TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Gunman arrested after Texas shootings dies

The gunman was reported to have shot a number of people near the A&M University campus this afternoon.

Texas State troopers and Brazos Valley lawmen work the scene of the shooting of two fellow law officers,
Image: AP Photo/College Station Eagle, Dave McDermand

A MAN SUSPECTED of shooting a number of people near Texas A&M University has died.

A gunman and a law enforcement officer were among three people killed in the shooting near the Texas A&M University campus, police said.

A male civilian also was killed, while two other officers and a woman were injured in the shooting in College Station, said Bryan Police Department spokesman Jon Agnew.

Assistant College Station Police Chief Scott McCollum earlier identified the law enforcement officer killed as Brazos County Constable Brian Bachmann.

Agnew said officers had established a perimeter around the area shortly after the shooting just east of campus, but they do not believe a second suspect was involved.

He said police don’t know if the shooter was a student at Texas A&M.

Texas A&M

Texas A&M spokeswoman Sherylon Carroll could not confirm details about the shooting, but said most students were not on campus Monday.

It appeared to be fairly quiet. It didn’t appear to be a lot of people out and about at that particular time.

College Station is about 90 miles northwest of Houston.

The University put a number of ‘code maroon’ warnings on its website today, saying:

CSPD reports an active shooter in the area immediately southeast of the intersection of Welborn Rd and George Bush Drive. Please avoid the area. Residents in the immediate area need to remain inside their residence.

It said that the shooter was located at the 200 block of Fidelity Drive.

KBTX.com said the man was shooting from a house and using automatic weapons.

Autumn classes have not yet begun at the university.

- Additional reporting AP

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• Police Officer and Civilian killed… RIP

• Another cop killed…..time for the police country wide to follow Mayor Bloombergs request for them to make a stand about gun regulations…they are realistically the only organisation that could force some change as the spineless politicians run a mile when another tragic shooting happens.
      For those on here suggesting nothing should change .. USA is heading for 10000 gun deaths in 2012 (compared to 50 in UK)…. That’s 10000 lives….10000 people dead…. 10000 families lives ruined.

• Chris rock had innovative idea to reduce gun crime.Let every person own a gun, but charge $5000 per bullet.

• Try Japan for gun crime. Its virtually zero. They have zero tolerance for guns, with harsh punishment for those caught with or using guns.

• America’s gun laws are mad. Another day another Massacre. When will people wake and realise, it can’t go on like this?

• What an ignorant comment. Guns actually prevent even more violent crime. If we had guns for everyone here, you would find that the crime would go waaaay down.

• So Kent, then please explain why in other western countries where the guns are restricted by law violent crimes are way lower then the US? And that is backed up by real facts and figures.

• Abby 13/08/12 #

Kent, that makes no sense whatsoever.

• @kent You’re an IDIOT!!! You think it’s ok if some crazy person has a bad day and they shoot you or your family for no reason in broad daylight. What good is your gun then? Locking up the crazy guy won’t bring your family back.

• Yes, it’s obvious that the guns are responsible for all these shootings. Nothing to do with the people firing them. Handguns are illegal in Ireland but you still have people getting shot. It’s time for people to start thinking for themselves and stop the sheep mentality.

• Kent you havent a clue.

• And create an arms race?
      Don’t forget that next to the exceptions most crimes here are knife crimes. If you as a citizen sleep with a gun underneath your pillow, the criminal who burgles your home will also make sure he/she has one.
      You might hesitate to fire, but will they?

• Actually, Kent does have a clue and it’s backed up, quite factually, in a book called More Guns, Less Crime by John Lott. Buy your own copy off Amazon and have a read. People who have never owned guns, or lived in a gun culture, have no basis for opinion on this subject. If you grow up with guns and are taught how to use them lawfully, they are the equivalent of having forks and knives around. I could kill you just as well with a steak knife. If we could eradicate idiots from a population, which is what is needed more so than gun control, there would be a lot less traffic going into Dublin in the morning.

• Please don’t feed the trolls

• @Jackass, and we should take you serious how???

• Again contradicting themselves. A few days ago there was an article about a man mistakingly receiving a rifle instead of a TV in the post. The vast majority, over 90% of commenters thought that instead of handing it over to the police he should of kept it, yet it looks like the vast majority on this article are against the 2nd amendment of the US constitution -the right to keep and bare arms. A lot of people on the journal seem to have very short memories

• Finland have one of the highest guns per capita in the world and look at the amount of gun crime

• I’m just gonna come right out and say what’s on my mind and get plenty of red thumbs for the trouble.

People on The Journal hate America for dictating their ways to other people. They hate Syria, Iran and Israel to boot.

Yet they have no problem telling the world that America should start restricting guns despite the majority of people in the US wanting to keep that right.

Hypocrites with voting rights.

• Aidan gerathy- theres been a few shooting sprees in Finland in recent years.

• bob 13/08/12 #

we can’t even run ourselves without guns,throw guns into the mix will make our world a better place! sure young lads in cars killing themselves driving mad,sure a gun will fix that!

• Derek 13/08/12 #

It’s guns + gun culture. Finland has a healthy relationship with firearms as they use them up there for hunting and protecting from animals. In the States they can all stock the house full with them and carry them. Terrified some one will use theirs on them so they need one too.
      Gun’s don’t kill people, people kill people, guns simply make it easier and why would we be encouraging and protect the very “right” they cling to which results in that?

Think would police need to be fearful with their hand on their holster if they knew 98% of the people they pull over aren’t armed? No. But mix that with crazy, which to be fair the US has in spades and the situation is very real.
      They are protecting the rights of themselves and the nut-jobs to be armed.
      Now they see the results, ie. armed nut-jobs.
      What do they want? Yeah, more guns! Will that prevent these horrific situations from occurring or stop them? No but at least they are enjoying their god given right to bare arms. Nothing changes.

• Kent has never been shot.

• @Jackass and @Kent, you have to be brain dead altogether to believe that. It’s such a cop out to just refer to a book, which I would venture a guess and say is written by a gun owning American? The fact is, if you remove guns, you remove the ease at which people can be killed. A psychopathic nut job is far less likely to go into a cinema and butcher everyone, cause chances are, the first big lad he comes across is gonna take his knife and stab him. I’d love to see a study done that equates pro guns with IQ. And I’d be willing to bet that low IQ, inarticulate, ignorant morans would be the majority in favour. And another thing, I remember reading that male obsession with guns is linked to size insecurity, food for thought lads!

• Anthony – Please don’t embarrass yourself any further. We know you mean well, but you don’t sound like you speak from experience, or at least the type of experience that matters. Lead against lead. Don’t forget!

• Anthony, actually it is the other way around. Just look at all the stupid patronising comments made by the anti-gun ownership lobby, examples above including your own comment in which you made a pathetic attempt to draw a link between gun ownership and (lack of) masculinity.

• I’m not even surprised by the responses. Id have a shot in the dark and suggest that you two didn’t finish school, and hate all Gardai, and hate Enda Kenny, and hate minorities, and believe you’ve been unlucky in life. Hahaha, idiots! I should have known there’d be no talking to people of your calibre.

• Derek 14/08/12 #

@Jason Culligan
      America called and said they miss you and want you back.
      As they claim to be the most powerful country on Earth, I don’t see how you need to stand up for them over every little gripe people have with it. I’ve gripes with many people and many countries how they treat their own citizens and how they deal with other countries. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but your not winning favour or getting a card for Christmas for another Pat my Head Enda,
      The US is a great country but it has its mighty fair share of problems like all the rest. A little criticism wont hurt it either way.

• Kent are you actually being serious, granted guns don’t kill, it’s the person holding the gun that does but with the amount of seemingly crazy people there are in the world tighter gun control is needed especially in the states.

• Kinder eggs are banned in the United States but you can buy weapons in your local store!

• Finland has different culture. alot less loud then american.

However i have seen the amount of people that query applying for firearm for protection ( ropey people) and im glad we have tight laws. If anything there are still too many guns in ireland

• United States is going to have to review their Gun Enforcement Laws and start putting the innocent bystander first …!!

• sorry but George bush library? lol.

glad it looks like no one was seriously injured by this gunman.

• Journal people, the header text on this article says that there were no fatalities reported, however around paragraph 2 you report that the AP reports that the shooter died alongside a constable and a civilian. Might want to flip over to Sky and update your article.

• It’s simple logic really, if firearms are illegal there’s less chance of crazy people taking peoples lives. Any random person in USA can get a gun with minimum effort. Needs to stop.

• For me it is now yet again very sad that people are dead or dying because of Guns
    Isint this the 2nd or 3rd week in row in relation to some nutter with a gun running riot in the USA?
    I personally think that the US needs to tighten their laws and get a grip in relation to firearm access,

• I’m struggling to find any rationale for Kent’s stance on gun ownership. The only statistic I can think of, that might partially explain his view, is the low rate of domestic burglaries in North America, when compared to other countries, that have stricter rules on gun ownership. The thinking being that burglars are less likely to attempt that crime, when homeowners are more than likely armed. That may well be true, but belies the fact that many other gun crimes are then more easily committed. For example, think of all the domestic arguments that could go from punches, to knives and then to guns, if guns were so freely available. American gun policy may make its citizens feel safer from outside threats, and they may indeed actually be safer from those threats, but are their policies really worth conserving, considering the increased threats that then reside inside the home.

• Here we go again.

• I hope all those Second Amendment nuts are keeping score. The ‘right’ to posses firearms should be removed. Charlton Heston’s now famous line “From my cold dead hands” springs to mind. There is just far too much crazy over therefor it to be a constitutional right.

• the right to bear arms is from colonial times , it was written in to allow the use of pose or mob to repel attack from their ememy of the time The English. Now if im not mistaken that threat is gone, so the right to bear arms is void.
      The use and sale of fire arms within most european states is well regulated and for each additional fire arm it MUST be justified and fit for purpose , same dosnt apply with the states, ie 50cal rifles is not a recreational weapon and fully or semi automatic rifles are not for hunting . If they are to stem the use of future killings with fire arms well in my opinion they have to overhaul and BAN all sales of semi or full automatic fire arms and restrict the caliber of the weapons being sold. And i know people kill people and not guns , but if we restrict the potential fire power and limit the rate of fire it will save lifes. Im not anti guns by any means ,iv fired more than most but to restrict will make it safer.

• The manufacture and sale of a Teddy Bear in the US is more regulated than the gun. You can’t kill a child with a Teddy.

Cop on Americans.

• Actually, Switzerland has the lowest gun crime rate in the world yet EVERYONE has access to a gun through their military conscription policy. Enough said?

• military training gives the disciplin to use a fire arm in a correct and safe manner, to respect the weapon but to acknowldge the weapon is but a tool and not a toy.

• Switzerland has literally double the gun crime rate per capita compared to Ireland

• Yeah James that’s horse cr#p! Every Swiss person is drafted when they leave school so they get proper training and discipline with regards to guns. Their culture is that the gun is used as protection and not for exacting vengeance! That nut job in the US thought he was the Joker and believed he had a right to kill people. And let’s not forget, it is possible to get a gun in Ireland through legal channels, but it’s heavily restricted, and rightly so because it prevents people with extremist personalities, like yourself, Kent and jackass from being able to access such power!

• censored 14/08/12 #

You seem very sure of yourself Anthony, yet it’s other people who you’re calling “extremist”. The guy who attacked the Sikh temple in Wisconsin was a former soldier, well trained in the use of firearms.

• Yes censored I am very sure of myself, because my thoughts are the correct thoughts, not maybe, not if only, 100% right. 3 weeks and 3 massacres. And army training isn’t a garauntee that there aren’t still going to be nut jobs, but removing guns limits their ability to take other peoples lives cause they are unhappy with their own. We aren’t at war, we don’t need guns! Guns are the tools of criminals (with a few decent people using them for sport). Anyway I don’t expect you to ever change your opinion but you should be aware that it’s wrong and probably not well thought out

• I’m finding it hard to remember the last time there was a random massacre in this country….??

• Mjhint 14/08/12 #

A few people on the thread suggesting that if we had guns the crime rate may go down & that we lack the experience in gun control. History lesson. We had guns here & not little small ones but real military guns that killed with one shot most of the time. Over 3000 people killed & thankfully because we have more sence here we got rid of them.

• Personally, if the majority of Americans wish to retain the Right to bear Arms, then let them get on with it and I don’t give a tinker’s curse how many of their own people they kill. End of story as far as I’m concerned.

• We should give guns to people like me and I’d sort out all the bad drivers. That would be totally awesome. Instead of beeping there’d be murder. Every car journey would be so tense and exciting. What’s that quote ‘twixt life and death something ..’

• I tried sleeping with a gun under the pillow it’s just uncomfortable, and then there’s the trigger marks on ur face doesn’t go down well in work. Guns are restricted in France and last year there was a gun attach on a school. So maybe being able to protect yourself is something we should look at.

• Another mass shooting in violent,crimeridden America.

Add New Comment