TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Most of Ireland’s new citizens do not feel part of society

The survey found that 86 per cent of our new citizens have completed third level education while over 80 per cent are working.

Image: Immigrant Council of Ireland

MORE THAN HALF of Ireland’s new citizens believe their new status has not lead to greater integration.

The survey by the Immigrant Council of Ireland together with academics of UCD found that 86 per cent of our new citizens have completed third level education while over 80 per cent are working.

The survey also found that the majority of new citizens are in their thirties or forties and just under a quarter came here with a work permit. The majority of them, 38 per cent, are from Asia, 26 per cent are from Africa and 12.5 per cent are from the EU.

Of those who answered the question on voting patters, 80.3 per cent had voted in local elections; 59.2 per cent in Referenda; 53.5 per cent in general elections; 26.8 per cent in European elections and 43.7 per cent in Presidential elections.

Speaking ahead of the Active Citizenship Conference in Dublin today, Denise Charlton, Chief Executive of the Immigrant Council of Ireland said:

This figure [52 per cent] is interesting in the broader context of belonging, and demonstrates the need to recognise the contribution of our new citizens as well as ensuring that they are given equal opportunity to participate equally in society and contribute to our economic recovery.

Politicians have a duty to look after the needs of our new voters and not just paying them lip service at election time. We must also end complacency over complex issues such as racism.

Read: Immigrants “do not fare as well as Irish nationals” in labour market >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (122 Comments)

• I have trouble feeling like a valued citizen myself.
    If you’ve just arrived here please remember that we are an Island nation with an Island mentality, no offence intended it’s just the way we are.
    But in general, we’re great bunch of lads!

• Well said Little Jim!! Lovely people here is one of the reasons I am still living and contributing in Ireland!

• Here here! And the craic is awesome!

• I feel the multicultural love here, sure the craic unites us ;)

• I got onto the 37 bus last week and heard a young Asian child speak in 3 different languages including Irish, wanted to clap I was so impressed.

• I don’t want to seem unkind but if they feel very very strongly could they not return to their country of origin?

• They toook ‘r jobs!

• Little Jim. You are actually proud of holding to a moribund and backward insular (natives’) mindset . By proclaiming : “its just the way we are” – only goes to show that you’ll never change your limited outlook on life – even when held upside down over a crocodile’s pit.

• No one took your jobs. Because the jobs didn’t belong to you in the beginning.

• @marlon

Easy tiger !

I don’t want to be rude in reply but please don’t make statements like that

• Little Red Thumb Boy… I don’t take your comment as being rude. However, when people imply that the jobs in Ireland belong to the Irish….. Or outsiders and Blow Ins are taking Irish jobs…. How should one reply?

• Django, I am very proud to be part of this little island nation.
      There’s a strong sense of “us” here that you won’t get anywhere else. That does make it tough to integrate into but it’s worth it. People like it here because we are the way we are.
      Stand up and be proud brother.
      Big hug for you!

• @marlon

Perhaps you should think about the generousity of this country for allowing foreigners in here to work in the first place.
      Try entering the US or Australia and see the difference.

I don’t apologise to you or anyone from abroad who has come to live here.

We Irish built this Nation.

We were here when the interest rates were 15% and there were almost 300,000 unemployed and the standard of living was bad.

We were here when few even knew we existed as a nation and certainly didn’t want to come and live here.

We built this country that it was desirable to foreigners to come here to earn money or to get welfare or both.

Ireland didn’t ask anyone from abroad to come and help and Ireland has no obligation to thank any ‘Johnny come lately’ from abroad who came here to make money.

So Marlon if you are a guest in this country, then I would be saying less not more

• Little Red Thumb Boy… Do me a favour and sit on your thumb! You are talking pants. Yes … I am a guest 8n this country wbo pay my way and pay taxes. You speak as if the Irish have never moved else where. There are thousands of Irish living in America illegally, all the while Irish politicians lobby the US Government them citizenship. Is that fair?

It sounds like you never moved off this island. And if you did… You had a bad experience. Whatever the case, hope you find happiness.

• Sorry little red thumb bit where do the billions of euro in aid from the EU factor into the pat-ourselves-on-the-back attitude there? F*cking idiot

• Chai 16/01/13 #

no one took the irish people their jobs.. evryone here can get a job.. its either laziness or professional background or hard work that determines wether you get a job or not… rather than complaining.. do something about it.. employers dont just hire for the sake of hiring.. ive been here for 9 yrs nearly and i dont have a part time job while studyin.. so wat u on about??

PS: i love irish people and the craic… i have great irish friends who just dont think that way..

• What cracks me up about a lot of these new citizens is that they never seem happy, having left places where they did not wish to live in for whatever reason they are happy to come to ireland and when they have their foot in the door start to whinge and complain , what Ireland offers in many ways is far superior to what is on offer to immigrants in many other european countries, would we be made feel so welcom in Nigeria for example I think not , stop crying and looking for attention and as always you have the option to go elsewere

• Buyintialy…. Though I “generally” love everything Irish… I think everyone who relocates to a new location suffers from some type of culture shock. For some with strong ties at home often find difficulty adapting to the new location (food, language, familiarization with culture and systems). I believe the whinging that you speak of isn’t necessarily meant to inflame, but a coping mechanism…. A way with trying to understand what they know to what is new.

When I lived in Boston , I had Irish friends in Dorchester and Southie who often had family members from Ireland trying to make a go of it in America (both legal and illegal). Watched the newcomers evolution of attitude change from excitement to lethargic in energy as they became more and more home sick. As this happened… They whinged more and more.

But then again…. Give me a Irish person that doesn’t whinge

LOL

• 80% working and still not happy to be precise Maryln there is a big difference between being homesick and being a professional moaner , the word ungrateful also comes to mind as stated before if as the article states that most are university educated people then one would assume a certain level of intelligence which seems to be lacking in a lot of the people, lets face the facts here if you are not happy wher you live you move simple as that maybe just some of these intellectual types feel ireland owes them somthing lol

• Is the “Glass half full, or half empty”…. It’s how folks decide to look at things. I’m a Glass Half Full type of guy… However, not everyone has my outlook. I’m sure the folks that you speak of ar not truly ungratefull. Maybe the stress, frustration and confusion makes it difficult for them to actually see how fortunate they are?

• This is a problem anywhere, but while they may wish to become citizens of this country, in some ways, quite naturally they also wish to retain their own sense of identity and culture. So if they wish to integrate, they can. I feel that sometimes some sub-communities establish themselves, and then fail to integrate, and they do this themselves. We’re pretty welcoming as a country, and I have absolutely no doubt that if people wanted to join in with our customs, learn the language, history, sport etc, there are plenty of options. I know of a few Indian parents specifically who have gotten their young kids involved with the GAA as they want their kids who were born here to feel settled and integrated. So I suppose it comes with a want to integrate. The same goes for Irish people who go abroad, some stick with what they know, and integrate with largely Irish communities abroad. I don’t agree that this is the best way to do things. We can’t force them either, it’s not like we state you must learn Irish, your kids must play Gaelic games, or Irish dancing, play traditional Irish music. But the options are there if they so wish.

• If there is any problem with them feeling at home, it is because some of them don’t make an effort. I live in a cul de sac and we are the only Irish household. All 6 other houses are Polish. They are all best buds. It’s only natural to stick to your own kind in a foreign land, but you are isolating yourself from the rest of the country that way. Saying that, I have a friend from Poland who doesn’t have ANY Polish friends. She is fully integrated, Irish accent and colloquialisms and all.

• I am originally from England myself, having lived here 13 years now. If you ask anyone, i’m Irish. I love living here

• I don’t think integration means having no friends from your country of origin. It’s more about attitudes! Plenty of Irish are well integrated in the US or Australia, and they still have Irish friends or frequent Irish venues, they just don’t isolate themselves from the local community. Others live between their pub and GAA games and shun the outside world. Same thing with the Polish here, some of them have diverse friends and experiences, others live inside their own circle.

• Most Irish people don’t feel part of this society either with all the cuts and bailing Bond holders out. So join the club

• 20% not working – that includes all underage, housewifes, students etc. And yes, some %% who claims the dole.

• Most of Irelands citizes don’t feel part of society.

• I think as a nation we have been remarkable in our acceptance of non-irish people into our country, our communities. If you compare the Ireland of today with the Ireland of the 1980’s, we have been asked to accept cultural and community change on an unpresendented level, and have done so remarkably well. I now fear a total erosion of our own unique culture within a short few decades.

• Dave 16/01/13 #

Have the French stopped being French, the Germans stopped being German…etc etc etc. A needless fear and one within our powers to prevent.

• It’s a fact of life that different nationalities don’t mix, NOT all of the time, but most of the time. When you have a large community, say for example, the Islamic community in Ireland, they are pleasant to interact with in shops, as neighbours etc., but they are quite happy to continue outside of that realm in practising their faith and culture together, without us Irish, in the same way Irish people in Saudi Arabia will secretly attempt home-brewing and have their fellow Irishmen around in the dark of night to risk alcohol-poisoning. A lot of cultures are quite similar, the Irish can slot easily into society anywhere in the UK, not so much Germany, Scandinavian countries, go further afield to Russia and Japan and it’s a totally different culture and very hard to adapt to, and so it is true of the reverse. All cultures should be celebrated, put let’s not force people to do things that are unnatural to their very being, it’s patronising and false.

• Neither France, nor Germany are small island nations.

• Michael — We have boats and planes so being an island isn’t that much of a big deal culturally, and hasn’t been for a long time.

” I now fear a total erosion of our own unique culture within a short few decades.”

Culture is a fluid thing; it is always changing. But you seem to think there’ll be some kind of sudden rupture. What do you think will be eroded? The language? The music? Will they come for our bacon and cabbage? Please be more specific.

• Keeping ones culture takes work. Just like speaking Irish fluently. The said erosion of the Irish culture has nothing to do with poltics or laws. It is related to individual people taking pride in themselves without targeting others in a negative manner.

• Dave 16/01/13 #

No, they are not. Which means they are even more open to the outside world, not less.

• Which part of our culture Michael? Irish people ( and new Irish people ) are totally in control of how we retain our culture. If it is being eroded it is because of the dominance of US culture, not because of a Russian lady teaching her Irish friends how to cook borscht.

If you are worried about it, then learn to play the fiddle, invest in some Irish language lessons, coach the local hurling team and produce some Celtic influenced art. I often find that the people who are worried about our culture being eroded by foreigners are the same lads who will begrudge any centralised efforts to support it (I’m not saying that this is the case with you, but it is something I have noticed.

• Fair play Dennis! I’m sure your opinion is that of the majority.

• Sorry for late reply but only checked back in now. Firstly, Fear is personal, and nobody can tell me what I should and should not fear. Secondly, I do speak Irish and partake in cross-cultural activites. Thirdly, This is Ireland, and Irish Culture should be paramount. Finally, any contrary comments to my own above were based on my “fear” factor, but never acknowledged the vast majority of my comment which related to the fact we have been exceptional in our efforts to integrate non irish people into our communities in a very short period of time.

• someone made a snide remark above – “they took our jobs” … he was having a go at people concerned about immigration , however it is a fact that they are , its a fact that Irish workers are being displaced by immigrant labour.

here below are statistics taken from the CSO website -

Between January to June 2011 –

In Accommodation and Food Service Activities, the figure for non-Irish nationals increased from 25,900 to 30,000 (increase of 4,100), with figures for EU Accession State immigrants increasing from 16,500 to 18,200 (increase of 1,800) and figures for non-EU immigrants (Others) increased from 5,700 to 7,200 (increase of 1,500). Over the same period Irish nationals had an increase of only 100 people from 77,000 to 77,100.

So between the period of January to June 2011, 4,100 extra non-Irish nationals gained employment in the Catering sector, compared to only 100 Irish nationals, in other words, 1 Irish person gained employment for every 41 non-Irish in this sector, and this is only for the period January to June, the same pattern has most likely been repeated in the second half of 2011

• They took jobs that the Irish wouldn’t take! Fact! Same old drivel all the time, I’ve just given a job to a wonderful hardworking polish woman because I was told by my Irish citizens that it wasn’t worth their while. Nice to have a choice whether you work or not. This polish lady has 3 jobs! Paying tax on all 3. She’s contributing to this country so she’s welcome here for as long as she wants.

• yes , you fail to understand that many immigrants coming here “apartment share” in groups , as such they dont have financial pressures such as mortgages to pay , kids to feed etc , therefore they are in a position to take up low paid jobs , if the irish person takes up the job they will not be able to pay their mortgage , bring their kids to the doctor , pay their bills , put food on the table etc for the kind of money they are being offered.

as for the paying of tax argument , well it would be an Irish persons tax if the irish person was given the job in the first place , you know tax will be paid regardless of who is in the job so i dont know why you even mentioned it really

• She has a husband ( who works) and she has a mortgage!!! That’s why she has 3 jobs!! Would you prefer she and her husband not work and live off the welfare system? Or work and pay taxes ?? Reality check freebie!!

• And if you don’t know why I mentioned her paying tax then your more stupid than I thought! With her and thousands like her paying tax we wouldn’t have a welfare system to support those who NEED it. Where do you think your welfare comes from??? Fairies or leprechauns perhaps?

• so she has 3 jobs , she is taking 2 other jobs that could be made available to an unemployed Irish person ??

oh and by the way I’m not on the dole , you made a sweeping comment about where I think my social welfare comes from.

• Most of Ireland’s new citizens do not feel part of society!

Why would someone become a citizen of a country if they didn’t feel apart of society? I maybe missing something?

• I find that a lot of them don’t want to change to our way of. Life thy want us to change to suit them . . When in Rome do as the Romans do same applies here .

• I’m curious…. What are your ways?

• @tax slave. I’m Australian and have been living here for nearly 8 years (and contrary to what most people assume my parents and grandparents are *not* Irish). I whole heartedly agree with your ‘when in Rome’ point I think you can open your mind a little.

As an Australian I didn’t expect there would be any sort of cultural shift for me. There was one, and I’m still learning. As an example, Irish people ask a lot of questions when they meet someone new (where are you from, how long have you been here, how long do you plan to stay, where do you live, where do you work). I actually asked someone once if they were under cover from the GNIB checking up on me the questions were so personal (it was a joke to try to change the subject because I was getting uncomfortable). While I don’t advocate Irish people should change to suit people who move here, some understanding that someone who is still learning what is ‘normal’ might get a wrong impression. I know I said I was joking re the GNIB thing – but imagine what that could be like to people from some cultures.

As another example, I’ve been told loads how ‘brash’ Australians are. I agree this is true, but some things Irish consider to be brash, I consider to be perfectly normal. I’m stil learning things that I consider normal that the Irish consider brash (occasionally rude). I learn by making mistakes and reading people’s reactions, and at times I had to be told things weren’t acceptable. Its been an interesting experience learning all of that, but people’s willingness to let me make mistakes helped. Again, if people are from cultures with stronger differences who aren’t able to read the reactions to things they say and do, or don’t have people telling them ‘that’s not how it works here’ how are they supposed to intergrate.

I reiterate, I whole heartedly agree with the when in Rome aspect – but before say ‘a lot of them don’t want to change’ try to understand that its not always that obvious.

and I second Marlon’s question of ‘what are your ways’

• There’s a lot of resentment out there obviously because every time the word “foreign” comes up on this site the closet, resentful “they should all go home” brigade comes out to play, you can dress it up but there’s a word for it. 80% are working but instead the conversation focuses on the 20%. We are in the middle of the biggest recession since the 1930’s! integration takes work, and a little openness, from all concerned.

• I dont think anyone is resentful , they are just concerned about the pressure all this immigration is having on social welfare lists , housing lists, hospital lists , jobs lists etc etc , nobody is coming out of a closet or any sort of storage area , basically people are worried and have every right to be especially seeing as we dont have the authority to control our borders and the country is descending into chaos.

• o right I stand corrected than. its not what it looks like at all,its just the newcomers are responsible for putting unnecessary pressure on frontline social services and damn it “they are taking our jobs” ” they’re taking our jobs” any similarity to past depression/ recessions are totally coincidental no more to see here folks.
      I mean I can remember when frontline social services worked perfectly and when the undiluted Irish culture rained supreme. we all happily spoke fluent irish and ate our spuds cause they’re lovely and irish…. The guy next to you didn’t create this mess and its in the interests of those who did that you tear the other guy to shreds, try being angry at the right people.

• I personally think we now have no right to complain about “foreigners”.. How many Irish are now “foreigners” in other countries.. It’s a natural thing, if you can’t get work or the money you deserve in your own country then you go somewhere that you can get work and money.. Also without that I don’t think Ireland would have enough doctors etc..

• yes irish people emigrate , but why are they emigrating in the first place , because much of the jobs have been filled with foreign labour and because of this even the jobs that are available have too low a salary to keep a mortgage going and food on the table , also why should immigration policy be determined on the basis some that irish people emigrate ? to do this would be to punish the people who dont emigrate .

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Freebies, you are missing the point. If you expect to live in another country and be accepted, as Irish do, you’ve got to accept others coming to live in Ireland. It’s a reciprocal expectation.

• hold on a minute , people who come here are accepted , what people are saying is we need immigration control to keep jobs open to native irish people so they wont have to leave their family and friends for a foreign land. As members of the EU , we do not have the authority to control our borders and thus result in more Irish people emigrating

• They don’t feel integrated because they’re not Irish. We can give them everything, but you can’t make someone feel like one of us unless they are born and bred here.

• Dave 16/01/13 #

You dont have to be of native blood to feel integrated somewhere! Ever emigrated yourself?

• I was born and raised in the states for the first 10 years of my life. Been in Ireland now for the past 14 years. Anyone who says Im not irish will get a kick up the arse.

You have to make an effort to intergate as well.

• The title of the article is actually misleading. It says “Most of Ireland’s new citizens do not feel part of society” while inside it is actually “more than half of Ireland’s new citizens believe their new status has not lead to greater integration.”

It may just as well mean that they have felt integrated already and their new status did not change it. It doesn’t mean that they don’t feel part of society at all.

I am surprised to see such misrepresentation to gain clicks in The Journal. Sounds like the Indo.

• You’re not Irish

• Also the survey is by the Immigrant council of Ireland , it is in their interest to make sure there are problems , otherwise they will all be out of work and have nothing to do .

• Any moment now and the R word will be used, its normally when the ‘we are the world’ types can’t think of any more reasons to defend what happened to us.
    Lets look :
    - we had unregulated immigration foisted upon us during Berties time. No one asked if we wanted it or needed it.

-we accepted unprecedented numbers of asylum seekers/refugees/stateless who disapeared into society and are working away illegally, with many now on welfare.

Under the Dublin agreement, processing should happen in the country of arrival, which oir European neighbours conveniently ignored.

We had people dying in container units and falling out of aircraft in an effort to get in here, why ?

-we contribute millions to help 3rd world countries which is the right thing to do -help them in their home countries, so why do we allow Asylum S/ refugees/stateless in.

-the only peple Ireland needed were the highly skilled english speaking professionals

So in antiicipation if the red thumb brigade:
    -Yes Ireland walked the knocking on doors, and I am not taking on the guilt for that.

-The Irish were hated in most countries thet went to because of theft, scamming, drinking and fighting

Finally we are left with many of our wonderfully qualifed Irish now gone and we are left with our own dross and many foreigners who are (and will be) on welfare for years.

Card mile failte my arse !

• Guys remember we need immigrants , especially skilled migrants such as doctors etc , Ireland needs to fish out the dole scammers , they do exist and they are foreign .. Yes Ireland is a soft touch and a laughing stock of Europe .

• I’m curious to what part of society they don’t feel part of???

It’s common for any minority to stick to their own colour, race, creed, etc. to feel comfortable in familiar surroundings in a foreign land. Much like when you go on holidays you go to the Irish pubs or whatever.

• 20% not working and we support people to come here and claim the dole.
    14% drop out of college Ireland is a soft touch.

• we need to look at how well we intergrate ourselves, I’ve yet to go to a country where I haven’t seen an Irish pub with Irish people in it, we can’t experience other cultures even on holiday FFS!

• Well if they don’t like it…..

• they shouldn’t worry as I a true native Irish person dont feel part of it , I dont like this new Ireland at all,at all, I personally preferred living in a mono cultural society , give me any time before Maastricht , give me 1990 , the quarter finals of the world cup and a pure ethinic Irish society any day over this europhile created dump.

• Have a look through what you have to do to become an Irish citizen: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/irish_citizenship/becoming_an_irish_citizen_through_naturalisation.html

And then when you’ve done it many people in Ireland will never ever accept you as such …

• Dave 16/01/13 #

Well, I do. And I really couldnt care less what the embittered lot up above think either. A good aul spell of living abroad might sort out their rather insular attitudes. I never lost my culture or identity living abroad and will certainly not lose it due to anyone moving here.

I’m happy to have decent people living in this society, regardless of where they are from.

• “A good aul spell of living abroad might sort out their rather insular attitudes”

Well said.

• Dave 16/01/13 #

It would be interesting how these same people view the current loyalist outbursts about “loss of their culture”. Here’s an idea for them: you have NO faith in your culture if you honestly believe it cant stand up to living alongside another culture.

I have a little bit more faith in us and our ways than that.

• I was un the gym yesterday as college doesn’t start back till next week, it was filler with Polish and fillipinos who I can only assume are in college too since they had nowhere else to be during the afternoon.

• Paul 16/01/13 #

Or shift workers, stay-at-home parents (maybe one who doesn’t have work permit but wife is a nurse) … And if non-EU students, they’re being rode for fees

• Great story bro, you really contribute to the discussion. Obviously you aren’t working either? But of course you feel entitled not to.

I would l love to get Irish citizenship, I already feel Irish (as well as Polish) and an Irish passport would be handy as well as an opportunity to vote. Eligible for it and all. Unfortunately there is a ?950 fee. I’ll dream on.

• What does feeling like you ‘feel like’ part of society feel like?

• ah sure , everyone is a racist when you dont like what they have to say , Actually I’m a reasonable person and I dont mind a small number of immigrants , but the situation since Maastricht leaves us with no authority to control our borders and it way out of control , if you applied the same immigration ratio to a country like germany there would be a complete meltdown of that country also , its bizarre ………….. queue the FG bloggers

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

Of course they’re not accepted. Irish expect to be welcomed everywhere in the world but won’t return the favour.

• in fairness I think we’ve been more than generous , the recent census shows us that 17% of the population or roughly 762 000 people are born outside ireland , thats a massive jump when you think that before Maastricht in 1993 on 20yrs ago almost all of the population was native Irish .

• Smiley 16/01/13 #

So how do you account for the *millions* of Irish who have migrated? They’ve been accepted all over the world.Seven hundred-odd thousand incomers is paltry by comparison.

• so you think we should base our immigration policy on the numbers of Irish who have emigrated ?? so we let in the same number as we let out since the beginning of time ?

Poland should let in the same number they let out since the beginning of time ?

yes your a smart guy , you should start drawing up those policies and submit them to the european parliament , you will find plenty of people there who will genuinely consider your proposals although it seems like they have already .

• EP 16/01/13 #

@little red thumb boy..youre right, im surprised i managed to even get past your first paragraph it was so ridiculous. What difference does it even make what newspaper I read? I would question however the standard of the sources you rely on in order to have come up with your ill informed opinions regarding the subject in question.. Maybe have a look at the declaration of human rights or the 1951 convention relating to the status of refugees to understand why ireland has a duty to give anyone seeking asylum here due process..maybe also check out what the entitlements of asylum seekers to social welfare payments actually are..then you can also check out how ireland stands up to other eu countries in its treatment of and recognition of asylum seekers..then u really will wonder why people are “dying” to get in here..how arrogant and ignorant it is to imply that the reason so many qualified irish young people are emigrating is due to the effects of immigration here..why are young people emigrating?to make better lives for themselves…do you think that all irish people in need of help/support/refuge/charity should be denied the right to make a better life for themselves elsewhere too?

Add New Comment