TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Jobs Minister begins overhaul of industrial relations system

Richard Bruton today announced developments that have been made in line with promised employment rights and industrial relations reforms.

RICHARD BRUTON HAS announced several reform measures to the State’s employment rights and industrial relations services.

Currently there are five employment rights institutions and the Government wishes to merge them into two.

Today, the Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation outlined his progress in streamlining the system.

So far, Bruton said his department has introduced a single complaint form, one point of contact and a new, consolidated website.

The interim site, www.workplacerelations.ie, provides information on employment, equality and industrial relations legislation.

The new complaint form will deal with all individual complaints and referrals to the Rights Commissioner Service, the Employment Appeals Tribunal, National Employment Rights Authority, the Equality Tribunal and the Labour Court.

It replaces 30 existing forms.

In another key development in line with promised reforms, the Workplace Relations Customer Services of the Department of Jobs, Enterprise & Innovation has been established as a single point of contact. It will have responsibility for:

• providing information in relation to employment, equality and industrial relations rights and obligations;
  • all first instance complaints currently referred to the five workplace relations bodies;
  • inquiries concerning the status of complaints and associated procedures and processes.

“This is an important step in the delivery of a world-class workplace relations service that is simpler, faster and cheaper,” said Bruton today after the announcement.

Eventually, the Government wants to have just two bodies looking after industrial relations issues in Ireland – a commission of first instance and a separate appeals body.

Bruton’s proposals were first outlined last July.

“My overall objective is to encourage early resolution of disputes, the vindication of employee rights and minimisation of the costs for employees, employers and Government, in terms of money, time and workplace productivity,” he said.

Read next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• This reform is badly needed, well done Mr. Bruton.

• Jambbie 06/01/12 #

I think these new moves should be accompanied by a decent ad campaign in several languages so ALL workers here know that they have rights. Too many people from the eastern block are being mistreated and are, either afraid to stand up to greedy employers or, sadly just happy to do whatever it takes to replace an Irish worker to get their foot in the door, and hence decent working standards for everyone deteriorate daily. I have recently been told of a salad factory in Drogheda that invites people to work 3 x 12 hour shifts for free on “we’ll see do we like ya basis”. The workers that are already employed there have had their hours cut while these “trials” continue, with hardly anyone getting hired from the trials and work getting done for free with nothing being said.

• You wouldn’t believe the bullshit and crap that goes on and that staff have to put up with where I work Mr Bruton and I very much doubt that your reform plans will be of much use to us since we are thought of as pure dirt by our management and hassle is the only game in town that we know in our workplace

• Mark, Thomas- I think you are missing the point, I am not advocating MORE PAY CUTS across the public sector- I called for a reform of the Croke Park Agreement which protects pay increments for time served and not as a reward for increased performance. that is my gripe. that we still live in a culture of entitlement where public servants are constantly on the defensive- when if they were doing their jobs i.e. performing, they would have nothing to worry about.

• The first thing I’d respond to is the point about public servants being on the defensive. Public servants have been vilified by the media, the government and employers since the start of the recession. Public servants are on the defensive because there has been a tendency to distort and twist figures regarding the pay and conditions in the public sector. When people constantly attack the pay and conditions of those in the public sector, it is only natural that public servants will seek to defend the work they do. I would imagine it is the same in any sector. The second point I would make is in relation to your call for performance related increments. As a general concept, I would agree with you. However, the devil is in the detail. How do you assess the performance and thus the eligibility for incremental rise of a nurse, teacher, guard, fireman, paramedic? In a system where increments would only be given on the basis of performance, I would be genuinely interested in your opinions on how you would award increments on the basis of performance in areas where no tangible results of performance or productivity are attainable. Finally, on the point you make about “if they were doing their jobs i.e. performing, they would have nothing to worry about”. Unfortunately, in education alone, 2,500 teachers have lost their jobs with another 800 jobs to be lost next September. None of these people who lost their jobs were dismissed or let go on the basis that they had done their jobs insufficiently or that they has performed poorly. In fact, 17,000 job losses have occurred in the public sector. Few have been on the basis of performance. Thus, public servants have a lot to worry about, as no matter how well the 40% of those employed in the public sector who aren’t permanent perform, their jobs will still be on the line. The sense of entitlement and lack of performance is the preserve of a minority in the public sector, as is also the case in the private sector. Entitlement, arrogance, lack of productivity and other such characteristics are not to be found exclusively in any particular sector.

• good move by the looks of things, fingers crossed it’ll give them enough courage to go after Croke Park and put that smug bearded fecker Jack O’ Connor back into his €130k a year “solidarity” box…

• Enough courage to go after Croke Park? Indeed. It would indeed be a courageous person who would look to cut further the 50% of those in the public sector who earn less than 40k a year. Perhaps the 17% who earn over 100k a year should be looked at. However, by “going after Croke Park”, you are merely targetting already lower and middle income earners who.have taken on average a 17% cut in pay.

• Matt, as a public servant for the past 11 years, I done my entrance exam and an interview and got the job. Not a very well paid job, just getting on and no more. You too had the same opportunity as I. Why did you not go for a job in the public service? Understand that we are all not on €100,000 a year or near that….

• Can we please stop this bullshit of public/private sector divide.We all know it will have to be scrapped but we all as workers should stop this fighting amongst ourselves this just plays into the hands of government.”Divide and Conquer”.BTW i work in the private sector but took cuts also.

• I have complaints about 90% of former employers who shall be my soundboard ?? Ah you shall . {S} How {O}about one {D} of the biggest{E} catering companies in {x} the world{H} involved{O} in ID fraud who also are 1 of the largest providors of catering services to GOV departments ??? Taking a beating when a young chef & told if I complained my future within the industry would be jepordised ??

• Going after Croake park that’s the nurses teachers firemen very few over 50k. Nothing will be solved by that. Going after bankers Judges and all the CEO’s of semistates

• Ah ha should be more contemporary you may say ?? How about an Agency who paid my stamps + tax .But would not admit to employing me to social welfare ?? now lads tell me about that 1 ??

• I hope one of his pals is the Head of the new agency.

• Why two employment rights institutions? Surely One is enough or have I missed something .

• Louis mulcahy {N}is having a{O} marvellous{E} sale on Dawson{L} St ??

• & the english owned press calls me a bleedin’ scrounger ? I will show anyman the scars & the paperwork ? including that idiot from griffith avenue ??

• If I remember correctly 8 doors up from Whitehall guards ?? !^ 16A 41 A B C ?

• Another Brutal public relations exercise.

Add New Comment