Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Kenny “disagrees fundamentally” with reports of EU ‘cockiness’

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

ENDA KENNY has dismissed suggestions that he came across as “very cocky” when meeting fellow heads of government at a European Council meeting earlier this month.

A report, given to Channel 4 economics correspondent Faisal Islam, characterised Kenny as “cocky” – apparently single-handedly demanding a revised bailout deal in a display which upset both French president Nicolas Sarkozy and German chancellor Angela Merkel.

Kenny’s behaviour, the source told Islam, had been a “stark comparison to humble [George] Papandreou”, the Greek prime minister, who was able to secure a significantly improved set of conditions for Greece’s own bailout at the same summit.

This evening, however, Kenny rejected that assertion when it was put to him at a press conference following the publication of the latest stress test results.

“I disagree fundamentally with Channel 4, I don’t what they’re talking about … maybe they were at a different meeting than I was at,” Kenny offered.

“I don’t think that they [Channel 4] were inside at the meeting itself, and if their report is based on milling around outside, well then, that’s their opinion.”

Moreover, Kenny asserted that the new government was doing everything in its power to forge new bonds with its European neighbours:

We will make a diplomatic onslaught on Europe in terms of renewing and rebuilding connections that this country once had that were so strong for quite some time.

The approach the new government had taken was “refreshing”, the Taoiseach insisted.

Read Next:

Comments (14 Comments)

• Conor O'Riordan 31/03/11 #
    Report this comment

Good on ya Enda. It’s about time we grew a pair in Europe.

• thomas walsh 31/03/11 #
    Report this comment

To be fair, the way he comes across responding seems a bit cocky. And unless he’s willing to say to the Germans and French “go fish” for the money we owe their banks we better play nice like the Greeks…

• Unusualtrend 31/03/11 #
    Report this comment

No point growing a pair when they are in a vice being slowly tightened by the IMF/ECB now is there? Kenny is not a confident or competent diplomat never mind an international economics negotiator. Kenny is a big ball of hypocrisy, he is the leader of a party that voted in favour of the IMF/ECB bailout, now he is returning to the same people, Demanding a more favourable deal! You wonder why he came across as ‘cocky’. If he truly had a pair he would have told the Irish electorate the truth, that he was in no way confident of achieving a more favourable deal and that he had a chance to oppose the previous deal in favour of harder negotiations and a new ‘fairer’ result. But no he played the popular card by promising the world and delivering nothing, while maintaining the same manifesto of an archaic reactionary regime that is disconnected from the populous. We are a laughing stock internationally, and ‘we’ wonder why.

• Martin Matthews 31/03/11 #
    Report this comment

Not mad about enda, but he does not tug the forelock and apologise for being in the company of the great and the good of the elite of Europe

• Dave Finn 31/03/11 #
    Report this comment

Oh, so he didnt defer to Sarkozy or merkel’s greatness then? Or lick their behinds as they screw the people of his country mercilessly?? GOOD ON HIM! We elected him to fight for us. Glad to see he’s doing it.

• Dave the Strat 31/03/11 #
    Report this comment

I wasn’t crazy about Enda pre election but he at least isnt coming across as a bumbling pint swilling gobshite. Last year I went to visit friends in Holland. Bought The Indo on the plane. Page one Biffo locked on the radio..pg 2, 3 , 4 the same. Next page another gobshite TD who threatened a garda outside Leinster House while drunk driving. I threw the paper out b4 anybody saw it.

• Jamie Lawrence 01/04/11 #
      Report this comment

Really? ‘Cos that TD was PJ Sheehan, a Fine Gael TD and our Enda told the Garda to forget about the incident.

• Dave the Strat 01/04/11 #
      Report this comment

I know what yur saying Jamie. All I’m saying is that Endas mammy makes sure he dresses well when going for a job interview. .. Not looking like he’s being hanging around with the cornerboys.

• Adrian Nolan 31/03/11 #
    Report this comment

Its some statement coming from the likes of the French that our fella was acting cocky when their own national symbol is one. A small attempt at revenge for an October night in Paris in 2009.

• Sam Manton 01/04/11 #
    Report this comment

Fair play Enda!

• Derek Reilly 01/04/11 #
    Report this comment

In fairness to ‘the new government’ they have took there finger out and are doing things about the problems this country faces. I know until recently the previous government had no real problems to deal with but they done feck all anyway, they had an enormous amount of money coming in to the coffers but where is it now? It was wasted. It’s about time our government done something to help their people

• Inda Kinny 01/04/11 #
    Report this comment

I brought the Cristal and the Hennessy, those clowns shoulda showed da respeckt I deserved.

Add New Comment