TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Hogan criticised over questions about second Traveller family

When contacted by TheJournal.ie a spokesperson for the Minister said he had no comment for “legal reasons”.

Environment minister Phil Hogan.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN TD Dessie Ellis has criticised Environment Minister Phil Hogan over a report that he raised a query about a second Traveller family who were being housed in his constituency, asking if they had any dogs or horses.

The Irish Daily Mail today reported that information released to the paper shows that the Minster made the query about the family two weeks after he was informed that the McCarthy’s, another Traveller family, would not be moving into the local area.

Ellis today called on Hogan to “stop interfering in the housing of families with a legitimate housing need and get back to doing his job”.

Hogan was criticised last month when it emerged he wrote to constituents in Bonnettstown, Co Kilkenny,  informing them that the family would not be moving into the property.

When the Minister was informed that another Traveller family, the Cashs’,  were earmarked for the property, he reportedly raised a query in relation to horses and dogs attached to the household and was told there were none.

“Legal reasons”

When contacted by TheJournal.ie, a spokesperson for Minister Hogan said he had no comment to make on the report for “legal reasons”.

In a statement today, Dessie Ellis said Hogan is doing “a poor job” as Minister.

It would be a better use of Minister Hogan’s time to work on these issues, stop interfering in Kilkenny County Council’s decisions on who should be housed where, and to give up with his fixation with the traveller community. Anti-Traveller racism is a serious problem in our nation and the Minister should be more mindful of the consequence of encouraging this scourge or legitimising it.

The Sinn Féin TD said Hogan should apologise to the traveller community and its leaders.

Read: Audio: Hogan hangs up on radio station as he is urged to explain Traveller letter>
Phil Hogan booed by locals at Kilkenny’s hurling homecoming>

Read next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• mike 31/10/12 #

The council housed a traveller family in our estate. one week later there were horses tied on the green were our kids play. two weeks after that one of my neighbors kids was admitted to intensive care after a horse kick to the head.

• In fairness, If a traveller was movin near me, I’d be concerned if there was Gonna be a horse being ridden up and down the street and havin dumps where they should not be.

• I can’t stand the sight of hogan but I agree with him on this. 99% of people don’t want to live next to travellers and 1% of that 99% are travellers themselves.

• Is it not a fair question to ask? I dont remember any settled people leaving their horses on the green in my estate.

• He should leave this to the councilors. However, our electorate are so insular and flat out daft in some areas, that this parish pump politics is what will get people elected. Even if it is only interfering in what should only be a local matter…

But I do have to say, anyone sticking up for the ‘rights’ of the travelers here, has never had an encounter with any of them. Unfortunately, the majority of the travelers I have had encounters with (As a barman, or even a resident) have been very rude (to put it nicely), every stereotype of them was played out with near comic precision.

I would also be very concerned about a load of horses loose in my estate… would you not be?

• To be honest, now you ask, I’m more concerned about an ignorant bigot venting horseshite on the Journal at the moment.

But then I must have ‘never had an encounter with any of them’…even though I often talk to my Traveller neighbours, and find them good humoured decent people..not something I can say for a few of the Missus Bouquets and other snobby herd-thinkers knocking about.

• I wonder how many contributors would react if they were receiving exit door neighbours they did not want. Would thay go to a TD?

• My next door neighbour IS a TD … can’t get him shifted at all. These TDs act as if they are above the common people with their big cars, big pensions and their comings & goings at all hours of the night. On top of that aren’t TDs the guys who continue to support the economic pirates that beggared Ireland?

• mike 31/10/12 #

I think it is only right that a minister questions whether a person getting a free house from the state, is going to be keeping horses in the garden.

• You think that should be the responsibility of ministers? I would have thought TDs and ministers should be focusing on national issues (the huge amount of them) rather than something like horses (or dogs?) in a back garden. Hasnt the problem for years been that TDs are more concerned about speed bumps and potholes and less about the national issues?

• Spot on Fiachra..but so much easier to lash out at Travellers than the horsey set who run scamsville central.

Maybe one day someone will ask about the special spa swimming pools for pampered thoroughbreds with a sprained fetlock in a state-subsidised bloodstock industry while our kids hospitals are reduced to shaking buckets in the street to maintain overstretched facilities.

Mudder Oirlind…raisin ‘em yet. Gombeens.

• hes dead right. gips would rob the eye out of your head and shite in your garden.

• I dont blame him , just doing what his constituents wanted

• surprised?

• Why

• because as far as i can make out its a common occurrence, people just dont want travellers living near them and often with good reason, be as pc as you want but the facts remain

• The fact remains that paddy is bigot by nature, and easily decoyed away from his real enemies onto scapegoats…so much easier than thinking.

• have to disagree Damien in this case, i have had a lot of first hand experience with travellers and they bring the discrimination on themselves, ive been beaten up by gangs on them on 2 occasions, my grandmother was mugged by them, they burgled my parents house, they stole a cement mixer and boat trailer from my father, theyve wrecked some scenic areas in my locality by leaving awful piles of rubbish everywhere, its easy to say they arent all the same but when they arrive the outcome follows a particular pattern, every pub in my town closes when they show up because they have a riot and wreck the place everytime they are allowed into a pub, i dont consider myself a bigot, i consider them bigoted against non travellers

• I’ve been beaten up by gangs in several parts of this country, so far not by Travellers. I don’t presume everyone in that town are thugs
      My local serves local Travellers, and occasionally visiting Travellers very warily. I had a pint in their company last night. They are the best of neighbours, and one of them is just about qualified at third level. He’s leaving this country because he knows he won’t be judged either by his achievements against a cartload of opposition, or by his thoroughly decent family.

Thats what bigotry is RP, making a generalised false assumption from a set of limited occurences. If you exclude and abuse generations of people because of their origins, expect blowback. It happens with blacks in the US and elsewhere; exclude people and the first consquence is that kids go criminal, often with a vengence.

What always surprises me is how the Travellers internalise the hate and take it out on each other rather than their settled tormenters. And this scapegoating torment, like child abuse, was deliberately driven by established pillars of our saintly and scholarly society as diversion from their collective, and ongoing, respectable criminality.
      I often encounter hostility from Travellers at first meeting, because they are expecting the usual prejudice. A little respect often dispels it. Not always. But as often as with the hostiles in the settled herd.
      Think about it.

• sorry damien but im talking about the large majority encounters i have had with them have been negative, i had no pre-conceived notions about them before they attacked me, and i also have been attacked by non travellers, but not almost every time ive met them, or anywhere close to it

• It’s not the point, hogan as a minster has a position of influence he should not use this position for his own interest, that’s corruption. Equally he’s a minster for all Irish people not just the ones who contribute to his election fund.

• Bullyboy phil once again acting in the best traditions of Fine Gael, just like his fellow minister calamity James.Reilly.

• The man is standing up for his constituents. If I had children in the area I too would be very concerned.

• Emmet 31/10/12 #

Totally unprofessional… Not surprised tho.

As a matter of interest do TD’s sign a contract or code of conduct when elected like most people do when starting a new job?

• 1. RE: “Anti-traveller racism” – Members of the travelling community are not a “race” unto themselves.
    2. RE: “stop interfering in Kilkenny County Council’s decisions on who should be housed where” – he was not interfering; he was simply asking whether they had horses and dogs.

Typical Sinn Feinn rabble rousing for the craic of it.

• Doesn’t the Equal Status Act apply? If FG don’t dump him they are as shortsighted, bigoted and prejudiced as he.

• Ellis and sinn fein know all about ‘managing’ people in neighbourhoods.

They are doing it on a daily basis in N Ireland intimidating those they consider undesirable or uncooperative and bullying them from their homes.

Oops of course its not Sinn Fein, its a completely different organisation with the same membership.

• You are reading the false media (Fox News / Irish Independent). Stop allowing yourself to be duped.

• Yes of course. Maybe you should go to the PSNI about this seeing as you seem to have so much detailed information and evidence. This doesnt sound like something you pulled out of your rabid anti-republican ass after reading too much kevin myers at all.

• Maybe the PIRA did that in the past but I would love to know where and to who its happening to right now and im sure the PSNI would love to know too because i havent heard about that in Derry anyway! Oh, wait maybe its just the usual baseless accusations?

• People like our ‘Jim’ like to make totally unsubstantiated claims/innuendos and then run away….
      If anyone makes any comments against a FFG minister or God forbid their totally infallible leader, then they are going to go all out with the one liners about the IRA …. its part of their rehearsals that they put on every morning… Ask a question or say sometthing someone doesn’t like … then its the usual smoke and mirrors … SF … Shinnerbots … IRA … or a combination of all three when things get really hot.

• I often wonder if the Sinn fein supporters are purposely lying or just ridiculously deluded.

• @Sean Beag… It’s a little from column A, and a little from column B…

• @fiachra
      Wow you live in Derry and know nothing about RAAD ??

……’They haven’t gone away ye know’

• You arent seriously linking RAAD to SF are you? If you are you are more deluded and disconnected than I thought! RAAD and the 32CSM despise the shinners, especially in Derry- the vitriol between the two is almost worse than the vitriol between republicans and loyalists! SF members are being threatened 24/7 and the shinners are very worried that the 32CSM will take control of the Creggan/Bogside and actually use their power to stop people even meeting with the dissidents in Derry. I thought you were just going to say some random ex-provos and try to link that with SF but RAAD is just ridiculous! You must hear the word republican and think SF involved but i can assure you the dissidents, in Derry at least, hate shinners more than the british-its the SDLP that are actually campaigning for some of the dissidents realeases or at least dialogue at the moment because the shinner just wont do it(bar meaningless votes in councils and a a few token speeches!) Look up the damn thing before mouthing off some of this nonsense- I do have a problem with SF in Derry but its certainly not that fantasy and it really annoys me when people lie about things like that to divert atttention away from political problems in the South- at least get informed enough so its believable that you care!

• @Fiachra

You presume to know things about me ? Like where I am from or what information I have ?

Maybe you should go to your local police station if you think you are so clued in.

You make an interesting reference to “taking control of the Creggan and the Bogside”.
      Taking control from whom may I ask ??

• No i did not, you are using your own fanatasy as some sort of excuse (or deflection) from hogan, and a rather obivious and irrelevant deflection at that. And no, i dont make any presumptions about you as i cant due to you having a fake name and twitter account with only 7 tweets! Why would i go to the PSNI if theres nothing illegal that i know of- the taking over im referring to is support and electorally based, not the paramilitary aspects you are alluding to. And may i add that it is you that needs to go to the PSNI as you are saying a party in the NI government is actually still paramilitary- a very serious claim and something im sure the Unionists would be interested in anyway if you had even a shred of evidence. Oh, wait you didnt actually want it to be regarded as that did you? No, you wanted to make a point about something you know very little about so you could insinuate a link between SF and the dissidents- a false link, you care nothing for the situation in Derry, only your capability to influence the false mindset of SF still being the IRA for your own electoral purposes. I am not great fan of SF in Derry, and have issues with them nationally as well but this use of unfounded claims against them in the North is both pathetic and frustrating and only serves to boost their support. If you focused on the facts, the policies and even factual historical references maybe you might get somewhere in attacking SF but vague, unfounded and false allegations is not the way to do it.

• Richard 31/10/12 #

Yet more evidence of Phil Hogan’s complete unsuitability for public office. I could not disagree more with Dessie Ellis’s stance: the very fact that Hogan has been engaging in such activities shows that he should not be entrusted by the public to work in any institution. As with his previously reported action, Hogan is using state institutions for racist ends. He should be sacked immediately. Actions such as these ought to place Hogan on a par with Golden Dawn politicians in Greece. But these things can be hard to see when one of the established parties in the State, and the main government party, is one with fascist roots itself.

• Personally! I wouldn’t want Hogan living next to me! Would bring the whole tone of the neighbourhood right down…..

• Hogan is an arrogant buffoon . I am not one bit surprised that he interferes where he should not.
    It is not in his remit to interfere like this. Hogan do your job and stop interfering where you should not.

• FG Bullies, All they are short are SS trooper uniforms and Rotweilers!

• Fianna Fail’s christian right Michael McDowell famously boasted that “inequality is good”

• @ Andrew Brennan, we have a similar problem in rathkeale co limerick. T.d’s and councillors all over the place with their grubby hands stuck in everyone’s pockets,stealing sweets off of babies and toddlers and I’m not going to even start about the corrupt planning that our town is suffering from

• Purely a publicity stunt for Sinn Fein. Let us put it to the Sinn Fein td would they like a family of travellers moving in? I honestly can’t believe this shower are becoming political main stream.. Ira with a different name

• Lay the same card FIANNA FAIL is addicted to.

Add New Comment