Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

IMF and ECB divided on whether Ireland should burn bondholders

The ECB's Klaus Masuch, the EC's Istvan Szekely and the IMF's Craig Beaumont, in Dublin today.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK and the International Monetary Fund have expressed differences over whether Ireland can further reduce the cost of saving its banking system by imposing further losses on bondholders.

Speaking at a press conference in Dublin today the IMF’s mission director to Ireland, Craig Beaumont, said the IMF had no objection to Ireland enforcing losses on the senior unsecured bondholders of its banks.

The European Central Bank, however, expressed reservations about the move – conceding that while the terms of the EU-IMF deal did not require Ireland to repay all bonds, doing so could cause financial panic to “spill over” to other countries.

Asked about how it would respond to any request to share the burden with bondholders, the ECB’s representative Klaus Masuch pointed to the current cost of borrowing for the Irish government – and how it compared to the similar costs for Portugal and Greece.

The comments came a day after Michael Noonan had told an audience of German bankers that Ireland would not require “private sector involvement” in meeting the costs of saving the banking sector.

The Troika’s press conference also saw Masuch, Beaumont and the European Commission’s Istvan Szekely pare back some of the optimism shared by the Irish government about reinvesting the cash from state assets.

While Noonan and Howlin said the Troika were now willing to allow Ireland reinvest the proceeds into job creation, the Troika said it was still waiting for a formal plan on the sale of assets before it could discuss how the proceeds would be spent.

Szekely said he would encourage the Irish authorities to be “ambitious”, but was not prepared to comment any further until a formal plan for selling some assets was drawn up.

Szekely added that the sale of the assets – which are thought to include Coillte and the Dublin Airport Authority – was a long process, and that Ireland should hold off on any sales until it could command a fair price.

As it happened: The Troika’s press conference on the latest bailout review

5 things we learned at today’s bailout press conference

Read Next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• Tony Skillington 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Sounds like the IMF are on our side…ECB are doing what they have been doing all along..protecting European bankers at any cost…least the whole issue is on the table for discussion.

• michael cuthbert 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Do you really believe the IMF would advocate any action that would jeopardise European bankers? Dream on…

Report this comment

Sorry. Always thought the IMF were the bad guys. How wrong I’ve been all these years…

• Tony Skillington 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Well..if they’re discussing even a partial burning of bondholders then yes they are doing something to upset the European banks. But then again maybe the IMF are seeing what everybody else can see…austerity and the payment of bonds in a broken and defunct bank is insanity…right now they seem to be in our tent so that’s to be welcomed.

Report this comment

So, is it European bankers, or Anglo, Nationwide and Allied we’re talking about?

• Tensing Norgay 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Not a question of sides I think , IMF just realise the futility of beating a dead horse ,Germany , hmmm , sorry I meant the Ecb however enjoys beating dead horses apparently! Pity there wasn’t an immediate change of government in France / Germany , their utter incompetence has exacerbated the problems at very turn . They are even making Enda look good , well not quiet but you know what I mean

• Ryan Ó Giobúin 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The IMF just wants to cut debt. they dont care how its done, or even who it hurts, as long as it leads to stability. ECB wants debt paid back, and want the Irish to pay.

• Tony Skillington 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sorry Michael …prehaps that should have been bondholders…but many of the Europen banks are actually bondholders as well.

• Kerry Blake 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

We should go to the IMF and request help. Default on the 30 billion odd the ECB lent us to prop up foreign banks and bond holders. If the ECB want to prop up failed banks let them do it with there own money.

• Report this comment

Throughout history the IMF has only destroyed countries. Most of South America, a lot of post Cold War economies, Thailand and the post tsunami islands. All they care about is privatisation and Chicago Boys economics.

• sarah 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Let the bondholders burn!

• David Conroy 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Sarah, before we burn Bondholders we should check our private Pension Funds and see what % of the Fund is in Bonds. You might feel the flames burning your ass !!

• Dave 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Done. I specifically requested that none of it was to be invested in the banking sector!

• Derek Durkin 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Good cop, bad cop comes to mind.

• Tony Skillington 20/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Thought that too at first Derek…but I think the IMF are being realistic…not playing games and if the truth that we don’t have a prayer of repaying all this debt is starting to dawn…then maybe its jyst bad cop bad cop

• john g mcgrath 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Howlin says we got green light to use proceeds of state asset sake for job creation e c b says let’s have a look at the plan first.
    So what credibility does that give press conference ?
    Howlin another spoofer

• Elaine Jennings 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

“The comments came a day after Michael Noonan had told an audience of German bankers that Ireland would not require “private sector involvement” in meeting the costs of saving the banking sector.”
    Well that’s strange, seeing as they were involved in screwing up the banking sector in the first place…

• Biggins31 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

As long as Noonan personally owns German bonds (and he DOES), they won’t be burned?

• Jennifer Flynn 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

It seems like the IMF would give us a much better deal by themselves. Is there any credit in the idea of taking a second bailout from just the IMF to pay off the ECB and then burn bond holders under the terms of the second bailout without the ECB on our backs?

• Fiachra KME 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

“Spilling into other countries” I think that means sharing the European problems with Europe? Its pretty clear that the ECB do not want the losses as it would (mildly) affect Germany and France etc. who are relatively unscathed from this. Ireland has been and still is a scapegoat and our spineless government are doing NOTHING about it, its disgraceful and shameful. Write off the unguaranteed debt pay back the sovereign debt, reform the banks, stop the ridiculous payments in the public sector and semi-state controlled sector (and im not talking about the ordinary workers), means test child benefits, invest in a job creation strategy, help local companies etc. but most importantly grow a backbone!

• Shanti Om 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Ok, who lent us more money? The IMF or the EU? Maybe if the IMF are owed more they should be who we side with.

• Dave 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Ireland paid 17.5 bn itself, 22.5bn from IMF, circa 45bn from the EU….

• Shanti Om 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

Thanks Dave, I wasn’t sure about the figures..

• Gavan Reilly 19/01/12 #
      Report this comment

The ‘whole’ bailout is €85bn but €17.5bn of this is coming from the National Pension Reserve Fund so it’s not really LOANS, so much as ‘Ireland raiding its savings’.

The other €67.5bn is broken down as thus:
      €22.5bn IMF
      €22.5bn European Financial Stability Mechanism (funded by the European Commission, i.e. other member states)
      €22.5bn European Financial Stability Facility (funded by bonds issued by the EFSF), plus bilateral loans from the UK, Sweden and Denmark.

Ireland hasn’t finalised the loan deals with Sweden and Denmark yet, and has drawn down around €500m from the UK.

The EFSM and EFSF are being merged into a new ‘European Stability Mechanism’ as of July 1.

• Philip Bellew 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Time for a ‘bondfire’ of the vanities.

• ged_star 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Burn the feckers and please put Michael “Young emigrants ‘not driven away by unemployment” Noonan on TOP of the fire, he’s nothing but a disgrace to this country.
    How could that fecker make such a statement.

• Chris lynch 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

“The roof, the roof, the roof is on fire. We don’t need no water, let the mother fuckers burn, burn mother fuckers, burn “

• Damien Kelly 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The troika can feck off!

• Ann Illing 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Am still waiting for an explanation from the Troika as to why they have allowed Enda and co to go well over the pay cap of 92k. for their assistants. Why have no journalists asked them ?

• Philip Bellew 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Exactly, Michael. For those who see the IMF as some sort of soft-option answer to Ireland’s ills, think again: http://weonlywanttheearth.blogspot.com/2011/05/critique-of-imf.html?m=1

• Eamonn Connaghan 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Burn the lot of them. Petrol , matches, ppoooff.

• William O'Shea 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Jaysus that ould contagion argument is wearing a bit thin at this stage! Look into my eyes, look into my eyes, only you Ireland can save europe….. you’re good europeans……. on the count of three you will wake up and we’ll have taken everything but you feel good ‘cos you Ireland have saved the day……….. 3………. (shite it didn’t work, they’re still asleep?!?!?!?)

• john g mcgrath 19/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Watch Vincent Brown tonight his question to the EU/ECB/IMF lads is amazing they had no reply none at all

• Report this comment

It becomes more and more obvious each day that neither the european governments, the ECB, nor the IMF have a viable solution to the economic problems of europe and the rest of the world. This is because they refuse to contemplate any solution that falls outside of the present system of economics. Their “solutions” are akin to giving a cancer patient painkillers but refusing them chemotherapy because it hasn’t been tried before. They refuse to recognise that the system within which they work and from which they try to find solutions is the cause of the problems. Any solution they create will be merely palliative and at best will kick the can down the road for a short time. But eventually you run out of road.

They are like goldfish living in a bowl who believe that the world outside has no straight lines, only curves and people have huge heads and small bodies. They will retain this belief until they step out of their bowl and see what the world looks like outside of the curvature of the glass. Do not expect any solutions from them as they are incapable of seeing them. The long term solution will only come when the endgame has been played, when they realise that they are in checkmate and the only option left is to resign and leave the table. Until that happens, until there is a crash so big that it affects the very fundamental ideas of how we conduct ourselves on this planet, what it means to be rich and poor, what democracy means, we will continue in this boom bust cycle of economics fuelled by monopoly money created by the banking system.

Politicians no longer lead, if they ever did in the first place. They serve merely as scapegoats on whom the public can vent their anger in times like this. They act as bodyguards for the 1% who are really in control. When was the last time you can remember a politician acting purely in the public interest with no thought of the personal consequences? Who controls the nation these days, the people, the government, the ECB, IMF? Or is it the bondholders, the faceless “markets” and the ratings agencies they own. In such a world what does it mean to be a nation, what is independence if not just a word?

A nation should be the sum of its people, their shared beliefs, hopes and aspirations. When times are hard then everyone in the nation should pull together, the strong lending a shoulder to the weak, the rich reaching out to the poor. But there are no such nations in the world today, we are collections of individuals sharing geographical space fighting among ourselves for a larger share of that space that is left after the select few have taken their lion’s share. We are not “the 99%” we are each one of us 1% of the 99%. We are the suffering silent majority that endure in the vain hope that somewhere, someone will appear who can lead us to the promised land. So far the position remains vacant.

• Dominic Mooney 20/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Just listen to the wording! “they are now willing to allow Ireland” who is running this country??

Add New Comment