TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

In pictures: Taoiseach rounds off US trip with shamrock presentation

Enda Kenny met with congressional leaders and presented President Obama with a bowl of shamrock as his US trip drew to a close.

Slainte!
Slainte!
Image: Susan Walsh/AP/Press Association Images

THREE DAYS LATE but better late than never as Taoiseach Enda Kenny handed over the traditional bowl of shamrock to US president Barack Obama in Washington DC last night.

After holding talks in the White House Oval Room in the morning, Kenny and Obama travelled to Capitol Hill for a lunch with Speaker John Boehner and meetings with congressional leaders.

Bohner remarked on the 100th birthday of his much-lauded predecessor Tip O’Neill, “a great-great grandson of Cork” who Boehner revealed harboured ambitions of becoming ambassador to the “Emerald Isle”.

“Tip was so devoted to the Irish he once mused about becoming Ambassador to the Emerald Isle.  To this, President Reagan responded, ‘Tip, the Irish aren’t looking for Speakers, they’re looking for listeners,’” he said.

“In a show of solidarity, Tip invited Irish prime minister Garret FitzGerald to address the United States Congress on March 15, 1984.

“Dr. FitzGerald was a man of great decency who spent most of his life in public service and worked tirelessly for peace.  Sadly, he passed away last spring, a terrible loss for the Irish people and the world.”

Afterwards a ‘St Patrick’s Day reception’ was hosted by Obama, Kenny and their wives, First Lady Michelle Obama and Fionnuala Kenny, in the White House East Room where the bowl of shamrock and a certificate of Irish Heritage were presented to president Obama.

Some pictures from yesterday’s final events:

In pictures: Taoiseach rounds off US trip with shamrock presentation
1 / 18
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(Picture: Office of the Speaker of the House)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

At the St. Patrick's Day luncheon on Capitol Hill (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(Picture: White House)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

The Taoiseach is presented with a picture of Garret FitzGerald addressing the US Congress in 1984.
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Carolyn Kaster)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

Boehner, Obama, Kenny, and Rep. Peter King, R-N.Y., walk down the steps of the Capitol (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Susan Walsh)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

Obama touches a certificate of Irish Heritage that was presented to him by Kenny during a St. Patrick'’s Day reception in the East Room (AP Photo/Susan Walsh)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Susan Walsh)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Susan Walsh)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Susan Walsh)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Susan Walsh)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

(AP Photo/Susan Walsh)
  • Enda Kenny in the USA

First lady Michelle Obama and Fionnuala Kenny listen as their spouses speak (AP Photo/Susan Walsh)

In pictures: Taoiseach visits White House as Obama pledges Irish return

Congresswoman urges Kenny to block Galway Guevara statue

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• Sack the photographer. Those pics are totally under exposed!

• Orpheus 21/03/12 #

Mr. Kenny is looking well these days, he’s filled out a little since taking office.

• Fine display of good auld irish begrudgery on this thread. I think he did a good job and the trip was fairly successful.

• Neil 21/03/12 #

Well, it can´t be any more cringeworthy than Bertie and Biffos trips. And it´s not as though Gerry Adams will ever get a warm welcome there. As much as Sinn Fein hate the US, our economy depends on them.

• Neil have you been a coma the last 40 years where do think SF/IRA raised alot of money.In case you missed it the thread is about Enda and Barrack,not the ones you’ve named.

• Photo 11, poor Mrs Kenny is hidden by the giant shamrock. Enda will be in for an earful when he they get home.

• liam 21/03/12 #

Our great leader is out and about tiping his forelock
    to the septic tanks and handing out Oirish certs
    to one and all ( Collect a hundered certs and get a free trip to the
    Gathering there can only be one) IMaybe some day he will grow a pair
    and stand up for the people and not as he does now for the EU and his banking cronies

• We spent 3 years bemoaning Brian Cowen, the sourest and most objectionable looking leader we have had. Now we have Enda Kenny, the exact opposite, and people are still complaining. Wow, I knew we Irish were begrudgers but never thought we were that hard to please.

• couldnt agree with your comment more Sarah. i want whats best for our country but my God…we are never happy.the presesnt govt are doing their damdest in truely awful circumstances..you are right..we are never happy.there isnt a politician in the world that could keep us from complaining.its draining isnt it?!

• Cringing again…

• what a pot hole.

• Really? Do people not know what a douche John Boehner is? Or Peter King? Compared to them Enda is a class act.

• Oh the irony. 2 stories above we learn of €500k of weed growing in Cavan.

And in this story we have a president and a prime minister exchanging a whole bowl of weeds lol:)

• Looking at the thumb votes you can rest assured that there’s still a few Irish people still willing to swallow the BS FG feed on a daily basis. I’m happy to join the ones getting bashed.

I don’t believe that Enda Kenny is doing Ireland any favours. I’ll never forgive him for his remarks at Davos. He set us up and does not represent us! He is an imposter.

• Whats your agenda Reada? Are you a member or active in any political party? If so i feel its only fair to the people who visit this site that you come clean.

• Very true.
      He will never get my vote again , nor labour , nor ff, He does not have our best interests at heart and I will take any thumb bashing going , I will never forgive him either for his disloyalty to us in Davos.God only knows what he said in private or since, if that is what he said publically.

• Declan Cotter
      What is your agenda ,in asking that question ? You tell us first ….

• Thats just it Susie. I dont have one. I work, I pay taxes, I vote.. On occasion i have a look on this site and I see Mr Quinn and you plus a few other constantly banging on about Enda kenny like he is the devil incarnate. Sorry but i dont see it…. I see a modest guy from Mayo who is working hard for Ireland. Sorry if that does not sit with your beliefs but its the way i feel. So my question stands. Has Mr Quinn or indeed your self any political affiliation? If so please inform the forum so they can make a fair assesment.

• For the record Susie, I dont believe for one second that you or Mr Quinn ever voted for Enda Kenny or FG….

• for the record ? whose record ?
      anyway Declan firstly i believe Réada is a lady .
      Then for the times I am on this site I see your name popping up ,what was it you said ”banging on” about how wonderful the taoiseach is . Well you still have not said what political agenda you have or, if, and , what party you belong to .
      After all it is only fair you show us yours then maybe we will how you ours ……. :) Go on ! I dare you :)

• I agree.. it’s a total waste of our money… a sham of a visit and enda looks like a total gobshite….. if he wants to extend his Stay he should put his hand in his own pocket he can well afford it….he is not representing me over there.

• Martin O D
      I know we don’t always see eye to eye , but we can agree to disagree too ,but in this instance I agree with you 100% . He is not representing me or my Ireland over there .

• hey declan… you must be some strange chap if you thing enda is what you describe….he has done nothing but lie and back down on everything he said pre election and he has made fools of us hard working business people
      and made us look like fools….he is a total condescending idiot..and I think you might need professional help if you can’t see that…

• Jaysus Declan, haven’t you heard. Everyone who doesn’t accept or questions the party line on here is a shinner of course. It’s all a conspiracy don’t know lol. Maybe you should declare you own agenda or leave it at the door.

• Susie, I am not a member of any political party. I voted in Galway at last general election for the FG candidate with the Labour candidate getting my number 2. I firmly believe that the Goverment are working hard. Thats my belief and only I will decide whether or not to change that (based on records and evidence).
      Now back to my question… Have either of you any political connections? Your reaction suggests you do?
      Martin, I do not as you call ‘need professional help’. I never got caught up in any pre-election jargon. I voted for for the current Goverment because i believe they would have the national interest at heart and would be less driven by pull, developers, or agendas. I still believe that. Thats my opinion.

• Hi Declan. You’re obviously a newie. I wear my heart on my sleeve and have made no secret of the fact that I am not a member of any political party. You are right in my case that I have an unblemished record insofar as voting right-wing.

I don’t intend becoming a paid up member of any party that supported a whip system because I treat others as I would like to be treated myself. And god help anyone that came near me with a whip.

That’s all you need to know for now Declan. Judge me on my comments not my background. I’m not scared of a red thumb lol ;)

• Declan
      Thank you for your answer and I believe you are being honest . I can only speak for myself and that is I have no political agenda . I am a non party activist (see my picture) in my area against the HHC. Having said that I too voted for FG and Lab in the last election and I am so dreadfully disappointed and let down by FG ‘s U turns ,and Labours silence I can not in all that I hold dear ,condone their actions. They have violated ( I know it is a strong word) their terms that I elected them on . There you have it. I have never campaigned for anything in my life before , but I can not afford this tax now or into the future …. I need to have the support of all the like minded people to support me in this because if we do not say it now , we can never say it . I can not afford it . I am not a bitter person , but I am very very bl**dy angry ( excuse the expletive) . If you can justify this in the face of so much opposition then you will have to tell me how ?

Rommel @
      They could be in the next Government !

• Yeh. Now come on MR Quinn. Fess up…

• Lots of Enda Brown noses here today. Obviously either party members or civil servants protected by Croke Park Agreement.

• He has to get assurances for the new american bases first.

• EK is embarrassing. Has anyone else noticed the badly fitting suits. What’s with his eye – it seems to stray off like he has an astigmatism or something. And all these corny thumbs up images – smiling and winking like it’s some dog and pony show. Embarrassing in-bred culchie idiot.

• Get Scooby doo on the case of the missing posts…. Happens ALL the time! Someone’s on the rag :)

• Fitting, arguably a sham of a visit

• Calm Kit calm. What happened?

• How many people are going to book holidays to the States now that Enda has paid it a visit?

Because remember, that was the line about boosting tourism that was peddled out when Liz and Barack came here last year.

• Rommel, No agenda here. Just an alternative point of view to the usual rants. Thats all.
    Reada, Its your comments that i am judging you on. I dont share you views thats all..

• It’s no harm having disagreements Declan. I also notice party members bashing other parties with a view to the promotion of their own party and I agree that kind of opportunism is annoying. I just call things as I see them.

My only agenda is a fairer and balanced society where we choose the best of what people have to offer. I know I sound like a bit of a sap here as opposed to one of my rants but we’re all multifaceted in reality.

• Nor here Declan. I would have voted Labour in the vain hope that they would put some manners on FG if need be. Needless to say we can all see how that one is panning out. All I see now from this Gov is arrogance, bullyboy tactics and threats towards this people at the behest of unelected euro bureaurats and their financier masters.

• Pic 11, in related news Cannabis Seized in Cavan

Add New Comment