TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Gardaí express concern over missing Kildare teenager

Gardaí say they have carried out extensive searches for 18-year-old Cormac Clare, who has been missing since Monday.

Image: Garda Press Office

GARDAÍ IN NAAS have renewed their appeal for 18-year-old Cormac Clare, who has been missing from his home in Kilteel since Monday.

Superintendent Patrick Mangan said: “We have grave concerns for Cormac’s welfare and have carried out extensive searches since Monday. This morning there are over 400 people, including local Gardaí, Garda Divisional search teams, Garda Water Unit, Civil Defence and members of the public from the locality, involved in the search.”

“We are especially appealing to members of the public who may have seen Cormac near his home on Monday morning 22 October, or hitchhiking on the N7 or N81 routes to contact us,” he added.

Cormac was last seen in Kilteel, Naas Co Kildare at approximately 2am on the 22nd October 2012. He is described as being 6 ft 1 or 2 inches tall, of a thin build, with short tight brown hair.

When last seen, he was wearing a navy jacket (Regatta), a wine coloured hoodie, navy plain Nike tracksuit bottoms (cotton style) and runners. It is possible he had a black and green small rucsack (Jack Murphy) in his possession.

Gardaí have asked anyone who can assist in locating Cormac to contact Naas Garda Station on 045 884300, the Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800 666 111, or any Garda Station.

Read: Gardaí issue appeal over missing Kildare teenager>

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• I hope the lad is ok and found safe & well.

• it’s getting like America with young people going missing its so bad now this never even made it to rte news
    hope they find him unharmed

• C’mon folks, if RTE gave airtime to missing people, then who’d cover stories about that blonde TV presenter dude who’s married to the other blonde model or tv presenter or whatever it is that she does.

• Hope your are OK Cormac wherever you are, and that you know people all over Ireland care about you and just want the best for you, and that it is OK to go back home no matter why you felt you had to leave in the first place – you have not messed up, you are OK.

• As some one who’s life and family’s life was shattered by having a family member go missing. everyone counts and we must act fast and quick and eye for all I hope u never find ur self in this position of pure hell , hoping he’s found safe and well soon

• Maria 28/10/12 #

Patrick; there is no doubt these cases are newsworthy. I am really sorry for what you have been through. I can empathise: I have had a friend go missing and my husband has also had a family member go missing – both with bad outcomes. My point was that in most cases it is unlikely that foul play is involved. I think the public are worried about this.

• Paddy of course its hell on the family. Who would argue that? And I realise as much help as possible is greeted. But let’s be fair its a Hugh stress situation where family are not thinking strsight and a person has gone missing because they want to. This happens 8000 times a year in ireland. Its like death in family its traumatic but are rate going to report on every sudden death? Anyway sorry for what you went through just have to deal in reality that’s all

• Hope he’s found safe and well

• it should have made the news earlier in the week. 5mins airtime wouldnt have harmed anyone. gardai on local radio all week appealin for a hitch hiker and driver to come forward. ridiculus it was only on local radio assumin these persons listened to it instead of a 5min bulletin on the 6 o clock news. i hope hes found safe and well.

• tom 27/10/12 #

RTE news is half full of sport so limited or no air time for appeals for missing persons.

• It has been in news since it happen, newspapers, facebook, internet….

• Explained it to audrey just read below. According to missing.WS there are 8000 missing people in Ireland. So let’s be fair to rte:) so give each a 5 minute slot? That’s why. Unless foul play involved its not a big story. Many of these missing end up suicides or just want to get away from problems. I’d not worry about missing people on the journal site. Unless the guards say foul play well ya know yourself

• Maria 27/10/12 #

Eyeseeall: totally agree. I’m surprised at the thumbs down u got – u only stated fact.

• thats a horrible attitude to have. so its ok for missing persons not to b on the news cos it might b suicide. would that not b more of a reason to air it on news headlines to try and find someone before they harm themselves? this country really has gone to f**k. and what about a missing persons family do they not matter?? in this particular case the young lad has a medical condition and i hope to god he has enough meds with him and he is found soon

• Lol and today on the news a man is missing. Following on from this story a woman has been reported missing this evening and in another story a person has been reported missing. Ladiesqnd gentlemen in breaking news reaching us we can report that yes infact a person has gone missing from care home. Ladies and gentlemen that a all we have time for :)

• Sorry for spelling. Smart phone ain’t that smart :) but its just impossible to report on these things. Its awful for families yes but ya can’t report on each one. I can’t be sure but I think on average j do remember a figure of about 2 maybe 3 suicides a day happen in ireland. Its a personal tragity that is not national news except to report statistics in how we might combat it.

• The fact that Cormac’s case has been mentioned on some news bulletins shows that there is time- plenty of time. This is a young guy of 18 who went missing in the middle of the night and whose family are worried sick. If we have time for stories about puppies and whales, we have time to get information out there that might help a desperate family. Even a quick flashing up of a picture could make all the difference.

• hope hes found soon to many are never found again ireland has really changed over the years.

• Hope he is found safe & sound.

• why has this not been on any news channel in ireland ..? .unreal.pg he is safe and well.

• To all those people who don’t believe so much air time should be given to people who have gone missing I say shut your mouths, ye have no idea what it’s like to go through someone you love just vanish. So yeah they are reported missing, and yeah they get air time on the news, that’s how we get the message out there that we are looking for them. Coming on this and seeing comments such as ‘Eye see all’s’ is really annoying and hurtful. It’s people like you who undermines the work media does to help find people regardless of whether there’s foul play or not.

• @Eyes See all , I only need to read a few of your comments to form the opinion that you are an ass and a coward with little, to no regard for anyone other than yourself.
    If you believe so strongly in your stance on this story or your idealogical stance in general on such a topic as to leave so many comments, why would you submit these comments anonymously?! IMO your just another Keyboard warrior with little better to do than aggravate people that have been affected by such events in the past.

• Lol I’m just stating how it is. I look forward to all of rte news tonight reporting all 8000 people missing this year. Maybe we should fire the head if rate for reporting on those silly murders. As it is I feel bad for family of anyone gone missing like this. One would hope they don’t come to harm themselves but one never knows. I’ll comment more when the story has an end

• comment when you’re willing to put a face to it. Patrick Egan is right you are just a coward with little time on their hands.

• In that case my good woman you need not comment till I put a picture up so thankfully as that’s not soon we won’t be exchanging views. I don’t put picture up or name up for privacy reasons and that Sony be changing. Oh yeah rte stuck to main news tonight as normal. Wonder if you will be complaining to them :)

• Shell 29/10/12 #

Hope he is found safe and well.

• I will comment when and how often I like. You don’t put up a picture because you don’t have the balls to put a face to what u believe in. There was a few papers with missing people on them today, u gonna start commenting on how the papers shouldn’t be giving space to those either. And for your information I don’t complain, unlike some people I don’t feel the need to input my view unless it has affected me, maybe you should take a leaf outta my book MY GOOD MAN!!!!!!

• headline is very distasteful dunno how it got past the editor . ought to be amended

Add New Comment