoolboys Enda and Eamon (and their bestest little buddy Micheal)

• Even if it made sense at this point I would still vote no to the Fritzel compact because I no longer believe in the Euro project.
    One has to wonder did the German masters plan this all along so we would all be slaves.

The fools running this country wouldn’t have the brain power to figure out we are all being led by the pied piper
    No way!

• A shower of self serving bastards! They only care about being in power for as long as they can so as to build up their pensions! They’re a disgrace! That Lucinda Creighton’s become a complete embarrassment! Maybe a no vote will have slightly more painful consequences in the short term, but it’ll be worth it if it means this bunch of thieving liars are kicked out! No doubt they’ll cling on for as long as they can, but they’ll have even less credibility, and Enda Kenny doesn’t have the stomach for a real fight!

• Still waiting on the governments treaty pamplet,also the treaty pamplet from the referendum commission no sign of either.

• The goverment are a bunch of clowns that went to europe begging and came back with their tails between their legs and are now trying to flog a dead treaty upon the people to please their eu masters remember folks they didnt get a mandate to screw us so dont let them VOTE NO!!

• The blue shirts have gone very quiet lately! Someone’s taken a holiday (and brought all their aliases with them!) !!

Or they have already admitted defeat…

Orrrrr they know when the No side argue their useless treaty that what we say resonates true and strong with other readers who use this site hence they’ve stopped trying to BS every one!

ORRRrrrrr

• Got those other examples for us gary?

• So the fact they have said pretty much the exact same things for every EU treaty is not enough?
      Sovereignty eh?
      ““We in Sinn Féin have already commenced our campaign against the Austerity Treaty and I urge everyone here to play their part. Bring the message to every door in Dublin and ensure a massive ‘NO’ vote on 31st May. Let us assert, in the words of the Proclamation, our ‘right to national freedom and sovereignty’. Reject this Treaty, reject austerity, there IS a better way.”.”

On Lisbon in 2008
      “Sinn Féin was the only party to oppose the Lisbon Treaty, pointing out the dangers for our sovereignty.”

Eu Constitution 2005
      Sinn Féin European Affairs spokesperson in the Dáil, Aengus Ó Snodaigh TD, has said the Government’s draft constitutional amendments go further than ratifying the EU Constitution and would rule out almost any future referral of fundamental matters of Irish sovereignty to the people.

Nice treaty 2003
      “We saw in the Nice referendums how many people share our concern at the pace of European integration. People are worried about our loss of independence, the erosion of our sovereignty and the disappearance of Irish neutrality.”

etc etc etc. Yet in an ironic twist it was us going mental fuelling a property bubble that has brought here and now. All the while the EU warned us about it but had no actual power to stop us.

• Can you describe how your examples relate to your claims that sinn fein were ‘misleading the irish people’?

Thanks

• One last go… They have said the exact same things about every EU treaty and these things have not come to pass. And if we want to believe they are happening now it’s because we fuelled a property bubble and wrecked the economy, but the twist is even thought SF claimed we had lost our sovereignty at very turn the EU had no power to actually stop us. It’s be funny it we weren’t in the shít.

• @Gary: remember the old Lisbon treaty slogan “vote yes for jobs” which FFg were promoting?? Could one infer that this may have been misleading now in hindsight? As far as I remember Sinn Fein were correct at the time in their analysis of what the ratification of the Lisbon treaty meant for Ireland. This is just one glaringly obvious example of many why your tangental argument here is not well supported.

• Just the same way , FG have been saying the same thing for the same referendums that you mention. So Gary it is swings and roundabouts … Funny that SF could get over so many past hurts but FG/Lab and FF are all still fighting the civil war and where on the surface we can all get on , but when something like a referendum like this comes along then all the old hurts resurface …..

• Complete crap gary. Take lisbon, guarantees on our soverignty had to be given after sinn fein successfully campaigned for the no vote on the first run. And wheres the jobs? You haven’t backed up a single claim gary.

Thanks for playing.

• censored 11/05/12 #

Gary, don’t vote yes just because you don’t like Sinn Fein and the motley crew of causes that are campaigning for a no vote.

Judge this on the facts!

Just because the Greeks are wrong, does not make Merkel right.

• Trueleft. Yes guarantees had to be given on Lisbon as so much crap was talked about the contents of the treaty. We voted no for the most part on things that weren’t in the bloody treaty. For this kind of shíte http://www.coircampaign.org/index.php/materials-documents/posters

Now I’m going to try to explain this one more time for the slow out there. I do this about once a week but it doesn’t seem to sink in.
      Recession/bubble bursts = Mid 2008
      Lisbon treaty law = December 2009
      How the fluppin hell could the Lisbon treaty make up for the hundreds of thousands of jobs that were lost in the recession/bubble *before* it came into force. Is there something you don’t get about this?

cencoered. I couldn’t care less about Sinn Fein or any political party. Well as long as Sinn Fein never get to try out their economic policies in the real world.

Jamie Judge. Nothing Sinn Fein have said about *any* treaty has actually happened. Yet they keep saying it and some people keep listening to it. More fool them.

• Very presumpuous of you to state why people voted no gary, did you conduct a private poll or do you have crystal balls?

• Trueleft. Do you recall the opinion polls that were run at the time. The ones the government used to get the guarantees on. Ring a bell?

• @ Garyclowny Irelands exports do benefit by this but that is by luck not design, domestic economy will die completely which is the money that stays in the economy. Germany’s exports are massive to China & U.S. If they had to quit the euro they would get hammered on exports.

• People really should watch David Mc William’s punk economics lesson 1 for a quick easy to follow reality check on what’s going on before they Vote on the Fiscal Treaty.
    Consider we were the poster boys for bailout conditions and it still didn’t work….
    The definition of stupidity is repeating the same mistakes, anyone for another bailout??!

• let us not forget that Germany grows financially stronger the weaker the peripheral nations are, it makes their exports cheaper, more money is moved there as its safer making their borrowing rate lower. They receive cheaper money to then lend to us the PIGS (there biggest customers) at extortioniate rates. This is what the Fiscal Treaty is all about, guaranteeing Germany’s money back at all costs and keeping us under their thumb feeding the German machine. They have realised that’s banks conquer better than tanks. Simple as.

• Hmm I wonder what other exporting nation would gain… oh wait it’s Ireland.

• Shayno: Care to explain how Germany grows stronger financially, the weaker the peripheral countries are? We are all in the euro. Therefore, their exports don’t become cheaper. They stay the same price. Germany grows stronger, we grow stronger too.

The No side are weak at presenting the facts. Vote Yes.

• We would gain more by exporting with our own currency which would be weaker than the euro, we could set our own interest rates and devalue when needed

• And what about all our imports?

• Paul, the Euro is weaker than the Deutchmark because the PIIGS use it, this means the Germans gain on exports, they loaned money to the PIIGS which we used to buy German products ( VW, Mercedes, Siemens) so they gain twice. There was a very good programme on BBC on Wednesday night explaining this you should check it out, also this article from Dave McWilliams explains it too.http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2012/05/07/lets-talk-about-germany

• Imports! You want your exports cake AND eat it Gary?
      Buy Guaranteed Irish

• Vote NO .

• Oh, good grief! Devaluation. Yes, we’ll certainly devalue if we readopt the punt. Then Fianna Fail will come roaring back in future elections because they were the masters of making all sort of lavish promises, devaluing the currency once in office to pay for them all. The catch-all party, remember them, that we now know to be the corrupt party. The primacy of the parish pump will be reasserted.

We’re the only English speaking country in the Eurozone. That is a VERY STRONG selling point for us, remarked upon recebtly by those with money, not the Yanks, I mean the Chinese.

Vote Yes.

• Paul FG & FF have made the same promises in all the Euro referendums.
      Where’s the jobs?
      Where’s the security?
      Where’s the investment?
      If you want lavish promises look no further than FG/Lab at the last election!

• Ahhhh ……
      another good grief man.

Paul, i must try to introduce you to my
      old friend Felix Causidy.

You may yet find yourself alone at a closed polling station.
      And I know if it does go ahead more and more people are waking
      up to the farse that is the Fiscal Treaty.

Personally, i hope it goes ahead.

• John O’Donoghue has got the Fianna Fail slogan prepared for the next general election: “You tried the rest, now bring back the best”.

• If thats what you believe then you can’t really have
      much of a finger on the ‘pulse’.

One small example, did you read the article about the english geezer
      walking to dublin wanting to hear from people about setting up a new
      political party.

There is a real sense of change being afoot.
      It will take time, several years maybe,
      but it’s a comin me boy!

• @paulcarr
      That slogan is fcuking laughable !! And I’m laughing, a hard thing for me to do! Next joke please

• Shayno, If Germany were motivated to increase their exports they would let the euro devalue. This is precisely what they DO NOT want to happen. The last thing Germany under Merkel wants is inflation. This is why they haven’t allowed the ECB to pursue a policy of quantitative easing by printing money and eroding the debt that way.
      It makes sense for Germany to have stronger “peripheral” (whatever that means) states as then they have markets that can afford to buy their exports.

• Fianna Fail are down but not out. Their first defeat in 80 years last February still hasn’t sunk in yet. And to come third!

If Fianna Fail win no seats in the Dail in the 2016 election with Eamon O’Cuiv at the helm, then I’ll tentatively offer that Fianna Fail do indeed appear to be in some difficulty.

• censored 11/05/12 #

The Euro has been a good thing for us.

To those who are calling for restoration of the punt – on very dubious arguments:
      1. a stable currency is good for business
      2. our debts will still be in euros
      3. you want to put the cretins in Dail Eireann in charge of our currency????
      4. we are a small country and would be very exposed to currency speculators

This devaluation argument is just nuts. We should vote no to the fiscal compact because it’s a bad idea, not because we want to destroy the EU (or our country)

• Germany grow stronger under the Euro, if the euro fails which it is destined to do then Germany will have to go back to their old currency. Which will be worth far more than any other currency in the EU due to their economic strength. Therefore staying in the cheaper Euro maintains their competitiveness to trade with their number one exporter Europe and their second China.

The Deutschmark would also mean it is more expensive for Germany to secure debt from the markets. Which means it’ll lose even more money when shoring up all of it’s bad banks debts across Europe.

This is the main reason why Germany are championing the fiscal compact. It only benefits Germany while subjugating the rest of Europe to ensure Germany remains strong and the most powerful nation in Europe.

And that is why we should all vote No. McWilliams and Kruger have more data and financial jargon on the above.

• Any body that takes the time to vote is going to understand the treaty. So I say to Sinn Fein dont worry to much. Ps. Im voting NO.

• I don’t get Opposition TDs arguing for a postponement of the Treaty Referendum when the same people were dying for a referendum in the first instance. I also find it highly ironic that those seeking to “protect Irish Sovereignty” are citing Greek and German lack of ratification as backing up their arguments- surely we can make up our own minds on the treaty rather than worrying about what they’re doing?

• Given that in all likelihood the treaty is going to be amended, the goalposts have moved. We’d be nuts to vote on a treaty whose contents are going to be changed.

• Ignoreland
      If you don’t get it ,you can not be taught it . It is something you feel , it is part of being a true Irish person.
      another good book to read is one written by Paul Murphy MEP -Austerity Treaty explained . Very comprehensive explanation.

• Ok, I’ve just read the booklet and I have no idea what the hell SF are on about.

Firstly most of the booklet is the treaty itself, therefore everything in the Treaty is in the booklet. If people actually read the Booklet they will see Article 8.2 in all its splendor and glory that the Commission “may impose on it [a country in breach of the Debt Rule] a lump sum or a penalty payment appropriate in the circumstances and that shall not exceed 0,1 % of its gross domestic product.

Secondly- the provisions that SF explicitly complain about are mentioned about where it is explained on Page 2 under “Title 3- The Fiscal Compact” that “…It also explains how the rules are enforced”.

Can someone please explain to me how this is misleading????

• Bit rich coming considering the deliberate use of selective quotes specifically planted to mislead people. It’s time SF stopped murdering the truth and put their lies beyond use.

• It is not as misleading as the booklet from ‘EFD Group of the European parliament’ the one with Nigel Farage on the front, total lies and fiction. It even has a picture of Phil Hogan being put in a dustbin, I mean what does he have to do with the Treaty. Shame on the No side . Vote yes

• Ah but that pile of dung they sent out doesn’t count as it’s looking for a no vote. It’s only scaremongering and exaggeration when it’s promoting a yes, didn’t you know?

• Nigel Farage is a very wise man and stands alone in the European parliament in condemnation of the elitist policies the european integration project are being based around. Look him up on YouTube and watch some of his speeches. He tears Gay Mitchell a new one in a recent debate, which is quite entertaining to watch ;)

• Do you have a link for that Jamie?

• Loved the irony of getting a leaflet from Nigel Farage telling me not to do what foreign politicians tell me to do!

• The ironing is delicious.

• Shame on the no side ? Are you for real ?
      Tony Stack . Phil Hogan has every thing to do with the austerity treaty . higher taxes to pay off dead banks and Crooked bankers and unsecured bond holders ….. All are connected .Like the bones in a body … This government got in on LIES , LIES and more LIES. Kenny is proven to be a coward and the hoghogan is as in ept as they come except for veradkar and every other minister in cabinet. All they want is austerity and they want to sign it into our constitution forever and a day…..
      Shame on the Yes side more like :VOTE NO

• censored 11/05/12 #

There are just as many nutters on the yes side, as there are on the no side. Unfortunately, one of them is our “leader”.

• Sure after reading the treaty I’m going to vote yes, but I have to say if Nigel Farage from the UK Independence party and his buddies in Europe were on my side I’d really be wondering about what I believed.

censored. You can argue back and forth about government leaflets being ‘biased’ but I’ve only heard the really crazy stuff from no campaigners. And it’s the same with every treaty with Europe.

• FFS these guys really are the Kings of throwing red herrings into the Fiscal Compact Treaty debate!

Adams had an opportunity to go on TV to actually sit down & discuss the Treaty openly & honestly but just responded Micheal Martin’s invitation with a rather glib insult.

• Adams is the head of the no side. He requested a debate with the head of the yes side. Perfectly reasonable. Martin is the leader of the 3rd biggest party advocating a ‘yes’ vote. The only reason he’s been so active in the media is to head off a leadership challenge in his own party by being seen attempting to drag the party out of irrelevance on the political stage. If kenny believes in the treaty, he should sac up.

• censored 11/05/12 #

Who’s Michael Martin again?

• A it’s a No from ne

• censored 11/05/12 #

“designed the referendum guide” – in fairness this implies a level of intelligence.

• I haven’t seen the leaflets personally bit it’s a bit rich that Sinn Fein of all people complaining they ‘mislead the public’. Nobody should mislead the public but Sinn Fein are past masters at it.

• As you are claiming they are past masters at misleading the public gary, I guess you can list some examples for us all?

• Fagan's 11/05/12 #

A look over there post.

• Well I can start with a week ago when they very selectively quoted economists to make it look like they were promoting a no vote when they were actually seeking a Yes vote. You really want to play this game?
      And keep in mind that Sinn Fein (the pro-EU party!!) have campaigned against every referendum we’ve had on Europe, while saying basically the same things about each one. If that doesn’t show dishonesty I don’t know what will.

• Love it Gary, lets not debate the issue on the news-thread that the Government are again deliberately using Tax Payers resources to mislead the public, lets throw more mud at the No side and try to confuse people.

• Cal the point is that *Sinn Fein* are claiming the leaflets ‘mislead the public’. As I mentioned I haven’t seen the leaflets but given Sinn Fein’s previous form I’ll take what they say with a very large pinch of salt. Aside from the fact they are really past masters at spin and fudging the issues themselves.

• Gary, once more for slow readers… The Government just used Tax Payer money to send out supposedly “independent” information leaflets to ‘inform’ the public… This news item highlights that they very very conveniently forgot to include crucial details like ‘big fines’ that could be imposed on the Irish people, if we don’t manage to meet the EU targets. You really don’t see anything wrong with this?

• Again I haven’t seen the leaflets. But (again) I’m not going to take Sinn Fein’s word they are biased, or yours for that matter. I’ll look at them and decide for myself.
      And the fines are only an issue if we break the rules and then don’t attempt to sort it out. Why the hell would we do that?

• Wrong gary. They did not ‘selectively’ quote economists to make it look like they were promoting a no vote. Nowhere on the literature did it even suggest the economists in question were voting ‘no’. Two of the three economists in question admitted on the radio that the quotations were accurate. Fine Gael spin aside, it was manufactured outrage that just so happened to appear the same day sinn fein brought attention to the bias fine gael inserted on the official referendum website.

Anything else?

• Jasus,
      are yis still goin on about this treaty.
      it’s dead in the water, a goner, bye bye.

What are those jasus eejits in gubbermint thinking?
      It’s over gary.

• Trueleft. What they did is *exactly* what selectively quoting is.
      They quoted Karl Whelan “… the economics of this treaty are pretty terrible …” Sounds like he’s suggesting a no vote.
      But he said… “All that said, although I think the economics of this treaty are pretty terrible, on balance, the arguments favour Ireland’s signing up to it.” Not a ringing endorsement but a definite support for a yes.
      They also selectively quote Colm McCarthy (“Voting No is a Leap in the Dark that We Can’t Afford“) and Seamus Coffey (“there is little to be gained from rejecting the Treaty“). These both sound like they are looking for a no but they are actually seeking a Yes.

On Sinn Fein’s website it says “Sinn Fein is an Irish Republican party. Its objective is … British rule in Ireland.” And since, according to you, selectively quoting doesn’t matter I’m shocked at their sudden change in direction.

• Gary, man… you are just proving my point… you cant debate the news story… :D We all see through your tactics, you better come up with another one before polling day ….
      I shouldnt offer them…. but here goes…

1) Get Germany to write off the 70 billion euro private banking debt (similar to what is going to be offered to Spain to bail out their banks).
      2) All Government ministers and Taoiseach reduce their salaries to the average industrial wage until such times as we meet all the treaties requirements… Debt to GDP ratio of 60% and the 0.5% budget deficit.

I would be very very confident you could get the majority of people to vote YES if you do these two things, otherwise you can shove your YES vote.

• Poor gary, still hanging onto the manufactured spin from fine gael that emerged just before the evening news cycle on the exact same day the main story was going to be about fine gael unlawfully placing biased material on the referendum website. The sinn fein leaflet stated the economists opinion of the treaty, not what their vote would be. Beut we all know that. Only the most rabid government apologists are still waving that non-story about.

Right, so thats one ‘example’, if you’ll call it that, I certainly don’t. Wheres the rest of your examples of sinn fein misleading the public.

• Cal. 1. The ‘banking debt’ as you call it was made sovereign debt by the last government a few years back, basically all the original bondholders have been paid off. Why would ‘Germany’ or anyone give us 70 billion for that? Hey it’s a nice idea but why should they. Would we give them the money if the roles were reversed? I really doubt it. The problem here is the myth that we paid the money to German banks is still floating around even though there’s not one shred of proof for it. Want to see the real figures… http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78616401&postcount=307 (all taken from our Central Bank figures)
      2. Okay how much will that save? And if it’s more than 30 million I’ll be very surprised. We have a deficit of 14 billion this year alone.

Trueleft. Have you lost the plot? I quoted you exactly what was on the bloody leaflet Sinn Fein put out. And you’re calling it Fine Gael spin… what!?!?! It was the economists themselves that raised the issue… http://karlwhelan.com/blog/?p=359
      I also clearly showed how selective quotes can be used to change the meaning of what someone said or the conclusions they came to.

• gary,
      are u not happy that this BS treaty is more than likely
      goin to go down the toilet?
      And hopefully go that way not by our hand?

• Joseph. If the treaty falls by the wayside it will be replaced by another one, but that would take a good while to sort out. That would create uncertainty in the EU, which is not good for anyone. Creating a treaty between 27 different countries is a large and painful job, I’m almost surprised any ever get agreed on. Most countries appreciate how difficult these treaties are to negotiate so they will most likely just tweak a few things which we won’t need to vote again for. Only my opinion of course.
      Besides If we need a referendum on a new treaty we are likely to be handing over new competencies to the EU and you guys will always see that as a loss of this mythical ‘sovereignty’ and will vote no.

• Correct on one point
      I will never ever vote to give the EU more power over me.

EVER

• Gary, can you show us where the leaflet mentions that the economists will be voting no please. They were quoted on their remarks relating to the content on the treaty, not their vote.

So, wheres your other examples?

• Trueleft if you can’t see what Sinn Fein did as dishonest then there is no point in discussing it further. I posted one set of examples below where you asked. I can keep going if you like, though it’s pretty boring.

Joseph. That’s the thing though isn’t it, you’ll vote no for this mythical sovereignty no matter what. I’m reading the thing and giving it an unexcited yes. And if a new one comes along I’ll read it and decide but you’ll still vote no.

• Gary,
      an unexcited yes???
      For an unexcited man you do spend a lot of time and energy posting
      on all matters fiscal treaty.

Of course ill read any possible future treaty,
      i’m quite selective these days about what ill wipe me arse with :-)

• Again Gary. Please post any reference, no matter how small or insignificant, on the sinn fein flyer to the quoted economists voting ‘no’ rather than their opinions on the treaty itself.

Take your time….unless of course there is nothing for you to post.

• Trueleft. I spelt it out in black and white what was wrong with what they did. And I can guarantee you’d be screaming from the rooftops if the government did it. So I can either assume you’re an idiot or being deliberately obtuse as it suits you. Little bit of column A, little bit of column B perhaps.

Joseph. I do, you’re right. Someone asked me the same question the other day. It’s because I give a shít about this country and I want to see people get a balanced view of what we’re voting on. It’s certainly not for all the names I get called you can be sure.

Anyway lads I’m off to the pub to have a life.

• Folks, please try to refrain from making attacks against another user (as opposed to attacking their arguments).

Play the ball, not the player, etc.

• Gary, I suppose you haven’t heard the electoral commission radio ads which are blatantly pro Yes, the yes camp are using every dirty trick in the book (including mobilising their minions online)
      If they have to resort to propaganda to sell something then that something is rotten.

• Enjoy the pints Gary,

I do love ya you silly aul sausage!
      Ur right tho,
      I’m sure we can disagree without being disagreeable!

Catch up with ya on a different thread tomorrow

• Gary, as usual the figures you quote do not include the cost of NAMA.
      A manageable sovereign debt has been made unmanageable by socialising bank debt.
      And don’t say “you haven’t got a time machine to clean up spilt milk”
      We are a sovereign nation despite what FF did or FG say. We can repudiate this debt if we wish and start again with IMF backing like Iceland

• censored 11/05/12 #

In fairness Gary, they quoted economists who were very selective with the truth – they said:

1) on economic grounds the fiscal compact is a bad idea
      BUT
      2) on balance it’s a good idea.

So they said it’s a bad idea based on the economic facts which they are qualified to comment on.

However, there’s some other reason (the magical confidence fairy?) which makes it a good idea. What is that other reason please?

• I remember when the plans to invent this treaty came about at one of many ‘crucial’ EU summits to save the Euro. The fact of the matter is this will NOT save the Euro in this crisis. Economies need stimulation to grow, it’s as simple as that. If this Treaty were to have come to a referendum 10 years ago or in the future when the economy was in good condition, then I would vote yes to prevent another crash. This treaty at the moment will only prolong the economic decline.

• I fail to see the logic in opposing a treaty that stops other countries that share our currency from spirraling in there own self created debt and before anyone gets on about our debt being banking debt let me remind you only 25% of our debt is banking the rest us our own Irish mess

• So when we run out of money in 2015 to pay for teachers and hospitals and social welfare and civil servants and everything else to run a country where will we get it ?

• 2015 is a bit away.

What is they say
      A week is a long time in politics.
      As has been demonstrated this week alone.

• I’m on welfare and I will take my chances, I’ll take the hit for the sake of this country !! Question how big of a hit has can’t think for himself ( kenny ) taken the ginger sell out… No back bone ….

• We’ll get it from Europe david. The ECB and Eurozone are not going to risk bringing the house of cards down by Ireland suffering a catastrophic default, rather than extend a smaller further loan to the people who are obediently making their targets and paying back the program loan. It is absolutely inconceivable. They threw a chunk of money at greece they know they’ll never get back andd gave them a huge debt writeoff rather than upset the applecart. Really think they’ll shaft the star pupil whose being a good boy?

We are being blackmailed but the threat is empty. Don’t fall for it.

• That argument is wearing thin and its all the yes side have! Do you genuinely think they won’t give us funding with better conditions when the other alternative is being bankrupt and defaulting on the multiple billions?? They will rewrite the rules as they have done already!
      Life is not going to get better here unless you fight for it!

• Exactly Shayno. A manufactured threat from a government of liars. Its their best hope of getting people to vote ‘yes’ to cripping austerity.

• I will take my chances and vote NO . It is all scare mongering by the Yes side don’t you know. We need jobs and an increase in growth . not more taxes and we as hell do not need any more bail outs . I trust what I know to be true , I trust what I learned myself .

• censored 11/05/12 #

Hang on a minute Dave, do you mean to tell me that we’ll need a second bailout?!!!

I thought the austerity was working!

• Matt nomaan !!!!

Add New Comment