TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Irish boat detained by Naval Service over fishing rules

The boat was stopped at around 2.30am this morning off the Cork coast.

The LE Niamh (File photo)

AN IRISH FISHING vessel has been detained by the Naval Service off the Cork coast over an alleged breach of fishing regulations.

The boat was stopped by Defence Forces vessel the LE Niamh at 2.30am this morning approximately 50 nautical miles south of Ballycotton.

The boat is currently being brought back to Cork under escort by the LE Niamh. It is expected to arrive later this afternoon when it will be handed over to Gardaí.

This is the thirteenth vessel to be detained by the Naval Service so far this year. 1006 boards have been boarded and 38 warnings have been issued.

Read next:

Comments (12 Comments)

• Irish boat detained for fishing in Irish waters. why not detain a few Spanish and French vessels? oh yes i forgot we gave away our fishing rights to the EU. Sorry Irish fishermen no jobs for you!!

• In all seriousness you are right. It is an absolute joke, giving away the one and only true resource that ireland has. Talking to my local fish monger the other day and I was telling him how I have never eaten herring. Apparently it is one of the rarest fish to catch for small to medium fishing vessels, and even rarer for line fishermen. The spanish fleet gets most of the catch.

The exploitation of our sea and fishery rights are one of the only things that make me very anti EU.

• The Irish Navy are not being selective on who they detain, nor are they turning a blind eye to excessive fishing from Spanish, French, Portuguese trawlers etc. Nor should they turn a blind eye to Irish trawlers.
      It is a shame that we no longer fully poses the rights to our own waters but take that up with the politicians that negotiated it away.
      The Navy are doing a great job enforcing fishing regulations with the very little resources and man power they have.

• No Gary, they were detained for pouching in Irish waters, if the naval service was to turn a blind eye to that because they where on an Irish boat, then it would soon definitly be a case of “Sorry Irish fishermen no jobs for you!!”.
      If we really want to protect our fisheries we have to look at expanding our naval service, they do good work but they can only do so much with eight patrol vessels in territorial waters as large as ours.

• something fishy going on there

• The ratio is due to more Irish vessels in Irish waters,I was on the LE Aisling for 2 years and we boarded more Irish vessels but detained more foreign vessels for illegal activities,we boarded huge Norwegian factory ships and small ones alike…..it’s not the navel services fault when it comes to quotas,
    the cannot turn a bling eye just cause your an Irish vessel,and another thing just cause its an registered Irish vessel that does not mean its owned by an Irish person….

• ahhh are ye codding me !!! lol

• “roight lads, I’d be no expert here…..but here’s your problem….this (holding up a pack of Bird’s Eye Fish Fingers) is FISH…..what you guys seem to have on board is large boxes of cocaine and bunches of poor people…..both trying to get out of Oirland……..now, either bring them back or you’re in trouble!”

• as an ex member of the Irish Naval Service i agree that there are limited resources. But a good job is laughable, from experience i can tell you that there it is about 6 to 1 the rate of Irish to foreign bordings and that’s just the EU members. the Japanese for example have free reign in our waters. you sound like a current member and if you are i honestly commend you as its a tough job. But our own fishermen are victimized by the state who fear the wrath of the EU fines for quota breaches!

• David i couldn’t agree more.

Add New Comment