TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Ivan Yates to leave Newstalk

Broadcaster Ivan Yates has confirmed that he is to leave his place at the helm of Newstalk’s Breakfast show to concentrate on his “financial issues”.

Image: Photocall Ireland

BROADCASTER IVAN YATES has confirmed this morning that he is to leave Newstalk in order to focus on his “financial issues”.

Speaking on his Newstalk Breakfast show this morning, Yates commented on speculation that he was set to leave the show over mounting debts stemming from the collapse of his Celtic Bookmakers business:

“Yes, it is true that I have decided to opt out of my current work commitments, including broadcast media, print media and other commitments, to focus on my financial issues,” he said.

He did not refer to speculation that he was planning to move to the UK to avail of bankruptcy laws there.

Yates said he would be leaving the show in two week’s time, with Good Friday 6 April marking his last day with the radio station.

A receiver was appointed to the Wexford-based Celtic Bookmakers in 2011, with company directors Ivan and Deirdre Yates confirming that revenue at the business had fallen by 50 percent since the middle of 2007.

The couple are facing debts of approximately €3.4 million over the failure of the business.

Receiver appointed to Ivan Yates’ Celtic Bookmakers>

Read next:

Comments (64 Comments)

• Like him on Newstalk. Very witty to be fair.

• I wish Ivan and his family all the best. It takes guts to set up and run a business, he gave employment and tried to make a go of it. Kicking him when he’s down is poor form in my opinion. Maybe his problem is that he owed €3.4 million and not €35 billion…. ???

• Big loss to Newstalk, he’s a great broadcaster.

Hopefully he will be back.

• Disappointing news.. Will be interesting to see who they will get to replace him? Possibly, he could take a year or two out to sort out his debts and possibly come back to his media commitments.. Seems an awful shame..

• Torpedo 23/03/12 #

No……….. Good luck

• Well, he is one of the presenters that I love to hate, and hate to love in equal measure. He has possibly just the right amount of levity and humour in his banter to counterbalance a schtick that would otherwise be labelled as blantantly sexist, homophobic, and bullying in another, less skilled, presenter. Quite a neat trick.

• A great character and broadcaster. He will be missed

• I like Ivan on newstalk, and only hope that Coleman doesnt get the hotseat, what ever about ivan being FG , Coleman is a FF man and dermot ahernes brother in law, any way ivan owes 3.5 million and will more than likely move to England, this is not a new thing to do, many have done it and it’s well known, but no gorvernment here have sought to change this, because it suits them. Imagine though the amount of pension he has got, from the Irish taxpayer in the years since he left politics, all rules made to suit the few, his pension yearly is now more than what his pay was, as with public sector pensions , index linked.

• Ditto the nice things said about him. Much more enjoyable than funeral ish radio 1.

• Will be taking the bankruptcy boat to the UK I guess.

• Big loss to Newstalk and Irish media. As regard to the comment above by Brian Mc, being a mouth piece for the blueshirts. IMO this could not be further from the truth, in fact I found him highly critical of the current FG and Govt leadership.

With regard to the move to the UK, who could blame him with the suggestion that AIB want control of his finances and future income for the next 10 years or so, why stay? That is called slavery, which I thought was against the law here!! Then again, have yet to see a bank heed the law in this banana republic!!!!!!!

• True. But yet he had the opportunity to tackle such issues but as usual didn’t as he was riding the gravy train at the time instead of doing his job… Cop on people!!

• Oisin, as Agricultural Minister his influence on the bankrupancy laws was somewhat limited! This was back in 1994 to 1999/2000! Yes, he was part of the policy makers at one stage, but so many have being in influential positions since he steped out of politics in 2001 and still nothing was done. Perhaps if he was Minister for Law and Reform at the time, then you could justifably point the finger, but as Minister for Agricultural I don’t think he was in such a position to protest the stupidity of that law. In fact, I think if he were to have had made such a stance, you’d be today accusing him of feathering his own nest! The purpose of the 12 year bankrupancy rule was to discourage business people running up massive debts and running their business into the ground, leaving debtors afloat!

Coming back to present day the reason the political will is there to change the bankrupancy rules today, is because businesses are running into difficulty, all because they became reliant on the low cost credit been thrown around by the banks during the boom. Unfortunately, the credit dried up in the banks and the banks are insolvent, that is a reason so many businesses are going to wall and the banks cutting off credit, which rightly or wrongly was the life blood of many businesses here!

So I think your point that Yates could had change the bankrupancy rules while he was in govt is a bit wishy washy at best!

• Shame, always made me chuckle.

• Mighty shame that Ivan feels he has to leave country. High time for fiscal reform in this God forsaken country

• I wish Ivan the best of luck. A very entertaining broadcaster who is never afraid to say what he thinks. He like many is making use of the UK bankruptcy laws and fair play to him. The government of this country should be ashamed of the 12 years bankruptcy in this country. Its all about protecting the banks in this country and to hell with the business owner. Its better to have tried and failed than never have tried at all. Keep the chin up Ivan!!!

• Thumbs down from employees and thumbs up from employers I suspect. The ordinary Joe has no clue what it takes to run a business in this country and when it all goes wrong they think they should be hung out to dry with a 12 year bankruptcy. This country is killing its people with initiative and should be ashamed they are hounding them to UK. Get your house in order government and reduce bankruptcy to 1 year. People will still go to UK even if its reduced to 3 years like they propose.

• Is there *any* chance of calling upon Derek Davis to fill the gap?

I believe there is a powerful spotlight on top of RTE studios, which can be used to summon the man.

• And I always thought the Bookie couldn’t loose

• Will be sorely missed every morning. A very funny, brave and intelligent presenter. Hopefully he will return once he sorts his shit out.

Good luck Ivan!

• Can a UK bankrupt still retain an Irish pension, or would that not pass to creditors?

• Take Bertie and the rest with you

• Ivan is a good person and great broadcaster. I know I will miss him.

• No worries for Ivan hes on a pension of 83 grand a year and he works as well.

• interesting way to sort out your financial issues, by quitting your job!! maybe he was getting too much money to fit under the mattress!!

• He’s trapped in the 70′s but I will miss his show.

• Scarr 23/03/12 #

Glad he is gone. The man is a disingenuous hypocritical boor.

• Good riddance to that self righteous poacher turned game keeper. A fraud of a man who spread is bullshit blue shirt but yet anti-nationalistic rhetoric. Anti-democracy, anti-Irish Mr. Yates off to UK as he hasn’t even the decency to use the system he had the opportunities to amend/change. Can’t believe how many people were fooled by him… Cue reds

• Ok to solve the problem leave a well paying job to concentrate on financial issues makes perfect sense.

• Aww, I shall miss him. Think him a very pleasant man and a joy to listen to.

• A TD from 1981 to 2002 and now at age 53 on a pension of €83,000 a year. We really have to put a stop to these early pensions and set the age of pensions to the same as the rest of us. He’s fit, he’s healthy and will probably live to 100. This has to stop. It must and it will.

• Ivan is leaving his job!!!!!
    There are 300k people on the dole waiting to take his place…..
    What would be refreshing would be if news talk took an average Joe off the dole queue and asked him to adjudiciate on the days events !!!!!
    Be rest assured it’d be gripping. Radio!!

But then again, Ivan can feck off to the UK , declared bankrupt and return here after 2 years!!!! With his €73,000 pension in tact!!!!
    Poor Ivan!!!!

• I hate him as a DJ, so this news is quite good.
    Next on the list….George Hook.

• bye bye lord yates

• Good, and take his silly blueshirt nonsense with him. He was like a PR mouthpiece for the current shower in Kildare St.

• I’m not a big fan of Yates, but I listen to newstalk breakfast every morning and Ivan regularly savages the government and Enda Kenny.

He has a bit of banter with the ministers etc, but I’ve never heard him shy away from the questions, or making statements he knows they won’t address.

• Who’s gonna foot the 3.6 mil bill when he up sticks and leaves for the uk. Let me guess the honest hard working employee and employers who are already on their knees. Where is the cash to set up his new life in the uk coming from let me guess the money he has stashed away for a rainy day like this

• howzat 23/03/12 #

Headline should read Ivan leaving Ireland to live in his house in Swansea to avoid Irish draconian bankruptcy laws
    We hope to fill his shoes with a cork man

• Good riddance

• best news of the day, now Yates is playing the system and legging it off to the uk,leaving a trail of destruction behind him, like most of his punters he will not have an hours luck and the u.k.deserves to take on Skivin Ivan as their long lost son, missing you already , not!!!!!!!!

• Grow up Hugh. I can tell from your childish comments your an employee not an employer!! Never created a job in your life!!

• Family Guy, Employee’s need business people and entrepreneur’s to provide jobs and they in turn need Employee’s labour to make their business work and turn a profit, one can’t work without the other, maybe you should grow up and realise for every lazy, whining employee there is a crooked, slave driving employer

• Bryan I never suggested for one minute that all employers are fine upstanding citizens who treat their employees great. My point is that you won’t find many employers cutting down Ivan for having a failed business and most of these childish comments are made by employees as they don’t realise how hard it is in business. Some are cut out for the graft and other just moan.

• Wrong on all counts FG, I am self employed and provide employment to over 16 peopleunlike myself , if your pal Yates was such a sucessful employer and businessman he would not have had anything to worry about, maybe you should grow up and never assume anything , I feel sorry for anyone thats on your payroll, Yates was and still is a failed businessman and has ran of to the uk to hide, if he is your role model and hero your days in business will be numbered, 100%

• Family Guy so you’re suggesting that employers are more mature individuals than Employee’s?
      I take it that you moan while your childish employee’s graft.
      Like Hugh says you’re assuming a lot about who is criticising Ivan Yates.
      Your assumption smacks of snobbery.

• Hugh I treat my employees very well. If I got into difficult like Yates I would be on the first boat to the UK. As you seem to be a proud Irish man I take it you’d take your 12 years bankruptcy like a man and not HIDE!! Bigger fool you!

• FG fail to prepare , prepare to fail, Yates is leaving the mess behind him and crawling under a stone in the uk , Unlike him I am up to date with all my tax affairs, run a efficent and profitable business, look after and treat my staff well and am sucessful,your provincial and dated mentality thinking only employers know whats what is what got Yates where he is today , failed, maybe you are not far behind him either, I am sure he can find a place to hide for you too in the U.K

• Along with Bertie and the likes, he did a lot of good for the country and this should never be forgotten regardless of what has transpired since.

Add New Comment