TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

In pictures: The final day of the Fine Gael Ard Fheis

The event came to a close with a speech by Enda Kenny at the Convention Centre in Dublin last night.

THE FINE GAEL Ard Fheis drew to a close in Dublin last night as Taoiseach Enda Kenny delivered his keynote address to delegates.

The event at the Dublin Convention Centre was not without controversy as the blinds were pulled down over the windows looking out onto a protest against the household charge.

There was much focus on the man charged with implementing the tax, Phil Hogan, but the main event went off without a hitch as Taoiseach Enda Kenny told the delegates and the nation: “We will not celebrate until Ireland has reason to celebrate.”

Here’s a few pictures from yesterday’s events:

In pictures: The final day of the Fine Gael Ard Fheis
1 / 27
  • Fine Gael Ard Fheis

Stephen Kilkenny/LightCurvePhoto
  • Fine Gael Ard Fheis

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Fine Gael Ard Fheis

Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
  • Fine Gael Ard Fheis

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
  • Fine Gael Ard Fheis

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
  • Fine Gael Ard Fheis

Hogan thanks 798,957 Household Charge registrants for ‘genuine patriotism’

In full: Enda Kenny’s speech at the Fine Gael Árd-Fheis

As it happened: Enda Kenny’s speech to the Fine Gael Árd Fheis

FG members vote to prioritise same-sex marriage in convention

Read next:

Comments (126 Comments)

• Brian. Successful people?? Ha ha – laughable!! The recent outcomes of Mahon prove that your “successful” people are in actual fact criminals!! Now I know what will be next, FG are squeaky clean, give me a break!! Is Bertie successful, was Charlie?? This is not the way you measure success. How about paying them a wage associated to their careers, Enda as a school teacher etc etc. this would be fairer and measure them by their actual contribution! I still think 2 terms is enough for any of them plus pension only at 65. The only way these lads get elected is money and favours, how is this a measure of success?

Politics is about serving the people an should be a vocation, no other vocational career affords saleries, expenses, tax breaks and loopholes such as those in the Dail and yes Brian I’m talking about all I them, Sinn Fein and all!

Also, as I have said I’ve nothing to do with Sinn Fein so get off your high horse about it

• Like wise John J
    This is why I will never pay this HHC , I have been called a criminal, a scrounger, lazy, and ignorant . I am none of these all by up standing loyal card carrying FG ‘ers .I voted for this party , I trusted their lies, well ,so much for trust . Never again.

• 3rd last one with Noonan………..mmm interesting pose.

• Shanti you only have to look at the post s from Gavin, David et al.. For the true FG manifesto. Attack the people, kick em when their down.. It’s vile!! And I was there too, the waves and taunts were solely directed To get a reaction and to piss us off! This is one shamful government hiding behind the rehtoric of FF when in actual fact they are WORSE than FF.

• they won’t be celebrating in 4yrs time when the’re not in govt.

• So it’s back to Fianna Fail again? When will people ever learn.

• No it’s not back to FF. You’re the one not learning if you think there’s only FF FG or Labour to chose from.

• Well said patsy joe & Reada!

• And

• And so who will be in government instead? Sinn Fein?

• David Higgins. Yes please. I’d love Sinn Féin, ULA and some socially conscious Independents rather than wooden politicians carrying out orders for financial institutions.

I’m surprised you’re prepared to ask questions to “scumbags” like me?

• I see poor David Higgins of the trinity lodge of the Young Fine Gael Twits is now posting comments under the name of “South Dublin”. Give yourself a few thumbs up Dave. By any chance were you instructed to stop posting unpopular/neoliberal ideas on this site by your masters?

• My twitter name hasn’t changed if you had bothered to click into it and see. Must be a glitch of some sort. Do you have anything constructive to add to this or are you just trolling?

It’s probably not something you’d understand but I post here because I actually want to and agree with this government and want to see FG policy implemented. Likewise people with opposing views aren’t controlled by SF, ULA or any other organisation. Hard to believe isn’t it :)

• Glitch!!! Good one Dave. Thats up there with Denis O’Brien just “happened” to be on the same stage with your Fuhrer.

• John 01/04/12 #

There’s a good reason why FG weren’t in power for 16 yrs and the ONLY reason they’re in power now is because of the anti FF vote transferring to them.
      For example, think of the D.I.R.T. Tax levied by FG…they thrive on imposing indirect taxation which basically screws most of the working class. Think of Michael Noonan’s treatment of Women in the Hep-C case. Attempting to put a tax on Children’s shoes which failed spectacularly.
      FG are so sparse of talent…they’re like a junior club football team being thrown into a Senior All-Ireland Final…completely out of their depth.
      They have an Agenda alright…but as for whose really pulling their strings to implement this agenda, remains to be seen? Sell the Country to the highest bidder Mr.Kenny, we’ll see how high you raise your arms then?!

• I love people who vocally support Sinn Fein, it’s as good as them running around with “I’m a fucking idiot” signs attached to their heads. It makes their retarded opinions so much easier to avoid.

Uneducated fucking idiots, I might add.

• You think so Patsyjoe??? You speak for the country now? If he continues to work as hard as he is now…I would say there is a great chance they will be back…

• kinda funny hearing some arsehole from FG slaggin off SF.

FG, the party that loves licking the boots of its EU masters
      while crapping on its own people.

Yes Briain, come back when FG starts standing up for Irish people.
      Yer nothing but little lapdogs.
      Woof WooF!

• Still on here foaming from the mouth, Joseph?

You should really take Shatter’s advice. You spent your Saturday at a pathetic protest and are spending your Sunday spouting inane, anti-Government bullshit online. I’m sure it makes no odds to you as you’ve probably nothing to do for the week, but nevertheless, get a life Joseph.

• No B, im laughing!

ur lacking in such imagination that all u can do is repeat
      Shatters “get a life” comment.

I would back any gov that stood up for the people.

When the stiffy u clearly have from yesterday wears off,
      i really do hope the gov develops some courage.

whilst im tempted to think that u are a reflection of FG attitudes,
      i won’t,
      instead i will choose to think that there is a bigger % of
      decent people who populate ur ranks.

• Joseph….classy words… Arsehole i think you said… I’d say that just about sums you up allright..

• kinda funny you don’t make any reference to your compatriots…. classy …. language

What do u think of this language that he uses

“fucking idiot”

” retarded”

“Uneducated fucking idiots”

“bullshit”

” yet the morons in this country”

” knackers”

I await what i doubt will be an intelligent response :-)

• A lot said.

Nothing done.

• Very interesting salute by Noonan in pic 25

• Those pictures are comedy gold! I find that I can’t take Fine Gael serious!

• A friend of mine (an SNA) was at the protest yesterday. She says that the Fine Gael guys were shouting, cursing and SPITTING at the protestors.
    When I saw her speak of it on FB she was saying there was one man giving her personally an earful, he basically told her to “get a job you scrounger” (as she said – she has never not worked, but her job has been attacked, as SNAs have been cut), the taunts and foul language does not surprise me, after all, I’ve seen the way these guys behave on Oireachteas Report, but spitting? That’s disgraceful. Only complete knackers spit on people. And these were the people attending the Ard Fheis! They are allegedly the dignified ones (seeing as they are casting their assumptions of unemployment upon the protestors).. It’s disgusting and they should be ashamed of themselves.

• James Reilly’s hair looks like a judge’s wig in pic 15…

• Pic 19. “I can smell the money off ya Phil. Were you rolling around the mail bags in the nip again?”

• Enda doing his Jesus impersonations in pics 22, 23 & 24

• David why did you change your user name to south Dublin obviously don’t have the courage of your convictions. Mind you you kept your picture doh not very bright

• Not sure why that’s coming up over my photo. Glitch of some sort. Click into my twitter and you’ll see my name hasn’t changed.

• perhaps by accident you forgot that one of your other multiple accounts that you use
      to spread ‘the good word’ far and wide on the net was open before posting?

ur not also DubInNaas are you Davey?

maybe youbetterpayup?

ah what am i sayin,
      it was a glitch, emm, right?

• This is so typical of FGers!! Change the game to suit themselves. Caught right out on that one David. Glitch my eye, how many handles have you got in the name of spreading FG shite. Your right Joeseph could be all the trolls you mentioned above. Shameful tactics again from a party who cares not for it’s voters!!

• #davidhigginschanginghisaccountnamegate

Do you really think I’d change account names, not change the photo and then post on a site that allows people to click into the account and see recent tweets, thus revealing that it IS me.

This has to be the worst conspiracy theory ever :)

• nah davey, i was only pullin ur leg

• There seems to be a lot of back slapping and self congratulating going on if you ask me despite Enda saying there was nothing to celebrate…

• Shatter has a bit of a bond villain pose, something very unsettling about him

• Oh the irony.
    Keep up the great work FG supporters.If you could only take a step back and reread your comments,you would realize,you are rehashing old FF supporters comments.Same circus,different clowns.

• Briain, are you calling my friend, a decent, hard working, SPECIAL NEEDS ASSISTANT a scumbag or a liar?

• Oh my, you do like to take your assumptions as fact don’t you..

• There was NO Violence . I was there and I did hear ”Shame” being shouted at these characters . There were plenty of old aged pensioners on the protest too , decent respectable people.
    FG would want to pull in their horns and tell their representatives to behave themselves. Shocking behavior from elected representatives their associates and party members

• B7584 01/04/12 #

CRINGE Mr.Kenny, CRINGE.

• Reada how was the protest? I was watching on tv last night and was delighted to see such a turn out. I think you should take enda kennys place your the only one that talks sense on this site. I’d vote for you.

• @ John, she didn’t mention that, no.. I can only assume that she did not witness it first hand. And there’s no need for the inverted commas.. She actually exists. I did see the story on that and I agree – that behaviour too is appalling. Physical violence and flinging your bodily fluids at people is never necessary. And the people responsible should be charged for assault.

However – I did not tar all FG supporters with a wide brush – I said that the ones spitting should be ashamed of themselves as it is most undignified.

I have come to expect ad hominems / straw men / red herrings as debating tactics from FG / Lab via watching Oireachtas Report and seeing their members debate here – but I never would have thought a party supporter would stoop that low.

• BTW Shame was being shouted at the idiots who happened to push their way through a crowd of 10,000 respectable people , how would anyone have known who they were unless they probably started saying stuff….. Like the women who were handing out the placards that read …Support the banks , do not default . They were were there to cause trouble . I saw them do this . Horrible bitches , but they disappeared into the crowd . No one was fooled .

• Aidan 01/04/12 #

Shanti you should stop entertaining this fools comments. He’s a troll or a prat.

• B7584 01/04/12 #

Nice facist salute from Noonan in photo 25.

• David your Enda kenny speech boner still hasn’t gone away. It was just empty promises and the usual political BS. We have turned a corner, were over the worst. Empty words and no real gesture towards the people of Ireland who are suffering at the moment. The businesses that are closing each week the upward only rent promises that where reneged. ” all the lies that you told me” springs to mind when I heard kenny’s speech.

• I saw Enda last night. He’s a disaster. He is out of his depth. This is getting serious. Even the die-hard FG audience didn’t believe him. He was like a bad actor. A puppet. A Stepford Taoiseach.

What are we going to do? I’ve never voted either FF nor FG, but I do have to ask ye Fine Gael as punishment for allowing Fianna Fáil? Did the crime really warrant such a harsh punishment?

It cannot be tolerated anymore.

• i’m crouched down in front of the toilet bowl now, thanks again finegael.

• Did you see the pictures? How do you know she was in the same place as that happening? I don’t.. And knowing her she would have been the first to try and stop any violence she saw in progress.
    Your assumptions are incorrect.

• Pic 26 “Noonan drops bomb at Ard Fheis”

• B7584 01/04/12 #

Fine Gael scum!

• Brian. I I’m now nor ever will be anything to do with Sinn Fein so I don’t know why you have indicated as such.

Fact of matter is that if they went with a system as I have suggested it would show the world and the country we are serious about our economy and would be “leading by example”! The system is flawed and needs changing

David, showing us a link to the speach does has nothing to do with my comment!

I’ve had to post a new comment a both Brian and David have somehow removed their reply to buttons.

• So it looks like the only responses from theses FGers is party spin and insult to the majority of the population! Well done lads!! You are great examples of what is wrong with this government!

• Sorry Paddy, I have a life, I can’t just answer every comment within a certain time frame. I know the same can’t be said about the anti-government, socialist, lunatics around here.

These are successful people, why should they be paid the same as unsuccessful people? Why not benchmark their pay to the leaders of similar roles such as company leaders?

Oh, that’s right, because these demands are being made by unsuccessful people, who never made anything of life and are only out to make other people’s life misery.

As the great man Winston Churchill said “Socialism is the philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy.”. Spot on, Mr Churchill.

• this gets better!

briain has a life! funny funny funny.

anyone who protests doesn’t have a life,
      but briaian has a life,

ehh yea sure thing there b

• I will tell you all now . I will never vote FF/ FG/ Labour ever again . and if SF is all that is there so be it with the ULA and independents

• John I agree, I referred to a behaviour as being dispicable – do I think all of FG are, no. That would be tarring them all with the same brush and completely illogical. Attack the argument not the man.
    Nor do I lump scorn upon those who chose to pay – that is their business and I don’t feel it’s worth creating that divide, not everyone is into activism, most just want to keep their head down and do their best getting by – and that’s fair enough.
    I do however take exception to people casting personal assumptions upon people they do not know and have never met.. To me that’s the equivalent of using “you’re a poo poo head” as a cornerstone in your debate.. There’s no need, deal with people on their individual actions and words, there’s no need for the rest.

• I have not payed my household charge, But I will never be associated with people who call ordinary people, FG scum, so if someone has a differing view then their scum

• B7584 01/04/12 #

When is Labours Ard Fheis?

• The journal is rapidly becoming the online version of “Liveline”. With lots of moaning shinners and moaning left wing pinko types….

• Attack the people and not the message, great post there gavin…..yawn……any more labels for the people who have a problem with having their lives destroyed by your buddies?

• gavin has nothing except blind loyalty to The Party,
      and anyone who doesn’t agree with The Party
      gets childishly put into the shinner/left wing pinko bin.

seriously, do people in FG still refer to people as “left wing pinko types”?
      Just shows how outta touch yis are.

i suppose 800,000 of us are shinners and left wing pinko types too?

or maybe we are just rogue elements in society,
      dissidents maybe?

A message has been sent to you and FG.
      How do u interpret this message?
      Will you conveniently simply label 800,000 households as criminals?

Yea, you probably will, saves you having to think about it.

• If that’s your reason to be here Gavin then that’s OK with me, I don’t mind you moaning!!

• Hah! Absolutely! Not just the journal, but every other resource they can find to log on and ramble about issues they have absolutely no comprehension of. I suppose this is the price we must pay for making the internet available to people of below average income and intelligence (two things that are strongly correlated, I might add).

Thankfully here in the real world, gobshites such as Sinn Fein, the ULA, etc have no real support, as the dire turnout to the “protest” proved yesterday. The inclusion of violence, spitting and harassment by said protesters merely served to highlight the calibre of the people involved and indeed, will do nothing but serve to continue to keep ordinary, decent people from involving themselves in such “movements”.

Have a chuckle at their expense, the rest of us decent people most certainly are.

• Er, it was the FG crowd that was spitting..

• briain,
      emmmm 800,000 households don’t think FG are so cool.

whatcha think of dem apples?

• Joseph, a week ago the “Don’t Register, Don’t Pay” crowd were boasting that 1.4 million didn’t think FG “were so cool” and that there was going to be a massive protest at the Ard Fheis.

Fast forward a week later and 42% of those people have paid the charge and of the original 1.4 million who hadn’t paid, a mere .2% turned out to “protest” over it.

What does that say to you? It would say that the overwhelming majority of people want NOTHING to do with the “protestors” or their cause and the rapid payments being made would indicate that most people just hadn’t bothered doing it.

When you strip down the figures further, how many of that 4,000 were actually liable for the household charge? 50%? Less? So lets just round down and say somewhere between .1% and .2% of households don’t think FG are “so cool”.

The “movement” is failing rapidly. Hilariously quickly in fact. I’m sure the protestors and the organisers aren’t too concerned though as I’m bloodly well sure that those people are used to failure, indeed they spend their lives failing.

Shanti, it wasn’t the FG crowd who were spitting or causing trouble. Get a grip.

• I am basing what I said on the eye witness account of a friend who said she could not believe it as she expaceted more adult behaviour from members of a political party..
      Maybe YOU should get a grip. All you have don’t around here is push your assumptions.
      I know many who couldn’t make it to the protests, many who fear protests after seeing the way protestors have been treated in the past (Gardaí assaulting members of the public – both in attendence and not at protests, protestors being bottle necked by Gardaí on horses – all of which got plenty of airtime on the main evening news), some people do not wish to be associated with the assumptions you have made about protestors, some realise that sadly certain elements of society hijack protests to make them more violent which is something I personally resent as it undermines the protests intention.

I wonder why you have so much contempt for those who seek to oppose what our Taoiseach said was a morally wrong charge on people’s homes before he got into office, when the guy in charge of the whole affair won’t pay his service charges on his penthouse in Portugal.. It is the people’s duty to remind government who their bosses are. Perhaps you just prefer being lied to.

• i do like when people like yourself come ‘out’
      to play with the rest of us.
      It gives a great insight to the arrogance of the G of the country.

alas, you haven’t accounted for the 800,000 households who haven’t paid.

Ur probably right, some will fold, and pony up their 100 quid,
      tho with FG members like urself on here calling them pathetic
      it may just help some to keep their resolve going.
      So thank you for that.

We voted change. Where is it?

I know theres very little point to expecting you
      to answer these questions honestly,
      as with FF, you and members like you
      will ALWAYS put party and the EU before
      the people.

• Resolve? Don’t make me laugh! Most of the unpaid charges are due to laziness, as the last week has shown.

Oh and it’s not “100 quid” any more, Joseph :)

I’ll put the EU before unemployed protestors any day of the week.

• I kinda like the whole get a life thing thing.
      100% guaranteed to come back in the future and bit ur ass.
      bit like bertie and his naysayers should commit suicide.

Still has a ring to it…
      let me try it out…
      Joe Get A life Mcgee…
      yea, i could live with that.

Definitely better than

Get Some Balls!

• Braain mutha fuggin mac cawn
      I am not lazy . I can work a computer . I will not pay this charge and shame on FG

• Shanti
      Don’t mind these guys , this is what they are good at . They twist your words . I hope you have your privacey settings on fb at private or they will be leaving you comments . just sayin , you can not be too careful with some types. I was at the protest yesterday and saw no violence, no spitting, I saw joy and unity.

• I love Noonan’s “Fine Gael” salute in picture 25

• What a delusional bunch on here. Proposing a bunch of former terrorists pseudo socialists as a viable alternative government. Raving lunatic party the lot of ye. FG might not be as without sin or lack of foresight but they’re the only viable government for the next 9 years by which time we’ll be on very strong footing, and hopefully people haven’t forgotten about FF disastrous management. Or their own greed and stupidity.

• Yeah cause the two principal parties in the state evolved from fairydust and rainbows as opposed to armed insurrection?
      Forgot about all those acts of ‘terrorism’ Pearse Doherty carried out the bad huer!

• ‘FG might not be without sin…..’ that’s your answer there. As a reformed FG voter (now sickens me to think I wasted my vote AND got dupped by all the lies) I will tell you what I said to kenny… I waited years to see FF out of power Its a shame my vote went to wate as FF might as well still hold the helm, at least they destroyed the country as a snails pace, FG are destroying it like its the fashionable thing to do and are gloating about it.!!! Never will I vote FG or Lab again, someone else turn….you missed the boat!! Move on…next party to have a go!! Sooner or later we will have a reputable government that answers to the people and it’s not FG!

• Well said Frank. Irish people are prone to “NIMBY” and will vote for whoever they think will affect their own pocket the least, regardless of what it would do to the country overall. We saw this at the last general election when Labour were given most of the swing vote and now we’re seeing it being transferred onto Sinn Fein.

The very same people who voted for FF (and now deny it), voted for Labour in the last election thinking that it would stop their pockets taking a hit and are now in dismay that the country is actually in a state and that everyone actually does need to take a hit. Instead of facing up to this, they’re now proposing that Sinn Fein be in government, because they think THEY will protect their pockets now that their pockets have been ‘betrayed” by Fine Gael/Labour.

It’s self-serving bullshit but thankfully most people are intelligent enough that it will stop them giving their vote to a policy-less, terrorism backing organisation of scum when it actually comes down to it. An organisation with their hands so deeply covered in the blood of innocent people that they will never be clean. The same organisation that are indeed in Government in the north and have never accomplished one single thing. The same organisation that has an MEP (Mary Lou) who had the single worst attendance record of all members of parliament. They’re a disgrace yet the morons in this country will back them because they think that their pockets will be safer.

Sure, they would send Ireland back to the Iron ages, have our ties with Europe severed for nothing and put the country into a state that it would absolutely never recover from, but sure they’d tax us less, right?

Their support currently lies with the knackers and the desperate (in terms of their self-interests). Come the next GE, the desperate will have moved on and we’ll see SF return to being solely comprised of the absolute dregs of Irish society.

• when we the electorate voted in FG/LAB,
      solely based on givin the fingers to FF,
      little did we realise what a bunch of arrogant self-serving liars
      were we putting into office.
      FG/Lab = FuckingGutless Liars

Even the sun shines on a dogs arse once in a while,
      so enjoy the sunshine while it lasts my arrogant friend.

For the record, I was at the protest
      and i am not associated to ANY political party.

• Rabble rabble rabble.

Joseph, get a life.

• says the great hero who has gives his allegiance to
      a political party that reneges on their promises.

I may or may not have much of life
      but at the very least i still retain the ability
      to engage in independent thought
      and don’t have to rely on a ‘party’ to tell me what
      i should or shouldn’t believe in.

FG real motto
      “Blindly Following Where Wally Brains Have Gone Before”

• Oh, the irony!

Independent thought, is it? No, not so. Yourself and many of the other left-wing or socialist nutjobs posting here are merely spamming the mantras of the parties you subscribe to. You may not be a part of any party, but you’re taking your “thoughts” from the rantings of many established parties. There is nothing “independent” about it. “Thought”? Perhaps so, it doesn’t really give it much value though, does it?

Most of the socialist bullshit I’ve read here has come from uneducated people ignorant of economics or politics, much like Sinn Fein as a party actually, who rely on unfounded yet “popular” bullshit to gain support. As we saw with the Lisbon Treaty, we’re seeing it now with the Fiscal Pact, the socialist/left see no value in fact it would appear.

One thing is certain, I would trust something FG say over the opinions of a terrorism backing, scumbag organisation such as Sinn Fein, any day of the week. Sinn Fein, and those that support them, are failures and have failed for a reason and as such, are absolutely not worth listening to.

Once again Joseph, get a life.

• Get a life! FG’s new mantra for those who express any oppostion
      to your policy of continuing on where FF left off.

You still haven’t explained why 800,000 households haven’t paid?

Why dear briain is that do you think?

• @Shanti, What is a disgrace is an old age pensioner been beaten up by the protesters, because he looked like Hogan. Did your “friend” not mention that to you ?

• “Ladies and Gentlemen, this is a great country with unlimited potential. I can tell you that across the world from Boston to Beijing, Ireland is seen as a country making steady progress. We have the best young generation in the world. If we harness all our qualities together, nothing can hold us back” – Enda Kenny

• Is Enda Kenny not also receiving a Ministerial pension, while holding the office of Taoiseach? Is he not also paying himself 50,000 euro per year on top of that again, as a party leader? Is Gilmore not paying himself 23,000 per year as a party leader also? They are robbed of morality, if think this is justifiable. I call it financial terrorism.

• David, can you please respond to the issue highlighted below on the absolutely extortionate wages and expenses that the Government get. In my view unvouched expenses should be banned. The government should either have accommodation in Dublin by means of modest apartments or have a deal done with a 2 star hotel and the Dail members only claim back public transport costs (if its good enough for us it should be good enough for them). On top of this they should get the average industrial wage, Ministers 5k more and Taoiseach 5k more. Also only two terms allowed – this would sort the men from the boys!

• Sure watch the video and see for yourselves. http://youtu.be/HhKLELH5_x4

• I watched the video… and he never once mentions how much money he is ripping us off to psy his salary…. Why did you post the video?

• I am delighted to see the Ard Fheis went off without a hitch and one can only have a hearty laugh at the “national movement” that culminated in 4,000 little knackers sat outside the Convention Hall for a short period in the afternoon. Knackers who, in grand gestures of violence and phlegm, managed to make a pathetic “movement” look even worse than it is already perceived.

A measly 4,000. Pathetic. Although, with that being said, what decent person would go and stand side by side with Sinn Fein, ULA, SWP or Eirigi supporters?

I hope those at the “protest” who caused trouble to those attending the Ard Fheis are prosecuted to the full extent of the law, but I’m sure many of the same already have criminal records. Perhaps the abolition of their benefits might teach them to behave properly instead?

• You couldn’t have fit any more logical fallacies into your comment if you had tried. You labelled them knackers automatically which is an immediate ad hominem, the comments about benefits is in poor taste – a) many lost their jobs through no fault of their own and b) not everyone was unemployed. Your comment about knackers I assume relates back to my description of the behaviour of some FG supporters.. Notice – I didn’t label them all knackers, I said the behaviour was becoming of a knacker, whereas you just jump in with your your giant tarring brush..

You call for prosecutions – which for anyone who did something illegal I would agree, but to protest is not illegal. Civil disobedience is not illegal – in fact both are our patriotic duty.

Your comments demeaning the protestors as “pathetic” is just snide.. This was what I meant by the manner in which our ruling party conducts itself within the Oireachteas. If anything is pathetic, it is being unable to make your case without resorting to fallacy.

• If this is the party stance of FG about a number of people (a lot more than the now reduced number of 4000 from
      FG) who for the most part were exercising their democratic right to protest God help our little country!!

It was more like 10,000 and regardless the full protest I over 50% of the population!

• I take exception to your generalization of the people at the protest on Saturday.
      I, myself couldn’t be there, because I had to work, but the protestors have my full support.
      As for people being called , scumbags and scrounges , shinners etc. I think that kind of statement smacks of “lording” it over the classes..
      I work unsociable hours, and live on the commuter belt, I pay my taxes , prsi etc for services, yet they cut the nite links that used to service my area….!!!
      €25 every time I want to get home at night.
      So please tell me, how an upward only household service charge is going to improve services.. !!

• Buy a bike, Colm. They’re only a few hundred euro for a good one and the Government bike to work scheme should help you out also.

Last time I checked, Dublin Bus was a fairly hefty loss maker. Massive fair hikes or cuts to services, I believe people accept the latter a lot quicker.

• Ignore this nasty little man . His kind will not be around for long . I was so very proud to have been one of the real Irish Patriots outside the conference centre ,protesting the lies and injustices brought in by these idiots .

• You’re not using the term “logical fallacy” correctly there, but good attempt…I suppose.

Comments on benefits being poor taste? Not really. If you’re on benefits and are found to be causing trouble, you should have your benefits stripped from you. Simple as really. I mentioned it above as I said that criminal charges wouldn’t be much of a deterrent as most of the people involved probably have criminal records already.

I didn’t call the protesters pathetic, I said their “movement” or the result of all their work was pathetic. Only 4,000 people showed up. There’s still 1 million or so to pay the household charge, what would that say to you? It would say to me that most decent people want absolutely nothing to do with the people involved in these protests.

Indeed, I would question how many of that 4,000 are actually liable for the household charge, and how many just turned up for the opportunity to cause trouble or “protest” about the Government on matters that they have absolutely no clue about. I would genuinely be surprised if more than 50% of that 4,000 were liable for the charge.

The reports coming out of it are that the protestors spat at people, invoked violence, harassed people, singled out people for abuse and more. They’re knackers. If you stood around quietly while this was going on and didn’t try to stop it, you’re no better. These reports are widespread and indeed the Gardai yesterday said that the protestors were at times acting like animals. It served as proof that their “movement” had failed and was worthless. Not to mention how quickly they disbanded (and it’s not like those people had anywhere to be) and the mess they left behind them. The whole thing, from the planning of it to the final moments of it, was pathetic.

The message that those organising it should take away is that the ordinary, decent Irish person wants absolutely nothing to do with them.

• The girl I spoke to said the FG came at them. It was peaceful until they got there, giving the crowd the finger, shouting abuse, spitting.. I’ve seen that happen before.
      Are you denying that labelling all of the protestors “knackers” is an ad hominem attack? An assumption? A guilt by association with your assumption?

It’s you who doesn’t understand fallacy.

• I’m sorry Shanti but it’s becoming increasingly more difficult to take you seriously. You’ve seen FG supporters spitting at protestors before have you? Where was this? Do provide the reports from the media about it.

I’ll tell you what I have seen before, and there is lots of media evidence of it – left-wing fringe groups and SF supporters appearing at protests to push their own agenda or merely cause trouble. Two examples – the student fees protests and the last orange order march here. Two perfect examples of protests being hijacked by socialist fringe groups such as the ULA/SWP and SF.

I’ll call them knackers until proven otherwise, my experience of them has concluded that there is only the very odd decent person among them and the majority are nothing but knackers who are begrudging the success of others out of pure spite from their own failures in life.

So the girl you spoke to says FG “came at them”, but didn’t see any of the spitting or violence by the protestors, the abuse and harassment of even elderly people? Sorry but that’s bullshit and nothing more. If you’re going to base your entire knowledge of an event on the comments of one person, who appears to be nothing short of a liar, then you’re even more ignorant than you’re making yourself out to be.

• I agree, protests get hijacked.
      Having said that, I’ve also seen Gardaí not wearing their ID numbers attack people who were not doing anything wrong. I have seen parents walking their kids home from school get bottle necked by Gardaí on horses because their route carried them by the protests.. And guess what? It was on the Six One News.

Are you so naive to think that it’s all so black and white? There are elements in the protestors out looking for trouble – I don’t disagree, but they are not the organisers and they are not there to protest – they are there for trouble – to equate them with the people protesting is incorrect. There is also what is known as an “agent provocateur” and if you aren’t aware of how they are used then may I suggest you learn about it.

If you are trying to suggest that FG behaved in a dignified manner – did you see the photo posted above? It’s only a minister giving the 2 finger salute, but surely that would be beneath those you hold in such high regard?

And by the way, how dare you make personal attacks upon a woman who is not here to defend herself properly.. Shame on you.

• Where you’re wrong is saying that the organisers and those causing trouble at protests are two different groups. They’re one and the same. They turn up to any protests organised to push their own agendas, and they organise protests themselves. Once the socialists and left are involved there will be trouble as these groups are populated predominately by uneducated, spiteful little knackers who are out to do one thing and one thing only.

The picture you reference was of a woman giving the fingers to the protestors. Not dignified, no, but 10000x better than the treatment people attending the Ard Fheis were given by the people she was giving the finger to. Innocent people were being harassed, abused, shouted at, spat at, hit and more while making their way to the Ard Fheis. An old man was beaten for merely looking like one of their “opponents”. So yeah, someone giving the fingers is nothing to be riled up about, I have a much bigger issue with the outright scumbag tactics employed by the protestors yesterday that are now being denied today.

It is a shame that they weren’t just that little bit more violent though, as I would have LOVED to see the Gardai riot squad and mounted branch exercising their rights to contain a riot on the people who were behaving in the manner I mentioned above.

If you’re going to talk about someone who isn’t here in a positive light, I’ve an equal right to discuss what you say about her. She is denying having seen anything and is indeed making claims that basically nobody else who protested have made. She is pretty blatantly lying.

• Ah Briain, your assumptions bite you again..

I didn’t say she denied seeing anything, I said she hadn’t mentioned it. I asked her on FB but she hasn’t been online yet today.. She may well have seen it – I DON’T KNOW, and neither do you, so get back in your box and spare us your assumptions, it is more fallacy.

By the way, I’m looking for reports of this assault you claim.. I see a report that says a man mistaken for Phil Hogan was CONFRONTED, no public order offences were logged and no arrests were made – a far cry from the “assault” that you claim happened.. The reports from those WHO WERE THERE say there was no violence apart from some isolated vocal rowdiness quelled by the other protestors.. Were you there? Can you dispute their accounts? Or could you please post evidence that this assault did indeed occur?

It’s clear, you read what you wanted – despite the fact the text said otherwise.. It is you who is lying..

• I can only laugh at your accounts briain …. I was speaking to a very nice Garda Sergeant on the quays after the protest and he said it was a perfect example of how a protest should be , because the people at it were decent and respectable . Briain , you are telling porkies….

• If she was in attendance at the protest and stood there quietly supporting the violence, harassment and abuse directed towards even elderly people merely going into their party’s Ard Fheis, then she is a scumbag. There was widespread trouble caused by the measly 4,000 that turned out for it and for someone to claim they did NOT see these things happening, well then they’re a liar.

So yes, I don’t care what her job is, her behaviour is what she is judged on. If she supported that behaviour and is claiming it didn’t happen then she’s both a scumbag and a liar.

• @John Johnson: Absolutely. Attacked for merely looking like someone. It speaks volumes about the calibre of person attending the protest and it will most certainly drive any decent person who was there away from involving themselves in any further protests.

The only reason the scumbag “protesters” are now claiming the Ard Fheis attendees were spitting at them is to try and justify or downplay the reports of their (the protesters) behaviour that are quickly spreading. They made an absolute arse of themselves, at a time when their “movement” was already embarrassed due to the horrendous turnout.

• Oh I’m sure she would have jumped in and stopped the violence and other terrible carry on by the protesters…she just happened to not be near it nor notice any of it going on in what was a rather small crowd. I’m sure ;)

• Shanti, what do you know about fact? You’re basing your entire knowledge of the protest on the words of someone who is clearly a liar. Don’t even talk to me about fact, it’s nowhere near your operating domain.

Add New Comment