TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Ireland

# ireland - Sunday 21 April, 2013

From The Score Charged

Tearful All Black winger Julian Savea admits domestic assault charge

The New Zealander, who tormented Ireland last summer, will appear in court next Monday.

The 9 at 9: Sunday

Good morning! Here are the nine things you need to know as you kick off your Sunday.

# ireland - Saturday 20 April, 2013

Column: I’m running in the London marathon and I’m proud I’ll be able to pay my respect to the Boston runners

Jenny Conlon says it’s difficult to understand why an event of achievement like the Boston Marathon would be targeted in such a way. Training for a marathon is one of the most challenging things you can do and it makes you realise that life is for living, she writes.

From The Score Birthday Boy

It’s Shay Given’s birthday so here are 8 terrible jerseys he’s had to wear

Because what else can you get a multi-million Euro footballer?

100,000 Irish have sleep apnea – but thousands more undiagnosed

A conference has been told that 100,000 people suffering from sleep apnea in Ireland – but 90 per cent of those are undiagnosed.

From The Score Zeebs

Your Simon Zebo as a Young GAA Star Pic of The Day

If Warren Gatland has any doubts about selecting the Irishman, this should quell them.

# ireland - Friday 19 April, 2013

Column: To bring about any change, we must redefine what we expect from our politicians

If we want to reclaim the current political landscape we need to re-establish the ground rules for office holders and ensure their words turn into actions, writes Martin Critten.

From The Score Lions 2013 This post contains videos

Jason Robinson: Exceptional Kearney should start as Lions fullback

There is still hope for Wales’ Leigh Halfpenny though.

From The Score Teenage Screams

Somebody call the cops: Irish teens rough-housed by Finnish upstarts

There were a lot of ‘agricultural’ challenges in the 3-0 home loss.

HSE has this warning for families as 800 people in the UK hit by measles

Measles is highly contagious and can lead to deafness, brain damage and even death.

From The Score Boxing

‘The lads found out through Twitter. No one had the dignity to ring me’ – Walsh

After the disappointment of last week, Ireland’s boxing coach is relieved that the Elite International with France is back on.

From The Score Not Interested

Ireland target Jake White rules himself out of the running

The World Cup-winning coach has turned down the opportunity to be interviewed by the IRFU.

# ireland - Thursday 18 April, 2013

From The Score Top Job

McKenzie and White interviewed for Ireland job – reports

The Australian media claim that both coaches have had video conferences with the IRFU.

Column: ‘I thought I did everything right – so why have I ended up here?’

Aoife O’Connor has gone to college, got good results, borrowed money to get more qualifications by doing a postgrad, but she still finds herself with no job. Here she asks why she can’t catch a break?

From The Score Jobfairy

Liam Miller needs a new club – here’s what his CV would look like

The former Celtic, Manchester United and Ireland midfielder is leaving Perth Glory. Who’s got Tommy Dunne’s number?

From The Daily Edge Blown Out
From The Score Interpro

‘I was fortunate enough to play with the man’ – Bell on Eric Elwood

The former Ireland teammates will be hoping for different results in Friday’s Pro12 clash.

Column: Margaret Thatcher, a feminist icon? She certainly wouldn’t have called herself one

Margaret Thatcher normalised female success, challenging the prevailing orthodoxy that women were unsuited to the pursuit of power, but mechanisms, such as electoral gender quotas would have been anathema to her, writes Margaret O’Keefe.

# ireland - Wednesday 17 April, 2013

Column: Downtown Boston is a crime scene and I’m sitting in my office a few miles away

Having just moved to the US, Jan Schneider had planned to go watch the Boston Marathon. Luckily, other things came up and he never made it. Here’s his account of living in the aftermath of the Boston bombings.

Column: I’ve witnessed Ireland become a leader in the technology sector, let’s not slip

For Ireland to continue to compete successfully, demand has to be stimulated, internet usage has to be promoted and digital literacy has to be accelerated, says Philip Flynn, who has worked in the ICT sector since its infancy.

# ireland - Tuesday 16 April, 2013

Extract: I’ve left prostitution behind me, but I worry how my history will impact on my child

From a textbook dysfunctional home life, educational disadvantage and adolescent homelessness, Rachel Moran was primed for life as a prostitute. Here she tells her story about the losses prostitution can bring and how those you love can be tarred with shame by association.

From The Score In Demand

Aspects of Ireland job would suit family life, says ‘flattered’ Joe Schmidt

The Leinster coach will discuss a potential role as Ireland coach with the IRFU this week.

Officials say no Irish injured or missing after Boston marathon blasts [Update]

108 Irish citizens were registered to run in Boston, including 50 with Irish addresses – but all are thought to be safe and accounted for.

Column: Who’s next in line to be consumed by the European crisis?

While other countries are showing signs of difficulty, it’s Spain’s deterioration which could bring the euro crisis to its most dangerous point, writes Tom McDonnell, who asks where Europe goes from here?

# ireland - Monday 15 April, 2013

Column: I cried when I heard about the mobility allowance cut – I can’t take any more

The mobility grant gave me and my husband the chance to lead independent lives, with dignity, writes Miriam Murphy, who says this government are chipping away at the help for people with disabilities.

# ireland - Sunday 14 April, 2013

Column: So, we have recognised Tom Cruise’s Irish roots… where’s the harm in that?

Those who are cynical or opposed to the efforts of The Gathering should ask themselves why, says Larry Donnelly who questions what ignites such hostility to seemingly harmless endeavours like that of certificates of Irishness.

From The Score One Step Closer

IRFU confirm approach to Leinster coach Joe Schmidt Exclusive

The New Zealander looks set to meet Irish rugby bosses in the coming days.

From The Daily Edge Escort Masterclass This post contains videos

7 essential skills you’ll need as a Rose of Tralee escort

Before you try and take part you better read this.

# ireland - Saturday 13 April, 2013

3 more off-the-beaten-track places you really should visit

As part of the Hidden Ireland series, Neil Jackman suggests three (free) heritage sites to visit in Waterford, Cork and Kildare.

# ireland - Friday 12 April, 2013

From The Score Playoff Hopes

‘After last week, the guys want to prove a point’ – Ulster’s Robbie Diack

The back-row wants to put Dragons to the sword and confirm a Pro12 semi-final slot.

From The Daily Edge EP FOREVER

19 reasons why Electric Picnic must happen this year

It really is the greatest thing ever and this is why.

# ireland - Thursday 11 April, 2013

From The Score Faithful Servant

Munster’s Marcus Horan to retire at the end of the season

The prop has played 224 times for Munster, won 67 Ireland caps and captured the Grand Slam in 2009.

From The Daily Edge Clamp Support This post contains videos

11 people who aren’t very big fans of clampers

Talk about being caught rapid.

Gerry Adams criticises parties celebrating Thatcher’s death

In an interview with a Fermanagh newspaper, Adams also said he forgave the former British Prime Minister.

ECJ ruling casts doubt on planning permission for Galway bypass

The EU’s top court hands a major boost to opponents to the N6 bypass around Galway, ahead of a final Supreme Court ruling.

College offers online course in what it means to be Irish

Free open online course allows students here – and abroad – to explore Irish identity.

# ireland - Wednesday 10 April, 2013

Column: Change to the Constitution is needed in order to protect women’s lives

The recently completed HSE report into the tragic death of Savita Halappanavar’s death has pointed to Ireland’s unworkable legal situation as a significant factor in her medical treatment, writes Clara Fischer.

From The Score Strings This post contains videos

9 of the best from Peter Stringer as he waves goodbye to Munster Rugby

We pay tribute to the man that appeared for province and country 330 times.

From The Score East Is East

Sayonara Stephen! Ferris ready for Japan adventure as Ulster admit defeat

Head coach Mark Anscombe admitted that the province’s inspirational flanker is set to leave this summer.

Can we end EU child poverty? Experts to discuss taking action

Atwo-day Dublin event is organised by a number of international organisations and is the only EU Presidency event focused on children.