TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

€160k consultant appointed to Special Delivery Unit

Health Minister James Reilly has appointed a consultant to work within his Special Delivery Unit – not an advisor as was claimed. Lis Nixon will be paid more than €160,000 in her new role.

Minister for Health Dr James Reily TD
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly came under fire yesterday when it was reported that an advisor had been hired to work on his Special Delivery Unit.

However, it emerged that it was a consultant, Lis Nixon, who had been hired as Director of Unscheduled Care working within the SDU. The story, which was originally reported by IrishHealth.com, was clarified yesterday by the Department of Health, a spokesperson said.

The spokesperson said that the only reason Nixon’s appointment was initially criticised by people including Fianna Fáil TD Billy Kelleher – who described the pay as “obscene” for an advisor – was because the pay cap for an advisor is €92,000. However, Nixon is a consultant and is being paid €164,000 per year.

This is the second consultant hired at more than €160,000 per annum to work in the SDU.  Dr Martin Connor is employed at a salary of €160,000.

The Department of Health spokesperson said that Nixon was “instrumental in the UK in making major improvements in waiting times in Emergency Departments” and in past decades had worked in a leading way in bringing performance improvements in scheduled care across England.

Within the SDU, there is a Director of Performance Improvement for Scheduled Care and one for Unscheduled Care. Within her new role as the latter, Nixon will be answerable to Chief Operating Officer Tony O’Brien.

Speaking on Morning Ireland today, Lucinda Creighton defended the amount Nixon is being paid. “I don’t think it should be held against her,” she said, noting that Nixon is bringing her knowledge and expertise to the role and “can help James Reilly in his mission to reduce waiting list”.

However, Sinn Fein spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Trade, Pádraig Mac Lochlainn, said in response that “people are disillusioned” with a “make-it-up as you go along policy” and said that though they “expected reform”, “again and again you’re seeing it with these payments”.

Read: “Majority” of hospitals have cut 1-year waiting times for patients>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• If she’s as good as Lucinda Creighton says she is, then that has to be good news! I assume that at least one or maybe even two people will be let go, so she can be accommodated! Or am I being naive again, to think this government operate in the real world??

• I am hoping this will be money well spent. I cannot understand why our well paid officials and department managers cannot do the same job. Maybe some senior managers should now be fired seeing that they have failed to do what this lady is expected to do.

• Seems to be an awful lot of advisers out there for ministers etc. why don’t some of them bite the bullet and put themselves up for election in the next general election. Then maybe they can sack all the people they’re giving advice to. They’d be worth the €160,000 then. Too many chiefs and not enough Indians.

• Three great forces rule the world: stupidity, fear and greed. –Albert Einstein

• jrbmc 19/04/12 #

More lies and cover ups , she will be an advisor , but not classed as one so she can be paid 160,000

• If you look at what Ms Nixon achieved in the NHS you’ll see we are getting her services at a bargain!

If she can bring waiting times in ER departments in Ireland down to 4 hours as she did in the UK she’ll be worth every penny!

• No she won’t cause in the UK medical care and attention was free! We face a bigger challenge of work practices! This is not rocket science

• Well if she is that good at her job then why not promote her to Minister and sack James Reilly after all he was supposed to sort out our Health mind you so was the HSE and all they have done between them is Close depts left right and centre and overcrowd other hospitals Just look at The lights out in Roscommon A&E and the surgical wRd at weekends and then take a look at GUH yea over crowded leylt her REOPEN ROSCOMMON A&E and while she does may she put the record straight about the lies Reilly spread about the closure

• Mainly because Ministers are democratically elected, not promoted.

• Brendan – sorry but I have to pull you up on that, TDs are elected, Ministers are appointed and when the time comes, Junior Ministers are promoted to the enclaves Senior Ministers. Just like when Kenny gets the red card from his backbenchers Bruton will be promoted to the position of party leader and Taoiseach, and the gravy train will continue to role.

• Aine 19/04/12 #

And they understand how the rest of us are struggling, yeah right. Time to make the cuts from the top boys We have had enough

• No change in standards- just a change of faces

• These stories are not personal attacks on the individual or their competencies! God knows we need them. It’s about policy around pay! We are running the risk of too many consultants, who come and go, developing strategy and policy but the lower ranks, Unions and staff refusing to work them or at best being under qualified to work as part of the strategy of change!!

• We could get someone half as good for half the price.. Still problem would then most likely be twice as bad.

• David 19/04/12 #

This has nothing to do with Nixon, she was offered a good job with good pay, why wouldn’t she accept? This is another example of FG and Labour telling people ‘do as I say, not as I do’. It’s disgraceful. This Government need to look beyond their ivory towers and see what ordinary people are facing. People don’t need grand gestures, more experts, or more reports. We need to see the promised actions that will make a difference in the day to day lives of struggling families. People on here would be happy to tell Mr O Reilly how to do that for free.

• What the ordinary people are facing is long waits in our hospitals. He’s hired someone who knows how to sort out this problem quickly. €160k isn’t a salary any of us want to pay, but if it’s what we need to sort out the problem, I see no problem here.

• David 19/04/12 #

I agree 160k doesn’t seem to be that much, but I believe that a Government should lead by example. This ‘you need to tighten your belts while we keep spending’ approach is unfair. I would like to see improvements too but all we’ve gotten so far from this Government is talk about what they are going to do. In my opinion, people need action on the hardship inflicted on them rather than more consultation, more reviews, more consultations. People are screaming at the Government to DO something and instead O Reilly goes out and hires someone to do his job which will lead to more reports, more policies, more consultations and, based on the evidence so far, no change for ordinary people.

• This lot will say and do anything to line both their and members of their boys clubs pockets, at this stage I dont believe a word any of them says!

• What are you on about? This lady has no connections with any party… She is no buddy or in any boys club… Why is it if we employ a top person at a relatively small salary compared to what she could get in a private capacity people get all rilled??? This lady has spent years of her life on education and experience. she also has a proven track record of achieving results. Of course she is worth the money and more…

• franco 19/04/12 #

dont you just love bottler reilly.

• Sure Enda will put a stop to this, after all wasn’t he the 1 who came up with this pay cap, and he is in char….. Ooops, actually, how do I delete my naive comment? Silly me expecting a politician to do what they said they would do on my doorstep.

• The health service needs to be reformed, but surely Reilly was employed as health minister because he has the knowledge himself to do this. Why does he need all these people around him to consult. If the Irish system was a “national” health system then this consultant may be able to help, but this is a private health system with disparate insurance companies and consultants profiting from the mess. The money would be better off being spent paying the wages of the frontline staff we so desperately need.

• Was that post advertised?

• And yet it’s austerity for the rest of us…. And yes I will hold it against her.

• Can it get any more absurd, or give more offence, to the many taxpayers and citizens forced to be onlookers while yet another minister for health shovels money out of the public purse on various categories of mandarins? How many advisors does it take to change a lightbulb? At least one more than is in the room at any time. At least the previous Minister of Health was spending when money was around. Adding more bureaucrats to a problem that is fundamentally a combination of shortcomings in bureaucracy and budget won’t work. All this act shows is that Reilly is another .minister in a long list who doesn’t grasp that hiring in is no substitute for taking responsibility. And if there is no one of sufficient intelligence and ability within the existing HSE and Department of Health to sort out waiting lists, the entire credibility of health service staffing is called into question. By the way, what happened to the other special advisor who was advising remotely, from California I seem to remember?

• Dear People, A salary of €160 is not immodest for a proper intellectual. Works for me. #academia

• He’s cool!

• So this is like saying that the Minister can’t do his job which includes getting the delivery of policies utilising an already inflated Health admin system!! #onlyinireland

Add New Comment