TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Poll: Have you paid the household charge yet?

Some householders are receiving warning letters in error but have you paid the €100 tax yet?

Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

AN ESTIMATED 1.6 million households in Ireland have been liable for the household charge for just over ten months.

But just over a million have actually paid the €100 levy so far with some of those having to incur late payment penalties and interest while there are hundreds of thousands who have so far avoided payment, protesting against what they believe is an unfair tax.

Today we learned that some of those who have paid the charge are receiving warning letters in error but anyone who hasn’t paid the charge currently faces a bill of €127 and rising.

So, today we want to know: Have you paid the household charge yet?

Poll Results:

Read: ‘Tens of thousands’ of household charge warning letters sent in error

Read next:

Comments (253 Comments)

• According to the poll, 25% claiming they are not legally liable for household tax?
    Who decides?
    Haven’t paid. In the 90′s paid water charges for 3 1/2 yrs, Nothing happened to those that didn’t pay (despite threats of having their water cut off) but I never got a refund or credit.

• sara 25/10/12 #

Renting and sticking with renting we were going to buy but glad now we didn’t I think its ridiculous especially for the likes of my grandparents who worked hard to pay off their mortgage, its their house why should they have to pay more on it!!

• This is not the property tax. It’s a household tax so the occupier of the house who is using the service should pay. They have these taxes in every other European country and we should have been paying them all along, like before rates were abolished by FF to buy votes. Instead they are introduced in a panic when people can least afford it.

• They want me to pay a household charge so that they can fund their €18,000,000 Civic Offices here in Roscommon, when streets go unswept, streetlighting is failing, the parks become overgrown and the roads resemble them in wartorn countries. Are they for real?

• Why should I pay I get no services from the council. I have to pay a management company. If the council takes control of my estate I will pay otherwise they can go jump.

• I am working over 30 years, a taxpayer since I was 16 – by the time I retire there will be no money left for a pension for me. I pay all the charges every levied against me including doctor/prescription for my children and their books/uniforms for school. My husband has a 2 seater van he pays benefit in kind for which we cannot use as a family. I am looking at politicians who have free parking, drivers, phones, expenses without vouchers, various pensions which they can draw at any age and any amount. Yet they tell us we have to stump up again, the same PAYE worker who pays their own way, who is sandwiched between the Social Welfare recipients and the Government high earners are expected to shoulder the burden for all the outgoings. We went without and saved to buy our own house but are surrounded by houses rented out to people who have never worked healthy young men going to the gym everyday and sneering at us WE are paying their rent, they won’t be paying this charge, bins charges, or the like with their 52 inch LCD TV’s and SKY boxes when will it be FAIR !

• Not paid and won’t pay. When we bought our house we paid stamp duty that’s enough tax to have to pay.

• Not paid. Still received no letter about it. Can’t afford it.

• Hear hear.

• Stop using the Internet….you’d be surprised how much you’d save a,

• Im his neighbour, he uses mine!

• What happened Paddy?
      Swallow your phone?

• I never got anything posted to my home about a household charge…….so therefore am I liable? If I don’t know about it now can I be liable?

• @Paddy. Internet is on my phone. Got a iPhone on bill 4 years ago. 2 year ago I changed to ready-to-go on O2 and kept iPhone. Now I pay €20 a month in one top up. Of that €20, following day €10 goes for Internet bundle. That credit lasts me for the month. It Has to. If I run out of credit I get on Internet and text whoever. All my family are O2 so the €20 top up gives me free calls and texts to them. But I still can’t afford the household charge… 100 this year, 500 plus next year

• Falstaff
      You’re using a 3GS? No wonder you’re so bitter!

• Funny how those who didn’t get a letter about the household charge are so informed about the arguments relating to it.

Why do you need a letter then?

• Looks like Paddy ran out of money during that comment. ;-)

• the journal hiding comments again tut tut

• I wouldn’t call him bitter. Like a lot of the country he cant afford to pay, how is that bitter? At least he is standing up for something he believes is wrong. When will the rest of Ireland (i.e the ones who have paid) grow a set of balls and stand up to these criminals they call the government!

• I think the point, Tom, is that he obviously CAN afford to pay. As other people have been implying it’s high farce for someone to be tapping away at a luxury item like an internet phone to put on the poor mouth about not having €2 a week. The fact he then comes on about how he ‘only’ pays €360 a year on it like that proves how down on his luck he is just compounds how out of touch such statements are.

Especially when it’s €2 extra to pay on a house that’s, in all probability, not even in negative equity (since otherwise he’d almost certainly not be liable for the charge), while others struggle to keep up on outstanding mortgage debt 2-3 times the value of their home, or else can’t afford to own their own home at all.

• Peter / Paddy / David, seeing as you guys have so much money and can afford to pay this immoral charge so easily, why don’t you volonteer to pay the bill on behalf of the folks that say they can’t afford it. Seriously, the way you guys attack folks that say they can’t afford it, beggars belief.
      FFG made their attitudes known well yesterday, when they used the term ‘facists’ as a label for the anti-charge protestors in Cork yesterday.
      FFG/Labour are now as far out of touch with reality, as their FF buddies. SHAME.

• @Peter Nolan

As I said Peter, it’s €100 this year (or as you pointed out €2 per week) but next year it’ll be over €500 (€10 per week) and no doubt it will increase year on year. So no. I can’t afford that.

• @Peter Nolan

And by the way Peter, €20 X 12 is €240 and not €360. Do your maths. Is it any wonder this country is fecked. Are you working in the department of finance by any chance?

• The very first communication I received was a letter to say that I was required to pay up and was already overdue!

That’s no way to encourage payment from ordinary people in middle Ireland who have no option but to pay for everything.

• Falstaff: you said: “. Now I pay €20 a month in one top up. Of that €20, following day €10 goes for Internet bundle. ” I read that as meaning you got €20 and then an additional €10. Sorry about that.

The point does stand, though, that you pay hundreds of euros on just one luxury item alone and actually hold up not having the latest iPhone as an example of why people should feel sorry for you being expected to pay €2 a week on the property you own.

As for not paying the €100 this year because you can’t afford a higher tax next year: you’ll be obliged to pay that either way. It’s delusional to think you’re saving, not losing, money by not paying the charge.

• (By the way, I really do underline that I’m sorry for misreading your original post as being indicating two separate payments of €20 and €10 — that was entirely my fault).

• iT’S NOT YOUR DEBT – FG ARE STILL PAYING THE BONDHOLDERS.

http://bondwatchireland.blogspot.ie/

• Peter. I don’t think in down on my luck and I apologise if I gave that impression. I wasn’t using the iPhone as an example either. I was simply replying to earlier post that I should give up the broadband and I’d be able to pay for household charge and all I was doing was explaining how im on the Internet. But staying with the phone, I’d agree with you on it that its a item of luxury I could do without. But I got it 4 years ago and it was free. 4 years ago there was little if any talk of a household charge. I can’t afford to pay €600 for a new phone if this one breaks. It’s ridiculous to pay that much on any item of luxury. I promise you my next phone will not be more than €40 if that’ll buy one.
      Also I know that its inevitable I’ll end up paying the charge but I’ll deal with that when the time comes. At this moment in time I’m living on a overdraft supporting a wife and two girls. I physically and financially do not have €127 to hand over to anyone in one go. I’m already €766 over drawn.
      I also did not know that if you are in negative equity to may be exempt from the charge. Are you speculating or is this fact?

• ditto!

• I wonder what percentage of households who were eligible to pay the tax have paid it. Lots of people registered are not liable for the tax and I would love to know the stats when they are taken away? Wouldn’t be 60% or so paid anyway.

• Haven’t paid and I am not going to.
    I don’t fancy sending more money out the country to pay some,dare I say it …… bond holder so he can enjoy another Martini on the beach on my behalf.

• Enough is enough. I can’t take anymore austerity to pay for a crisis I didn’t create. I won’t pay, they can threaten all they want but I have the biggest motivation to stay strong, I have three young children who shouldn’t suffer to keep elites in the style they are accustomed to. The top 10% have increased their hoarded wealth since 2007 while everyone else has suffered.a decline in living standards.

• Yes Pamela… you know the only way to know we have achieved recovery is when rich people are destitute and thrown out of their homes… makes us all feel better to see them fail, doesn’t it!?

I refused to pay it until this morning (I folded). But the reason I refused was, I paid a huge amount in tax last year. 5 times the national average actually… so, I think I have already paid enough, and enough for 4 other people too.
      Anyway, pay it, don’t pay it. But don’t say you can’t pay it. It is a tiny percentage of people who can’t pay it, and none of them have the means to go online and comment on it!

• True Pamela , the CSO figures only serve to highlight the gulf in the income levels between the richest and poorest in our society over the past 5 years!

• Darren, get off your bloody high horse will you. If Pamela wants to talk about her reasoning for not paying, she can. Who the Hell are you to come on here and tell her she can’t.

• Darren, that tiny percentage could use the free internet access at local libraries ;) I have not paid as I’ve gotten no request for any payments of charges, no post, no email or no phone call. None at all. I don’t go actively seeking bills so until I get one I wont pay.

• Lee.. try reading my post again. I didn’t disagree with her not paying it at all… she said she won’t, not she can’t.
      It is the people saying they can’t that I don’t believe.. I admire her for staying strong…
      But the boring attack on the successful among us is what I disagree with..

• Red Ed 25/10/12 #

Not everyone can pay! I’m working full time but cannot afford mortgage repayments, I have to skip meals also and I have spent a couple of days sleeping in rest stops because I could not afford the petrol to get home. I was studying part time for the last 3 years and I could not afford the fees to finish my final year. I would love to be able to relax for once and have my bills paid but this property tax, water charges, media charge, etc. is pushing me out of the country I love to pay a banker his bonus. it’s either immigrate or stay, quit my job and have the state pay for my welfare which is also an appealing offer. Any suggestions Enda?

• Ed, if your situation is as how you describe it,I feel so sorry for you and also ashamed that my country allows and actually enforces that type of indignity and hardship on a genuine decent citizen!

• Have a house we bought nearly 7 years ago on an estate that has still not been taken charge of by the council as it is still unfinished so we are no liable for it.

• Mark
      Did you register ? Because if you registered they have your details and you will be liable for property tax at 0.25 % !
      Would you pay it if you were liable ? Could you ?

• He’ll be liable for whatever property tax they introduce regardless, and so will you.

• N o Peter
      Not if we stand together and stay strong ! .
      Peter , Do you not think we pay enough already ? Without paying this ebt that was incurred NOT on my behalf or yours no doubt . So why are YOU SO eager to force people into an untenable situation ?

• Peter is right, you’re only kicking the can down the road, we finally paid it 2 weeks ago because we were thinking of renting our property out and finding somewhere else to rent (apartment too small now after 6 years). It was hard doing it, especially as it came to €127 with late fees and interest, so basically, while I agree in many ways that it’s an unjust charge for some people, we were first-time buyers so we didn’t pay stamp duty, whether it actually goes to local services is another thing. It is the norm in most countries that you pay a property tax, and they will get you one way or the other, and probably sooner rather than later. I think it’s misleading to make people think that if you don’t register or didn’t get a letter you’ll be grand, I used to think this but the website clearly states it’s a self-service operation and you will receive a letter at some stage or another. In addition I heard from a solicitor friend that the Law Society will not process any transfer of deeds in sale of properties that have not paid the charge, so you can’t sell or rent out your property without. With a heavy heart I paid it, but I would only have been paying a lot more down the road so I’ve saved in the long run.

• Gaius Gracchus
      I respect you for holding out as long as you did , I am disappointed that you felt the pressure ! Good luck in your new home !

• It wasn’t really pressure Eileen, it was as simple as we would not be able to rent out our apartment unless we had paid it, thanks though!

• Gaius Gracchus
      Yes you would have ! You don’t transfer deeds when you own a property and decide to rent … That is when you sell it deeds are transferred . You are still the owner ! Anyway if it is paid it is paid .

• Not according to the estate agent Eileen, and he had nothing to gain from me paying it, when becoming a landlord you need to register with various state agencies, including tax, so I presume it would have become an issue at some point, we didn’t go ahead with the move in the end, wasn’t worth it financially

• Gaius Gracchus
      Of course , I am sure your estate agent would not lead you astray, however I believe the NPPR is for people who own two or more houses . Obviously you know what is best for you .

• Hugh,small point it is not a tax as yet still only a “charge”.So everyone that has not paid are in default of paying a charge,not “tax evaders” as the less educated that are about to descend here will accuse them of being.

• Not paid and I won’t. Received a warning letter and it now resides in my wheelie bin. Anglo has cost me enough without this, to use enda kennys own words, ‘immoral and unjust’ charge

• You’ll regret it on the long run. The charge is going nowhere and is only growing all the time. Even if you never sell your house (because if you did the charge will be taken out of the sale) it will be taken out of your estate when you die. At that point who knows how much of your estate will be interest and penalties!

• With you all the way and some day soon I am going to say fcuk this and send the keys back to the Bank and get the hell out of this land of sheeple

• It can grow to a million for all i care. How can they get money out of people who have none. Good luck with that. Not paying and i won’t pay. Immoral and unjust is right Enda I agree.

• not a penny and never will

• Household charge, water charge, carbon charge, yet still nobody charged with causing the financial mess we got into. If I took €100 euro from anybody I would and should be locked up. But if someone takes €64,000,000,000 euro we make up a bad bank and pay the people who lost it money. Yeah that’s a great system, one rule for the rich, that rule seems to be let the poor pay for it. Until all that are responsible are held to account and real changes are made to our overly corrupt system and all casino(stock) markets are brought back into the real world and trade in real stock. But when will the corrupt stop being corrupt that is the real question?

• I can pay, but I won’t pay. It’s my constitutional right ot own private property.

• Reg 25/10/12 #

It’s got nothing to with ownership. When rates were paid by home owners for many years it had noting to do with ownership either. If you own a car and pay road tax you still own the car. Same with you TV.

• That’s not a very well thought out analogy if you don’t mind me saying Reg. I can own a car; it is my right. I only have to pay a road tax if I want to use my car on a public road.

• Reg those are all examples of stupid taxes that cost a fortune to collect and keep Gardaí and the courts busy and fat pursuing “evaders”.

Raise vat on esb if u need a household tax

Raise vat on Petrol and diesel and abolish car tax

Abolish the tv license and let rte sink or swim

• Also I have maybe 3 TV’s and two ready to be dumped. I am not liable for any tax on them. The TV licence you mention is for if you have a receiver. The new household media charge will replace this and they will be asking all households for this – nothing to do with the TV which is your private property.

• @ Reg… Rates were paid by all and sundry not just home owners
      But then it was decided to increase income tax to collect the rates. Then the rates were abolished so that meant we paid for collection of refuge and paid higher road tax on cars and even bus fares went up to cover the cost.
      Now in 2012 this Government have decided to devise and conquer the people of this once wonderful country by this Charge and ONKY impose a House Hold Charge on the folk who bought their own home
      Does this mean that if I live in a County Council home I do nit gave to pay as I do not need / ir will nit be supplied with the services that this House Hold charge is supposed to cover along with Street Lighting so my street lights will be turned off mr phill hogan please explain why only one sector of the community are “obluged ” to pay this ????

• @paul. Ah, the “broadband tax”. At a time when those muppets stress the importance of having broadband in every home in the country. They’re truly moronic in their thinking

• It’s either the household charge or the bin charge! Panda won’t empty my bin if I don’t pay. Not sure what happens if I don’t pay household charge. Maybe that Hogan bloke will come round and threaten me or something. Bullies don’t scare me anymore though!

• Our politicians have just voted to give themselves a weeks holiday, so meself and the wife just had a meeting and voted to not pay the household charge.

• Can pay but wont pay it!!!The bottom line is that this is only going to pay for the governments mistakes!!! “Not one red cent”will go towards paying for services!! And “not one red cent” of my money will go to them

• Remember to send back all letters they send unopened and write return to sender on the envelope.
    These people are trying to give you paperwork that you do not want as it is theirs and not your paperwork.
    Do not accept it, send it back.
    You do not have to pay this. It is just asked of you as a favour. Once you do pay, you have agreed and are in a contract. This means that they can from then on ask you for this same sort of charge untill you have it annulled. This is very hard to do. They can raise it to say 1000 per year like they do in other countries. Difference being that these other countries do and did not have any stamp duty like we do. So you are being had here.

• Actually they do have stamp duty in the UK and France and they still collect similar annual charges.

• You obviously can’t do that if it’s addressed to you or the householder.

• “These people are trying to give you paperwork that you do not want as it is theirs and not your paperwork.”
      What does that mean?

“You do not have to pay this.”
      Actually you do, its the law.

“It is just asked of you as a favour. ”
      Thats just not true.

“Once you do pay, you have agreed and are in a contract. ”
      Where are you getting this stuff from?

• Gagsy… from SF and the United Looney Alliance…

• This Freeman of The Land nonsense is hilarious.

• it is law and you do have to pay but I refuse to as I never borrowed or took risks and would not expect others to pay for my stupidity..

the English pay a yearly house tax **BUT** they get bins and medical included don’t be taken in by this bull sh1t that its for local services our government had decided to cut spending in the areas the house tax is for and will stop the basic services if we refuse THE HOUSE TAX MONEY IS FOR THE BANKS..all the money comes into the main pot and is divided up between the different sections for services

• both myself & my wife live on ? 312 a week.. that’s to cover everything.eg. electricity heating food.. there have been times we did’nt have a meal.. Try juggling that income around… Last week i received yet another goverment form asking me about how many times we have travelled abroard…. Are these gov depts for real.. Curious to know if anyone else got these forms to fill in.. Really drives me mad…. only a matter of time before they start taxing us for breaking wind..(farting)…

• I paid stamp duty less than a year ago i sure as hell aint paying this household charge.

Cant believe so many people gave in and paid it already and many more planning to pay.

• I paid enough stamp duty when buying the house so they can go to hell….

Maybe if they reduced the list of extra pay and expenses that they get on top of their ridiculous salaries then there would be money available to local governments

• Reg 25/10/12 #

Niamh, you paid 1% stamp duty on vastly lower house prices. That’s a pretty insignificant amount in the scheme of things. Count yourself lucky that the grossly unfair system of high stamp duty rates have been reformed, some people had to pay tens of thousands in the last 15 years. An annual charge is a much fairer system.

• got the letter.127 euro.im out of work since feb and cannot get work.im not paying this fee ever! its just another fee to cover the bank debt.none of this money will go into local area’s.

• Household charges are suppose to be for local services , then why are they not paid by everyone from what I see 30 percent of the people in the country are exempt . This is something I do not understand if the service is for everyone why should it not be paid by everyone. If everyone was paying then it would be equal across the board and the people been billed today would have to pay less or if you like an equal share for an equal service when this happens I might consider paying until then I will not be paying.

• No ! I have not paid. and I won’t pay.

• Ah go on, pay it!

• Gagsy!
      Say that next year when the HHC turns into a property tax and you have to pay at least 0.25% of the value of your home ,and because you have registered you will be first hit . This house hold charge was only a data collecting exercise ,self registration. I will not pay it ..

• I would expect that like it or not all or most will eventually have to pay it, especially when the Revenue assume the responsibility for collecting it.
      I would like to see that those who can pay it are properly forced to pay it and for those who genuinely can’t that there is a transparent mechanism for relief or exemption to be granted.

• Ah Gagsy ,
      Aren’t you a good little citizen ! I suppose you won’t have a problem either when identity cards are introduced and you wont be able to get a bus or go to the cinema without producing it !! Jesus wept ! The arrogance and false self importance shower exhibit make me fear for the future . There is nothing you lot would not do to prove your superiority. That is a dangerous game ! Turn away from it !

• Congratulations — ‘don’t pay the property tax of you’ll need an identity card to get into cinemas’ is the most laughable rationale I’ve yet heard in any discussion on this. And it’s had some competition, I can tell you.

• Eileen, I’m a participating citizen in this democracy is all. Neither a good little one n
      or a bad big one.
      I don’t have a view yet on id cards. I didn’t hear that there were plans on requiring id cards to go to the cinema or use a bus and I imagine I’d be very much against that. I’d be very interested to know when was that plan mooted?

Eileen, I just have a particular view on this issue.
      I don’t think I’m part of a ‘lot or a ‘shower’.
      And unfortunately I’ve nothing to be arrogant, self important or superior about. I used to be very good (I might even go as far to say superior to most) at the hula hoop. I could spin that yoke on my svelt tummy for hours on end. But those days are gone – I can hardly fit one around me now.

• Laugh away Peter Nolan , I do not mind ! I will be laughing when they put kibosh on the property tax you can thank us Nay sayers then ! :) :)

• Mick 25/10/12 #

@Peter Nolan,

Did you ever hear of a cashless society? Or ubiquitous cities?
      http://www.nytimes.com/2005/10/05/technology/techspecial/05oconnell.html

Why do you think ATM cards are becoming Debit Cards?

• Mick 25/10/12 #

More up-to date example:
      http://newsroom.cisco.com/songdo

• Ok Gagsy
      Point taken . Can I invite you to a public meeting of the Campaign Against the house hold charge ? You see that just like you we are all citizens of this ”democracy” .I say ”democracy ” in inverted commas because daily it is beginning to feel like an oligarchy http://www.thefreedictionary.com/oligarchy#Browsers . I have manny issues with the hhc as you know and I feel very strongly about it.If you knew me you would know that as a person I have never been involved in anything even remotely like this before .However I just feel enough is enough. Let me know if you can come to the meeting .

• And can you explain why not paying the household charge forestalls any of those concerns, Mick?

• Peter Nolan
      Check this out ……
      http://www.thejournal.ie/poll-is-the-new-social-welfare-id-card-a-good-idea-444620-May2012/ It is also called a Public Service Card in the article .

• Mick 25/10/12 #

@Peter Nolan

Quite simply it doesn’t, however If we simply accept every single tax levied on us then we will all be living in a cashless society literally, unless of course your in a position of power – a golden circle if you will.

In the near future when distributed rfid chips will be everywhere from bins to cinemas and public transport then any kind of civil disobedience will result the situation like Eileen described.

At the moment while I still have a choice I will not pay, simply because it forces those demanding payment to explain why I should register for the tax when so much public money is wasted on the wages of politicians, semi state bodies, corporations (i.e Dublin Corporation).
      Why are all the quangos still being funded with our money for example? Why don’t we enforce the 12.5% corporate tax rate that we advertise?

Or better yet have a why don’t we implement some form triage that loosely resembles the ideal of looking after the needs of the many instead of the few for a while?

• Mick
      Well said . ggod links too thanks !

• Thanks Eileen but its not likely that I would attend a campaign meeting.
      I’ve read and heard all the arguments against the HCC at this stage.
      I certainly acknowledge and accept some of those arguments but on balance I still think that those who can pay should pay it.
      I’m not really a serious contributor to this forum and am no doubt often guilty of annoyingly trivialising issues that are important to others so I apologise to you for that.

(But still, go on, Pay the charge!)

• Gagsy
      You’re a rogue:) ! The invitation still stands, your apology is not necessary ,as we are all entitled to our opinion , but thank you all the same . No . I will not be paying it !

• I’d guess the charge and fines will accrue against the property and be liable upon sale or transfer of the property. They can’t really cancel it when nearly half have complied, not to mention the fact that they can’t afford to cancel it. It’ll be interesting to see how they deal with it.

Very poorly implemented by Big Phil though, pretty much a disaster. Mansions in Dalkey and cottages in Leitrim paying the same flat charge was never going to be a runner.

Though, I am pro-property and wealth taxes generally (as opposed to more income taxes) I mean. So lets hope the real property tax will be fair, reasonable and well implemented. Considering the revenue are looking after it, I’d wager compliance for the real thing will be well above 50%, those guys don’t mess about!

• Paid. But received a letter including a fine last week. Have a good laugh but I am raging

• My 02 Opel Vectra petrol car has been cleaning me out given the price of petrol,inclusive of the huge percentage that goes to Government coffers. This is because I have an 80 mile round trip to work each day and there is zero public transport alternative.
    I had to bite the bullet and change my car for a diesel car. I got a good deal on a mazda diesel that a local garage was brining in from the UK. He showed me the documents which showed that the VRT amount paid to the government accounted for over a quarter of what I paid for the car!

He showed me another doc for a Ford Galaxy he brought in and the VRT on that was €6,650!!! For what?? For nothing!! This was an eye opener for me, but yet again proof that they are getting more than enough taxes from me on top of the stamp duty and development levies we already paid on our house 9 years ago!we pay for all our services also! No way am I paying the bully charge as well!!

• Not until it applies to everyone who uses local services, completely unfair to only target home owners whilst letting renters and social tenants (who tend to use council services most) don’t contribute anything

• Haven’t a notion of paying the Troika tax and I’ll resist the water charges too even if it means using a pick-axe. Don’t care if I’m jailed it would be a holiday as I haven’t had one in years.

• How many are exempt, registered to be exempt and why we aren’t being told the figures!

• I think paying out 40,000 euro in tax stamp duty just to buy my home should be more than enough,as I will still be paying interest on this till the day I die,then they can have there pound of flesh :(

• @ moccy “If nobody obeys, nobody rules…”

‘Rules’ is what monarchs do.
      If there was a “King Enda”, the only throne he ever sat on was made of porcelain.
      And bad law is no law at all, it is a mockery and an insult to the proper administration of justice.

• It works out to be 0.27cent a day! It is a immoral and unjust tax or levy or whatever u like to call it and people should refuse to pay on score! Don’t be saying you cannot afford it that’s just bull!

• Padraig
      Say that next year when the HHC turns into a property tax and you have to pay at least 0.25% of the value of your home ,and because you have registered you will be first hit . This house hold charge was only a data collecting exercise ,self registration. I will not pay it .

• Padraig, income tax used to be 1%

• I rent so I am not affected by this personally, but my parents are on the state pension and almost finished paying off their mortgage on a small cottage in the country… do you have any idea what 100euros means to them?
      They need to keep a car on the road, and they pay road tax which is supposed to pay to look after the roads…. there are no other “public amenities” to speak of, so why should they pay??? what are they paying for?
      Some black hole debt that has nothing to do with them!!

• It’s funny how, the people insisting that you must pay it. Are the ones who, would jump off a cliff if it were a new law brought in by the party they support. They’d call us un-educated, because we can see things for what they are and have the backbone to stand up for ourselves. Blind obedience, are the actions of an incompetent man!

• Kildare County Council built their new offices for 56million and charged me15k in levies, I am on not paying the charge, even if I could afford it I wouldn’t. I don’t care what they say its for or what they will make up that we’ll have to do without.

• I live with my Parents who paid it, and could just barely afford to squeeze it in. My employment has been patchy but i help where i can. For a period of a few weeks during the summer when my dad wasn’t working and his pension being taxed heavily, we were down to eating our stores and not buying anything but milk and the odd neccessity.

Our house is also in a Group water scheme so fingers crossed that will still be exempt from Water charges. Our Septic tank system is also more of a treatment thing and hopefully isn’t covered by that charge, but ye never know.

I am for House Hold Taxes and linking them to local government, but not this Tax, not this way, not with smaller local govt with less power, and not now. Our country is being bled dry and taking more cash out of people pockets and pay checks will make recovery and survival even more difficult. It is immoral to ask for it when people are struggling already. Many of the worst off already paid, or borrowed heavily to pay Stamp duty on over priced homes, that was a tax, they paid for it and some are still paying for it. Asking for more with our current tax system and economy is just wrong.

• The Campaign against the Household Tax (CAHWT) is the only viable defence the people of Ireland currently have against the looting of our country to pay for gambling losses of the infinitely greedy banks and financiers.

The current Austerity program being implemented by the government under instruction from the ECB and IMF is the means by which Irish citizens will be forced to pay for the Bank Bailout. The Household tax is one strand of this austerity program in addition to multiple attacks on the income of ordinary people implemented in recent budgets and the numerous cutbacks to our social support structures. These measures will soon be followed by the introduction of property and water taxes and further cutbacks to social welfare.

The CAHWT is currently focused on fighting the introduction of the Household tax which is one aspect of the austerity program. The campaign should consider broadening its objective to address the source of the nation’s economic plight in addition to the symptoms.

The cause of our current financial crisis is the socialisation of the banking debt whereby the Irish people have been forced to pay the gambling losses of reckless financial institutions. This loading of private debt on to the national balance sheet is utterly indefensible and has made economic recovery impossible.

Therefore, the removal of this illegitimate debt from ordinary Irish people is vital to the future of our country. The previous and present governments have categorically failed in their duty to the Republic in relation to the banking crisis and so the people must protect themselves. The CAWHT has achieved massive public support in the past year and this momentum could be used to defend the rights and interests of the Irish people. One powerful tool that the CAHWT could utilise in defence of the people is a Mortgage Boycott.

The proposal is a National Mortgage Strike with two demands:

1. No more funding of the banks from the States’ resources for any reason.
    2. The State is reimbursed for the banking debt that has already been paid to date.

Demand 1. Unfortunately a significant proportion of the bondholders have already been paid off at this stage thanks to the abject surrender of the last and present governments in the face of ECB demands and threats. There are however enormous sums still being paid to bondholders on a daily basis and this haemorrhage needs to stop. (See the Bondwatch Blog from Diarmuid O Flynn to see the huge losses we are suffering every day). On top of this there is still the €31billion of promissory notes to be paid and the interest which amounts to €47 billion approximately. We can’t allow any of this money to be paid. Heaped on this again are the billions we have pumped into NAMA which is just another bank bailout under a different mask. All this looting of the nation needs to stop immediately.

Demand 2. The money we paid to date to honour the bank bonds had disappeared back into the global financial casino and is gone for good. But there are ways to recoup our losses if the government was brave and radical enough. The figures are not entirely clear but since the banks extorted the blanket bank guarantee from Brian Lenihan in Sept 2008 there has been at least €64 billion directly taken from the Irish people and pumped into the banks. On top of this is NAMA which has taken €72 billion worth of bad loans off the banks’ balance sheets. We will be very lucky if we recoup 50% of this, so let’s say another loss of €35 billion. That leaves a conservative estimate of €100 billion which has been extorted from the Irish people so far.

Even the most conservative establishment and commentators now agree that the ECB exceeded its authority when it demanded that Ireland repay the bank bondholder in full. Ireland may have a legal case it can take to the European Court of Justice in relation to this. Therefore the first port of call for the government should be Europe with a demand for repayment for the banking debt that was illegitimately imposed on us.

Another way to recover the money stolen from us would be to take ownership of the bank’s Mortgage Book in return for the state aid which the banks extorted from the country. Again the figures are not entirely clear but we have pumped approximately €20billion into AIB/EBS at this point. The government could immediately take ownership of that €20billion figure in performing mortgages and direct the monthly income stream to finance the country and help reduce our deficit. The bond money has disappeared but there is still real wealth in the banks in the form of bricks and mortar which can be leveraged to help the people.
    If the loss of some or all of the mortgage book results in the collapse of AIB/EBS then so be it. We will step in and take control of the retail banking network to keep the branches and ATMs open etc. We own the bank almost entirely now so we can take as much of the retail banking system as we need to serve the country. After the deposits have been moved to the new state retail bank, the remainder of the bank can be liquidated and divided up among the creditors or sold to an interested party. The same policy would be applied to all of the failed banks. Essentially we would extract our national stake from the banks through the housing/property stock, take the banking infrastructure that we need to support the people and dump the rest.

We need to stop the charade that the Irish banks are functioning financial institutions providing the normal banking services such as credit to the economy. They are not and they may never be again. This is an unprecedented crisis and we need to take complete control of the banks and exploit them to ensure the survival of the nation. What the government have done so far is to nationalise/socialise the debts of the banking system while allowing the banks to retain control of their assets. We need to reverse this position and nationalise the assets of the banks to save our republic.

The poetic justice of a Mortgage Strike is that it would directly target the Banks who bear a large portion of the responsibility for breaking the country. The recent property bubble amounted to a enormous theft from Irish people where hundreds of thousands of people have been saddled with huge debt just to put a modest roof over their heads (in most cases) An insider elite of landholders, developers and bankers became enormously wealthy on the back of this bubble while the political class encouraged the stampede. This debt is now a millstone around our necks but it could be used as our most effective weapon to drive real change for the better in how this country is governed.

A Mortgage Boycott would force this government to finally begin to meet their responsibility to the Irish people instead of pandering to the infinitely greedy banks. This would involve a large number of people withholding their mortgage repayments until the government meets the 2 demands outlined above. As the Irish state now owns most of the Irish banking system, the impact on the government would be immediate and substantial.

The protest should insist on a mortgage freeze for the duration of the Strike so that people are relieved of the burden of paying their mortgages without any penalty until a satisfactory conclusion is reached.
    So for example if a person’s outstanding mortgage total is €200,000 to be paid over a 20 year period then this is the amount and timeframe which will apply when the boycott is over. The withheld monthly payments would not be transferred over to the banks at the end of the strike but would instead be paid at the back end of the mortgage term when people’s finances should hopefully have improved.
    The freeze would have the advantage of easing the financial pressure on the people striking while increasing the impact on the financial institutions and the government by depriving them of income for the duration of the strike and with no prospect of receiving the outstanding money until people reach the end of their mortgage terms. No penalties, additional interest or any financial sanction would be accepted from the Banks or the strike would continue.

Obviously, it would take a significant number of people to commit to the action for this to be effective but it should be possible to kick start the protest with the full resources and momentum of the CAHWT. Momentum for the civil disobedience is achievable with so many people already under serious financial pressure thanks to the greed and stupidity of our banking and political elite and other vested interests. The Central Bank’s figures to June 2012 show that 10.9 per cent, or 83,251 out of 761,000, of Irish home loans were in arrears and all told, 168,000 mortgages were in some form of financial difficulty.
    With these figures, a reasonable target might be in the region of 250,000 mortgage holders who are prepared to sign up and commit. When the target figure has been reached the protest would begin the following month and continue until the government undertakes to stop rewarding the failed bondholder gamblers with our money and future.

Our past and present governments have signed up the Irish people to foot the bill for the banking collapse to the tune of €100 Billion and counting. FG and Labour will tear the heart out of this country with vicious cutbacks and tax increases to pay for this robbery while our young people look at an empty future and emigrate in their tens of thousands. This is wrong and has to stop.
    It’s time the government realised that they rule the Irish people only through our consent and they do not have our permission to bleed the country dry to provide a transfusion to the parasite financial elite.

• So what is the first step for one person to take?

• Marty,
      Go along to your next local CAHWT meeting. Become an active member in your local area. Members can bring motions/proposals to their local branch which if passed are brought to the National steering committee to be ratified. So you could forward the proposal above as it stands or make any amendments, improvements that you like.

• Gagsy 99 25/10/12 #

Questions:

When the banks’ assets are sequestered how do you deal with the run on the banks that will immediately happen and when the banks then collapse how do you fund the massive volume of claims on the state deposit protection scheme?
      How do you ‘sell’ to the nation the even worse austerity from having to immediately eliminate the budget deficit?
      Even though the banks are not sufficiently active now in providing credit they are nonetheless the only show at the moment – if the govt is to step in an take on this function where does it raise the funding to lend to the economy?

• Answers and some more Questions:

Capital controls, especially those on money leaving the country can be introduced to prevent a run on the banks until the situation stabilises.

Why do you assume that we will immediately have to eliminate the budget deficit?

Where are the banks raising the funding to lend (or in reality not ) to the economy now?
      The banks don’t have the power to create new money out of thin air. (Most states on the other hand do have that power).
      What the banks do have is a license (issued by the state) to buy and sell money. They engage in fractional reserve banking where they lend out multiples of the money they actually have on deposit. They can do this because they know that they will not be called on to honour all of the deposits at any one time. If that happens then a run on the bank ensues.
      The state can operate the same mechanism of fractional reserve banking to lend to the people and businesses in the economy.

• Haven’t and won’t pay till every household pays. Council houses included. Everyone has to share the burden.

• I’ve paid.

Well with the vast income I get from the Journal, The CIA and the Milk Marketing board for commenting on websites I kind of thought I ought to.

• Keep calm & get organized, United we bargain, divided, we beg…

• When are the overpaid, overprivileged people’s representatives in the Dail going to cop on that you can’t get blood out of a stone?
    A large number of people genuinely cannot afford this spurious charge. Older, poorer people are living in houses which they cannot afford to heat, and dreading the onset of winter.
    Socially, we are supposedly living in a classless society. At the same time there’s a class divide artificially created by the money men.
    Let those on the wealthier side of that divide be targeted to pay, if they must. Leave the rest to struggle on, without the burden of this obnoxious and unfair charge, or any other similar schemes this pathetic, clueless government have in mind.

• IF YOU DON’T STAND FOR SOMETHING, YOU WILL FALL FOR ANYTHING!!!

• Kenny& his co-conspiritors want to keep taking money from us until we have have just barely enough to feed ourselves, – some people have already passed that threshold.
    It is time to stop co-operating with these Vichy traitors.
    It is time to start hurting them, – otherwise we, & our children are doomed to slavery for life.
    Get organized, – small groups will become big groups, This is how revolutions begin, & we do need a revolution.
    I have personally witnessed several gatherings of ordinary decent people, but the rhetoric was far from ordinary,…or decent.

• 4.6 million population,1.6 mill. House owners. 300000 approx. rent,100000 plus in council houses. Plus exemptions gives 1 million house owners paying this tax for 3.6 million people paying nothing. Hogan said tax not fair but will be next year. Not on the same format of sucker house owners only paying.

• If one owns a house in Ireland but lives full time in another country , USA in this case , and if the charge is for up keep of public areas , parks , maintenance etc , surely one should be exempt from paying for something that will never benefit them . Any ideas ?

• Eileen I agree that a meeting should be held about the household charge and I for one would support this kind of action. To hear it said that if you don’t pay the charge it would come out of your estate when you die is totally gone too far. Enough is enough. When I die I want to leave my house to my children but it looks as if the government will claim it to cover this unfair household charge. Its now time to put a stop to this corruption. Let me know how we could go about setting up this meeting. We would need a fairly large amount of people to get involved because the more people thats in on this the better.

• If they can take it our of your estate then that means they have a claim on your house.
      You should just direct your mortgage payments towards the government if that’s the case because it means that you don’t own your own house.
      I’m hoping to buy a house soon but I’ll be damned if they will get the household charge off me. The stamp duty will have me covered for many years in my eyes.

• John,
      There may already be a local branch of the Campaign against the Household and Water Tax (CAHWT) in your area. Contact the campaign at the link below and they will let you know. http://nohouseholdtax.org/get-involved/

• Yes

• Anyone who can justify this household charge, they are as silly as the people we allow run our country to the ground more and more every year

• Glad we didn’t but when we had the urge!
    Can I ask a question to those if you who bought at the peak.. Did you not think that you were being absolutely ripped off at the time?

• Do the owners of Co.Council houses or Corporation houses have to pay Household charge?

• As father Ted would’ve said household charge me arse ;)

• If I’m the only person in the country who hasn’t paid this extortion money, I will still refuse to pay this unjust charge.
    Bondholders take a risk in order to make a good profit from lending huge amounts of spare money, They must share the pain when things go South.
    The Irish people did nothing wrong, but are being punished for the greed of a very few, and that is not on…
    Stay calm, – get organised, – protesting is no good, because, ‘ no-one ever achieved justice, or indeed their freedom, by appealing to the moral sense of the people who were oppressing them ‘. (Assata Shakur).

• @Reg I may not have paid as much on stamp duty as others during the peak of property pricing but I still paid stamp duty. First time buyers didnt have to pay it during that peak time.

• Reg 25/10/12 #

The fact that first time buyers didn’t have to pay stamp duty just reinforces my point Niamh. You could have been a millionaire first time buyer and you would have been exempt. Now everyone has to pay a small stamp duty charge if you purchase and then an annual charge, a much fairer system. Many people purchased their homes many years ago and comparatively paid very little stamp duty and have paid no property related taxes since.

Try using the reply button next time to keep posts in the same thread.

• I still wont be paying the household charge as fair or as unfair you or anyone else may find this charge. Wait for the budget this house hold charge is only the start , next year the property tax they introduce is going to be much more severe. Its just another taxation on people who simply cant afford to pay it including me.

• Actually first time buyers at the peak of the boom had to pay the full whack of stamp duty if they were buying a second hand house. Not bitter, or anything….

• Reg 25/10/12 #

Yes Lisa that is correct, the Fianna Fail subsidy to the builders. Had to pay stamp duty as a first time buyer of a second hand home myself.

• If you refuse to pay it what will happen? Seriously if the revenue have to bring you to court for non payment of this charge what will the judge do? He can’t lock you up.its not an jail able offence,
    The worst that can happen will you have to pay it off at whatever you can afford.
    10 quid a month? Sweet!

• How many households in the Country, The League of Credit Unions estimated over 1.85 million and i’d believe that. As everyone in this country is a member and that’s a given, so where is 1.6 million coming from?

• What I hate is people who have been on the dole for years complaining about taxes when it’s actually the hard worker paying for those people to live on the dole. A 100 euro isn’t a lot to pay a year. Think about it would ye prefer our generation to pay this or our children’s generation to pay?

• I used to hate that too when I was young and naieve and brain washed by FG BS. Now I am older wiser poorer and retired and I know I am kinder …. Gissa job ! Go on tell us all where there are jobs ! Can you do that ?

• I am young but not naive. I don’t follow any political party. Yes jobs are hard to come by. I myself was on the dole for 2 months. But I eventually got a job. I just think 100 euro household charge isn’t much to pay.

• Kevin
      As you say . You are young and naieve . Ha ha …. My generation have paid are still paying and thanks to promissory notes my grandchildren and great grandchildren will be paying waaaaaaay in to the future . When you have your own house and when you have worked more years than you have thus far lived come back and tell me that … Have a nice day Kevin .

• Well Eileen, I see your generation hasn’t changed one bit, still negative and lots of poor me’s. Its just a bit sad that most of your generation that I know of, are only happy when complaining about something/someone. If ya think you know it all run for the dáil!

• Kevin ….
      Maybe I will run ,,,,,actually walk (at my age running is a bit beyond me ) for the Dáil . At least I have experience and life values behind me ,and I do not fall for just anything ! Thanks .

• Why exactly are you against this charge? Like at the end of the day, if we all pay this very reasonable tax of 100 euro, it is helping our children and their children have a better way of living. Rather than seeing more people live the country.

• I am against this charge because I can not afford it , it is not a fair charge, I pay PAYE, Income Levy and USC.My pension has been reduced , my mortgage increased, Petrol increased ,dog license increased, ESB, Increased, Gas increased, No medical card altho I have a chronic illness… , threats of water metres, road tax increased, insurance increased, grocery bills increased, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH ! Have to go now and get my son’s dinner ready he is still in school !

• Maybe I’m just too cynical but I’m sure you could pay it or are you one of the few “genuine” cases who can’t rather than won’t?

• If nobody obeys, nobody rules…

• Can’t wait till the budget to see how much this Mortgage tax is going to cost

• what level of poverty do those that have want those that haven’t to live in what bills should not be paid to pay property tax food , mortgage, esb, gas, school fees ,etc.450,000 out of work is it their own fault will someone answer without making stupid comments

• Anthony
    ”THEREFORE PAY THE CHARGE AND PUT PRESSURE ON GOVERNMENT TO FORCE ACCOUNTABILITY”
    Why not DON’T PAY THE CHARGE AND PUT PRESSURE ON GOVERNMENT TO FORCE ACCOUNTABILITY.
    You say you are in negative equity, your standard of living has shrunk, ie no holidays, other cutbacks to make ends meet . You are another person I would love to see at a public meeting , you will meet people just like you who just can not afford this scandalous charge. Think about it check on line for your local meetings. You would be most welcome.

• I have paid this charge/tax along with all other charges and taxes that I am liable for. I haven’t gone on a foreign holiday in 5 years and have made other cutbacks to make ends meet. I am also in a mountain of negative equity, however I do realise that I am part of a society/community and I feel that it is a duty of anyone who wishes to be a member of the community/country to carry the weights asked.

Service of justice and public reform have an important role in society. It is not however a case were one can or should say I don’t like A so I’m not doing B. As a member of a society you have a contract to the other members of that society to abide by the rules which the society places on itself.

THEREFORE PAY THE CHARGE AND PUT PRESSURE ON GOVERNMENT TO FORCE ACCOUNTABILITY

• That sheep mentality will only get you so far,
      If the minister of Heath can not bother paying debts why should we?
      If td mick Wallace can’t be bothered in paying his debts why should we?
      If phil hogan does not pay his property charges on his villa in Spain why should we?
      If the hse carries puts a cap on the age limit for the mobility allowance for the disabled (which is illegal)why should we pay ?
      Enda kenny should grow a pair and sack Reilly call for an PAC on Wallaces tax affairs.
      The Allowances these shower in the Dail get are a disgrace and when Mr European of the year aka Time poster boy gets a big auld pair of kahunas then and only then will I even consider paying.!
      End of

• Hi Anthony
      I acknowledge your right to pay the tax. I dont understand how you believe paying it will bring about more accountability however?
      Also, I have an issue with the whole negative equity debate. If you purchased ONE property as your HOME, then its not something you planned to sell. Thus,negative equity is completely irelevant as you are not planning on selling your home and thus current market values have no bearing on your income/outgoings

• what planet are you from ???.

• Emmet 26/10/12 #

Immoral and unjust…. Who said that again????
    Right lads will we vote for a week off… All say I, motion carried yippee more time off while the nation stagnates… Seriously lads go back to the teaching jobs and let real people get the country going again. We need some sort of domestic economy to get us out of the hole we’re in …

• Anyone who doesn’t pay this is exactly the same as any other tax evader (Ansbacher, off-shore accounts, VAT etc.).

• Is anyone seriously naive enough to believe that the household charge, property tax or water taxes are for “the good of the country”? These are taxes implemented to squeeze every last drop out of ordinary people to pay the bondholders – socialisation of private debt as Coddler so articulately put it. Every cent that is taken from us is deepening this crisis. Ask yourself why basic alternatives like a wealth tax, a financial transactions tax or the nationalisation of our oil and gas reserves are not even entertained by this government? Because we are slaves to the financial markets, slaves to our profiteering overlords, slaves to this conservative ideology that says “there is no alternative”. Time to wake up and rise up folks.

• I got one in the name of the previous owners plus a brochure detailing what services it was to pay for, none of which I avail of, and some of which I totally disapprove of, such as”traveller services”

• If you pay this charge this year ,you have entered into an agreement with the revenue commissioners
    Next year you will get a bill from the revenue of on average 500 euros.
    If you hold out for roughly 3 or 4 years the interest and charges on not paying would not come anyway near to the amount by paying it outright.

• In 3 or 4 years you will be liable for the additional years charges and interest on them as well.

• Wait… what now?
      Really?

• Claire, to pay €500 you’d need to own a house worth €200,000 in the current market, and bought before the boom (based on current guesstimates of what the charge will be). Asking people in that sort of financial position, relative to the majority of the country, to pay up a tenner a week doesn’t seem too unreasonable to me.

Also worth highlighting is the recurrent nonsense about “entering into an agreement” to pay a property tax. You’ll be OBLIGED to pay any property tax they see fit to introduce irregardless of whether or not you met your obligations to pay the household charge.

• Hand the keys back and rent

• judging by the amount of comments you have had on this subject.. i would say it’s rather a touchy subject.. This goverment are telling people to pay what they do’nt have….

• There are many nations struggling..
    We all ask what is fair?
    As the people of Ireland we must do our part for our country..
    Its a tax, we all most comply..
    Don’t ask where “my” €100 goes,
    Just do your part as an Irish citizen to help your own country.

• Not until I see some real change,direct democracy.

• Must be a slow news day!!! Lob out another idiotic poll….Jesus j.ie…at least try an be proper journalists!!! You are becoming the online equivalent of the sun newspaper… Pure bull!!!!

• If you can pay you should pay. And remember folks From each according to his ability, to each according to his need.

• A household charge poll on TheJournal

How original…

• Thanks Coddler that was very helpful. I was aware about the campaign people but thought they weren’t doing anymore about it.

• If a property still has no street lights etc etc and the council has not take it on….do the owners have to pay the €100???

• its dirt cheap unlimited calls texts and data + a free smart phone for 35 a month..

Add New Comment