TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Disruptions at Dublin and Galway council meetings over property tax

Meetings of South Dublin and Fingal county councils, and of Galway City Council, were interrupted by protestors.

Demonstrators against property taxes and water charges protest at South Dublin County Council's monthly meeting in Tallaght.

A NUMBER of local council meetings across the country have been disrupted by demonstrators protesting against the introduction of property taxes and water charges.

Meetings of the county councils in South Dublin and Fingal were interrupted, as was a meeting of Galway City Council – where authorities locked the front doors of the city hall to stop protestors from entering the building.

Proceedings at South Dublin County Council in Tallaght were interrupted for about 20 minutes when a group of protestors entered the chamber during a debate on motions which themselves criticised the property tax.

A witness said the demonstrators entered a part of the council chamber which is usually accessible only to members of the council and not to the general public.

Photos posted to Twitter by demonstrators showed Socialist MEP Paul Murphy, who was among the protestors, was arrested by plain-clothes Gardaí.

County mayor Cathal King, of Sinn Féin, tried unsuccessfully to encourage the protestors to allow councillors continue their meeting.

The monthly meeting of Fingal County Council was also temporarily adjourned when members of the Campaign Against Household and Water Taxes entered the lobby of the council building in Swords and chanted anti-government slogans.

Campaign member Eileen Gabbett said politicians had “left us with no option but to stage this type of protest. They won’t come and listen to us, so we must come to them”.

“It’s a sad day that we have to occupy public buildings to be heard,” she said.

A protest was also held in the main lobby of Dublin’s city hall, though no meeting was taking place at the venue.

The campaign’s Facebook page said further protests were planned for this evening’s meeting of Kilkenny Borough Council.

Legislation to give legal effect to the property tax has already been passed by the Oireachtas, while the legislation behind water charges has been passed by the Seanad and is currently awaiting approval in the Dáil.

Read: Cork City Council meeting abandoned after property tax protests

Read next:

Comments (142 Comments)

• All the power to them. The government is an oligarchy, it doesn’t represent the people, it represents vested interests. This tax will continue the undeniably massive transfer of wealth from the majority of people to a very small few that is happening throughout the world under the guise of austerity and neoliberal ideologies. Anyone who thinks otherwise is in serious denial.

• Totally agree Derek. As long as the Gov keeps shiteing on the majority of people in this country, and crappin as hard as they are,,, then they’re fools to think that the people won’t attempt to push back.

And there was me thinkin that the gov was there to look after *and* protect the majority of people.

• It’s a home tax not a property tax…and think about it…some of it will go to pay the sovereign debt we just signed up to last week.

• The government can’t keep taking from people. When is it all this austerity going to end? We never get told that.

• You can roughly work it out. http://www.finance.gov.ie/documents/exchequerstatements/2012/exchfinaldec.pdf
      See that 14 billion deficit last year? All going well that will go down to zero in about ten years. When that happens then we need it to go to -3 or -7 billion per annum as by that time we will have about 200-300 billion of debt amassed. All going well we can pay that off in 40 years or so. So you are looking at most of our lifetimes. And remember, this is what you all wanted. Team Bertie all the way. Lets get rich from debt!

• Heard it, FG consigning future generations to “debt”.

• A low-tax low-spend economy eliminates the so called need to “broaden the tax base”.

• It Will Last As Long As We Let It Go On. We Are As a People The Most Cowardly SPINLESS People On The Face Of The Earth. The Government Will Continue To Keep Bleeding Us Dry As Long As We Sit On Our Fat Arses And Do Nothing But Moan Moan Moan. We Deserve Everything We Get Thrown At Us Because We Are Too Lazy To Get Out And Show The Government And The Troica That We Have Had Enough And Are Not Prepared To Put Up With The Punitive Savage Cuts Any Longer.

• Dave 11/02/13 #

Listening to govt supporters is sickening. Protest is a duty of citizens in a democracy. Maybe you should try it next time you dont agree with something. You’ll feel much better. And I say that as person who is to the right politically, so no “leftie, crusty” shite, please. I also work, pay tax, all that stuff.

• Amazing. It was of course ‘lefties’ among others who won us our democracy. Now we have lefties who disrupt the democratic process because they don’t like policies democratically decided.

• But Dave because you disagree with our glorious leaders, their supporters dismiss you out of hand as being a leftie,or use some other ignorant term.

• @Paddy Murray
      they look like hardworking decent irish people to me
      but i suppose your looking at them through pro government tinted glasses
      get your eyes tested man

• Paddy just so there is no confusion,democracy does not exist under a “whip system”.TDs are not allowed vote against the party or they’re expelled.How many times have we heard calls for a free vote.
      Last week was a prize example of lack of democracy,a bill converting 28billion of private debt into nearly 60billion of sovereign debt(when fully redeemed) rushed through the Dail with little or no debate.

• Peaceful protest is a right. Disrupting a Democratic process is not.

• Frank Cluskey. Can you point out a single pro government remark of mine? Typical left. Getting it wrong. Chucking out inaccuracies. Plain wrong

• Of course they don’t have to obey ‘the whip.’ But they tend to chicken out, with a few exceptions, for fear of losing the logistical support of ‘the party.’ There is no law against defying ‘the whip.’

• yes paddy your correct apologies
      fair play

• They get kicked out of the parliamentery party,this causes one serious problem for them at election time no party machine behind them.So seriously reduced chance of reelection

• Not one new policy in this country has been democratically decided! They have all been dictated to us!!

• Lefties are a growing force…. By the day and by each unwanted policy. Maybe being a lefty is the new righty.

• Dictatorial process I’m afraid

• You had no cause to apologise.

• Dictated to us Rob? By whom? By our democratically elected public representatives. Rob, that’s how democracy works. If you don:t like it, well change it all at the next election, otherwise it’s fascism and thuggery. And read a book about “dictating”. We may have an unpopular government but they are elected.

• I believe you should read more about what democracy and republic actually mean before you start calling people part of a rights movement fascists… and look at who is in power – Fine Gael, a stronger history than any other with fascism in Ireland.

• James — your view of democracy is utterly flawed if you believe that an unelected minority has the right to disrupt elected representatives from going about their business every time they disagree with decisions reached democratically. Fine Gael and fascism? Oh how desperate you are to find something to say! If there was a link half a century ago they had the sense to break it. Paul Murphy (unelected) seems to have taken up the fascist baton with enthusiasm as he desperately campaigns for legitimacy.

• Paddy,

Paul Murphy is elected. When the electorate voted in Joe Higgins as an MEP they also voted for his substitute list which included Paul Murphy. As you probably know, Murphy replaced Higgins as MEP when Higgins was elected to the Dail in 2011.

• I have spoken to many, many people who voted in the last European election. Not one, not a single one had any idea that Paul Murphy existed when they voted. They had no idea that this publicity junkie was on any kind of ticket. He was a disgrace on Morning Ireland today. He refused point blank to answer questions put to him and instead kept chanting his cliched mantra. He would have done any FFer or FGer proud with his evasion. He went on about one of his fellow trespassers having his head ‘bounded off a wall’ by a garda but wouldn’t even admit that his unruly mob of lawbreakers had assaulted a council official on their way in to disrupt the democratic process. He is anti democratic and is, sadly, doing more and more damage to socialism every day. He is discrediting socialism . He is damaging the cause. If I had anything to do with the left, I’d off load this ego maniac now.

• Paddy,
      So you accept now that Paul Murphy was elected?

• I certainly do not! How can you elect someone who’s name isn’t on the ballot paper? Man’s out of control in his bid for votes. He issues more press releases than the GIS, FF, FG, Labour – and even the Shinners put together. Desperation. And he is utterly undemocratic and totally refused to answer questions put to him on the radio this morning. And don’t forget, he’ s the one who went in there to be interviewed. Evasive. Cowardly. An enemy of socialism. I’d say right wingers love him.

• Paddy,
      You are heavily criticising people on this thread for not respecting the democratic process as you see it, and yet you are guilty of the same disrespect if you don’t accept that Paul Murphy was legitimately elected under the current MEP voting rules. There are no by-elections to the European Parliament. If an MEP resigns from office or dies during his or her mandate, the vacancy is filled from a replacement list, which is presented by parties or independent candidates to the returning officer in their constituency prior to each European election. Those are the rules and they apply to all parties and not just the Socialist Party and Paul Murphy.
      The replacement lists are readily available to the public. I’ve pasted the Labour replacement list for the Ireland South constituency 2009 election below. As you can see, Phil Prendergast has since replaced Alan Kelly as the Labour MEP.

Labour Replacement Candidates: South Constituency
      1. SPRING, ARTHUR J.
      2. PRENDERGAST, PHIL (replaced KELLY, ALAN in 2011)
      3. LEDDIN, JOE
      4. O’DOWD, VIRGINIA
      5. KHAN, MARK

Do you accept that Phil Prendergast was legitimately elected?

• No. I don’t. The system is a farce. Maybe that’s not Paul Murphy’s fault. But it doesnt’ alter the fact that he was NOT elected and still has the gall to bleat on about ‘democracy.’ This is the same guy who, after flying to Greece at someone or other’s expense to campaign for the left in their election, threatened in a statement after their disappointing result, to help make governing the country impossible for the parties freely chosen by the majority of the elctorate.

• Paddy,

It seems you won’t admit when you are wrong. You are correct though when you say the system is a farce.
      The democratic system where FG campaign vigorously on an anti Property tax platform and Labour on a manifesto of burning the bondholders and then both reverse their positions 180 degrees once elected is a bad joke. They do not have the mandate to implement these policies. They were elected on a platform of lies. They must be held to account and these protestors are attempting to do just that. It’s democracy in real time.

• Democracy is predicated on elections. But you seem to have no time for them Dave. Your democracy is bullying, shouting cliched slogans, disruption and defying the rights of elected representatives and those who elect them. Arrogance beyond belief not to mention stupidity. If we don’t like our politicians, we chuck them out at elections. But Murphy’s Mob – he never did win an election – aren’t satisfied with that. They pick and choose what laws, democratically passed laws, they wish to obey and start talking nonsense about their ‘right’ to break the ones they don’t like. It’s anarchy bordering on fascism. Anyway, how is his old buddy Iosu Uribetxeberria getting along? He’s the Basque prisoner for whom Paul campaigned. Paul wanted him released, and all Basque ‘activists’ released, because Iosu is terminally ill. Nice guy Iosu. He kidnapped José Antonio Ortega Lara and held him for more than a year leaving him, in the end, to starve to death – but he was rescued just in time and described as looking like something out of Belsen having been locked in a tiny cell and starved by Paul’s buddy. His crime? He supported a party opposed to the Basque separatists. Democracy. Isn’t it?

• Water tax is a joke where I live,we cannot drink the water d it is full of chlorine and we buy our water.I will not be paying for un drinkable water.The property tax is disgraceful I paid stamp duty on my home and I will not pay any more but on the other hand if I rent my property i am exempt,very unfair.

• If you complain about the quality of your water, it may strengthen the introduction of water charges. Usually, reaction to such statements about “chlorine” in the water brings in more charges. I am happy with the water supply provided no water charges are introduced.

Are you prepared to pay ~€500 a year on water? Be careful what you wish for….

• Chlorine is in ballygowan and most other bottled waters,a recent 22 year study by harvard university has concluded that fluoride which is in most of our water supply is one of the most dangerous chemicals around and is attributed to most of the diseases and conditions we have unusually high rates of! fix the pipes ,no!stick more chemicals down there!

• A substantial amount of piping has already been upgraded and water treatment is an automated process to eliminate costs. If more piping needs upgrading, a one-off charge should be considered instead of a permanent water tax to keep a big government. People would have no quibble with this option (in my opinion).

• Kilkenny Co. Council meeting disrupted. Councillors forced to leave amid chants. It was a peaceful and good humoured protest. http://www.facebook.com/HouseholdTaxCampaignCarlowKilkenny?ref=ts&fref=ts

• Just a reminder that the amount of money lost in councils through not collecting rents,rates and over spends is equivalent to the amount which will be collected in the property tax,this council system does work ,it’s just the management systems which have failed.pay your property tax and that will go the same way,wasted

• Don’t vote for parties who support a property tax. Vote for parties who will repeal it. Meath east voters should take note.

• The totally unfair Property/Bondholder Tax and the Water Tax will be defeated after the next general election. Every candidate standing for election will have to sign up to repealing those unfair taxes imposed by Kenny and Gilmore. Not many candidates in favour will be elected. There will be huge pressure on Fianna Fail to ditch these taxes, Fine Gael will lose half their seats and Labour will be wiped out. There will be massive gains for Sinn Fein and independents. Whoever makes up the next government will swiftly scrap this madness. In the meantime why pay?

• Property tax and water charges should be abolished in the next election.

These taxes target the domestic economy and if enacted; more job losses, higher unemployment, etc.

We need to cut expenditure on ALL things like wages, entitlements, bank debt, drug prices, capital expenditure, grants and so on. A low-tax, low-spend economy should be the goal.

• John 11/02/13 #

Best of luck to the council protesters in Dublin and Galway. Thats what we need in Ireland plenty of heros to fight this bullying government.

• ^^you guys are the head of each other^^

• Words when words are useful. Action when action is necessary.

• I want an alternative to austerity ?

• Cut government spending and compensate by abolishing property tax and water charges. Close tax loopholes, close tax breaks on the top 10% such as the rebate on company cars, tax relief on businesses, group company tax breaks, and the ‘double Irish arrangement’.

• Eileen, fair play. You let your actions speak. I’m very impressed. Though I still think your a fruit and nut case…

• “Fight austerity”

Give me a break, what are their alternatives to austerity? We need to completely rethink our tax system into something more sustainable than the system we had before. I bet they loved that tax regime at the time.

• How about fighting it by living within our means? And paying people wages that the country can afford?

• And cause a brain drain… thats what the country needs.

• How about getting the multinational companies to pay tax like the rest of us?

• phil 11/02/13 #

And watch them relocate. Yes thats a genius idea.

• I’m watching are young relocate now that’s genius.

• Phil corporation tax is 12.5% it would be nice if they paid that amount at least.

• Pablo 11/02/13 #

Here here, taking billions of euro profit

• Alien8 11/02/13 #

Erm, irish employees at my multinational pay nearly half a billion in employee tax, on top of the same again in corporation tax. Every single global meeting, we fight tooth and nail to keep these jobs based on the the quality of ireland based employees. Corporation tax rates are low down the list, but on the list, nonetheless so don’t think that increasing this will increase the tax income, because it will 100% reduce it.

The problem we have, again and again… is there are too many people on inflated salaries based on this private tax base. Not the graduate nurses, guards and teachers, but everyone else on the gravy train. Introduce true austerity (reduce high public salaries, and increase taxes on those of us in the private sector who can pay) and then we can balance our books and be competitive, but until then we are digging and digging our way to mass emigration and unemployment.

• Pablo 11/02/13 #

The only section of the economy not touched so far is the multinational sector.

• What about the Travelling community, that sector hasn’t been touched.

• Pablo 11/02/13 #

Used to work in a multinational. Sat around scratching, waiting for the pager to go off watching movies. Paid €65k per year.

Everyone I know is still on that money, none have taken any kind of paycuts etc. Meanwhile the multinational company walks away with billions each year.

Sick of listening to the corp tax, ‘we’ll leave if you tax us’ crap. Support start up and small Irish companies. Tax the HPs and Intels 17.5, 20%.

• Oh sure lads it would probably be against their Human Rights To Ask the Traveller Community To Pay Tax. We Would Probably Be Accused Of Racism. They Don’t Keep Records Or Give Receipts On Any Of Their Dealings They Hide Their Faces If Ever On A Program On TV. They Could Not Possibly Pay
      Tax On Any Of Their Shady Dealings That The Whole Country Knows They Are Up To. Sure Wouldn’t it Effect Their Dole And All The Other Scams They Are Up To. The Government Have No Problem Going After The Settled Community To Bleed Them Dry Of Their Honest Hard Earned Wages Etc But Its a Different Story For The Traveller Community They Can Get Away With All Sorts Of Scams and No Government Dept Bothers To Investigate Where They Get All Their Money.

• They employ people, create knock on business and jobs, so they pay enough tax. It would be in our best interest to have no corp tax rate at all, attractin more multinationals, and encourage people to set up businesses.

• All these taxes are being brought in so our lazy gov don’t have to work on a budget. 50% of our taxes are wasted by gov and civil service.

• Just reading the comments here,
      Divide and conquer is truly working

• Pablo
      Easy to see why you don’t work in the sector anymore!

• The property tax and water charges are still going ahead whether people like it or not.

• Wasters. They are unelected or, more accurately, rejected. They have no sustainable argument. They are publicity junkies. But the lefties who are elected need no lessons in milking the system when it comes to expenses and allowances. Why don’t they just go away?

• So no has a right Paddy to protest against what they percive to be an injustice?Just dismiss by labelling them a “leftie”.

• They have no right to disrupt the business of democratically elected councillors. If they want to run the council they should stand for election. Oh. They did. And hardly any were elected. As for this nonsense about habit ‘the right’ to protest that does not include defying democracy, bullying TDs in their clinics and invading council buildings.

• Paddy that is your opinion,which alot would agree with and as many would disagree.

• Even judging by opinion polls, leaving elections aside, the left is making little progress (and this might surprise you) unfortunately. Why? Because of destructive actions like tonight. Because they think publicity is more important than substance. Because they have come up with no workable solutions. And, yes, because they milk the system for what they can get from it. Gerry Adams flying first class for private medical treatment in the States. Boyd Barrett using public money to get his car fixed.
      Doherty claiming ?5000 a month expenses.
      And we don’t even need to include Labour in the left.
      The left us eating itself and is its win worst enemy.

• The left *is* eating itself and is *it ‘s own* worst enemy

• “They milk the system”? I think you’d want to have a wee look and see who are consistently the biggest expense claimants again.
      As for the left eating itself,time will tell.

• I am a middle class person and object to property tax and water charges because we don’t need them. The government needs to cut spending instead of property tax/water charges.

• Check out the expenses claims on the Oireachtais website. The left are as bad as FF and FG. It’s a gravy train for all of them. At least we knew what to expect from FG FF and, sadly, Labour. I for one had hoped for better from ‘the left.’

• Paddy now i will agree with you, to use a cliche “they’re all the same”.

• If there was a vote in the morning any sane person would abolish 90% of councillors’ positions.

They are like drivers who slow down to stare at accidents- they only waste time and money playing at politics and staring into potholes

• Okay Paddy, people are outraged and angered by the fact they will be subjected to local taxes. Property tax is in effect a tax on employment – just a different name. Water charges infuriate me because I see it as an attack on the interests of Irish voters (left and right). Such taxes should be abolished like in 1977. All the taxes won’t do anything if we don’t cut spending. Unfortunately, the politicians don’t want to do this.

• Paddy democracy was defied last Wednesday when those traitors sold this country out.

• If only this protest did get proper publicity then maybe it would have more chance of success.

• @ Paddy. Effective protest has to create some form of disturbance, everyone else in the world thinks we’re fine because there are no newsworthy protests taking place. All we seem to have are polite over organised Trade Union marches that might as well not have happened. A protest is a waste of time unless it gets up official noses, If you dont get up peoples noses now and again you just become an invisible doormat.

• Wasters because these protestors were exercising their democratic rights and had the gall to fight and stand up for what they believe is a very unfair and unjust tax. Why don”t YOU just go away. At least Paul Murphy and others have the courage of their convictions. Which is more than what I can say about the present bunch of cowards we have running the country. It doesn’t matter which political party they belong to they should be applauded for standing up against the injustices that this government are perpetrating on the good citizens of Ireland. What are you doing about it Paddy? Have you checked out our Consitiution yet…oh wait..you said last night on the Examiner
      that you knew ALL of the Constitiution then if that is the case you know that what this government are doing is totally against it and not in the interest of the people of Ireland

• Fair play to all involved in these protests. This is real time democracy in action where the consequences of bailing out international financial speculators at the expense of the Irish people is brought home immediately to our elected representatives.
    We are ruled by consent in a democracy and so any government can be removed at any time if a large enough body of the citizens withdraw this consent. This can be done through mass peaceful civil disobedience like the council protests last night. The process started last year when 700k Irish people refused to pay the unjust Household tax. The protest will continue this year with a mass boycott of the Property Tax.
    CAPTA , the Campaign Against Property Tax and Austerity (formerly the anti Household tax campaign) is organising the fight against this unjust tax and the austerity program generally being imposed on the Irish people to pay for the gambling losses of the financial speculators. Do not allow yourselves to be cowed. Please go along to your local meetings and get involved.

http://nohouseholdtax.org/

If enough people can be mobilised to defeat the Property tax, water charges etc, the mandate of this government will have been withdrawn and they will fall.

• I can be very sure of one thing that when election time comes a lot of you here posting wont be seen going to cast ur vote unless I’m mistaken that is the best protest of all some of you that dont vote should try it.

• @gavan- Seriously. How much did Eileen G pay to get quoted in that story?

• The further left you go the more right wing you become. Lonney left in action

Add New Comment