TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

In pictures: Gardaí prevent Occupy camp regeneration

The Occupy Dame Street protest camp was dismantled by gardaí early this morning.

Gardaí and Occupy Dame Street supporters in Dublin today.
Image: @unkiedave via Twitter

GARDAÍ IN DUBLIN city centre are preventing the protest group who had camped outside the Central Bank’s headquarters from 8 October until this morning from erecting any more tents at the property.

The camp was dismantled by dozens of gardaí at around 3.30am today and the area was subsequently cleaned by Dublin City Council workers.

The Central Bank earlier confirmed that it had requested that gardaí peacefully remove the camp after gardaí had raised public order and health and safety concerns over the protest. Gardaí had previously asked the protesters to remove the camp ahead of the St Patrick’s Day festival later this month.

The protesters have appealed for supporters to maintain a presence outside the bank, despite the camp’s destruction.

These images were taken outside the bank’s Dame Street headquarters today, where the camp had been based:

In pictures: Gardaí prevent Occupy camp regeneration
1 / 10
  • Occupy Dame Street

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland (image taken around 9am)
  • Occupy Dame Street

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland (Image taken around 9am)
  • Occupy Dame Street

@unkiedave via Twitter (image taken around midday)
  • Occupy Dame Street

Read: Central Bank requested Occupy camp’s removal on garda advice >

Video, photos: Occupy Dame Street camp removed from Central Bank base >

Read next:

Comments (89 Comments)

• Would support most of the occupy movements analysis but think the protest itself had become stale and had lost any effectiveness it may have had. The numbers at the camp last night and the ease at which it was removed reflects this. I don’t think the people of Dublin that I have talked to viewed it as anything other than a curiosity. They should come up with new initiatives to reinvigorate their campaign rather than try go back to old tactics that have failed.

• if they actually gave a toss they would camp outside the bankers developers solicitors and developers gaffs but that wouldnt suit them because they couldnt just pop across the road for a pint. Jokers the lot of them. The cheek of them not to remove their tents for paddys day.

• Dan 08/03/12 #

Checked the photos there. All gardai wearing their numbers so you can rest easy.

• Where were they when the camp was removed? At home in bed probably!

• Looks like there was more people there than there was at 3.30 this morning. Why are they called ‘Occupy’ if they come and go as they please?

Can I build a house in the middle of town, call it a protest against things in general and then live in it indefinitely?

• If a traveller family decided to park up outside the central bank last october, would they be still there? Would the news film their removal? These people were given ample opportunity to make their point. They failed. Try something else.

• Their point? Let me ask u something. If someone robbed u of 25 grand, would u demand justice? Cause thats what happened to every citizen in this country. Where is the justice? There is none because the establishment in this country protect them, not you or i.

• No they wouldn’t coz the Government would give them a free house!!!

• If you read my comment, you would see that I levelled no criticism at the movement. I just pointed out that this tactic is not working. They were treated the same way as anyone who decided to set up camp on dame street. That stage of protest is over, learn and grow from the experience. You perceive an injustice has occurred, I’m not disagreeing, I just have my own opinions.

• They should set up a large sound system in the area pumping out daniel o donnell songs. Wouldnt be long getting rid of the krustys.

• Another point. Over the duration of the camps existence I probably stopped about five times to read the signs and notices etc. Never in those five times did anyone from the camp try to engage me or explain the reasoning behind their protest. They were always just sitting around talking amongst themselves. Now this might not always have been the case but it was from my experience.

• aw shucks, who will speak for us 99% now ;)

• State of them…

• Clowns. Should be locked up for breach of the peace. They were told to go, they refused. They were moved on, peacefully. They came back and kicked up a fuss. Just put them all into a van, fine them, lock em up and get rid of them if they keep breaching the peace.

The ordinary citizens cant do this without being fined or told to stop. Why the hell should this crowd of hippies?

• random 08/03/12 #

Ha ha, that last photo looks like 3 gards fighting over a tent.

• A bit over the top. All the authorities had to do was stop their dole and they’d have gone.

• I would prefer to put all of the protesters in one single occupy camp and make them fight to the death.

Offer every one of them a €5m euro lotto check and watch how quickly their “values” change.

• I wonder how many of you are dole spongers!!

• It’s comments like this that show the anti-occupy crowd, sorry “General Public” to be complete tools – there are half a million people “sponging” off the dole now most of them through no fault of their own, there are nowhere near enough jobs for all those people and looking for a job isn’t going to stop bondholder payouts and destructive austerity programmes.

• Class warfare is well and truly under way. Just remember, no matter how big you think you are, somebody better above is always ready to shit on you.

• Law and Order 1 Hippy peasantry 0

• Another pack of useless pathetic wasters moved on by the Gardai! Well done and hope the parade goes well because god knows we need the good publicity the parade brings every year and millions of people worldwide focused on those tramps in their tents is not what was needed!

• This was them at about 2.45pm… http://yfrog.com/htkfsz

About an hour before that, there was a brief scuffle between protesters/supporters and gardaí, when the gardaí removed their cardboard boxes.

• Im curious to see how much support they will have in 2-3 years. Alot more i would think with the way things are going

• Barry 08/03/12 #

What makes you think there will be support? There’s nothing to even suggest there will be other then your baseless speculation.

In the many months that the Occupy movement has been operating in Ireland we’ve seen the camps go from being semi-occupied during the night to no occupation at all, the Waterford camp is dead after 9pm each evening and its a state on the main street in Waterford.

What little support this movement did have has dropped line a stone, its full of crazy loons and fringe groups so it can’t be taken seriously even if it does have any sort of sane thoughts behind it.

• I would think in 2-3 years the current global economic situation will be a distant memory.

• “what makes you think there will be support”, well for a start people who lose their jobs in the next 2-3 through no fault of their own because of greed, yes it is speculation, we’ll just hav to wait and see…..in 1916 the rebels had no support from the general public and a few years later look what happened, just saying

• Yeah. It will be wiped out Adam.

• Barry 08/03/12 #

pacahill, did you just compare the occupy dame street movement to the 1916 Easter rising….seriously…..seriously?

You’ve just lost all credibility here now,

• I sure did barry, i was stating the fact that public support was against those back then and against those now…obviously these are completely different times and i would assume those camping out on the street wouldnt be prepared to giv their life for cause. I was simply stating a comparison between the two. I dont give a FUNK if i lost my credibility haha

• I’m amazed that people on here get so uptight about this protest. It’s not like it was having a negative effect on your daily lives was it? Why does it make so many people so uncomfortable?
    Maybe focusing on these protests makes it easier to ignore what’s really having a negative effect on us, I really don’t get it.

• Ross 08/03/12 #

Will we ever even see one FF TD or party member, one bent developer or bank official ever on the ground, with a guard standing on his chest, as he is arrested. Not a hope, but by God crack down on the people protesting at the above not being held to account and a good 40% of the people here will cheer you to the rafters.

• Ross you obviously didn’t look at the photo or read my comment. Show me where the Guard was standing on his chest.

• Ross 08/03/12 #

Ahh yes, it is his own leg.. My point still stands though. All the people charged to date in relation to Anglo have been for those protesting. There might be a sacrificial lamb but the vast majority of the perps in FF and Anglo and their mutual friends will never see a day in court.

Anglo was raided 3 years ago. It is a complex investigation no doubt, but the real problem is that the will is not there to prosecute or reform. That is the basic tenet of every FG/FF Govt. FF set out to rob the place blind for their own and their friends, while FG silently scream “nothing must change”.

A pox on both their houses and members.

• I agree Ross that the level and length of time for potential prosecution in the finance sector is ridiculous. In the US anyone who did something illegal would now be doing 40 to life in jail. The thing is that a lot of those that might be indited no longer work in an office and are living off their pensions so what is the point in squatting outside the Central Bank? Those lads would be far better off outside Garda HQ in Harcourt Street, The Dail, the Aras and places that would actually make a difference. Do you think the lads in the Central Bank actually gave a shit about the shanty town on their doorstep?

As for the media footage put up by the protesters today, Dear God I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry! It is an absolute PR disaster of the highest order. No knowledge of the Law, no knowledge of how to handle the media and a bunch of people talking to a camera who appeared to be either drunk or intellectually challenged.

• ross you still havent apologized for slandering that police officer you simply brushed over the inconvenient truth that he wasnt standing on a protester. Do you honestly think a bobby in blue can just knock around to Seany Fitz gaff and go right Sean your nicked, cop on its all politics the coppers would be sacked or worse by the Govt. There as much up shit creek as the rest of us.

• C’mon man. Small business in the area, as someone in the retail industry i can safely say that everyone but the major retailers are in trouble at the moment. There was plenty of space around the camp, it wasnt hindering anyone, dont be falling for that shit. Its time people start blaming the real culprits in this country and beyond. People need to get their priorities straight.

• Sad to see so many people over the moon that the camp was removed. I mean did it affect u in any way? Did it stop u going to work or something? The camp was a reminder to people of the crimes that have gone on and continue to go on to the people of this country that basically are resulting in suicide going thru the roof and mass emigration and the breakdown of our society. Personally thought it was a great place for people to meet up and talk about and educate themselves to what really is going on cause the media are only wetting the surface. U think the country is in a bad state, u aint seen nothing yet. This is only the begining.

• Barry 08/03/12 #

In case you’ve been missing the news the camp did have an affect on people, what about the small business in the area affected by this camp?. What about the state they have the place in as we are coming into the tourist reason?.

if these people want to protest thats fine but they are only half arse protesting, if your going to protest and build a camp then live in the camp (which they’ve not been doing), if your not living in the camp then just show up every day with signs and clean up after yourselves each evening.

• Barry, what is your problem with people taking turns at sleeping in the camp and some going home for a few hours kip? What are you doing to protest against citizens bailing out a defunct bank?

• Barry 08/03/12 #

Réada Quinn, taking turns?
      ah go on pull the other one.

The whole “protest” was half arsed from the beginning as they wanted the imagine of a full on protest but were not prepared to knuckle down for the long run, not just Dublin but look at other so called camps in the likes of Waterford, there isn’t a soul in the Waterford camp after 9pm each night.

• And how have you knuckled down Barry? I’m only asking. I don’t mind if you haven’t done anything. I’m a live and let live kinda girl. I do wonder though why people, including yourself, have such a problem.

• great photos captured showing the truth

• Hope they all enjoyed living there free of charge, whilst the rest of us had to go out and EARN a living, would like to know where they got the money to feed themselves during this. Most likely claiming social welfare!!

• Dave 08/03/12 #

Ah is’nt it great! ODS, the living reminder that you need to get up off your hole and resist the robbery being foisted on you, is now no more. You can all rest easy, knowing that the pressure to actually do something to protect the ordinary people of this country, is gone.

• Just shows never trust who you vote for.

• With all due respect but have all the Uniform Gardai got their Garda number on display