TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Have you paid the household charge?

New figures show that 61 per cent of households have now paid the charge. Have you?

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

NEW FIGURES SHOW that 61 per cent of households have now paid the household charge.

More than €100 million has now been collected from homeowners by the Local Government Management Authority which has been sending out a second round of warning letters to people who have not paid.  Speaking about the figures this morning, the head of the LGMA said that homeowners who fail to pay the household charge will have legal action taken against them.

Previous polls here on TheJournal.ie found a  split between the number of people who say they will pay it and the number who say they have no plans to pay the charge.

So we’re asking: Have you paid the household charge?

Poll Results:

Read: Full coverage of the household charge >

Read next:

Comments (131 Comments)

• It’s strange, means testing children’s allowance is not cost effective but taking 100,000 people to court for 100 euro is?!?

• Well they won’t take them all to court. After the first few have been found guilty and ordered to pay all court costs and the existing tax the “Can Pay! Won’t Pay” edifice will tumble like a house of cards in a strong breeze.

• It’s strange, means testing children’s allowance is not cost effective but taking 100,000 people to court for 100 euro is?!?
      @Damocles, that really isn’t my point. The projected costs of such a venture, to spend so much to obtain or save so little has been used recently by our Government as reason not to take action regarding children’s allowance. This same reasoning is now being completely ignored by that same Government. Also no case has yet been won or lost. I would argue our Government is more like a house of cards likely to tumble in a slight breeze you describe.

• Damocles 16/08/12 #

If the miscreant is required to pay the costs then it doesn’t cost the LGMA anything.

• Someone should let hogan out of that mail room in the caption photo (NOT), Listening to the head of the LGMA this morning on radio made me wonder is this chap living in cuckoo land, not for the 1st time he tells us the alleged 2nd letters are now on their way to Landlords of all people and yet there is serious doubts as to whether or not certain households have even received the first letter. There is still an astonishing 40% of those liable that have not paid and sentiment against this charge only seems to be getting stronger. The head of the LFMA informed us this morning they are not in the business of prosecuting and yet one has to wonder what other options do they have. Hogan and Co have had a nice quite summer off with various sporting distractions keeping things generally on a slow boil, I suspect the fireworks will commence shortly. The latest BS about councils curtailing services because of lack of payment is only an other excuse to offer little or no services although my only local council “god bless them”, found the time and indeed resources to employ seven, yes seven workman to move and install a new water meter outside the boundaries of my home recently, it took 8 hours to move the damn thing less than two feet and they destroyed the grass verge in the process. Its a farce and joke.

• Reg 16/08/12 #

That’s because the letters are sent to different to different groups. Try and switch on!

• Mr Dempsey I am jealous of the time you have available on weekdays to spend eight hour watching Council workmen going about their business. I presume you kept up to date with the Journal while you were at.
      It doesn’t really matter whether your Local Authority misuses the Household Charge or not it just beehives us as citizens to pay lawfully imposed taxes whatever their destination and purpose. In a brief examination of the data published in the survey above at 10.10 am the results imply that the readership of the Journal are substantially out of kilter with the contributors. What this means is that the largest number of people posting on this subject up to date would appear to be non payers and naysayers yet the survey shows quite a responsibly high level of compliance with the law.

• Good Man Reg. always nice to get an objective response to a comment, I am aware the LGMA seem to be targeting certain groups for these quite clearly fictitious letters, my point was do they actually exist, it seems to me that few if anyone has received these so called reminders, let alone ever received an original letter reminding of obligations to pay, also the LGMA seem to do press releases or interviews every other Sunday stating the same thing which by all accounts seems to be complete BS. For the record, I attended a local meeting of house holders in my area, attended by at least 200 people most of whom have not paid the charge, not a single person at the meeting said they received any notification whatsoever, fair enough a small area but I wondered realistically is there any genuine effort on the part of the LGMA to actually enforce or chase this absurd charge.

• Mr Collins, there are those of us who are entitled to a day off and rest assured it was not a weekend, I don’t ever recall a council employee working a weekend, O forgive me, god bless them they did, I believe stay open for a brief period during the debacle that was the launch of this House Hold charge, and yes I do keep up to date with the Journal, Kinda thought this was the point of its existence. On the day in question I happened to be tending to my garden whilst observing the council workers digging up my grass verge. I did forget to point out that when I did contact them about the mess they left behind I was informed lack of resources meant it would take time for them to return and re lay the grass verge destroyed which by the way I happily maintained free of charge for 10 years despite it not being technically my property (its called pride). You do indeed raise one interesting point, the validity of this charge which I suspect is dubious at best. Unlike taxes which are clearly defined and deducted this House Hold charge is just that, not a tax in the real sense and therefore your argument does not stand up to scrutiny. I suspect the reason this subject gets a high proportion of responses is because it stirs up just emotions because of its unfairness which even government ministers agree on. Whether you agree of not to this charge and I certainly do not, there remains a substantial amount of those allegedly liable who have not and by all accounts will not pay, God knows how a property tax is ever going to be implemented at this rate not withstanding the fact there will be 10′s of thousands who will not be able to afford anything like the figures being banded about.

• There has been no first letter received at my home or my parents home . A “second notice” would probably not be legally applicable in that case . Somebody in property legal area please correct me if im wrong . Are these letters registered or non-existent . Has anybody out there who has not paid received a first letter ??

• Sorcha I haven’t received anything at all about the charge. I had to register myself for it online. I will reluctantly pay the charge but only because I have to. Its a tax that other people in the country have already paid, so its not going anywhere. As frustrating as it is, no amount of debate on ‘The Journal’ or marching in the streets will change that now.

• It is not a household charge it is a tax on homeowners. The same people that paid stamp duty and every other fook’n bill this poxy country passes on. If it is for local services why should my next door neighbour who rents be exempt? They use the same services, their kids use playgrounds, the street lights etc etc. change who pays and I will have no problem paying.

• If I could walk down to my local hospital and hand them €100 each year as a tax, knowing it would be used to provide services, I would gladly do it.

I will not, however, hand over €100 so that Phil Hogan can use it to pay for a €9,000 one-day trip to Luxembourg as he did in July, or to be used to pay off debts of bankers and speculators.

• Mr Muldowney stop being so high and mighty. You are a common tax defaulter by your own admission. Please try and keep up the pretence of respectability by saying nothing while others observe the laws of the Republic.

• We wouldn’t be troll-baiting on a slow news day, would we? :)

Next up: Why injured kittens are holier than Captain Kirk.

• Derek 16/08/12 #

€100 million! There are a million homes in the country liable for this? Even with so many still not paid and exempt, its hard to believe.

• The only point in running with this item is to allow the usual loonies to sound off about how inequitable the charge is blah blah blah. The majority of eligible households have paid it and that is the only relevant statistic, not some stupid poll.

• The €100 million is inconsequential, its only a precursor to a huge property tax on every home. It was never about the €100 payment, it was to sign you up for what’s to come, get you on the database.I cannot believe people actively signed up to pay a tax when there was no database to locate you in the first place.People had the right to remain silent but they gave their details.The bullying worked.If only people had of stuck together and not paid,we could have been united against the bullying and brow beating of our citizens by the government,EU and IMF. We could have stopped this debt collecting by the government on behalf of bondholders and bankers because that’s what it is, its nothing to do with local services.”But its the law!” I hear you say, so is not talking on your mobile while driving but I see thousands flouting that law every day.People pick and choose everyday what they want to obey and not obey.Just cannot understand why people would hand over their hard earned money to this rotten government who have done nothing but break promises since they entered office and have only seen fit to brow beat the people they are meant to be serving.

• People who have voted “No but I will”, please don’t. These figures given from the government are not truly indicative in that they include multiple home owners. Don’t forget that they raised €90,000 from just 3 persons.

Less than half of Irish families have paid this unfair tax but more than half holding back on payment. We have a very tough budget coming this Winter. If we back down now this govt will go to town on us. There will be increasing pressure brought to bear on Labour and Fine Gael backbenchers.

This and their latest brainwave of property tax could well be over €100 a month. Where are you going to get €100 extra a month? Wouldn’t that €100 be better spent in your local community to help protect jobs in your local area? Stand firm. Don’t register. Don’t pay.

• We’re one of the few economies in the western world who dont pay a property tax.

Thanks to our incompetent, greedy, career politicans auctioning off the family silver for votes we have, effectively, no tax base.

Why is it the Irish people think they can have everything for free? We are as bad as the Greeks. I swear to God if people werent taxed at source no one would pay any tax at all in this country.

The current goivernment are cowards and more of the same career politicans to determined to stay in office at the cost if doing what is necessary. So all we get is half measures and bungling. Theyve made a complete pigs ear of the whole damn thing. The Household Charge – what a joke. Introduce a proper, stable, consistent, sensible property tax across the board immediately. Not this half assed joke of measure.

You get the politicans & government you deserve. Greedy, self serving, naive and incompetent politicans – drawn from a similar public.

• CAN’T WON’T & Don’t pay a tax on your homes while over paid politicians geer and sneer at the stupidity of us as to question what are we paying for and what value is in it. This tax is paying for bad gambling debts. We are all ready paying through the nose for so called amenities and community through our taxes. Deduction on politicians wages and a fair tax on the super wealthy tax exiles plundering and stealing whatever resources we have left after the deplorable mismanagement of our natural resources and the potential revenue that could be raised from them .

• You’ve paid your stamp duty upon purchase of your house, and you’re already paying for services. The 100 euro will go directly to the banks.
    I’d rather give that in to my local hospital or water purifying plant.

• Reg 16/08/12 #

And the government have woken up to the fact that a property tax based on one off transactions was incredibly stupid and also unfair. An annual system is fairer.

• So i can expect a stamp duty refund since it has been recognised as unfair.

• censored 16/08/12 #

Right, and I’ve already paid my lifetime share of fair property taxes.

Not only through stamp duty. They colluded with builders and banks to drive up property prices. Look at how much money government organizations made from property taxes, both direct and indirect, and you will find an explanation for the lack of regulation.

• Ok so just heard in the news that they’re going to start bringing people to court from October for not paying?we haven’t paid and it’s out of principal more than anything,we could scrape the hundred euro but it would kill me because we built our own house,paid huge local authority fees to do so,dug our own well,have no street lighting and no local amenities for miles.do I get the day off work for court and do both me and my husband go to jail or do just one of us get a holiday of free accommodation and meals for the duration?

• Edel there’s no jail sentence for not paying…just a fine of two and a half thousand Euro plus costs.
      You might just realise that the one hundred quid is good value and do the sensible thing befor it all gets out of hand. Next year that dreaded Household Charge will be gone. The Lefties should love a property tax .

• Has That ignorant phil hogan paid for his?And what about the management fees on his villa in Portugal that he refused to pay??

• He’s been very busy spending 92000 euros on foreign junkets, so we should probably make allowances for him. Wonder has Reilly paid his bills yet? Maybe Mick Collins could report him too.

• when it is fair and for everyone no exceptions then they can have my money otherwise bread and water for a few days thank god

• What will happen then when for example if you live in 3bed house in an estate in a city or town and have to pay 1,000 and when you live in the country on a acre in a 5 bed self build house paying 500 a year with 20% of the service you get compared to living in a city or town…..people will be moaning then about it even more….”look they in bigger house and paying less I’m not paying”…people will never be happy fact

• I am not paying so that people who are exempt from payment can get there housing estates repaired what about rural Ireland where we have poor roads no street lights why should I pay for the upgrade of council housing estates in need of repair and the water infrastructure charge for the water usage I have to supply my own water and that didn’t come cheap i pay enough income tax and levies so why should I pay more when others are exempt from payment

• Alan are ya really really really really telling the truth. You won’t pay? Oh dear …let’s see how brave you are when the guy at your door is a Revenue inspector and wouldn’t it be very funny if all that testosterone guff you throw about results in a fine of two and a half thou and an audit. What did you say was your occupation.?
      Grow up.

• Mick Collins,is the [Internet policeman]

• People who live in council estates pay the council money everyweek and depending on your earnings it can be up to 120 euros per week. So please stop with the council residents bashing.

• Well done The Journal, you should cover this more fully. We don’t have enough debates on this issue.

• Firstly Mick is obviously a troll, either that or someone who may need some “assistance”. Secondly, no need to worry where I live as there are no services, only a road which I pay road tax for. They say they’ll turn the lights off and close the parks, well work away lads as we don’t have either! I will gladly support a property tax when it is done fairly and equitably and when what you pay is actually used properly, not to fund two seperate enormous council buildings within 3 miles of each other in Cork and their seperate and quite extensive refurbishments. We pay one of the highest rates of road tax in Europe and my right hand shocks in my car are gone, solely from the roads we have. Our taxes are not used properly and Mick can babble on all he wants about breaking the law, but if he’s happy to fork out thousands of euro a year to fund crap services he can do it on his own without referring to intelligent people as degenerates when in fact on reflection he may find the only degenerate is in fact himself based on his logic of paying no matter what crap is served up!

• To mick Collins
    I didn’t say what I work at and I won’t and don’t be scare mongering about the revenue knocking at my door to see if I am tax compliant if next year the revenue commissioners are collecting it as a tax as a paye worker I have no choice in the matter as for now I’ll take my chances and I have never received a demand to pay for it why should I pay as least I get a letter to pay road tax on my car and i have no problem paying that and just because our government want to keep paying bond holders and Sean quinns and others debts doesn’t mean I have to pay for them . So u can go back now to your friends in fine Gael and tell them how the ordinary person on the street feels about this tax

• 2 reasons not to pay for me, the money to pay this ‘charge’ is money I have already paid income tax on and my local authority do not supply me with the same services as others as they imposed a management company on my estate when the gave planning permission. Can’t afford to pay twice for services I am not getting.

• Reg 16/08/12 #

So there’s no fire service in your area? No recycling facilities? No parks and leisure facilities that you can avail of from time to time? No libraries? Then what about the housing grants that help old people put a new roof on their houses? Council funds pay for all these kind of thins but I’m alright jack because I don’t get anything.

Yes county councils need to more efficient and are need in serious reform but all these things need to be paid for. Income tax doesn’t cover all the money that is spent, the tax base has to widen. Nobody likes paying more tax.

• Gagsy 99 16/08/12 #

Paul – based on your first reason you should look into ways to evade VAT too.

• censored 16/08/12 #

“Income tax doesn’t cover all the money that is spent”

Yep, that’s the real issue isn’t it. Somehow the 39 BILLION euros that is raised in income tax is not enough to pay for decent services on this small island with a very small population.

• I haven’t paid and I haven’t got the first
    Reminder letter yet, I will not be paying it anyway so sending letters is a waste of time and money but sure they are good at that

• They are only sending out 100,000 letters or there abouts, it is estimated that 40% + still have not paid this TAX, my calculations estimate that 640,000 have not paid,so why so few letters. Again we are been threathened that services will be cut, yet no one can or are not willing to say how much it is costing to collect this tax. How much when costs are deducted are councils likely to get if all this TAX was paid? Can someone ask that question? What percentage of this TAX will be paid into the various Councils, Why can the Councils not collect this TAX directly, if the TAX is to go to pay for local services. Like the LOTTO money which was intended to go directly to sporting projects, 100% of the money collected via the LOTTO now is paid directly to the exchequer and is only dished out when seen fit by various government departments.

• Reg 16/08/12 #

Nora they are sending out the letters in batches where they can identify who owns what. They seem to be targeting landlords at the moment. I don’t know how much it is costing to collect but non compliance will be adding to the cost. Council are notoriously useless at collecting money. Just look at the Dublin City Council household domestic waste changeover debacle. I got a bill for Q4 2011 in June 2012. Many people still haven’t paid their outstanding dues due to poor follow up. The decision by the government to hand this to the revenue, who, by and large are very good at collecting taxes was a sensible decision. The lottery is optional!

• It will be interesting to see how revenue will be able to determine who in fact owns property, just because you pay tax, does not mean you own property. If revenues database is anything like the LGMA’s or for that matter local councils database we can be sure of one thing, further farce. (and yes, we have heard the Mortgage interest relief argument time and time again, not everyone who owns property is in receipt of same). Just popped out to purchase some kerosene lamps and extra candles, that buffoon head of the LGMA made a further tit of himself on lunchtime on Newstalk, apparently he now believes street lights et al will have to be switched off because naughty house holders are not paying up, what a complete G*******, its this kind of nonsensical scare mongering that really encourages compliance.

• Reg 16/08/12 #

It may take some effort to establish the owners of all the properties in the country but it’s not impossible. The fact that there isn’t a comprehensive database is an indication of the mickey mouse way this country has been run for years. The fact that the revenue will be able to cross reference those in receipt of mortgage interest relief will certainly help as will cross checking with service providers and The Land Registry.

• censored 16/08/12 #

Agreed Reg, but I fail to see funding Mickey Mouse more lavishly will lead to an improvement.

• I see Enda has let the boy Higgins out for a run in these posts.
    Continuity FF rolls on with no regard to what’s fair unemployed person in 1 bed flat pays the same as person living on Aylesbury road.vast differences in income and value of properties but their SF workers party /DL/labour buddies keep silent on fairness of taxation.

• Taxation in Ireland is incredibly progressive. People on high earning pay way more tax… I don’t know why anyone should have to say sorry to you for being succesful in life, for working hard , for making sacrafises when they needed to be made in order to get on!!!!!The people you are so found on condeming are the ones who pay the vast majority of tax in this country….they are also the ones who create the jobs and spend their money in the domestic economy….
      The other cohort you seem so keen to defend are the ones that pay virtually nothing….clog up our social welfare system and our hospitals etc. etc…

• There’s also a fine of two and a half thousand Euro for those found guilty. Add that to the costs being awarded against the law breakers and I would suggest a stampede to pay after the first two or three cases. These pages will be mighty entertainment when this happens………….soon!

• No and never

• I heard on the radio they will have to close parks and turn off lights. The violins are seriously coming out. Jaysus. Maybe if justice was served on the Anglo criminals folks might be more sympathetic. The banking debt is not ours. We know the story by now.

• Heard it too, laughable. Theres another 10 million quid being handed to unsecured bondholders in a couple of days. Use that for he parks. Theres also a BILLION being handed over by AIB which we own to unguaranteed gamblers on the 1st of october, or 5 years of the household charge.

They have no moral authority to demand money from us for this unjust charge.

• OUR INCOME TAX pays for street lights!!!!!!!

• Ha ha 29% not liable for it, don’t worry guys I will pay your share…….

• No – traitors, liars and u-turn artists that are Fine Gael and Labour, can go to hell.

• Aln 16/08/12 #

I have come across enough people on medical cards and the like who are completely exempt from this charge, yet I have to pay along with tax and prsi social charge, while they watch they’re 40″ flat screen with sky, smoking the johnny blue, a BMW or merc in the drive. About time CAB extended their boundaries.

• “If anything I should increase its share but I wouldn’t want to rub it in that the game is up for the Household Charge campaign ;)” says David. I hardly think so. 50% of the population are still boycotting this charge. The campaign is organised in 26 counties. In the UK the Poll Tax was defeated with less than 30% non-compliance. The water charges were defeated in 1996 by many of the same organisers of this campaign. So the councils may take sample court cases and impose fines. What is a fine only another unjust financial imposition on ordinary people. What do we do? Refuse to pay the fine. Does this government really want to commit political suicide by harassing those who have no more to give while the architects of this crisis have sailed off into the sunset with nice fat bonuses and pensions? As for Declan’s comment about Ireland having a progressive tax regime – that is a joke. From recent reports and answers by Michael Noonan himself, the wealthiest layer of Irish society pay an effective tax rate of between 21% and 29%. Corporation tax is ridiculously low and in effect just maintains Ireland as a tax haven with little real stable job creation. Hundreds of billions pass through the IFSC every year. A miniscule financial transactions tax would bring in multiples of what these lunatic bailout/property/water taxes will. But course this is an ideological war, an economic war against ordinary people (to subsidise the rich/banks/bondholders) with the failed notion that austerity will bring recovery. As Einstein defined: ”
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”.

• 16/08/12 #

If I’d paid the HHC I’d be absolutely gutted right now.

• Hi Christine. Any details on who has paid? Would be interesting to know how many homeowners have actually paid in that total as apposed to landlords.

In answer to the poll the answer is no and will not pay.

• It’s the people who paid that let the government think they can shaft us with whatever double or triple taxation they want.Those who have paid should be ashamed of themselves and grow a pair.

• It’s those who haven’t paid who should be ashamed. It’s the vulnerable who suffer when people stop paying taxes. Just look at Greece.

• It’s the government that should be ashamed David. Trying to implement a unjust immoral tax that takes no account on house size, household income and location.

• do you own a house David

• David, many people who haven’t paid the tax have donated the money to charities instead instead. the government are going to do any good with it.

• @ David : I actually, genuinely feel sorry for you.A staunch Catholic,Fine Gael supporter,who is so brainwashed it makes you talk out of your backside.

• So John you admit that most people CAN afford to pay this tax but are refusing to.

I commend anyone who donates to charity but it’s no excuse for not paying your taxes.

• Barro 16/08/12 #

You just don’t get it David, do you?

• Brian I paid. I have always paid. I wasn’t one of the eight hundred thousand cheats and thieves who had bogus non resident bank accounts and I’m not one of the eight or nine hundred thousand whingers and sponger who fall for the Shinners rhetoric until the Revenue man comes knockin on your door. You ask me to grow a pair at the same time as you admit to law breaking when the country is on its knees.
      You are a degenerate and your IP address has just been forwarded to Revenue.ie.
      Now I think my pair have become a little swollen.

• uh David Higgins, vomit! your just a puppet face for a puppet party who’s running the Government.
      shame should be on the governments before and present!
      I have no shame, just disgust for our Government.

• Yes there are some who can afford and choose not too as a form of protest for what the government have and are continuing to do. Now, do you own a hous? how much tax do you pay on your wages, you being a student I’d say not much? what country do you think you might get a job in after you studies?? and do you really think vulnerable people will get anything out of the money collected from a property tax?????

• Mick Collins

you are an obnoxious individual. I have come across some nasty people in my life but you have take nastiness to a whole new level. You paid the charge because you dont have the balls to stand up for yourself and say enough is enough. I wouldnt wish bad luck on anyone, but for you I am willing to make an exception and I hope you get bad luck by the bucket load and that life throws a great big spanner at you.

• censored 16/08/12 #

Mick Collins: you’re an insult to that name.

• Gene 16/08/12 #

I suppose all the gallant non-payers will be out salting their local roads and fixing water bursts this winter when the councils run out of money for such niceties. Cant see the likes of eirigi arranging work parties for real work.
      Don’t like the tax, its another unfair burden but at the end of the day it still has to be paid.

• Minutes of this mornings journal.ie team meeting.

Team, we are stuck for a poll idea, anybody have any suggestions, nothing?? okay, we’ll have to run with out 35th poll on the household charge

• Lads will ye ever think of the poor bankers who won’t get their Christmas bonus if ye don’t pay the homeowners tax..

• I’ve just had a private email from someone called Mick Collins urging me to pay the household tax or else I’ll have to pay a huge fine!

• Yes I paid, like every other tax I paid it grudgingly.

“Taxes are the price we pay for a civilized society”, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr

• Yes and Oliver Wendell Holmes also said “I won’t accept anything less than the best a player’s capable of doing… and he has the right to expect the best that I can do for him and the team! “ The taxes imposed on us at the moment are not for the benefit of the people of this country but for the benefit of the few. Our hospitals, schools, roads housing and the poor have been sidelined so that bond “investors” can be repaid from the public purse as a reward for reckless investment in private institutions. Is this the “best” we can accept from our team and begrudgingly pay our taxes? These are not the actions of a civilized society. I have no problem with paying my taxes when they are used for the purpose intended. Currently one in five children live on or below the poverty line in this country, the largest children’s charity in the country has to close for a week. We do not live in a civilized society, I will not pay.

• Well said Glyn..

• “The great thing in the world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving.”, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr

That’s the point Glyn, it’s where is this country going and how do we get there? I can completely see how some people feel this tax is unfair and even anti-social, and there are good points made. In my opinion these are the actions of a civilised society, to take the hard and the very hard decisions together. We live in democracy of sorts and the people through their representatives have spoken, and that’s why I paid because nobody gets to pick and choose what they are willing to pay for. This tax will only be revoked through political will mainly through the fear of TDs not being reelected, cynical but probably true.

• censored 16/08/12 #

Ok we’ve been paying taxes for quite a while now, are we in sight of a civilized society yet?

• Hmm, too much tax and you become uncivilised.

• Wouldn’t it be terrible if Phil had opened an envelope with anthrax in it?
    I for one would feel bad at losing such a national treasure.

• Two wrongs don’t make a right, what kind of loonies are on here? If the best anyone can offer in protest, is commentary and bull. Then the Country is screwed, fighting Irish my Arse? You never beat the Irish, they are kicking the stuffing out of us and this is the best all of you can do! Pathetic Irish!

• censored 16/08/12 #

I think the term “Fighting Irish” really refers to our liking for fighting each other.

Divide and Conquer.

• Two wrongs don’t make a right Stephen? What did I say that was wrong?
      I will agree that the fight has gone out of the majority of our people. But not all.

• No and I want to thank the 750,000 people who are boycotting the household tax along with me. You are engaged in a legitimate political protest to force a delinquent Irish government to protect the interests of the Irish people instead of betraying us. Well done so far, and if we stand firm against the spin, lies threats and intimidation of a desperate ruling elite and their apologists we will win this battle.

• medred 16/08/12 #

I am not entitiled to this

• 61% have paid the charge according to the introduction. However, only 20% of respondents to the poll have paid. This is as good an example of self-selection bias in online polls as you will ever see. Thank you thejournal.ie for a great lesson on the worthlessness of these online polls.

• We’re all in it together unfortunately…

• Thats a very even pole!

• @ The Green Monkey, as a person that rents I am not liable to pay but my landlord has to and that pay has come out of my rent , what about the 28% percent that won’t pay how about you tell them not to worry that you’ll pay their share. don’t think that all people that are not liable to pay are all people that don’t pay for anything, some of us are just lucky that we don’t own a property but don’t worry Im sure this government will not leave any of us out in any cut backs in the next budget :)

• Shall I do my ” explainer” again, shall I?

• Yes it’s the law wats the problem

• Slow news day when TheJournal puts up another Household Charge poll but to be fair this one is interesting.

It shows that out of those eligeable to pay, roughly 20%-30% of them are holding back in paying. That means by year’s end you should have 80%-90% of households paid.

The poll says roughly 30% will refuse to pay but we know that the polling sample on this site is massively in favour of those who opposite it.

In the real world the vast majority will have paid and thus there’ll be little sympathy for those facing fines over non-payment.

• Ah right David, so the bit that suits you is accurate and the bit that doesn’t isn’t. You’re with the right crew alright! LOL

• You need to adjust for the fact that the polling sample is massively skewed in favour of those who don’t want to pay. This is clear from the massive left-wing and Sinn Féin support seen on previous polls on this site.

There’s no need to adjust for the “haven’t paid yet” group because there’s no evidence to suggest that this group rises or falls based on political views. If anything I should increase its share but I wouldn’t want to rub it in that the game is up for the Household Charge campaign ;)

• Its not about politics or affiliations david, its about right and wrong. You wouldn’t understand.

• censored 16/08/12 #

Ah David, don’t you know this is actually a blue shirt site?

• People in Ireland really don’t know how good we have it. Having recently been in Denmark i got talking to a bus driver who says between all salary taxes and charges he’s left with 20% of his wages at the end of the week and this is in one of the most expensive countries in Europe. In Italy you are often taxed up to 75% of your wages. We have some of the best and most cost friendly infrastructure in the world between Education and an affordable healthcare and our standard of living is far above the average. Why do us irish always whinge and feel the world owes us something. you wouldn’t see our social welfare system anywhere else in the world. A lot of young people now have turned so lazy and because they cant be arsed looking for work or making hard decisions they think theyre suffering because of the government. Grand we have corruption in the country but it cant be changed over night. it takes strategic planning and hard decisions. ive seen people yapping in pubs saying they dont have the money to pay it whilst ordering a round of drinks for 20-30 euro and only piss it up against a wall 2 hours later. Its time to stop complaining about the people you elected not making hard decisions when theres some people out there not willing to make them themselves. Things could be worse we could be all run by Kony!

• Yes because it’s not worth going to prison to hold onto €100.

Add New Comment