TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Joan Burton criticised over welfare ‘lifestyle choice’ comments

Sinn Féin described the Minister’s comments as “galling” – saying that the government had failed to create jobs for the unemployed.

Image: asko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN HAS criticised the Minister for Social Protection Joan Burton for suggesting that some school leavers were claiming social welfare as a “lifestyle choice”.

Sinn Féin’s Social Protection Spokesperson Aengus Ó Snodaigh described Burton’s comments as “outrageous”, saying:

It is particularly galling to hear these comments at a time when the government has not filled even one of its promised additional 15,000 positions in training, work experience and educational opportunities for the unemployed.

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One’s Morning Ireland this morning, Burton said her department would be targeting those who were claiming welfare payments as a “lifestyle choice”. She said that those who refuse to take up job or training opportunities would have their payments cut by as much as €44 per week.

“If somebody is 14 or 15 years of age, and perhaps they’re not doing very well in school, what happens in the current climate of jobs, they tend to drift out of school and end up not working (and become) dependent on social welfare,” Burton said.

However, Ó Snodaigh rejected the Minister’s comments, saying: “The fact of the matter is that there are no jobs out there.  The best way to lower the social welfare bill is to create jobs.  This is where the government’s focus should be rather than on further punishing those who are dependent on social welfare.”

The Irish National Organisation for the Unemployed has also said that the minister should be focusing on job creation, and criticised the government for not providing adequate information on training and education opportunities for unemployed young people.

Do you agree with Joan Burton’s assertion that some people are claiming social welfare as a “lifestyle choice”?

Poll Results:

Read: New rules mean 55 people have dole cut with more to come >

Read: Scheme that has created eight internships will cost €16 million >

Read: Next Budget could introduce €100 ‘household charge’ as property tax >

Read next:

Comments (140 Comments)

• the dole have a fair idea who is cheating the system.its the man and woman who has lost their job through no fault of their own whom i feel sorry for.who have to wait sometimes months before their dole comes through and who are trying to do their best to get a job. i just hope ms burton clamps down on the right people.

• Tightening the screws on welfare cheats is all very well. But I remember when I was in Thatcher’s Britain in the 1980s. Whenever they tried to make things more difficult for dole cheats what happened was that the cheats would adapt to any new rules and would find ways to continue cheating…but many legitimate and especially vulnerable claimants would find their lives more difficult as they tried to cope with the new rules and jargon.
    We need to be careful not to do that.

I agree with clamping down on dole cheats, but it’s important that innocent people aren’t punished as well. Demoralised youngsters don’t need more difficulty in their lives…they need encouragement and real options.

• I once gave a lift to a young guy to Cork city from Mallow and in the course of conversation asked him what he was doing.. he said he finished his leaving cert about a couple of years ago and wanted to take life easy so he is on the dole. He also said he is living with his parents and has no intentions to look for a job in the near term…

I am a diabetic and am eligible for a GP card and have been refusing to take it coz i have a job and can pay for my expenses. I am an immigrant from India and was shocked to see the way people who dont want to work are pampered in this country. I appreciate Me. Burton to be bold enough to make the statements about some people who are exploiting the state and tax payers money.

In India if we lose our job there is no support whatsoever, no child allowance, no dole, no medical card, no Gp card, no job seekers allowance. ireland is fabulous coz it helps its jobless get back on their feet and supports them in helping to get back to the job market but Ireland is also terrible that it encourages further laziness among those who want to be lazy and milk the system. Some one in my town threw a party in the local pub for being on the dole for 30 years!!!

Need I say more??

• India is classified as a third world country for many reasons and using it as a comparison is ridiculous, in that case lets go to a jungle in the amazon and find a tribe there to use as a comparison aswell. Talk with relevance!

• Well said Ramesh! Daimhin, you have missed the point completely! What he is saying is that we should be grateful for what we have and not take advantage! I think what Ramesh has to say is very relevant to this discussion.

• she should have a good look around the Dail and particularly the Seanad and identify those who sit there for 5 years just for the money!!!!………96,000 euro a year for nodding your head!!,,,

• I know people genuinly struggling to get anything and only ever being able to get the odd temp job who have always worked. That being said I also work in a bookies and seen plenty of the other kind. One of the shops I used to work in would have people yelling at me “I pay your wages” til I pointed out my wages paid their dole! Its horrible that there are people genuinly struggling looking for any crappy job and then there’s spongers who do fuck all with their time.

• eimsley 18/07/11 #

were the comments not directed at those who choose not to work ? ? not those who are unable ?

• In all honesty she is right to a point. If someone is offered training that will improve their employment prospects and refuses it without good reason they should be penalised in some way. Also, I know from when I was unemployed that it is very difficult to get work in other sectors. I was told I was either underexperienced or overqualified and that was on the rare occasion you could get your job application acknowledged…

• can anyone tell me please,that if someonre is caught defrauding the dole,they still get their payment with a few bob taken out of it to pay back what they stole in the 1st place. does this even make sence if true?

• Why did it take so long for the penny to drop?

• How do people who are not on dole afford to upskill themselves? I have noticed that people who are on dole can avail of courses either free or at a reduced rate, whereas the people who currently hold a low paid job and would like to improve their skills are sometimes prevented as many courses are expensive.

Maybe I have missed something along the way as I am a retired person so have not done a lot of searching with regard to courses.

• Does anyone think that her plan of cutting payments to people who refuse work or a course is really about rooting out people who are working on the side, e.g. if they can’t turn up for a course they must be otherwise employed?

• I’m going to go further than Burton and say that the anti-social scumbag class are taking the dole as a means of getting by week on week, year on year. We all know the type of people Ms.Burton is talking about. They are the ones with the white socks tucked into their black adidas tracksuit bottoms trying to intimate the rest of society. Well, there is an easy solution to this problem. Sort out the “these” folk from the actual decent people “having” to claim the dole as a means of getting by and threaten them with community service if they are too lazy to work. These scumbags are complaining about the foreign workers over here “stealing” our jobs but yet, when it comes to doing a hard days work, they’re nowhere to be found. Actually, you could find them, in an alley either robbing some “pur YoUNg WaN” or shooting up some crack… Well done Burton, you’re fecking right!

• Well said minister, maybe labour aren’t that nuts after all. Im sick of seeing d welfare system abused by my mates while I work 16 hour shifts for peanuts because I have some pride in myself.

• tony 100 euro a week to a young adult living at home getting there bills paid by mammy and daddy can give a “good” lifestyle. look at the clubs and bars at the weekend full of this age group do a survey of them a lot would be on the dole. system stinks. someone with 20 years stamps out of work for first time and gets the same as someone who never worked. and in the most part gets less as they dont know or wish to ‘work’ the system. joan is telling it as it is. but lets not say everyone on the dole are lazy cause thats def not the case. joan should push any money she can spend on getting genuine ppl back to work.

• Exactly!! And for a 19 year old out of leaving cert way too much! Young people should be given every assitence to train, find job, upskill. study. Paying they 100 euros a week is crazy.

• She is right. There are plenty of bums with no aspirations or intent to work. There are also plentyof people itching to work. Burton could have put a bit if thought into how she was going to make here statement. The government have and continue to anihiliate potential employment, but I am still glad to see that they are going to go after the sofa brigade

• …I don’t think Aengus Ó Snodaigh or Sinn Féin are in any position to comment here. Joan Burton makes a very valid argument reguarding “career welfare recipients” who in good times & bad, have never made any inroads into getting a job, or finding any meaningful way way to give back to the State. If anything I’m surprised that the number is as small as 55 (the number of specific cases Joan Burton was referring to). Nowhere is Europe do the longterm unemployed have it so easy. It’s time to toughen up & get real.

• Well done Joan Burton, i dont mind anyone getting the dole who has lost their job, while they look for another. The people who dont want to work should get nothing. Why should I do 80+ hours a week to give these freeloaders money for fags and cider, whos the fool

• If the govt refuse to give them anything I can just hear the human rights brigade now and it would only be the people who work that will suffer, through crime for a start. I bet if the govt did refuse them any € that would get them off their arses and take to the streets then.

• bollocks all of it!!!!! every person on the dole should have their dole stopped if they don’t apply for jobs. they should give written proof, names of companies and types of jobs applied for BEFORE they get their payment. problem solved!!!!!! spot checking should be done on everyone!!!! you lie you don’t get the dole simple as!!!!!

• They do have to apply for jobs they also have to show who the applied to and when before they get paid so problem not solved.

• since when tony duncan???? when have the dept. of social protection made this a qualifying condition that you have to prove you are actually looking for employment???? it beggars belief that you can sign on and not be questioned about your job hunting. even if there is only twenty or so jobs going in a town of approx. 10,000 people everyone on the dole should have applied for those jobs and it should be linked through the department that they have applied!!!! no hunting no dole!!!!!

• You obviously never had to sin on the dole, because when I had to sign on I was given a form to fill out with the names and contact numbers of the employers that I had contacted. Also they had to be jobs that were advertised to prevent people just walking into a shop asking them for a job and getting them to sign the form. I doubt this system has changed.

• that practice died with the dinosaurs. there is no collective information gathering practices done regarding this part of the welfare system ( jobseekers allowance/benefit) and job advertising/creation. thats why ireland has such a bad reputation of benefit culture and benefit fraud. so do you think lying about jobs applied for constitutes benefit fraud?

• just another quick point tony, back in the day when you actually had to come face to face with a welfare officer in your local office to sign and answer questions, that doesnt happen anymore as the volumes of people on the dole has increased 50 fold!!! its queueing, sign, and out the door usually no questions about job seeking and certainly never any handing over of any documentary evidence of job seeking.

• This is not new. Parts of Ireland have the same problem with generational unemployment that can be found in the UK and the US. In addition, when I came home in 2006 I was absolutely shocked by the ‘gastarbeiter’ attitude Ireland had developed over the Celtic Tiger. Many young Irish feel they are simply too good and too important to take a low paying unpleasant job. Ever wondered why you never hear English, let alone Irish, spoken on the garbage collections? ‘Cos the Polish aren’t so far up their own arses they’d rather sit on the dole than perform a very necessary service (ask Naples, if you don’t believe me). The meek shall inherit the Earth.

• I work in an electrical store and this morning I made people spend €950 with welfare checks. So trust me they get plenty more than the €185. Last week I had sum1 buy a tv and digital camera with welfare cheques.

• You arent entiltled to anything if you are living at home with “Mammy and Daddy” – If you leave college you dont get a cent till you move out or get a job… even then its only 100 euro a week IF you are able to move out a and pay rent and bills.. get real, there is no one “living at home off Mammy +daddy getting 100e for the pub”… Joan Burton decided to go after young people in her comments… not generations who wont work and are recieving thousands in social welfare cheques and payments plus a free house. There are plenty of people who NEED the social welfare payments BUT dont get them due to circumstances and background. This too is unfair- its a biased system. Ive been in and out of employment for a year (we all have our sob stories!) – i cant recieve a cent because im under 25. I work wherever I can.. without “mammy and daddy” putting a roof over my head i would be in Austrailia like so many others. Im the one stuck in the poverty trap and i have a bloody MA. Burton is right in advocating social welfare reform BUT it better be true reform and not another attack on young people… We want jobs not a life on the dole despite what you say.. where are the 15,000 jobs you promised us??

• Órla 01/02/12 #

I could not agree with you more Ciaran, I am in exactly the same position Ciaran, I also am a recent M.A. graduate who has to live at home and I cannot claim as my parents wages and where we live is taken into account which in my opinion is absurd. The government is assuming that a twenty something is getting “pocket money” like a flipping child fro your parents. I work part-time and at the moment can only get 4hours per week and earn less a month then the dole earners get per week and I am doing an unpaid internship during the week to put me in a better position to get a full time paid job in the media. I apply for paid work all the time and most of the time i dont even get a reply and i worked for 4 years in college. I am lucky that I dont have bills to pay but living at home brings its own limitations and difficulties and how dare people assume you can have the life in that situation, most of the time I cant afford to go out and my parents only help with my transport costs and my internship doesnt cover expenses.

• I agree with Burton on this one. At the risk of seeming like a crank, here’s my suggestion.
    Replace unemployment benefit (and certain others) with a universal benefit to for all citizens over 18, set at a ‘survival’ level? All tax credits and loopholes abolished to simplify the tax system and ensure the wealthy pay their share. A universal benefit would compensate for the loss of tax credits, while it would encourage those formerly “on the dole” to work since they would be able to keep their earnings (less tax of course).

• That’s a fantastic idea Tom and you’re not the first to suggest it. It’ll never happen here though, or at least not for a long time. The idea actually requires some thinking outside of the box. Our politicians, most of them, are too ingrained with groupthink to ever contemplate an idea like this.

• Thanks JimBob. There has been plenty of work done on this system, also called a “basic income guarantee”, particularly in NZ. Among many advantages, such a system would end the stigma/paternalism regarding people on unemployment benefit (see many of the comments on this page, from what passes for the left and right in this country). You are totally right in saying a simplification of the tax and benefit system would be a ‘third rail’ for Irish politicians. Both systems are the result of generations of electoral promises to a myriad of constituencies.

• She’s dead right. There are way to many out there sponging off the state.
    There’s plenty of jobs out there, but some people have grown accustomed to their lifestyle of leisure, that they can’t be bothered actually getting a real job.

• Danny D 18/07/11 #

yeah. people don’t like the truth…

• Yes it makes me sick to see people who have EVERYTHING, cars, houses, parents who support them like crazy and as a lone parent mostly when there partner is living with them and just dissapears “in the closet” when the welfare officers come around. Lone parents like me then who are depending on it and REALLY need the money are thrown in the same pot! That is not fair – even of course scared how it effects ME when they get harsher now i absolutely agree that something has to be done! Wish me luck ;-)

• The “sofa brigade” are a small minority who do need to be sorted out, however there are not the jobs out there for the numbers of school leavers who find themselves let down by this country. Not all of them have the transferable skills to emigrate nor should they have tp!
    Job creation is the key and that is yet another broken promise of this Government, while billions are paid out to bodholders in the last two weeks .

• Most people have at least some transferable skills… in any event, can’t people learn new skills? Many jobs provide entry level training.

• “The “sofa brigade” are a small minority who do need to be sorted out”,

How do you know they are a “small minority”. You have no idea.

however there are not the jobs out there for the numbers of school leavers who find themselves let down by this country.

A job is not a right. There’s nothing stopping these school leavers from striking out on their own and starting businesses. We do need more jobs in Ireland and bright, young, enthusiastic start ups can make them. I had my first business at 16. What’s their excuse?

The fact is government’s job initiatives have been in action about a three weeks now, lets give them some time to work.

The only person responsible for your survival is yourself. Like the great man said, “it’s not what your country can do for you but what you can do for your country”.

Also, there are tons of jobs out there. My two Brazilian flat mates got a jobs in Ireland 3 days after being here and only one of them speaks English for fucks sake. Yeah it’s working in a kitchen, but it’s a job.

There is a shortage of IT people in this country now. This is documented. SO much so rates are going through the roof. My friend, a graduate, looked for work for 3 days and got a job starting at €40,000 per year, he has no experience.

It seems to me people can always find excuses and blame others but at the end of the day, regardless of your circumstances, you are responsible for your survival, not the state.

• “How do you know they are a “small minority”. You have no idea.”

Unemployment rates of less that 4% during the boom years suggests that they are a small minority.
      Unless you consider every post-boom school-leaver and all those unfortunate to lose their jobs to be part of the sofa brigade.

• Both RTE and TV3 investigations estimate welfare fraud at between €2,000 and €3,000 million every year

€20m alone was defrauded by prisoners last year, enough to pay for 860 SNAs!

• Of course some school leavers are claiming social welfare as a “lifestyle choice”. Also, young women having “X” amount of babies to get a bigger house etc. I know people who have done this. The system is wrong. Anybody who thinks this doesn’t happen is naive to say the least!

• There are some people who choose the dole as a “lifestyle choice” as she put it, but that’s always the case. I doubt there’s anymore since the recession hit than there was during the celtic tiger years, it’s just become more acceptable in a wider section of society to be unemployed now because everyone now knows someone who’s been let go.

• damian 18/07/11 #

The dole and social welfare are there to protect the people that GENUINELY need assistance through no fault of their own. People that lose their job are entitled to it and as a society we need to look after our people in their time of need. For too many years there have been spongers that haven’t worked an honest day in their life, while our pay packet gets hammered every month to keep this country afloat…. There are plenty of jobs out there if you are willing to work, but some people think that working in a shop, restaurant, service industry is beneath them for some reason… We need to change people’s attitude towards work and that is going to be the hardest thing.

• Ive worked in shops bars and restaurants all through my life from years before leaving school with my leaving cert and to be honest its society at large that treat the people working there like they are beneath them, thats where the problem lies, ive said it before Ireland has quickly turned into England with a class system very similar,people are not equals in this country,the hospitality industry especially is where you will find most customers look down on you as if youre worthless,i couldnt count the amount of times when dealing with a situation ive been told “you work in a bar,what do you know” or something to that similar extent! Aspiration for the rich and ridicule for the lower end of the spectrum pr the ones that are forced out of jobs through the economic powers that be. This country is a joke and most of the people in it are more laughable, because of their attitude than anything else. Yes there are some wasters,same as everywhere and same as there was through the celtic tiger era but check the stats for social welfare benefits in Ireland and compare it to other European countries,see how we rate before you go jumping on the bandwagon to gut the less fortunate,and while youre all at it check how many foreign people are part of the half million on the dole here,the Irish always love to put their own down first! The country is made up mostly of sheep with pitchforks,as i said,JOKE!

• damian 18/07/11 #

I (and I’m sure many others) have done their fair share of service industry working while in school, college etc and have had to deal with the public. I don’t think I have experienced anything like you mentioned with regards to looking down the nose at people in the service industry. If someone spoke to me in the way you mentioned, I’d be pretty quick to stand up for myself and tell them to go f**k themselves…

Who cares what other people think about you (plural)? I’d rather work and have something to get up for in the morning that claim benefits and sit on my arse and play xbox all day! And what Joan Burton was talking about is not a generalisation. She was targeting a certain low percentage of people… The government needs to help these people get jobs, but it works both ways. They need to want to work and that’s where most of the problem lies…

• @ Daimhín

ustomers look down on you as if youre worthless

So what?

I hate snobbery almost as much as I hate laziness but… SO WHAT?

I have never looked down on a working man, regardless of the job, but If you want respect in this world you have to earn it. If you want sucsess you have to TAKE it and I don’t think it’s at the bottom of the toilet.

So to reply to your comment: “customers look down on you as if youre worthless” I suggest you put your big boy pants on and man the fuck up.

• spot on daimhis

• Dole €188; shopassistant €312. Shopassistant have to pay transport to go to work, rent and heating. Dole, they get rent allowance, they get fuel allowance, and you dont have to wake up at 6 oclock in the morning to drive for 40 minutes to work they can stay at home and NOT stand for 8hr just for € 312 than afer all the bills you have to pay you end with no life just home work and work home. Something have to be donne because this things are wrong and for it people dont wont to work in shop or hospitality, because you can see in the dole, you still can have a life and not the stress of a soo low job pay. They have medical card and if you work you cant, so cant even go to the doctor because of the price, not money for thist luxury.

• Well-said Joan Burton. Even during the boom, there remained a residual number of people claiming benefits and allowances whilst making no effort to seek employment at all. We live in a society where as citizens we have a combination of rights and responsibilities. We have the right to be caught by social safety-nets if we fall upon hard times through no fault of our own. Nevertheless, it is also our responsibility to participate in society in a meaningful way and to the best of our ability. All too-often, the focus is on the former whilst the latter is neglected whether it be a hard-core underclass of welfare cheats or a hardcore business aristocracy who continually avoid paying taxes, whilst decent hard-working people, both middle and working class pick up the tab.

However, I am concerned that we may be descending into the politics of populism, and that we are beginning to tar all claimants with the same brush. The basic fact remains; unemployment has trebled in the last four years through economic forces alone. People didn’t suddenly decide to down tools and become lazy in 2008 and 2009. The focus must also remain on fostering the conditions necessary for job creation.

• There are no jobs in Ireland?
    True. There are no high paying jobs in Ireland now for those with no skills.
    In the past few years, those with no skills got jobs on building sites. The money was fantastic, the work could be hard, but no skills were required.
    These are now the majority of people that are filling up the unemployment register. Is it the states fault that these people decided to leave school to go into non skilled jobs?
    I know all about the shortage of construction jobs. I’ve worked in construction for 20 years. I’ve worked freelance for the past 7 years, as there was never any jobs in North Donegal for my skills. Freelance gave me the freedom to work close to home if jobs came up.
    My point is this. I’m used to working away from home. From Dublin, Portlaoise, Naas, Belfast and elsewhere around the country. I’ve had no choice.
    Since this recession started, I’ve managed to get 3 seperate contracts/jobs. I’m almost finished my 3rd. I’e been out of work for a total of 2 weeks during the past 3 years of the recession.
    My secret? I get off my arse and go looking for work. I’m currently working in Scotland. I do 2 weeks straight through and a weekend off. This contract only has a few weeks left. Then I’ll head to London if I have to.
    Not once have I considered sitting at home on the dole and waiting for a job opportunity to appear outside my house. I go looking for a job, and take what I can get. It may not be ideal, but I don’t sit on my computer all day complaining about my situation. I get on with it.
    Before anyone asks, I have a wife and 2 children. I’d do anything to support them. And that is what I’m doing.
    To those that want to get off the registar, make it happen yourself. Don’t expect someone else to do it for you.

• Danny, the only people who are being taken on on building projects is people who have building expieriance… you can hardly call that unskilled work. There is NO building site in this country that will take on unskilled builders/ labourers and workers.. A foreman i know turns down lads looking for work every day.. one week he had 200 people looking for some sort of work.. some of them got jobs but none of them got a look in if they didnt have site expieriance… Youre right tho..those that do work have to travel around…
      You will get something IF youve expierianbce but you can hardly call it easy! Best of luck with it! Fair play to you and keep the head up!

• fair play to you Danny

• Maybe Joan should attack these scroungers before attacking the poorest in our society….

Since General Election in March to the end of July ( 5 months)..
    Ten LABOUR TDs have between them, claimed a total of 213,650 EURO just for their expenses..
    They also have a salary of 92,000 EURO per year..

LABOUR TD Dominic Hannigan Total expenses since March..22,415 EURO..

LABOUR TD Kevin Humphryes…Total expenses since March..15,705 EURO.

LABOUR TD Michael McCarthy..Total expenxes since March…21,395 EURO.

LABOUR TD Michael McNamara..Total expenses since March..24,755 EURO

LABOUR TD Derek Nolan..Total expenses since March..24,755 EURO.

LABOUR TD Ann Phelan…Total expenses since March..19,985 EURO.

LABOUR TD Brendan Ryan..Total expenses since March..17,960 EURO.

LABOUR TD Authur Spring…Total expenses since March..25,850 EURO.

LABOUR TD Alex White..Total expenses since March..15,705 EURO.

LABOUR TD Ciaran Lynch..Total expenses since March…25,225 EURO..

• Oh in terms of plans for real jobs, I suggest investment in generic pharmaceuticals manufacture, computer software and hardware manufacture, Public works investment to name a few.

• Big difference you are talking about criminals who are defrauding the state and every effort should be made to resolve this problem, cutting the money of people on the dole will not stop the defrauders and only force more people into even worse poverty than they already in.

• Joan Burton is correct in what she says.
    There are many people who choose to live their lives on the dole. Too many.

This did happen in the 80′s and 90′s too. I can remember an in-law being followed to work on a building site back in the early 90′s by dole inspectors. He knew they were following him, so just packed up his tools and drove back home. They had no proof he was working and claiming the dole.

The difference today is that the focus is placed on immigrants (sorry. Foreign nationals. I don’t want to be called racist).

Here’s where people call me a racist:
    The Polish and Eastern Europeans are screwing the system far more than Irish people.
    They work here off the books (how many of you have had the leaflets in the door offering window/chimney/ anything cleaning?), then they send the money they make back home.

Then you have the ones no longer living here, but still claiming the dole.
    Remember the Icelandic volcano? How many tens of thousands were caught out by that one?
    We need stricter border controls to prevent that from happening again, but no
    TD will say it for fear of being branded as racist.

Then you have the African Elephant in the room.
    Apart from making jokes about e-mails from Nigerian royalty, we’re not allowed to talk about the people from Africa claiming to be persecuted and conveniently landing in Ireland to escape the persecution. International law dictates that refugees have to claim asylum in the first country they land in.
    There are no direct flights from anywhere in Africa to Ireland.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve no problem with refugees coming here. If anything, I’d have more. The problem I have is that the ones coming here are doing so because of the welfare system.
    A genuine refugee wouldn’t be worried about how much money they are going to get on the dole. They would just want to be safe, and would be happy to get to anywhere in the EU.

Minister Burton is correct when she criticises our home grown sponges, but the foreign ones are larger in number and really need to be dealt with too.

Better control over people entering here from other EU states is badly needed.

• Why do you make such blatantly ignorant comments without any evidence. Do you think all Polish and African people come here just rip off Ireland? Many foreign nationals come here and make excellent contributions to Irish society. This country has been in a bad way since its creation, who do you blame before non nationals came here. Working people everywhere must stand together

• @Anonymous;
      Evidence part 1: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ash-cloud-crisis-exposes-welfare-tourists-2245558.html
      Part 2: http://www.inis.gov.ie/en/INIS/Pages/PR11000007
      That’s just the start. I could go on, but you know the rest. That is unless you have your head buried in the sand and are ignoring the blatant abuse of the the welfare system.

No, I do not think that all Polish and African people come here to rip off Ireland. However, ignoring the fact that foreigners do come here to rip off the welfare system is ridiculous. It’s akin to saying that Haughey was not a corrupt bastard.

Working people should stand together? Against who?
      The people struggling to get job, and getting back payments they made into the system, or against the foreigners coming here, not paying tax, sending money back to their homeland and then still claiming the dole?

No, every foreign person is paying tax, right?
      They’re all upstanding citizens, yeah?

• Retinal scan should be the only way to claim the dole at the post office or dole office,no payments through bank accounts except for the sick , disabled and elderly this would clear out fraudsters , anyone who refuses work or training should get no dole at all only food vouchers. Also no more work visa’s for foreign workers how the hell can we get people of the dole when we are bringing in foreign workers to do hotel work.

• G’wan Joan! It’s about time someone has the guts to say this publicly. Too long us ‘immigrants’ have been getting blamed for robbing the system but the culture here is just as, if not more, guilty but no one is willing to admit it.

• I wholeheartedly agree with Joan. We have a culture of “fall-back” and dependency on social welfare if we can’t find work. There is plenty of work out there and the one major criticism I have of the government at the moment is that there is too much emphasis on job creation and not enough on activation services. We need to re-engage people back into employment , support them but also make them accountable for looking for work….. this is the missing link between the unemployed and employers looking for staff at the moment.

• I think Joan Burton is right about this.. But its not just some working class school leavers that are abusing the system as seems to be suggested in some of the comments above. I know of graduates that basically think they are too good for most jobs. They think that because they have a degree or Masters they are somehow superior to most roles and therefore won’t apply for most jobs. They apply for jobs that they know they have little chance of getting because of a lack of experience and this allows them keep claiming the dole. There are also plenty of graduates out there with career specific degrees that are only seeking work in that area. For example teaching graduates that are only applying for teaching roles or architect graduates only looking for . roles as archictects (which are few and far between). As far as I’m concerned, these people should take any job they can get even if its working in McDonalds, rather than expecting the taxpayer to fund their lifestyles.

• Alice you are spot on.

• The hatred displayed by some of the posts on this page shock me. People really need to think what type of a society they want to live in. One where we attack and turn on each other (divide & conquer) or where we could apply the principals of a just and equal society where those in need are supported. Yes I agree those who cheat and defraud are punished in a suitable manner. But the resentment displayed by many comments towards the unemployed is a reflection of how individual we have become. “I am all right Jack” attitude.
    No I am not some bleeding heart but I do see that there are many dimensions to the many problems we are facing as a society and we need to address them in a fair and just way.

Reform is necesary, and the activation measures being implemented have great potential but they need to be focused, targeted and helpful not punative in nature.

• What is truely shocking is the hatred shown by those who commit fraud towards their fellow citizens, and the expectation that they can live their lives off the back of others forever

• Coming from a former Fianna Fáil special adviser I don’t think you are in any position to lecture us on fraud… do you?
      Your views are so warped it’s not that hard to see how a gov that you once advised got things so terribly wrong.

In my view Bruton is right to some extent … but her government needs to start creating jobs and give people on the dole no excuses for staying on it.

The best social welfare policy is a jobs creation policy.

I think there is a divide and conquer strategy going on here… I pay my taxes like every other person, but its the banks that get it that I have a problem. Paying the wages of people who broke the country for their own greed. People find young people on the dole as an easy target to pick on, but in reality it’s the highflyers who are really ripping us off. Last week it emerged that bank of ireland were paying professionals 150m euro in fees. All money out of my pocket for greed merchants. The L’Oreal elite – because they’re worth it??????

• I wish people would get their facts right before commenting a school leaver doesn’t get 188 per week on social welfare the MAX they can get is 100 euro and it is means tested, so come on please tell me what lifestyle can you have getting at max €100

• Burton is somewhat right. There are far too many lazy s**ts out there who get handed their dole money and do nothing. As others have stated though she should have worded her speech differently, I and many people I know where forced on the dole through no fault of our own. Though saying there are no jobs at all is a pile of crap. There are jobs out there, you just have to work harder to get them, if the effort is willing to be put in then you will reap what you sow.

• Nice to see my well educated younger citizens describe me as “sponger, scum, cheat” etc I like to see they are so grateful for the education etc they received from my taxes over the years, but then again where do they get their information from… oh yeah newspapers like the NOTW etc, btw the maple 10 cost the taxpayer 300 million, Quinn group 4 Billion, the Banks 80 Billion, I think all the young people under 25 on the dole would have to be drawing the dole for at least 50 years to run up a bill as big as the latter , then again its easy for my brave fellow younger citizens to attack the most vulnerable, easier do that then question the 6000 tax exiles who lecture us on how to live while not putting anything into the kitty, btw if any of the employed commentators feel they are paying too much tax, I will swap with them! they can have my 188 euro weekly salary in return

• Very well said Gerard! It seems everyone is so quick to jump at a chance to berate the unemployed now and rarely a word is spoken about the tax exiles that have most of the wealth in this country, changes need to be made from the top down not the bottom up as everyone seems to do in Ireland.

• Excellent comment, I stumbled on this page and thought it was a forum for the young blueshirt movement. When in doubt start blaming the unemployed, foreign nationals etc.

• How the hell do you create a lifestyle on 188 euros a week.

• I suppose if you take into account all the stuff that welfare claimants get courtesy of the taxpayer the weekly amount would be alot more than €188.
      I half agree with Joan Burton, some people, I said some, do see it as a lifestyle choice, on the other hand some people find themselves claiming welfare through no fault of their own and this is where the system fails. People who have worked and paid taxes are treated the same as those who refuse to work, and that’s just not right.

• By getting off yer ass & look for a job. Yes – jobs are out there. How come we have so many foreigners from as far away as China to work here ? I know of one case where a woman from Tibet came here to work & learn English. She got 2 jobs. One is a pizza parlour & another in a laudrey. D’uh !! No E188 in Tibet. Cos this E188 pw is just too easy. Less excuses for remaining on welfare long term & more about taking up a job. Nowt wrong working in a convenience store, pizza parlour or cafe.

• If you’re living at home, 188 euro a week will give you 7 nights out a week with some left over to throw away on horses.

Just like U2 choosing the easiest path to pay the least tax, many people given the opportunity will take the path of least resistance to easy money – the dole.

• With no mortgage, no medical bills, no expenses and an in-depth knowledge of all welfare entitlements, I’d imagine. Sorry, but the minister has a point. Like it or not, while the vast majority of claimants are genuine, there is still a minority whose career aspirations extend no further than the dole and a possible lottery win. Education is the only way to combat this mindset, and it needs to start at primary level.

• Wow, huge surprise there.

• wild statements like this should not be made until such time as she can say, there is employment here for every single person

• She is dead right and fair play to her for putting her neck out. Pity it wasn’t addressed by the last shower when there were plenty of jobs.
      I hope that we also address the amount of dole received. I know this is contentious but we need a system where working is more beneficial than not working which is not the case at the moment.

• she,s and a,h she is not in that position and most people are willing to work in proper paid jobsand i am not on the dole was in the eighties and i don,t forget when the same kind of thinking of people like you and mr,s burton use to castigate the unemployed who needed and wanted work then as well

• Im currently under 25 and living at home. After I pay my bills Im left with about 55/week. You tell me how any person can live on that for a week with the prices of food and everything? Give me a break

• Joan, where’s the jobs? FAS is useless. Aren’t you going to admit your husband never works all his life? Are you doubt standard or what?

• To criminalize those who have no work is typical right-wing shortsightedness. People need real jobs that pay a decent wage. This attitude of their all lazy is like the slave mocking the freeman for not being a slave. Why be proud of the fact you work ridiculous hours and get paid terrible money and make some capitalist more rich. You should be outside in solidarity with the unemployed people demanding a new fairer society with decent jobs for all. It has always been a tactic of governments to divide and conquer the working classes. And when we have a society where everyone has a RIGHT to a decent job then call the ones who dont work lazy.

• “It has always been a tactic of governments to divide and conquer the working classes”

How can you use the term ‘working classes’ when you’re not making any distinction between those working class people that work and those that don’t? I’d be more ‘proud’ of the fact I’m working for ‘some capitalist’ than sponging off the state but I’d love to hear your plan for ‘real jobs that pay a decent wage’ if you’ll indulge us. It wouldn’t be some form of socialism by any chance, would it?

And no-one has a ‘RIGHT to a decent job’ – it should be a combination of hard work and a bit of luck. If you’re not looking or you’ve nothing to offer, it won’t happen.

• Neither Minister Burton, nor anyone on this page has said that everyone on the dole is lazy. However it’s undenyable that there are those who are claiming the dole that have no intention of getting a job and expect everyone else in society to pay their way for them. There are plenty of real jobs with real wages out there, and even a few with half-decent wages to boot.
      If everyone has the right to a decent job, who’ll clean the toilets?

P.S. It’s “they are all lazy” not “their all lazy”

• First sensible comment on here today Anon.

• What a load of socialist horse shit. It’s not the governments job nor the taxpayers job to provide jobs.

It’s up to everyone to first make themselves employable, then go find a job. If you can’t find a job, create one.

If you can’t do this, then move to where there are jobs. No one thinks it’s a problem for someone in new York to move to California for work but god forgive anyone who suggests you move to England or Holland etc.

Can’t speak the language? – learn it.

I haven’t had one person in the past year ask me if my windows need cleaning. Easy money if you’re not a parasite.

• YES IN SOME CASES I DO AGREE… BUT IN A LOT OF CASES THE STATE’S PAYING OUT HUGE SUM’S OF CASH TO NO NATIONALS IN DOLE MONEY AND JOB’S ARE VERY FEW FOR THE SAME KIND OF REASON’S!
    SORRY BUT WE NEED TO SORT OUT OUR OWN HOUSE FIRST?
    AND NO I’M NOT RACI
    RACIST THANK YOU….

• No need to shout.

Racists always say they’re not racist. Whenever you hear someone start a sentence with ‘I’m not a racist, but…”. Its funny when you think about it.

• WHY DO YOU TYPE IN ALL CAPS? ARE YOU A PIRATE? :-)

Agrewe with you here, though. We should be taking care of Irish people first. Those who are ethnically Irish and those who are Irish by nationality as well. This includes weeding out our Irish leeches as well.

• Even if there is some justification in what you say Joan..what a dreadful focus you have….where do your children sign on ????

• You also forgot Burton, the people on the Dole didn’t choose to go on the Dole for welfare. It was you and the rest of this crony government, bankers, and developers put them there in the first place. Maybe it you had not voted for all your past dicission on the bailout and the Lisbon Treaty, were would not be in the mess were in
    Choose your words carefully, and do the citizens of Ireland justice, please step down. Your costing the exchequer and tax payer to much money being there in office…

• The citizens of Ireland voted for Joan Burton and the rest of government only a few months back. Even if you might not like her, she has every right to be in government. You should respect democracy.

• I do respect democrocy, and that why I did not vote for any self servant interest party like the labour party…Get over it, anothe one to bite the dust soon, and the sooner the better….

The Labour was meant for the working class which they don’t share today or have in the last 30 years….!

Look at there record, they only in because the other wankers of Fine Gael got in. So before you put your foot in it. look what they got in the last election….O’ what about Gilmore? Frankfurth way of Labour Way, well its Merkle and Sacozy way…Hot air blowing up you know where?

• Of course people have a RIGHT to a decent job, by that definition your essentially stating that society must rely on some people being treated poorly in order for the economy to work. Nobody is stating that hard work isnt important but that hard work must be rewarded on its merits not by what competition dictates. Your talking about Socialism as if its some crackpot scheme devised by lunatics. Let me ask you what sounds like a better system to you? A system where the rich continue to get richer and wealth is further concentrated to the few that means economic disaster for most every couple of years or a system which is planned and sustainable where everyone gets a fair share and a fair say? I want equality I must be a Stalinist

• The rich are entitled to their money once they’ve earned it honestly

• Socialism in an ideal world is a great system but in reality it is a sham. By nature we are capitalists. All that happens in a socialist system is that the capitalists run the whole thing and skim off their benefits.

The idea that people have a right to a decent job is just rubbish. If we all had decent jobs who would do the crappy ones. The rights that we should have is that the money we pay in taxes does not go to supporting those who do not deserve it.

• ‘The rich are entitled to their money as long as they earned it honesty’…Can you really not see the irony in your sentence? Do you really think that the rich of Irish society have gotten to the level they are are now due to honesty on their part? How naive. Typical Irish attitude of seeing what you want to see.

• Yes indeed, but I think where the equality debate flounders is we allow people to label others too easy. For instance if one is anti-capitalist then your a communist etc, many like my self are anti-capitalist, because capitalism does not work, simple as that, capitalism prospers on the worst aspects of humanity ie greed, fear, exploitation, abuse of power etc, and if what Daire said “By nature we are capitalists” is true, why then aint we all like Michael O Leary, Dermot Desmond, Sean QuInn et al?, has the answer to that have anything to do with greed? Ghandi said in relation to poverty, that the earth provides enough for every ones needs but not enough for mans greed, the problem with prolonged capitalism is that the “greed” rises to the top and then control everthing in their own interests, they make us capitalists, whether we like it or not!

• Gerard In answer to your question “why then aint we all like Michael O Leary, Dermot Desmond, Sean QuInn et al?” bravery, business acumen, luck and motavation. If I worked harder and risked some of my ideas as business I could probably be rich but I’m not that type. I think this is the same situation as those people who Joan Burton mentioned they are unmotivated and lazy.

I think this is where communisim/socialism fails as it dosent allow for lazy articles who couldnt be bothered hence why most of the countries where this was tried ended up with problems and big security forces.

• Second attack on the poor by labour in 24 hours following shortass’s comments yesterday on smokers. Basically joan, tell the bankers to get stuffed first, then borrow on the open market and you might have some credibility.

• The clothes on her back are worth more than most people’s dole for a month..

• The Minister seems to have lost her way. Back in 2007 her views on this subject seemed clear, please see attached link. The unemployment problem is due to, ‘Cowenomics’, ohh very flashy, chew on that little soundbite People. Young men are considered too and their numbers are put down to a failing, or perhaps F Failing Construction Industry. As Joan says that’s the, ‘reality’, of it. Of course Ministers become removed from reality very quickly. Keep churning the same rubbish all Pooliticians.

http://www.joanburton.ie/dublin-west-issues/blanchardstown-dole-queues-53-longer-since-%E2%80%9807-election

• This country is f**k*d. I worked all my life (30 years) and paid my taxes, but came back to Ireland for health reasons 2 years ago and cannot get a job in this s**t country. Apparently, I am “too qualified” and the jobs I am going for (cleaning, call-centres, etc.) I get told I’m not worth training as I will leave when something more in my line turns up. Hence the employment of foreigners in kitchens, pizza parlours and so on! It’s seems people with any intelligence cannot get a job here because they cost too much to employ. This site is a classic example – I tried earlier to leave a comment, but the site is so badly designed and maintained that it crashed with all the comments! Monkeys running the country and everything in it!

• Gerry b 18/07/11 #

Loose that chip on your shoulder and things might start looking up!

• How clever Gerry b, you gave that a lot f thought. At least, as much as you could be expected to…..

• Gerry b 19/07/11 #

Carloine I can assure you I didn’t have to put a lot of thought into that comment. It’s what’s called a no brainer. It didn’t take much to read between the lines and conclude you have a serious attitude problem. Its like when an employer makes a decision in the first 5 seconds of an interview. Some people just can’t hide their poor attitude and it turns employers off straight away. I can just picture you in the interview scenario – aggressive, argumentative and defensive, not very appealing traits (as evident from your attack on thejournal.ie, just because your comment didn’t appear first time round). If you are so perfect and flawless you are probably not suited to being an employee, maybe you should look at self employment as an option. At least then you’ll only have yourself to blame. Genuinely …. Best of luck!

• you stupid shower of clowns i heard all that diatribe in the eighties if joan burton can get jobs tell her to give out most peole would rather be working than idol and be independent for themselves i don,t use foul language much but any one who say,s any differ is a dick head my blood is boiling i did not hear ye say much about the foreign nationals with 1.5 mill last week are you all afraid you be done racism when it is only the truth

• she looks like kevin keegan in the old days

• Will i still get Vodka vouchers if the dole is cut,All my houses are in negative equity and i only get Rent Allowance for three of them,Thank God i can claim the dole in an other EU country for three months if im looking for work.Winter in the Canaries this year,Save the fuel allowance and buy a new car when i return in March to sign on.something wrong with this country if a man looks down on another just because he is on the dole.

• What a wonderfully objective person you must be Gerry b, since you can come on here and judge people who make comments based on their own personal experiences. What gives you the right to tell me what my attitude is like? Make a comment about the country, make a comment about Joan Bruton’s statement, make a comment about the forum, but how dare you personally attack people?

I have every right to say how I feel about my experiences here, and I did that without personally attacking anyone. But I guess there are some people who trawl the Internet with the sole intention of picking fights with everyone else.

• Gerry b 19/07/11 #

I was only trying to help you out, you had a mega rant, and I gave you my opinion as to how you were coming across. It wasn’t meant as a personal attack or to upset you, merely to point out that you appeared to have a chip on your shoulder. There were a lot of green thumbs for my comment ( 46 vs 2 reds). So obviously my interpretation of you comment was the general consensus. As I already said in my “personal attack” – I wish you the best of luck!

• Vote for Joe Higgins…He knocked Joan out of her seat before..help him do it again..it’s our choice

• is this minister educated or what? welfare being a lifestyle choice!!! is she on drugs or what, this government is making welfare a lifestyle choice not the people hypocrisy in democracy yet again. she’s not worried about the next signing day she’s on a hefty paycheck what do any of these pin heads know what WE want. try leaving on 200 a well you wankers then say welfare is lifestyle choice, and by the way I have a LLM in law and i can’t even find a job the day I leave this rotten country will be the dat this country loses another bright spark. many more will leave and this government or for that matter the next government won’t give a shit as long as they get fat paychecks and nice bribes they are ok. their motto is, Give us your wealth, welfare for the rest!”

• I just posted my blog on Facebook. Burton and the handout department on Welfare.

Another blistering attack on the most vulnerable people on dole who are doing there best to make ends meet.
    Her days and Labours days are numbered in the Dail, watch out. You saw what happen to the F.F. and the Greens. Your next Burton, along with Gilmore and the other’s

Read my blog http://facebook.com/libertyed

• This is complete nonsense. No one chooses to be on the dole for the simple reason thats its barely enough to survive on. I have been job hunting all summer and have handed out more than 100 CVs and still haven’t got a job. There simply are not jobs out there. The reason the dole queues have trebled in size is because the economy has nearly collaspsed, not because a lot of people suddenly got lazy. Unemployed life is brutal and soul destroying and anyone who envies it clearly knows nothing about it.

Add New Comment