TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

James Reilly: The boycott of nursing jobs is “ill-judged”

The Minister for Health criticised graduate nurses for not taking up lower-paid jobs with the HSE.

James Reilly
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

MINISTER FOR HEALTH James Reilly has criticised graduate nurses for not taking up lower-paid jobs with the HSE and said their boycott of the controversial recruitment scheme is “ill-judged”.

The Minister also said that the €10 million saving which had been expected to be made from the graduate recruitment scheme will still have to be made up from somewhere.

Responding to a parliamentary questions from a number of TDs about the scheme, James Reilly called on the unions involved to reconsider their opposition.

The HSE had planned to recruit 1,000 graduate nurses on a starting salary worth 80 per cent of the usual salary for the job. However nursing unions urged graduates to boycott the jobs and said the salary was ‘insulting‘.

The Health Minister said he was still optimistic that the numbers applying will increase.

“Graduate nurses and midwives are of course entitled to chose whether to participate in the initiative or to pursue their careers elsewhere but I would hope to see a steady increase in applicants over the coming months,” he said.

“I consider that the boycott of the scheme by the nursing representative bodies is ill-judged and I would ask them to reconsider their opposition to this measure”.

The HSE had originally set 1 February as the deadline for applications for the new positions but it cancelled the deadline indefinitely when it became clear that the number of applications was low.

It was revealed this week that just 84 job applications have been processed so far.

Read: Just 84 applications for graduate nursing scheme processed >

Read: HSE cancels deadline, opens nurse graduate scheme on a ‘rolling basis’ >

Read next:

Comments (104 Comments)

• Where do ye get those pictures of politicians? I bet it’s not from their press office!!

• I have just finished recruiting 4 nurses over here in the UK. All will start on £24, 0000 which does not include unsocial. There is light at the end of the tunnel, unfortunately its outside of the Emerald Isle.

• Mark, you seem to have pent up anger towards working people. I don’t claim to understand why and am not going to speculate but want to let you know that if you seek help that there is a system in place to give you that help. As for redundancy, I’m a full time firefighter paramedic for the last 15 years and would gladly now take a redundancy package were it available to me. I’m barely scraping by to put food on the table and pay my mortgage. I was in the private sector and took a significant pay cut to enter the public service. It was my choice. There are some jobs that mean more than the weekly paycheck. I took one of those. I don’t care what you do to feed your family and I will not stand on a soapbox and castigate you for fighting for your terms and conditions. In return I would aak you to award the same respect to others fighting for theirs. I will be at the 24/7 meeting in the Basketball Arena and can assure you, I don’t have the money to go out drinking afterwards, free entry or not. Slan go foill.

• I would gladly stand shoulder to shoulder with any 24/7 PS worker to stop this governments austerity program, my earnings are down 60% and in arrears with my mortgage. I don’t see how the strongest unions which are the PS sat by the past 5 years let the rest of the people suffer.
      I did a job for a builder who didn’t pay me. He owed me 3100 euro. I got stopped by the Garda and fined for having no road tax after I explained my story.
      I have no pension and I have to compete with the tradesmen in your station who work for cash.
      I’ve a mate in Tara st. I’ve other Garda mates in ronanstown and ballyfermot. My sister is an ICU nurse. My father was in the valuation office for 40 years.
      They all tell me stories of the poor management and waist. All I ask for is compulsory redundancy so the waist can be cleared and the best can get on with there jobs.

• #waste

• Im a 2011 graduate nurse, and on a temperary on call roster, with feck all hours at the min, i sat down and thought about the 21k job, and after tax, pension, pension levi and usc i could afford to pay my rent, put 10 in car for one wk out of fortnite paycheque and 20 for food shopping- so where do i get the money to support me and my daughter, or even childcare so i can go to work, or bills- as the nurses in work keep telling me i dont count for yellow pack, that im stuck and will probably lose my job if the yellow packs come into the service i work in. Nursing future bleak for single parents and the pressure is on waiting around to see what happens. Thanks a million dr. Reilly!!!!!

• Is it too much for a nurse to want to be able to afford to support their families Reilly ? Is wanting reward for back breaking, emotionally draining, dangerous work ‘misjudged’ ? No wonder Fine Gael are losing popularity

• I agree with Dr Reilly.
    It is ill-judged, but by the government.

• His expenses alone could pay a nurse. Shocking comments. If cuts have to be made fair enough- but 21k for a qualified preffessional. How can it be ill judged to say no! I had a stay in hosp recently and all I can say is that every nurse I spoke to on contract plans on leaving the country. Why on earth would they stay for that money. Rude and insulting- just like his comments.

• and the nice little tax break he earns by allowing us mere motals walk around his stately home in the country…

• I seem to remember a ‘ red letter’ announced by Reilly about 6 months ago. The day was Nov 5th and it was to be the beginning of a new regime for consultants. The consultants said ‘….No’…….and that was that. The nurses (my daughter being one) are different and can be told what to do. We are watching a slow return to ‘Feudalism’. In Spain the medical professionals and citizens are fighting tooth and nail fo the maintainance of their marvellous system…demonstrating for that which is inherently good…I despair for Ireland. My daughter has emigrated and all…all her classmates have also.

• Real, great input ,

• The Health service is now a administration jungle. If a nurse administers a tablet to a patient, she has to fill out 3 forms. It’s a paper chase and this is because of potential litigation. This all started in the HSE when the compensation culture became common, Most hospitals now have more office space than ward space. I admire nurses and doctors immensely and I feel that any cost cutting in the HSE should be made up from administration staff and not medical staff. Some people on here seem to have a perpetual gripe about something.

• I don’t see minister Reilly offering to work for €21k a year. He’s sitting on a 6 figure wage and a cushy pension so it’s easy for him. We’re going to lose all our best graduates to Australia where qualified professionals are appreciated.

• This is getting beyond ridiculous.
    It’s starting to look like a “cunning” plan to force us to the UK or further afield.
    Those in their advancing years will have to nurse each other quite soon….

• Maybe all the politicians should work for 20% less. See how they like it.

• It’s bad enough for graduate nurses to be screwed pay wise. They’ve just completed four years of student placement doing all the dirty work and now Reilly (whom I’m sure never emptied a bed pan) wants to undercut them. Rest of the world is laughing getting these highly qualified professionals.

• This sleeveen makes harney look competent.

• Fat, ugly, Rich and totally incompetent guarantees you a place in the health ministry of this country.

• Let’s not forget arrogant, condescending and smug while we’re at it. I believed once that no public representative could be as incompetent as Harney while still talking the talk…looks like there are multiple candidates in this government excelling at lack of awareness let alone competence. If I was a health professional I’d have left this drenched banana republic than put up with such nonsense promoted with a straight face.

• If my sums were correct he could have brought in 800 nurses and offered them over €27k which would be much fairer that a insulting €21k, how does he expect someone as a nurse to start on that its derisory.

• Those 800 nurses are already working, these are not new posts, the nurses in these posts are being told that their contract is expiring end of feb and that they should re apply for the same job that they are presently in, but will be now employed at 20pc less than their current wage.. Wish people would see through this.. They are NOT new jobs and it does not mean, like Mr O’reilly would like the public to believe, that it would mean 800 less on the dole, these nurses are already employed

• VitaminB is right the senior civil servants aren’t protected! They don’t need to be! The government ministers we elect doesn’t decide budgets the permanent government does( civil service) there simply given a budget and the allocation goes from there down! It’s an upside down pyramid with the frontline on the tip ! That’s why we are broke

• Greece recently cut the pensions of ex M.Ps by 50%. If Ireland did same with ex T.D’s could we not use the saved money to hire nurses on proper pay???

• Both he and Shatter are lazy and incompetent. Instead of taking the honorable and just path of pursuing the affluent tax-avoiders and the high-ranking civil and public “servants”, they are constantly going back to the same trough.
    Reilly & Shatter are abusing the vocational nature of the 24*7 Frontline workers. They believe that nurses and gardaí have a calling to do the jobs they do, and that they are so passionate about their jobs that they would do this work for free if they have to. The two ministers are confusing vocation with slavery & servitude.
    They believe that unless you turn up outside the Dáil in large numbers to protest you don’t count. The pensioners, the unemployed, with plenty of time to picket, are escaping with far less cuts than the Carers and 24*7 Frontline who are far too busy doing their own jobs to unite in protest.
    Separate 24*7 Frontline from other Public Sector negotiations. There is no parity in working conditions between nurses and teachers, or Gardaí and Revenue clerks. There shouldn’t be parity of pay.
    Gardaí have been hit by 20% cut in their pay. Their Regulations prohibit them from declaring bankruptcy or getting into significant debt. It’s hard not to when your employer decides to pay you pittance.
    I hope your Monday night meeting is a success, and that you get what you deserve.

• @Tom Maguire just so were clear nurses aren’t being offered a “basic wage” 21000 euro divided by 52 equates to 403.89 per week divided by 3 days (13 hours per day) 136 euros per day which equates to 10.31 per hour! Now that’s based on traditional contract hours, croke park demands an extra day which means you divide it by 4 days at 13 hours and you get 7 euros and 78 cents ! Less than minimum wage ! And that’s BEFORE tax ! So no your blatantly wrong

• Power to the nurses! We just saved a billion quid in debt costs.. I think this outrageous salary scheme can be and should be revised in the current circumstances!

• my daughter is in her third year psychiatric nursing and she ain’t staying here for that pay…she like all nurses is highly trained and she deserves more for the work she does… sure other countries are laughing getting all the highly trained nurses.

• What kind of man is the Minister, he says the €10 million will have to be saved somewhere…. Surely the jobs need to be filled so whoever gets them is going to work for the lesser pay, therefore saving made. Unless he’s going to back down and drop his initiative.

• Ill judged. That man has a nerve. The break the Croke park agreement and when they get away with for a couple of years they break it again and expect the nurses to be happy. Why do the TDs and ministers drop there salary to that of frontline staff and stop all allowances and expenses and then they can talk about stopping front line pay, allowances and premiums.

• This whole scheme and government are what is ill advised.

• Oh and what does that have to do with the general population of frontline workers mark? You going to enlighten us with what you work at? Do you not think that a paramedic would rather be at home on his day off rather than working extra days? If he’s doing your job for less money is it possible that you are charging unrealistic figures for your services that don’t reflect the current economy ? I imagine your job has very little out lay on your part ? Do you not think that by supporting paramedics and other frontline services wages you in turn could support your lively hood ??

• “Setting an example is not the main means of influencing others, it is the only means.” ~ Albert Einstein

Reilly and the others lost all moral authority when they failed to cut back Oireachtas pay and expenses.

• the biggest loophole to Agency workers directive in the Europe, made by a State that is legislator and employer at the same time

• The issue here is that James Reilly has no respect for nurses, he never has and refused to work with nurses in his practice when he was a GP. I think this speaks volumes about his attitude towards us, have had dealings with him myself and found him arrogant and condescending. Seems like mistake after mistake is being made by this government in relation to healthcare in Ireland, what happened to the primary care scheme? Why are my colleagues being forced to work abroad? Also why is it that James Reilly has dropped support for nurse specialist roles? I fear for the future of healthcare in this country when it is being run by those with vested interests and an inability to plan for the needs of the population.

• If u work for nothing u will never be idle

• ill judged? Is it the nursing professions fault the government need to make a 10 million euro cut? I think not. Stop targeting front line workers who should not have to suffer for the mistakes of other. Thank you minister Reilly for reasurring us that we are “..entilted to CHOSE the iniativie or pursue there careers elsewhere”. There is no CHOICE presented to us at all, merely a ultimatum. Stay in your home country and work for less than your profession is worth or immigrate to earn a respectful wage.

• If my sums were correct he could have brought in 800 nurses and offered them over €27k which would be much fairer that a insulting €21k, how does he expect someone as a nurse to start on that its derisory.

• In your face OReilly. In your face HSE. The cheek of the lot.

• Dara Ann O’Malley@ INMO
    I got a number of phone calls from graduates working in Kerry General Hospital last night. They were brought into a meeting with the Director of Nursing and told that on February 24th they will all be made unemployed unless they apply for the graduate jobs initiative. They were all devasted and disappointed by the nursing leadership in their hospital putting pressure on them to take these flawed graduate jobs. The graduates in Kerry General hospital are a very strong group. Please ‘like’ this comment and give them some much needed support -PLEASE EVERYONE SHARE-

JAMES REILLY NEEDS TO RESIGN NOW!

• Politicians are supposed to be people of high moral integrity but it is fair to say that Reilly is sadly lacking in that department. He tries to introduce slave wages for nurses knowing that they are in dire straits. He signs off on closing public hospitals while being part of a consortium that owns private hospitals. He has a child with autism but he remained, to his shame, silent when his party slashed the grants that parents get for caring for children with special needs. He has failed to deliver on any per-election promises and has been a vocal supporter of a government that has hoisted austerity onto the public, while at the same time living the life of,(no pun intended), Reilly. Integrity. I doubt he knows the meaning of the word.

• Veiled treat from mr O’reilly , I’m sure he’ll use whatever power he has to “sort them nurses out” sure isn’t that the vindictiveness of our so called leaders

• Should be closing tax loopholes and raising corporate taxes instead. We still have one of the lowest corporate taxes don’t we? That’s what governments need to be doing worldwide, going after cheaters. Ironically a lot of them use ireland for that, but certainly we could still raise corporate taxes a bit

• Compulsory redundancies across the board, I find it hard to support PS unions and there pay demands while they protect the high paid and keep people in jobs when there not needed.

• You should clarify what you mean by this statement.
      Redundancies across the board in the Public Service? So you want more nurses, more firemen, and more Gardai to be made redundant? You think these are unnecessary jobs that the unions are trying to get pay increases for or keeping the jobs just for the sake of it?
      You don’t seem to be clued in to what’s going on at all.

• It’s not hard, if your not needed then get sacked.
      If you needed more nurses then hire more nurses.
      If there’s too many mangers or admin then they should be let go.

• I’d imagine the people who voted for Dr Reilly are delighted with him since he is delivering a health service in their constituency. James is just a symptom of a failed political system. None of our politicians needs to (or can afford to) think beyond the parish pump.

Not too sure on his maths skills though. If he was expecting to save €10 million by employing 1,000 nurses at a salary reduction of 20%, then he should be saving €50 million if nobody takes up the job offers. Why the stupid statement that he’ll need to save the €10 million elsewhere?

• Simply put your an idiot Mark.

• Good comment idiot

• Because he hasn’t been able to sack the high cost temps the grass were to replace…

• It seems it is Hard for Reilly and his bunch of muppets to follow that common sense. The sooner he disappears up his own arsehole the better

• Mark Hickey, yes Gardai, nurses, paramedics and firefighters get paid sick leave, holiday pay other “benefits” but lets look at what they do for you ? First Gardai, Nurses, Paramedics and the firefighters are graduates of the university, but il break it down for you why they get this;
      You crash your car, roll it over an embankment, your pinned in with a series of serious injuries lets say you have a collapsed lung, a fractured femur and a head injury! First to arrive are the Gardai and ambulance, the Gardai block of the road to traffic, as the paramedics assess your injuries and call for an advanced paramedic, they start to treat your injuries, while your upside down and stabilise you, firefighters arrive and between them and the paramedics carefully extricate you from the wreck and move you out in a way to minimise further injury to your spine. You then stop breathing because your collapsed lung is putting pressure on your heart, the advanced paramedic reinflates your lung while the paramedic puts a tube down to secure your airway and breath for you, your fracture is reduced and you receive a drip, you are brought to hospital, where surgeons permanently repair the damage, the nurses maintain your safety in hospital while giving you adequate pain relief and giving you dignity! I don’t know but this group of people deserve more then McDonald’s wages, don’t you think?? Or the discounts

• Wow!! Thanks for explaining a car crash. Yes they should get well paid. The should also stop protecting high paid management and others PS workers that are not needed.

• How are they protecting them?

• @kevin..brilliantly put.@ mark.. Arrogance is a trait I thoroughly dislike!!

• Tommy C 17/02/13 #

Mark Hickey! ‘They’re’ not ‘there’ and ‘you’re’ not ‘your’! Learn some basic grammar!

• Why should nurses agree to this? Why is it nurses that you are yet again targeting? Why not ask all newly qualified doctors, teachers, Physio’s etc to take 80% of their normal salary why is it always nurses you attack? We are already the worst paid with the most amount of responsibility.

• Tommy C 17/02/13 #

What Reilly wants is nurses from the third world who are badly trained with no English language skills while our own highly qualified nurses are snapped up abroad and paid well for their expertise.

• These graduate nurses should be bloody glad to get some form of training and payment. I agree the salary isnt very high but few graduates today earn much. I work in the private sector and have both my bsc and msc degrees. After 7 years in my job I earn approximately € 32,000 before tax. I dont benefit from cushy public service allowances and rights… I lucky to get a twenty minute lunch somedays. One foot wrong and I guarantee I wont have a strong union to back me up… I would be out the door. And I am sick of hearing this argument about nurses and others being the backbone of our systems in this country… no one forced these people into these careers.

• Tom, nobody forced you into your career either and you are the one who should be glad to have these nurses working 24/7 365 to look after the health and well being of those who need them. Your obvious ignorance of the terms and conditions of employment in the nursing profession leads me to believe that it’s ICTU and IBEC who educated you. The propoganda machinery of the government is quite well resourced. As a consequence of this lack of good information, you are probably blissfully unaware that the Frontline Emergency Services do not have access to the necessary equipment or resources to carry out even the basics of their jobs safely and effectively.
      I hope this doesn’t put a damper on your Sunday morning read but instead gives you a yearning for the real facts. Visit a fire station, Garda station, casualty department of a public hospital or an ambulance station and speak to the staff there and see for yourself. Ask them how it feels. After that I welcome your reply. Slan go foill.

• Tom Maguire, poor you ! Do you know I am a paramedic and work 12 hour shifts often spilling over in to 13/14 hours,I come in at 7am I often have to go until late afternoon just to have breakfast let alone a break and when I do, more times than not it’s interrupted by an emergency call, my pay scale is similar to yours but only because of these”public service ” allowances ” these are stripped away by prsi, paye, USC, pension and a pension levy that takes triple the value of my pension contribution. So on top of 42% tax I pay an additional 20% approx to the state ! My students and interns are on 25k and they are worse of! For that we are available 24/7, risk our health, safety and well being, we miss holidays like Christmas, late home for dinner and all for the fact that we want to make our communities safer ! In Australia nurses and paramedics are on the equivalent of 60 to 70 k euro a year over here we max out scale wise between 36 and 42 k a year! These jobs are a vocation and deserve to have their sacrifice rewarded, more than a banker or someone who’s never worked! Have you any idea how frustrating it is to walk into a house that has the latest tv on the wall with sky hd and the occupiers who never worked a day in there lives are pissed and having a domestic and you can barely afford your electricity ??

• Tom , graduate nurses have options, they are wanted for the experience gained while training, their different to you who need further experience to Gain employment,
      They get no other allowances other than nights /weekend and public holiday pay , they work these shifts and the shifts deserve a premium
      All nurses are monitored, by patients / visitors and management grades, they too lose their jobs if deemed incompetent , sanctioned by their job and professional body
      I don’t know what the point is your trying to make

• Have you any idea how frustrating it is when a paramedic undercuts my price by offering to work for cash???

• I work in a hospital and I know that most nurses don’t get a break at all during a thirteen hour shift, and if they make a mistake then people can die. That puts your predicament in perspective I think. Our hospitals are staffed by brilliant nurses but never forget the old adage,’if you pay peanuts then you end up getting monkeys’.

• I stand by my comments. I fail to see what is so wrong with graduate nurses being offered vital work experience, basic salary and the chance to stay in ireland. Its not ideal but better than what faces many other graduates.

• Tom it was offered, and rejected, market forces are in play, now move on , an alternative is required, pay the going rate and save money on agency payments, or be pig headed and alienate nursing staff, while maintaining large agency costs

• Tom it’s not about other graduates though! Nurses are vital to running the hospitals, advanced nurse practitioners take pressure of the intern or junior doctors! We are short staffed in the areas other countries consider vital! We have 2 neurosurgical services for entire country, we have a largely retained fire service ,a shortage of paramedics, we have a police service that can’t protect themselves! At the same time, we have 8 payrolls for the HSE, we have 10 to 4 admin staff, we have a social welfare system that prevents genuine access and needs to be reformed and we have duplication of the dept of health in the guise of the hse! We have a population of Bermingham yet we are paying our Taoiseach more then Barack Obama and he can blow us up!! Nursing graduates and out medical graduates are vital! They are not equal to other graduates of art degrees so no I think you are blatantly wrong in your thinking Tom ! Graduates are not all equal just as the generalisation and villianisation of the public sector is not equal !

• since 2009 newly graduated nurses have seen a 40% cut. Did that idiot O Reilly take a 40% cut in that time? he did in my arse. He wants to sack 1000 agency nurses and take them back on at 80% so there is no creation of 1000 jobs. He’s an out and disgrace

• Tom, your not really getting it so ill simplify it for u… Nurses are qualified nurses when they get their degree, not trainee’s. Unlike most other degree’s, nurses are in ward training from year one of their 4 year degree (the course is a mixture of classroom theory and practical which requires wards/caring homes/health practices etc training). Student Nurses have to work 12-13 hour shifts not 9-4 classroom hours anyhow once a nurse is qualified (graduated nurse) they have full responsibility of their patients, so whether you have 20 years experience or 1 month, once your qualified your patients are your responsibility! Nobody will be holding your hand. I don’t know where your getting this idea that nurses still need more training after they graduate, the 4 year nursing programme covers every aspect a nurses job will require. There is no more training unless a nurse goes back to college to further her degree. What is it your not getting that you think it’s acceptable for a nurse to be on the same pay as someone starting in a til in a supermarket (no disrespect to them but they don’t gav

• ON not in a till! They don’t have responsibility over people’s lives and don’t need a degree to work on the till. Yes its heartbreaking that people with degree’s have to emigrate but don’t take it out on nurses (which most are also emigrating for better pay and work conditions anyway), recession or not we need them! I am not a nurse but I have witnessed the work they do and don’t think their profession should be degraded like this.

Add New Comment