TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Daly’s stance could hinder future of ULA, says Higgins

Joe Higgins says a “majority” of people within the United Left Alliance object to Clare Daly’s political support to Mick Wallace.

Joe Higgins, seen here with SP colleague Ruth Coppinger, says Clare Daly's continued support for Mick Wallace could hinder the ULA's goals of becoming a real political alternative.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

SOCIALIST PARTY TD Joe Higgins has suggested that any continued political support to independent TD Mick Wallace shown by Clare Daly could undermine the United Left Alliance’s hopes of becoming a full political movement.

Higgins this morning said Daly and the party leadership had been in “intense discussions” to resolve their differing opinions about Daly’s stance on Wallace’s affairs before breaking for summer holidays – but that Daly had “unilaterally” resigned from the party before these could continue.

Announcing her resignation on Saturday, the Socialist Party claimed Daly had “publicly vouched for Mick Wallace and his fitness for office, intervened on his behalf and consciously and consistently sat beside him in the Dáil”.

This, it said, “amounted to public political endorsement” – which, coupled with Daly’s apparent preference to “politically orientate to the Independent members of the Technical Group” rather than the other four ULA TDs, was undermining the ULA’s goal to build a principled left-wing coalition.

Higgins warned that this could be undermined if Daly – who says she remains committed to building the ULA as an alternative – was to continue supporting Wallace int he same way.

“That would pose a problem for a great many people – a majority of people inside the United Left Alliance, which has clearly stated already that it is not in favour of promoting, politically, the case of Mick Wallace in any way,” Higgins told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland.

The point is that the ULA, whcioh is trying to build a principled left alternative, would have to have a very clear line of demarcation on issues such as tax evasion.

Higgins also confirmed that the Socialist Party intends to forfeit half of its ‘leaders’ allowance’ funding from the Exchequer to reflect its smaller Dáil population – potentially opening a further rift with Daly, who had asked for an amount to be redistributed to her.

“Establishment parties, when they have lost deputies in the past, have kept the full allowance as they are entitled to do by law,” Higgins said. “The Socialist Party is not going to do that.”

He said the party would be contacting the Department of Finance to have half of its €143,000 annual funding withheld. “The remainder will stay with the Department of Finance,” he said.

Read: Daly: “My resignation has absolutely nothing got to do with Mick Wallace”

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• A sordid affair. Love is truly blind.

• It’s only a matter of time till the ULA breaks up. If there’s one thing the Trots hate more than right-wingers it’s other Trots.

• Seriously though let her off. The more important business of the day is the proposed cuts to the health Service. This stuff is getting boring about Daly. She made her choice. The country is falling apart. We have already given Wallace too much time already. F**k sake the country is half way down the toilet and we are arguing that there’s only half a bog roll left.

• The history of left wing politics is one of constant division, splits, rancour and major egos. Along with the “wide church” populism of Fianna Fail over the decades these are the main reasons why the left has never been a major force in Irish politics. This group now seems to be doomed to repeat the mistakes of history.

While I think Claire Daly is foolish to offer her unconditional support to Mick Wallace, a man who clearly was involved in all that was wrong in Irish society over the last ten years, there does seem to be a bit more to this than meets the eye.

• Though I disagree with her on just about every issue, Clare Daly is a good parliamentarian and has outperformed Joe Higgins in the current Dáil term thus far. As was said above I do think there is more to this given the bitterness coming from the Socialist Party, but I hope they don’t set out to destroy a former member who was loyal for such a long time. She deserves a little more respect after so long with them.

• Joe Higgins is an idiot. He has a prime opportunity to make some impact on the upcoming €130 million in cuts to the health care system and instead he’s bad mouthing a fellow socialist like a child in a playground.

This is why we can’t have nice things.

• There is definitely more to this than Joe Higgins wants us to know. The aggressive way they are pursuing Clare Daly indicates that she left for far more tangible reasons than he would like us to believe, in my opinion. The left in Ireland needs people like Clare, who articulates the frustrations of many, and I hope Joe Higgins doesn’t try and ruin her solely because she no longer follows his agenda. It could quickly become a pool of Piranhas.

• I think you are right on the money there. Where was Joe Higgins all weekend? How come the mouth piece for the SP was a guy who has never been elected to anything. Not even the position he now holds! Come on Paul Murphy what is your REAL motive in all this?
      There ARE people out here who ADMIRE and RESPECT Clare Daly. And I’m one of them.

• This isn’t about Claire Daly, this is about Joe Higgins, is it perhaps a case of unrequited love?

• Joe Higgins is a broken record and is furniture in the political scene at this stage.. the ULA is starting something different and I would say Joe is a little annoyed the socialist limelight is dimming.

• I love the way anyone people call Higgns a “broken record”. Fine Gaelers and those on the right do it constantly, accusing him of not “being pragmatic”.

But his core message since the recession has been bang on the money i.e that the debts of bankers are being foisted on the people of the state and that there is no moral responsibility on us to pay. That needs to be said again and again until we are no longer paying these debts which come in the form of cuts to vital services!

• I love your logic – anonymous members of Fine Gael say it so it can’t be true! Next they’ll be saying he wears glasses and speaks with a Kerry accent!

Laudable as Joe’s points can sometimes be (and I’m not an Blueshirt before that is thrown my way – because apparently that’s what you need to be to contemplate any criticism of Uncle Joe it seems according to some), he is in no way pragmatic.

• Agree totally with Kieron. Anyone watching the program on RTE last nite could see exactly what’s happening. SNA’s and RTH reduced so the likes of Roman Abramovich can be repaid. It’s only when your own child is affected you understand the unfairness of speculators getting there money ahead of much needed services.

• that’s not my logic at all. I just stated that those on the right say it quite often.

My logic is that the obviously pragmatic (and morally correct) thing to do is to not make the people pay for debts they didn’t create

the pragmatic thing to do is to dump the neo-liberal agenda of austerity which is clearly failing and adopt a new approach.

this is what wikipedia describes pragmatism as: “a philosophical tradition centered on the linking of practice and theory. It describes a process where theory is extracted from practice…..”

so if the practice of austerity has and is a complete disaster (can anyone argue otherwise and keep a straight face?) then the pragmatic thing to do is to not continue with austerity which is Higgins’ core argument.

• Has Higgins lost it altogether ? He has condemned Wallace for not paying his Tax and in the same breath he is telling people not to pay the Household Tax !
      Joe, you are losing the plot.

• Are you serious? there is an ocean of difference between not paying tax on income (of millions of euro) and refusing to pay an unjust and anti-social tax on the worst off

• David Conroy, not paying VAT that you have already collected from your customers and refusing to register for the Household Tax are entirely different. You cannot compare the two.

You are obviously somebody who has paid your Household Tax. As soon as we have it abolished we’ll be looking to have monies refunded to you. Fear not. :)

• Lads, only two things certain in this life,. Death and Taxes. The money has to come from somewhere. Politicians failed us and history will decide who was right. I remember the bad old days of 13% interest, negative equity, Household rates, 65% income tax and no work. Then to add insult to injury our Taoiseach said we were living beyond our means. We are not even close to that and yes I did pay my taxes for 44 years and continue to do so.
      ” Ask not what my Country can do for me…………

• The ULA in opposition is rather like a glass cannon, the safest place is in front of it.

• There were several resignations from the Socialist Party at the weekend, many of whom had never met Mick Wallace. While I admire Joe as a champion of the working class I didn’t like the tone of their statement on Saturday.

I hope SP will get over this oneupmanship and return to the job at hand – becoming a cohesive left under the umbrella of ULA to be an alternative to this sociopathic government. I would urge people to vote Sinn Féin but for those who won’t I’d see ULA as the next best alternative. Anything once it’s not FiannaGaeLabour.

• Jambbie 03/09/12 #

Or Fianna Fáil Réada

• mcbab 03/09/12 #

Again loose with the facts Reada. There were TWO other resignations at the weekend. Two brothers and they had nothing to do with Daly. I like the way you invite people into sf , like a spider into a web.

• EMD 03/09/12 #

Sure listen McBab a few months ago Réada was all about PBP and RBB but she has some lovely SF playmates now to shout slogans and brave words with. So let her off because the few she’ll persuade to join SF will be of the same ilk as herself.

This constant labelling of the government as sociopaths is just ridiculous, a total misuse of a psychiatric classification symptoms of which can be applied to many who are not remotely sociopathic. Try Syria for sociopathic behaviour from the government or maybe the Congo but get a grip people you are only being asked to pay a charge for servicing your houses not having limbs lopped off. I don’t like the way things are in Ireland at them moment either, I most certaintly didn’t vote for FG/Labour or FF before them but they are the bloody government like it or not and even if you traded them in for a new lot the same changes will need to be made no matter how unfair it seems. SF are pro-Europe, Mary Loud herself proclaimed them thus so they will have to work things out just the same and ULA et al. are simply impractical and too divided.

Don’t fecking bring up Iceland, burning bondholders or any of the same old crap you negative nellies keep trotting out either, we live in today people and have to look forward and make sure the same mistakes are not made again and that we as a country do not get caught up in our own mess of materialism and greed again. Look to the bloody future and try to build something positive and sod Clare Daly who is quite obviously blinded by her ‘loyalty’ to wee Mick.

• EMD I’m being kind calling our government sociopathic and not psychopathic. I have no wish to argue with you. I respect you for your environmental endeavors you undertake on behalf of Ireland.

• @ EMD: Absolutely true.

@ Réada: You’ve really changed your tune away from Joe and to Gerry. Haven’t you previously spoken of your disappointment in both Labour and FF? There might be more of the same to follow. Towards 2016 SF will move further to the centre as that is the place where the most votes are to be won. So, as someone who likes the far left, brace yourself for disappointment.

• It’s amazing how bias a fast part of the Irish still is towards left wing parties. Disgraceful really…

• It’s less of a bias and more of a genuine concern about their ability to govern.

• That’s bullshit: a lot of the above comments are emotive and spiteful. With some I even doubt they read the article, or perhaps the first two lines.

Irish people in general are deeply suspicious of left winged politicians. That’s why, even in these times where left is the only real alternative they won’t achieve much: When the sheep are trained to enter a meadow every night, even when that meadow is full of dirt and poison they’ll come back to it.

• We’re a democracy, if you want to run the country then convince the people that you have a credible plan and that their fears are baseless, rather then call them sheep.
      There isn’t some grand conspiracy to keep the far-left out of government, it simply that the centre-left, centre and right are better at convincing the people to support them.

Add New Comment