You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

geebag

“Yer man is such a dose” – classic Irish terms of abuse

Wagon, geebag, strap… they’re all here.

Wagon

Mrs Meanface is SUCH a wagon.

- After Mrs Meanface gives out to you for dossing in double maths. The wagon.

Pup

You little pup.

- After some little pup kicks you in the shins.

Weapon

That weapon wouldn’t give you the steam off her piss.

- After the neighbour refuses to return a stray football.

Shutterstock

Strap

Come back here and clean this room you little strap you.

- After some little strap refuses to clean up her kip of a room.

Poxy

Nah I’m not going there, their pints are poxy.

- Referring to somewhere with a particularly bad feed of the black stuff.

Eye Ubiquitous/Press Association Images

Witch

Get up off that floor you little witch.

- Commonly heard in supermarket aisles when toddlers throw tantrums.

Cute hoor

Oh he got it for a tenner, the cute hoor

- After someone who’s something of a rogue or a charlatan gets a sneaky discount on something

Dose

Oh Jesus is your man here? He’s such a dose.

- Upon spotting a bit of a pain in the hole at a party.

“You’re right Mairéad, he IS a dose” (Shutterstock)

Pain in the hole

His friend is a pain in the hole too.

-Similar to a dose. You don’t want to get stuck beside a pain in the hole at a party.

Bollix

Will you move you bloody bollix?!

- When somebody doesn’t start driving the instant the light turns green.

Dope

It doesn’t go there you dope!

- After someone tries to put back your Italia ’90 DVD in the wrong place.

Geebag

I can’t believe that geebag shifted Brendan. She knows I fancy him.

- After a disagreeable woman shifts the man you fancy.

Gowl

Look at the state of him. He’s some gowl.

- After you spot an awful eejit in the pub.

Maggot (as in ‘acting the’)

Stop acting the maggot or there’ll be no Santy in this house this Christmas.

- A threat issued to misbehaving children up and down the country.

Shutterstock

11 pieces of modern Irish etiquette>