TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

How the best countries in the world have changed since 1988

Ireland isn’t doing too badly, according to the Economist Intelligence Unit…

A rainbow over the Lakes of Killarney.
Image: Jane McIlroy via Shutterstock

THE ECONOMIST INTELLIGENCE Unit recently published its “Where To Be Born in 2013″ list, a measure of which countries provide the best opportunities for a healthy, safe and prosperous life in the years ahead.

WOND, an infographics and data visualisation outfit based outside London, has put together a great repackaging of the data, which also included the list from 1988.

Needless to say, things have changed over the past 25 years. Ireland, however, is still hovering around the same section of the table as it did a quarter of a century ago. In 1988, it was ranked 15th – this year, it is ranked at number 12. Does that surprise you?

With their permission, we’re republishing the table here. (Check them out at wond.co.uk).

Here are the measures:

• Material wellbeing as measured by GDP per head (at 2006 constant PPPS)
  • Life expectancy at birth
  • Quality of family life, based primarily on divorce rates; the state of political freedoms; job se­curity (measured by the unemployment rate)
  • Climate (measured by two variables: the average deviation of minimum and maximum monthly temperatures from 14 degrees Celsius; and the number of months in the year with less than 30mm rainfall)
  • Personal physical security ratings (based primarily on recorded homicide rates and ratings for risk from crime and terrorism)
  • Quality of community life (based on membership in so­cial organisations);
  • Governance (measured by ratings for corruption)
  • Gender equality (measured by the share of seats in parliament held by women)

Click here to see the infographic in full screen.

Published with permission from:

Business Insider
Business Insider is a business site with strong financial, media and tech focus.

Read next:

Comments (39 Comments)

• SL 26/01/13 #

I couldn’t read the graphic. Resolution too low. Try this one http://thumbnails.visually.netdna-cdn.com/where-to-be-born-1988-to-2013_50f851fd6e88a.jpg

• No surprise to see many of th scandanavian countries ranking highly, beautiful part of the world

• Think how well we would have done if they hadn’t included climate as a category.

• Lived in London & California and I would never leave home again, we got it good here CABK points this out nicely. We also have a good life / work balance which the yanks are trailing behind us

• I lived in London for a few years but nowhere else in the UK so I’m not sure I ever had the full picture of life in the UK. Not entirely surprised it’s not high on the rankings but I am surprised it’s down 20 places! Living in Switzerland now and can vouch for the No. 1 ranking. Beautiful, clean, everything works properly, lovely people… On the other hand, it is feckin expensive. Miss home though…

• Me too! It was only when i was living in California that i realised how good we have it here. California has nice weather and scenery but its cities are so boring (except san francisco).

• We probably score better now then we would have done during the Celtic Tiger, at least now we seem to value what’s important in life, not what we own! I wouldn’t live anywhere else !

• @journal
    Any chance you can check that these type of images are readable on smart phones before you publish the article.

It’s a pain reading the article then not being able to to zoom into the image to read it.

• Can I just say its very irresponsible of the Journal to publish this. There are so many on here who live to whine about Ireland and insist that the famine is back, the Black Plague is rampant and the sky is falling down. This could shake their entire belief system. I mean they need a raisin d’être….won’t somebody think of the moaners???!

• Interesting how some countries are worse off post-communism. Very surprised at Poland and goes against everything I heard from speaking to Poles.

• Really sucks to be living in Nigeria,in both lists

• censored 26/01/13 #

Is there a pot of gold at the end of that rainbow?

• Hmmm…. Poland has gone down ten places on the list. Economy booming in 2013. Yet, in 1988 there were queues for food and all that the shops basically had was vinegar and cooking oil, unless you had foreign currency in your pocket at the time. Of course, having freedom of speech, freedom of movement, enough food and democracy make the country a much worse place to live in nowadays in comparison to 1988.

Not sure could you trust this list as far as you could throw it. Not that I was really paying much attention to world events in 1988 what with being preoccupied with learning how to walk and all that, but I can be fairly certain that Poland and the USSR were not better countries to live in than Denmark was in 1988.

• How come so many countries that are promoted by anti western pressure groups as utopia do so badly.

• Gender equality = pure window dressing.

• Because economists have served us so well over the past few years. *facepalm*

• Laughable. Ireland better than Austria and Germany. These economists are probably the same ones stoically silent during the Celtic tiger and then who told us we would have a soft landing. Economists have demonstrated that they are largely guess work agents who slavishly follow each other. With rare exceptions such as McWilliams.

• CABK 26/01/13 #

Having lived in both Germany and Ireland I have to disagree with you. Why do you think Germany would be a better place to live than Ireland? Irish people are friendlier and much more inclusive. We have a lot of local groups and societies that have good social lives attached to them. Ireland is smaller and much more easy to get around. We have a very laid back easy going quality of life. Of course there are areas that need improvement, particularly in terms of policy changes but you will find that in every country. I love Germany but in terms of a place to live or to grow up it doesn’t hold a candle to Ireland.

Additionally – McWilliams is primarily a pop economist. He practices the kind of economics that is accessible and appeals to the public and non-economists – he seldom has anything of actual relevance that could impact on policy to say. Not all economists also stayed silent during the celtic tiger – Morgan Kelly being the prime example.

• @ CABK. I grew up in Ireland through the 70s and 80s and thought it was a great place to grow up in. Now its a different and shallow place in comparison. Especially the cities but rural Ireland is a scary place for old people. Yes the Irish are more open and our society is more laid back. My argument here is its too laid back evidenced by a disgraceful public transport system and a tolerance and inaction to violent and petty crime. We lack the ability to behave like responsible adults for the benefit of all society. I would also challenge the idea Ireland has lots of community activities. Unless you are into GAA what are the options? Agreed climate doesn’t help but how can German cities have plenty of outside swimming pools for 3.70€ entrance for the day and we have nothing in Ireland coming close, despite 10 years of unprecedented growth. Laid back is good if you are a tourist, for me, I found it frustrating and as a tax payer annoying. But horses for courses I guess.

• Julie 26/01/13 #

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/about

Totally disagree with your comments about David McWilliams! Only economist that predicted the crash, brilliant Bertie’s response ” go away and commit suicide”

• Peter Schif [US]also predicted the Crash – in 2006 – and was scoffed at by the US and Other Experts . He also predicted the QE [ -- money printing] and then inflation .
      as for Ireland being better than Germany – ridiculous . Germans are freindly – and they do not have that false friendship that some Irish have . What they say they mean – . They mind their own business and are a very tolerant and welll educated people . They can also run an economy .

”We have a very laid back easy going quality of life. ”
      CABK – u are not feeling any ill efffects of Recession then – and the Austerity – the hospital cutback , cuts in pay – with more to come – and more and more taxes .
      and u did not mind as Shelia has pointed out Berties reply to criticism ” go away and commit suicide ” – do u think that sort of advice is laid back .
      Not even Obama or Camaeron – nor any leader I can think of would say that .- but bertie did – and got away with it .

• I agree with Jim. I left Ireland during 2008 when the Tiger was still running and was in the top 2 percentile income earners but had to get out as it bough the place was morally Nd civicly bankrupt with a shower of blatant crooks running the place. People dictate their own society. Ireland, for me, was banjaxed. I challenge anyone to price otherwise.

• CABK 26/01/13 #

Julie – his website actually says he was one of the first. As he is also aware that he wasn’t at all ‘the only one’ ie youtube morgan kelly primetime. This was my point to Simon, McWilliams is more involved in pop economics, giving talks and writing books rather than papers to inform policy and advance knowledge. I am not saying anything against the guy but its a bit much to say ‘he’s the only exception and the only one’ as you and Simon seem to be of the opinion (also its not true…)

Simon I am involved in Tennis ,tag rugby, I played music in different groups for 15 years and built up great friends with that, other friends I have are involved in astro turf football (regardless of the weather they never miss it), camogie, surfing, hiking, attending quizzes, bowling, draughts and poker tournaments. That is also aside from nights out having a few drinks or attending concerts the odd time. . There is plenty out there if you are willing to look and make an effort – I joined a tag team without knowing anyone on it and I love it.

I do definitely agree with you on the transport system but I would take the Irish people and a shoddier transport system over the German people and an excellent transport system, but I am aware that is my personal opinion from having lived in both countries.

I don’t see your point re rural Ireland, I live very rural as do my grandparents and they love it as do I. I like that when i’m driving along and either meet another car or people out walking that they’ll wave or even stop for a chat.. I think things like that are what set us apart.

I guess it depends on your individual experience, mine has not been perfect and I see your points, but no country is perfect and overall having traveled alot and lived abroad I would still choose Ireland.

PS Jim – I don’t rate my satisfaction with life based on what politicians say. You should try be optimistic and make the best of what you have, everyone was affected by the recession. I base my opinions on my experiences living in other countries, on my friends and family and on the quality of life which I perceive to be very good in Ireland.

• @CABK, Ireland laid back? are you for real? Most of the people I know are working twice as hard for half the money. Its the norm to work a 60 hr week. And the attitude from employers is your lucky to have a job. Its no wonder theres a mass exodus of top talent.

• I thought we were the most obese or 2nd to England in Europe? So what’s with the physical fitness sh!te? And it rains everyday, I think they need to recheck their monthly rainfall figures again. What a load of crap.

Add New Comment