Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Saturday 24 June, 2017

#jobstown

# jobstown - Yesterday’s News

SPONSORED

# jobstown - Thursday 22 June, 2017

A 'peaceful protester' could be facing a life sentence if found guilty, Jobstown trial hears

Closing statements were made by counsel for some of the accused in the Jobstown trial today.

# jobstown - Wednesday 21 June, 2017

Gardaí made 'unwise and inappropriate' decisions at water charges protest, court hears

Six men have pleaded not guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to falsely imprisoning the then-Tánaiste Joan Burton.

# jobstown - Tuesday 20 June, 2017

# jobstown - Friday 16 June, 2017

# jobstown - Monday 12 June, 2017

Charges dropped against one of the seven Jobstown defendants

Applause broke out in court after the charges against 50-year-old Ken Purcell were officially dropped.

# jobstown - Wednesday 31 May, 2017

'That wouldn't be long for me': 71-year-old's reaction when told he could face life in prison

The men are all charged with false imprisonment of then Tánaiste Joan Burton and her adviser Karen O’Connell.

# jobstown - Monday 29 May, 2017

# jobstown - Wednesday 24 May, 2017

Garda tells Jobstown trial she feared for Joan Burton's safety

Garda Fionnuala Whelan said she had not manhandled the TD.

# jobstown - Tuesday 23 May, 2017

Garda tells court he was hit by can of Red Bull during Jobstown protest

The judge told the jury this morning that she was discharging the female juror.

# jobstown - Friday 19 May, 2017

Superintendent denies being 'part of conspiracy to pervert course of justice', trial hears

Solidarity TD Paul Murphy and six other men are charged with falsely imprisoning Joan Burton and her advisor.

# jobstown - Thursday 18 May, 2017

Garda thought she was going to be 'crushed' at water charges protest, court hears

Marion Power said there was “constant abuse and horrendous language the whole time”.

# jobstown - Wednesday 17 May, 2017

Gardaí ordered to leave water charges protest because some were armed, trial told

“You were being pushed around. You couldn’t stand still. I was being punched continually.”

# jobstown - Tuesday 16 May, 2017

Paul Murphy's lawyer accuses garda of lying 'in a disreputable fashion'

Garda Gavin Cooke has denied the claim.

# jobstown - Monday 15 May, 2017

Jury told Jobstown protesters shouted at Paul Murphy to 'mind his own business'

Garda Inspector Derek Maguire was giving evidence in the Dublin Circuit Criminal Court today.

# jobstown - Thursday 11 May, 2017

Jobstown defendant said Joan Burton could 'take sanctuary in church'

Seven men are accused of falsely imprisoning the former Tánaiste during a water charges protest in 2014.

# jobstown - Wednesday 10 May, 2017

'You're not welcome in Jobstown': Inspector tells court he feared for Joan Burton's safety

A garda inspector told the trial today that he was concerned for Joan Burton’s safety.

# jobstown - Tuesday 9 May, 2017

Children's Minister says she believed Joan Burton was in 'great danger' during protest, court hears

Minister Katherine Zappone said she called 999 as she ‘didn’t see too many gardai’.

# jobstown - Monday 8 May, 2017

'Will we let her go or hold onto her for the night?': Jobstown trial hears evidence from gardaí

“The protesters called us rats,” one garda told the trial today.

# jobstown - Friday 5 May, 2017

Former Burton adviser tells Jobstown trial she referred to 'f**king dregs' due to stressful situation

Karen O’Connell told the court she was not proud of using ‘bad language’ and said she was very upset at the time.

# jobstown - Thursday 4 May, 2017

'One of the most scary experiences' - Joan Burton's advisor gives Jobstown testimony

Karen O’Connell said she and the former Tánaiste were pushed and shoved.

# jobstown - Tuesday 2 May, 2017

Joan Burton told being called a c**t at a protest should be 'water off a duck's back', court hears

This is day three of the Jobstown false imprisonment trial.

# jobstown - Friday 28 April, 2017

'What would Michael Collins think of this?': Joan Burton continues Jobstown evidence

“My politics is not about hating anybody,” Burton told Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.

# jobstown - Thursday 27 April, 2017

'Terrified' Joan Burton 'ran for her life' at Jobstown protest

Seven men including TD Paul Murphy have pleaded not guilty to false imprisonment.

# jobstown - Wednesday 26 April, 2017

Paul Murphy 'plainly involved' in restricting Joan Burton's liberty, trial told

Murphy and six other accused have all entered not guilty pleas.

# jobstown - Tuesday 25 April, 2017

Jobstown trial suspended after juror is discharged

The sole member of the jury will now be replaced at a fresh selection tomorrow morning.

# jobstown - Monday 24 April, 2017

Jury selected for trial of men accused of falsely imprisoning Joan Burton

Over 100 potential jurors were called in a random ballot and a jury of five women and seven men were selected.

# jobstown - Friday 31 March, 2017

Paul Murphy promises he won't talk about his upcoming trial at Jobstown protest rallies

Solidarity TD Paul Murphy is one of seven people charged with falsely imprisoning Joan Burton.

# jobstown - Thursday 30 March, 2017

The DPP is concerned about possible interference in upcoming Jobstown trial

The court heard today of the DPP’s concern that the constitutional process of trial by jury could be interfered with.

# jobstown - Sunday 26 February, 2017

'This is our weapon' - Is the future of the protest in Ireland under threat?

Ahead of the trial of a number of Jobstown protesters, activists have urged members of the public to stand up for their right to demonstrate.

# jobstown - Thursday 12 January, 2017

'It made me the man I am today': New documentary highlights reality of living in Jobstown

The documentary focuses on some key characters in the community – and their struggles.

# jobstown - Tuesday 10 January, 2017

Community collects enough money to carry the cost of Reece Cullen's funeral

Reece Cullen was stabbed to death last Thursday.

# jobstown - Saturday 7 January, 2017

Teenager arrested over stabbing of Reece Cullen released without charge

Gardaí said that the male teenager was released late last night.

# jobstown - Friday 6 January, 2017

Juvenile arrested in connection with stabbing of Reece Cullen

The 17-year-old died after being stabbed in Jobstown yesterday afternoon.

# jobstown - Thursday 5 January, 2017

Tributes paid to teenage boy Reece Cullen who was stabbed to death in Dublin

The incident happened in the Jobstown area at 3.30pm.

# jobstown - Friday 23 December, 2016

Nothing fishy here: 500 children from across Dublin have been taught how to fish

Children from Darndale, Jobstown, Mulhuddart, Whitechurch and a number of inner city youth projects took part in the initiative.

# jobstown - Wednesday 2 November, 2016

Convicted Jobstown teen to take appeal to High Court

Last month the 17-year-old boy was convicted of falsely imprisoning then Tánaiste Joan Burton and her advisor.

# jobstown - Saturday 22 October, 2016

Hundreds gather in Dublin to protest Jobstown teen's guilty verdict

“If this was happening anywhere else in the world, we’d be saying that’s mad.”

# jobstown - Friday 21 October, 2016

Teenager found guilty of false imprisonment of Joan Burton during water charges protest

He was 15 at the time of the incident at Jobstown.

# jobstown - Monday 3 October, 2016

Paul Murphy will face trial over Jobstown false imprisonment charges next year

The date was set in court this morning.

# jobstown - Wednesday 28 September, 2016

Judge adjourns trial of 17-year-old accused of falsely imprisoning Joan Burton

The former Tánaiste and her advisor were allegedly trapped for three hours at a Jobstown protest two years ago.

1 2 3