TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

“I don’t believe you believe in your own campaign,” Taoiseach tells Adams

Enda Kenny told Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams that he didn’t think his heart was in the campaign advocating a No vote in the 31 May referendum.

Enda Kenny in the Dáil this morning
Image: Screengrab

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has claimed that Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams does not believe in his own campaign against the Fiscal Compact treaty and claimed that the Louth TD’s heart is not in advocating a No vote.

During Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil today, Kenny was subjected to a claim by Adams that the government was attempting to regain sovereignty by giving more of it away to Europe and was accused of reneging on Fine Gael’s famed pre-election ’5 Point Plan’.

Responding, Kenny said that the Fine Gael programme was “subsumed” into the programme for government as part of a coalition with the Labour Party, adding: “That’s the programme we’re following”.

Kenny told Adams he was the leader of the No campaign but had “no answers” as to how to close the €10 billion funding gap and claimed that a Yes vote in the 31 May referendum would lead to a “continued stream of investment decisions for our country” and “put our own house in order”.

The Taoiseach told Adams: “I don’t actually believe that your heart is in the No campaign because you see the impact of the lack of investment in other countries. I don’t believe you believe in your own campaign.”

Adams said that contrary to the 1916 proclamation, the current government had ceded sovereignty to the IMF, ECB and EU and warned that recent comments from ECB president Mario Draghi had indicated that more integration was likely.

Elsewhere, in a rare moment of cross-chamber agreement during Leaders’ Questions, Kenny welcomed a proposal from Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin for the Oireachtas to examine the role of media in Ireland in the wake of the BAI’s report into the defamatory Mission to Prey programme by RTÉ.

While Martin called for an Oireachtas Commission, Kenny suggested that a sub-committee of the Oireachtas Communications Committee would be sufficient and could carry out hearings, and report recommendations to the House.

“It’s a constructive suggestion that you’ve made and I take it to heart,” Kenny told the main opposition leader.

Translated: The Fiscal Compact rewritten in layman’s terms >

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• Enda. You should have a look at Varadkar and Joan Burton talking about the treaty, if you want to see people who do not believe in their side.

• Now Kenny’s blaming Labour for abandoning his pre-election promises.
    The dog ate my homework strategy. Works everytime.

• Kenny has no shame at all …. If you were a Labour TD sitting listening to this rubbish, you would wat to get up and walk out in protest … but these Labour TDs are getting very well paid to sit there and be good boys and girls … Money, power are great mistresses…. Enjoy it while you all can, there is a cold wind coming from the East, and it sure as hell wont be so cosy after the next election… Make sure you squirrel away all you can right now, because once you greedy traitors are out of power, all the assets you accrued during your term of pillaging, will be stripped away.
      I, for one, am not afraid to tell you, your emperor has no clothes… and is running bollock naked of creativity and ability to help this country. He is taking 100% direction from Europe, and couldn’t care less about the average person, as long as he has all the money he has coming in every year. The rest of us are the host that this leech feeds on.

• All this says to me is that the government doesnt even have faith in its own convictions: I thought FG were espousing the idea that we wouldn’t need a second bailout, yet I notice they are making a lot of noise about this 10 billion funding gap, implying that we do after all NEED a ‘bailout’ from the ESM (which hasnt been set up yet so why the heck are we even discussing it when we don’t know the framework it operates within) to meet this. Its all pure fantasy!! we are voting on the fiscal compact treaty which introduces austere measures to control budgets, NOT on the stupid ESM!
    I am so sick and tired of their spin, and I tell you I am not afraid of having less money or more immediate austerity if I vote no, it’s the least I could do to make sure Ireland retains whats left of her sovereignty and dignity.

• Still waiting for the taoiseach to explain why the treaty is good for ireland. Oh, we’ve seen inda and the tanaiste avoid the debate, while one of his ministers revolved the discussion around why to not vote no (the blackmail clause) but we’re still waiting on the good reasons why we should vote to hand over more control to unelected people and leave ourselves liable to massive fines that will be beyond our control.

• Been explained over and over, when will you actually listen?

• It hasn’t been explained over and over again. We are told all the same things as we were before Lisbon. Other than that they keep repeating how scary it will be if we vote no. This is despite the fact that almost every economist says that the treaty is a bit of a fudge that wont fix any of our problems but wont really do any harm either so we might as well vote for it. If they spent less time trying to scare people into it and just explained it properly, without all the spin which is a big ask I know, they would find it much easier to convince people.

• @Daniel Kelly Doran:
      One look at your FB and we have another FG Youth trying again to peddle the party line.
      David H taking a back seat on this one or do ye now tag each other in?

• At 32 I am a bit too old for YFG!

• In that case daniel, you should be well able to explain it for us all. How is committing to a further 6 billion in cuts ABOVE what we’re committed to cutting already, and agreeing to fines if we do not make targets which are beyond our control, a good thing.

Instead of the soundbites like ‘yes for a working Ireland’, please expalin to us why we should vote ‘yes’.

• Pretty simple actually. Vote yes so we can access the ESM fund, vote yes so no future government can spend more than it takes in tax. Most importantly, voting yes means less austerity, not more. A no vote would mean a much more austerity as it would mean a very quick and very harsh correction to balance the exchequer.

• LOL! There we have it, the blackmail again. See, thats all the ‘yes’ side have, the threat that they had to manufacture which did not exist before it bevcame apparent the irish people would get our say.

Do you not think it says something, daniel, when your party colludes to have a blackmail clause inserted because they know people will not vote for this treaty on its own merits? That fine gael are so cretinous that they allow our guarantee of access to the esm to be withdrawn and now made conditional on us voting the way we’re told to?

Are you happy to be a member of a political party that is blackmailing and threatening the irish people, that interferes with a democratic vote of the people in order to coerce the result they want?

You happy about that daniel?

• It’s not blackmail, it’s a matter of fact. You can’t spend more than you take in. If you make €2000 a month, and you can’t spend €3000 a month. That’s not really debatable, debating that would be akin to debating if you need oxygen to breathe.

If there is no loan facility the only source of funding the country will be tax revenue. Right now we overspend by, what, 17 billion annually. If we could not loan that money then obviously austerity would be harsher.

• Oh, but you see there is a loan facility, its called the ESM. You may have heard of it, we were going to have access to it before fine gael allowed that guarantee to be removed so they could coerce a yes vote.

If you want to agree to allowing our people, YOUR people, to be blackmailed and threatened daniel, it’s your own business. But call it what it is, blackmail. And at least have the decency to put your hand up and admit that your political party is knee deep in allowing this blackmail to happen and continue.

• As I understand it (and I’m a fairly average Joe when it comes to this stuff I think):

Vote ‘yes’ for funding stability with a high risk of gradual and long term breakdown of our economy and society due to the impact of austerity. No big shocks just a nice steady decline. Everything stays as it is politically with no big changes.

Vote ‘no’ for funding instability and a medium-high risk a massive correction due to the inability to secure funding (it is not guaranteed this will happen if we vote no but it is fairly likely). The immediate pain will be fairly horrendous from an economic and social point if view but the recovery will begone sooner. Radical political changes will occur (not necessarily for the better).

But I still don’t know which horse to back. Which one is better for my kids?

• Sorry, if we vote no we will not have access to the ESM. Fact.

Your statement that FG put this on the treaty is false.

In any case you’ve by proxy agreed with me that we need the ESM, so I suspect you’ll be voting yes now?

You’ve invalidated your own argument.

• Daniel, i dont negotiate with Terrorists … therefore i reject the treaty. We will get by on our own… watch, it wont be the end of the world. Especially once we ditch the 70 billion banking debt, The ECB can take that debt and shove it.

• @ Daniel. Stephen Donnelly TD wrote to michael noonan 3 times requesting information on whether or not noonan, who was in the room with the other eurpoean ministers when the blackmail clause was concocted, agreed to its insertion. Noonan answered, on the third request for this information “Well I didn’t not agree/Well I didn’t disagree” (it was one phrase or the other). In other words fine gael allowed the blackmail to come about, and why not, sure they desperately needed one good reason to tell people why they shouldn’t vote no.

And they got it. They could have blocked it, they did not. This is fine gael in action, or rather inaction . Blackmail, manipulation, collusion, threats.

Unless you’re calling Stephen Donnelly a liar?

• @Daniel Kelly Doran, Thank you. Enlightening those who comment on here is a thankless task. Fair play to you. I dont envy you though, people are narrow minded and think this is a vote on the government.

• So that explains it, I was wondering what was going on with all you FG psychics. When you sign up to FG you recieve a free signed crystal ball from Edna. You could have told me that David Higgins.

• Worth a little read:
      “The European Stabilization Mechanism, Or How Goldman Sachs Captured Europe”"
      http://globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=30403

• censored 09/05/12 #

It hasn’t been explained over and over.

Kenny and co have been indulging in rhetoric about “lethal injections” and other scaremongering tactics, while failing to address any of the legitimate questions about how this will help us recover from the crisis.

Remember, these are the people who insist that we won’t need a second bailout.

• Daniel

Keep talking, keep writing, and please upload as many of your comments on the fiscal treaty as is possible. You are just what the “No” side need to help us on our way…a talking parrot with a gift for bullshit rhetoric from the Fine Gael “yes” camp. Yes indeed you are one gifted bird.

Fine Gael needs your support like I need a hole in the head. But keep squawking, please.

• FG haven’t the political backbone to run an impartial unbiased referendum campaign which is why they asked for the blackmail clause, their only argument is the one some scheming unelected bureaucrat who drafted this treaty gave them – “vote yes or you’re country is doomed”….it has given Kenny a reason to belittle and chastise us, obviously he doesn’t believe in his own yes campaign because he needs the threats from the EU to try undermine our democratic right to make up our own mind.
    When you think about it, FG are some disgrace, allowing foreign power interfere in our democracy, so much for governments being elected to represent the people they serve, he’s representing the wishes of his EPP cronies.

Say NO to the quisling FG cowards, say NO to this BS austerity treaty backed my bankers and politicians who caused this mess and continue to remain immune to austerity.

• I don’t thing the people believe anything you say Inda.

• Fagan's 09/05/12 #

Cormac Lucey. Adviser to Micheal McDowell, he man who kept Bertie Ahern and FF in power, backed the financial free for all that was the last 10 years.

If we are reduced to listening and acting on the likes of him, then we truly are finished.

I’m a no voter btw.

• ” Kneel before me. I said, KNEEL! Is not this simpler? Is this not your natural state? Its the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation. The bright lure of freedom diminishes your lifes joy in a mad scramble for power. For identity. You were made to be ruled. In the end, you will always kneel.”
      The Avengers

• I read it in the paper in which it was published and I though the only reason a no vote is being advocated so that a sledgehammer can be taken to public services. Who let him out…..

• Sean, Cormac Lucey is pointing the fastest route to recovery is to reject the fiscal compact and further bailouts. Ireland attempted borrowing itself out of trouble in the past and ended up in deeper trouble. You might now be familar with the cliche that a nation cannot borrow itself out of a debt crisis.
      “The Irishman of the 20th Century (and former governor of the Central Bank), Dr TK Whitaker, made an important point in a 2007 interview with Magill magazine when he said that “In the 1970s we really dealt with the oil crisis in a rather absurd way. We thought we could borrow money to keep everything going as before, to imagine that it didn’t happen.” Access to the ESM would only allow us repeat this folly. 

In the fifth year of this crisis, voting “No” is the only way to preserve meaningful national independence by blocking the development of an EU essentially run by Germany and France. And it is the only way we can force our bloated class of politicians and public servants to finally face up to financial reality and reject their EUtopian dreams. It would mean rejecting “Extend and Pretend” as a strategy and instead facing reality and accelerating the process of economic adjustment but thereby accelerating the day when we can finally escape that pain. ”

I didn’t see any mention of sledgehammers or public services.

• Not to mention another 1.6 billion we have to hand over to the ESM straight away should the Yes side win out. So on top of the 10 billion you speak of Ailis that makes for an 11 billion funding gap. Further, if you take into consideration the other 11 billion euros of Capital Stock which we will have to lodge into the ESM (in the case of other countries needing bailouts, we must hand over this money) that makes for 22 billion euros.
    And everyday it is looking more and more likely that Spain is going to be in need of bailout money pretty soon. Should that happen it would mean that we will be loosing 22 billion euros out of the economy which leaves us well and truly fucked. Its looking like it will be a happy christmas for Irish Turkeys this year!!

• Not to mention fines for breaching the parameters of the fiscal compact treaty which for us, considering our GDP, structural deficit and outlook, is going to be unavoidable! Why would anyone want this?

• Ha ha … Inda trying to turn the tables ….. I do not want austerity written into law in our constitution forever and a day. I will be voting No . Because I understand articles 3&4 .

• I am still voting NO!!! F@&k this fascist dictatorship and their right wing buddies in Europe. I am sick of their lies and bull sh@t. Honestly I am beginning to hope that the hole system collapses because it’s the only thing these people will pay any attention to.

• B7584 09/05/12 #

Im getting REALLY sick of Kenny and his attempt at smart arse humour. Youre a fool Kenny, you will be OUT in no time. Go back to teaching 6 year olds.

• Is this not a bit pot kettle black

• You are all invited to vote a resounding YES on the 31st.

Cream Soda and Sweets for all that do.

• At least Adams doesn’t deny his involvement in this campaign. However No side is as credible as his buddies campaign that thought murder and bombing would work.

• Fagan's 09/05/12 #

It’s as credible as you charging 3250 euro’s to host Dick Roche’s website. lol

• Stephen, even your own Eamonn O’Cuiv is against your own party… i despise the man for his involvement in the destruction of our country, that has seen more people commit suicide as a direct result of the desperation and lack of hope you left our people in the last 5 years than in the previous 25 years, but at least O’Cuiv has the cop on to know that he made mistakes, and when to put his hands up. The rest of your party however, are a disgrace, and all you can do, is come on here and talk about a war that ended in the last century. You guys have no shame, no remorse and must never be allowed near Government ever again. It has always been party first, and it still is. The Irish people will never forgive you. Shame, shame, shame … Bertie was welcomed at the recent FFailure Ard Fheis as a hero, it says everything about your party. Please do the Irish people a service (instead of the other way around) and disband. We never want to hear FF in our life-times again. History will not be kind to you, you bunch of money grabbing, corrupt, evil, self-serving cretins.

• Cal you obviously missed the recent poll where 36% wanted FF to return to being an alternative party of Govt. Why? Because people want pragmatic opposition with real policies, and reject the perpetual, populist protest of others. Also Bertie didn’t receive any such welcome.

• Fagan's 09/05/12 #

FF in Mayo recently thanked and commended Pee Flynn for his service. Not one mention was made of the 50k he took from the party in the early 90′s, when it was nearly 5 times the average salary.

They are a party utterly devoid of ethics and morality. In a normal functioning group, he would be reported to CAB or the fraud squad. In FF they refuse to contemplate it, he nicked it fair and square, as far as they are concerned.

A party of traitors, run for thieves, and staffed by fools.

• Don’t feed the FF troll

• Adams never overcharged the country for putting up an information website. You did! FF thieves and cause of all this mess. #shameonyouFF

• IT MAKES SENSE TO VOTE YES!!!!!!!!

• Does it Ronan? Hollande has already said he will not ratify the fiscal compact unless it is changed either it’s text or by an addendum. What will Holland do now he is president elect of France?. The Dutch government fell because of the fiscal compact. They will be holding elections soon what will their attitude to the fiscal compact be once a new government is formed? What will happen in Greece and what will the side affects of that have on this compact or the Euro itself? Today the largest political party in the Italian parliament called for the fiscal compact to be reopened. Why the hell are we voting on something that we do not know the full content of. Do you sign legal documents after only reading half of the document? Seems to me that is what we are being asked to do by Kenny & Gilmore. Why the big hurry to hold the referendum? The compact only comes into force in 2013. Would we not be better off waiting until we know what the whole fiscal compact looks like before voting on it?

• Too right. otherwise Sinn Fein’s name will ring all too true and it will be ‘ourselves alone’, very very alone and without friends and money!! I suppose thats what they want!! Makes the state ripe for a hostile take over.

• Well Ronan you DID type your post in capital letters. Guess that settles it better than actually explaining why people should vote yes.

• No vote= no money to pay welfare, civil service salaries etc. A no vote will result in the tearing up of the Croke Park agreement, decimation of the civil service and huge reductions in social welfare payments. Come to think of it if thats what Sinn Fein want then im all in favour, its like turkeys voting for Christmas!!!!?

Add New Comment