TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Was Jesus married? Harvard scholar finds text which mentions his ‘wife’

The piece of papyrus, believed to date from the fourth century AD, quotes Jesus as talking about his wife.

The piece of payrus
Image: AP Photo/Harvard University, Karen L. King

WAS JESUS MARRIED?

It’s a question that has surfaced repeatedly over the years, from reinterpretations of Biblical texts to Dan Brown novels.

Now, however, a professor at Harvard University has discovered a piece of papyrus from the 4th century which she says quotes Jesus as mentioning his wife.

The words, written in Coptic and believed to date from the fourth century, translate as “Jesus said to them, my wife…,” according to the Harvard Gazette.

Professor Karen King of the Harvard Divinity School revealed the existence of the papyrus at a major international conference on Coptic studies at the Vatican in Rome.

She says that the fragment does not provide definitive proof that Jesus was married, which many Christians disagree about,  but reopens the debate over whether he was or not.

Jesus identifies his wife as “Mary” in the tiny fragment. “The disciples discuss whether Mary is worthy, and Jesus states that “she can be my disciple,” said King.

“Christian tradition has long held that Jesus was not married, even though no reliable historical evidence exists to support that claim,” she said.

This new gospel doesn’t prove that Jesus was married, but it tells us that the whole question only came up as part of vociferous debates about sexuality and marriage.

She added:

From the very beginning, Christians disagreed about whether it was better not to marry, but it was over a century after Jesus’ death before they began appealing to Jesus’ marital status to support their positions.

Several experts have said that the tiny papyrus fragment, measuring about one and a half inches by three inches, is authentic but King said that final judgment on the fragment “depends on further examination by colleagues and further testing, especially of the chemical composition of the ink”.

The fragment belonged to an anonymous private collected who asked King to help analyse and translate it.

US Scholar Jesus Wife

Harvard divinity professor Karen King holding the fragment of papyrus (AP Photo/Harvard University/Rose Lincoln)

Read: “We got one egg a year” – survivors’  submission provides evidence of State interaction with Magdalene Laundries >

Read: Group of young priests band together to buy a church in Limerick >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• Love the idea of Jesus coming home after a hard day’s miracle working to an irate Mary Christ….”I don’t care how many leppers you cured……you never do anything around this house!!”

• Maybe the Mary at the foot of the cross was Jesus’ wife and not his mother. How easy it would have been to change one word. We already know from the Gospels that he had four brothers and at least two sisters. And it was highly unusual in Jewish society at that time not to be married.
    Hmm….where would this leave the catholic church’s increasingly desperate stance on celibacy?

• Only the gospels that support our (christian) points of view made it to the bible as we know it. Constantine made sure that many gospels including ones from Mary Magdelene.

• Correct.

• so he was riding his oul lady Mary?? what is the world coming to…. I just don’t know.. tut tut tut..

• It’s all coming together now.

Jesus on a typical Thursday night out with the 12 lads says,

“I can’t stay out too late tonight or the wife will crucify me tomorrow”

• There is a possibility Jesus , Gay but i am sure believers in the faith would perish the thought , if indeed he existed at all ? Could you imagine how that would impact on the faith of the hardcore believers who are homophobic to the core .

• Jonno 19/09/12 #

@fartbox @damian #CHRISTIANRAGE
      He married the Easter Bunny and a slice of toast. The bible is only a bunch of stories to make people not be bolloxes. Its not a literal thing

• This topic and the comments here illustrate the difference between Christianity and Islam brilliantly. In Western society its fine to discuss and question the origin of faith, even to make satirical comments about it, and there are some hilarious ones here.
      But if this were about Islam, the topic itself would be taboo and its unlikely that the Journal would broach it, any similar comments would be heavily censored. If an Islamic topic and similar comments were published the response would not be like the one here, nonexistent, the “peaceful religon” would react violently.

• I’d say it depends on how far west you go; I’m sure there are large chunks of America that’d be in a fury at the comments above.

• True Paul, but fanatical Christians would usually react by telling you that you’re going to burn in hell or that they’re going to pray for you, very rarely will they resort to the kind of pathetic violence that we’ve witnessed from fanatical muslims this last week.

• Dmc 19/09/12 #

Definitely married. The bible we know today was diluted by a group of men a few hundred years after Jesus died in order to give more power to the Catholic Church and to the men who controlled it. Nothing Christian about that!

• Definitely married? Any other certainties of old that have been questioned you can enlighten us with?
      If Jesus knew he was going to be murdered at the age of 33 I’m not sure he would have married someone.

• If you just consider Jesus as a historical figure it would have been very unusual for a man in his 30s not to be married. With much shorter life expectancy 2000 years ago people married very young.

• Dmc 19/09/12 #

@Ferg. I hope you’re not suggesting Jesus had sex when he wasn’t married?!!;) The Catholic church might not be happy with that. That said we shouldn’t worry too much seen as Jesus wasn’t even Catholic.

• Life expectancy was much lower back then because of child mortality. Anyone who survived past the age of five had a similar life expectancy to someone living today. Modern science has only added a few years to the life expectancy of the over fives.

Or maybe the stats back then were skewed by people like Noah living for 700 hears or more. Who knows ;)

As another aside, even after centuries of study, we know very little about Shakespeare’s life – from 400 years ago. What makes people think that the bronze age people of the 4th century could investigate the life of someone born 400 years prior?

The only logical conclusion is that these books are works almost entirely of fiction. The story of Joseph and Mary returning to Bethlehem for a census is even provable nonsense – there was never a Roman census requiring people to return to their birth town. There was however a requirement for the Christian saviour to be born there to fulfill the prophesies…

• I would have thought infant mortality would only affect life expectancy if you’re looking at it statistically, as in it brought down the average age. Did they keep that level of detail in their censuses? Maybe I’m wrong though I’m just pontificating.

Noah would have lived 700 years under the Jewish lunar calendar. That would make him roughly in his 60s by the Gregorian calendar. Methuselah (the oldest living person in the Bible) lived to be 969 or a respectable 84 years by our time.

• Blasphemy!!!!

Protests at the US embassy anyone? Didnt think so

• This is disgraceful, I’m going to protest outside the US embassy. They are only doing this to mock my beliefs, ARGH!!!!!

• If jesus had married, and indeed the catholic church was to allow priests to marry, a lot of the physical and sexual abuse which was forced upon so many young people could have been avoided… Also, they wouldn’t be facing such a decline in vocations to the church as they are now

• Imagine if this story was about a certain prophet of Arabian descent, there would be mass protests, violence and death.

• Dan Brown will be delighted

• There are a wide variety of historical accounts of Jesus-type characters in various ancient texts; all doing miracles and uttering wise words, pre-dating the arrival of The Real Jesus.
    Every village had a prophet.
    I wonder were any of his predecessors married?

• every village has an idiot too.

• Ask him when he comes back ! I won’t hold my breath tho. The Bible is a joke almost as big a joke as it’s devout followers. I had a Jehovah witness tell me I was going to hell ,because I didn’t believe in the bible word for word. He also state evolution never occurred I rest my case.

• yes, he was married to very lovely young man by all accounts

• Christianity: The belief that some cosmic Jewish zombie can make you live forever if you symbolically eat his flesh and telepathically tell him that you accept him as your master so he can remove an evil force that is present in humanity because a rib-woman was convinced by a talking snake to eat from a magical tree. Makes perfect sense.

• Jesus and Mary H. Christ

• Hammie 19/09/12 #

I always thought Jesus was gay……sure didn’t he ride an ass in the Bible

• Lol=)

Jesus said to Peter, “Come forth and I will give you eternal glory.”
      Peter came fifth and won a toaster.

Jesus walks into a bar and asks for a glass of water which he then turns into wine.
      The barman says, “Oi, what do you think you are doing?”
      Jesus replies, “I’m not paying your fcuking prices.”

// I’ll get my coat while I wait for the blasphemy police //

• Religious fairy tales = humanities biggest problem.

• Why does the church not acknowledge the Gospel according to Jesus? Why leave such an important story/message in the hands of other people? The church conveniently found 3 similar stories from Matthew, Mark and Luke, not written by them though and, along with John’s version went with them. They opted not to bother with versions by Thomas, Judas, Peter – The first pope, or James. It’s fairly obvious why they ignored the gospel of Mary… no wimmins allowed that aren’t either virgins or women of ill repute, especially not ones with an important story to tell!

• I’m pretty sure if he was married there would be an entire testament about it….in addition to the old and new there would definitely have been an entire JesusThe Married Years , rather than 4 lines in a buried script surely…

” .look Mary I already you it’s just me and a few lads going for a meal and a few glasses of wine , if you do tag along they’ll be calling you Yoko Ono , none of the other fellas wives or girlfriends are going and if you are there we will be the only couple attending……and then there’s no way they’ll be able to write books about me and deny are a couple….people just wouldn’t believe that…

• Based on the brief translation given (“Jesus said to them, my wife…”) I’m choosing to believe that a Harvard professor has in fact uncovered the first ever Jewish comedian “my wife” joke. Now what’s the punch line?

• Give it up Jesus, we all know you were partial to a few peasant folk in your day but who really cares . . In the end of the day it’s all made up anyway !!

• Just before he was crucified, Jesus met the apostles and said “right lads, I’ll meet ye outside the tomb at ten am on Sunday. Bemused, the apostles agreed and went their separate ways. Come Sunday morning, Jesus gets up, pulls back the rock and looks around. No sign of anyone. So he waits for an hour and still no sign. So he decides to see where everyone is. Strolling down the street he hears a lot of laughter and banter coming from the local pub. He looks in the window and sees all the apostles drinking and having the craic. He bursts in through the door and shouts at Peter, what’s going on, I told ye to meet me at the tomb at ten. Peter says ” well Jesus, judas came in to a few pound, and sure you know how it is.!

• mayb he was gay.. but thats something that according to d church even today is wrong.. but even if it does prove he was married the church will find a way of covering it up.. they are very good at dat..

• “Christian tradition has long held that Jesus was not married, even though no reliable historical evidence exists to support that claim,” she said.

Just like the existence of Jesus himself. Or, you know, god.

• The Roman historian and Senator Tacitus referred to Jesus’ crucifixion getting the green light from Pilate, in his historical work, Annals (c.116 AD), fairly independent source, as for the rest of the story…….!! I can see Enda Kenny on Who Do You Think You Are? next year, ‘Well Enda, it looks like you are a direct descendant of Christ’.

• Wonder if the 50 Shades books will be re-discovered in the future and have a cult, sorry, religion based on them???

• The woman is a chancer – linked to qucks like Robert W. Funk and wacky outfits like Westar Institute. To be taken with a large grain of salt

• Dave! 19/09/12 #

The bible, one woman’s lie to cover up an affair that got WAY out of hand.

• Anything about same sex marriage back then?

• Yawn, who cares

• Jesus was married to Mary (not his mother the other one that the laudry was named after) and he had siblings!

Still a cool bloke, seeing as people are still obsessed with him 2,000 years later!

• This Jesus was actually a south American drug lord living in Nazareth at the time. Correction pronunciation is heyzus.

• This article should be called Bull and Shit! I loose any respect for anybodies intelligence who can tell me an exact god or religion they believe in.

Add New Comment