Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Kenny won’t attend TV3 debate

Image: Con/Demotix/Press Association Images

FINE GAEL LEADER Enda Kenny has confirmed he will not be participating in the first leaders’ debate this Tuesday night on TV3, saying his schedule prevents him from attending.

Kenny had said earlier he would not participate in any programme involving the TV3 presenter Vincent Browne.

Browne had apologised to Kenny after making controversial comments about him last summer during the failed FG leadership heave.

Kenny suggested his seat should remain empty on-air, as a symbol for all the people who were forced to emigrate from Ireland “by virtue of the incompetence and reckless management” of the economy by Fianna Fáil.

The debate programme is due to be presented by Ursula Halligan and Vincent Browne. Last week, TV3 said that Micheál Martin and Eamon Gilmore had both confirmed their attendance for the televised debate, and it was extending an open invitation to Kenny.

RTÉ reports that at a press event earlier today, Kenny said that although he had an issue with Browne over his comments on suicide, he was unable to attend the debate because of his busy schedule.

Poll: Will you watch any leaders’ debate? >

Read Next:

Comments (20 Comments)

• Nigel McArdle 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

This is the sign of a weak man, and he wants to lead this country, Grow up Enda your behaving like a spoiled child!!

• Conor O'Riordan 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Unmitigated disaster by Enda Kenny and his advisers. All they had to do was stick to the one party line on this. Coming up with this new excuse of scheduling issues is a PR calamity. They know Enda’s a liability and Browne would eat him for breakfast. It’s a case of “better to remain silent and thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt”…

• Deborah McCarthy 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

One ridiculous excuse after another. Fine Gael are throwing away their opportunity to lead the first single party government since the ‘ 20s and it’s all as a result of their pathetic “leader”.

• Christine Downey 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Who watches tv3 anyway? I never have. Certainly never seen or heard of this person that enda won’t debate in front of. He must be a nobody.

• Ashley Killeen 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

And he wants to represent our country if he gets voted in!

• Raynond Cahill 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

I would bet any money,that kenny not debating will make no difference in poll results 3/4 after the debate
    As i have said i was on our school debate team,there were guys in my year who could not do it.They now
    run some very big companies very well,there still shyish.I want a delagator to fix this not a debater.These
    debates are the work of TV3/RTE to charge big money for advert slots that hour.Also i dont want a single
    party to govern.My preference is f.gael and some smart indos like sommerville, ross, and that type of
    or quality candidate. Its also well known that whomever is ahead in polls has nothing to gain by debating
    Its like running a 5K race but waiting near t.he finish line to let other runnes to catch up.What scares me
    about m.martin.is he set up the HSE,E-voting,When he spent 150 million on a payroll system that did not
    work he says “ah well lets just call it the one that got away.The biggest report on cancer He forgot to read it.??
    How can he act so flippent with our money.Cause he didnt give a SHIT!!!!

• John Gallagher 07/02/11 #
      Report this comment

If Edna Kenny is not there I can’t judge his policies, I don’t care about his debating style, I’m not looking for a slick debater, all I would like, as a member of the electorate charged with a civic duty to vote, is to be as informed as possible. How can I be informed if the leader of the party the polls say will form a key part of the next government will not do me the courtesy, as a citizen of this country, of attending a televised debate.

• Robert McDonnell 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Absolute bollox! Does he really expect anybody to believe that he’s got “scheduling difficulties”?! If he wanted to be there, he’d be there. Won’t exactly do his ratings any good…

• Report this comment

I thought Ireland was trying to ‘reform’ politics, personal views, excuses, personal commitments, enough is enough, we need the right party in power, a debate is a very important opportunity for the leaders. It needs to happen, for the sake of the country, at this stage!!

• missyu 06/02/11 #
      Report this comment

On-line Ireland seems very ready for reform but we’re not in the voting majority. If YOU want to make a difference, get out and get canvessing for who you want to win. If it helps think of it this way, 5 points for a townie. 10 for a culchie, 20 for a student and 50 for a granny (or grandad). F Gael are still ahead in the polls and while the on-line savvy people are wide to the trickery, there’s enough F Gaelers in the pub telling anyone who will listen that Kenny too cute to be caught out by VinB. Unless you’re willing to counter act their plans, we’re all going to be rightly stung.

• Lou Mullan 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

So this is the guy we think has the chutzpah to go up against Sarkozy & Merkel…….oh dear, oh dear

• Raynond Cahill 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

DAITHI,
    You obviously have not made your mind up at this stage who to vote for.I have but it wont be f/fail.
    it will be a mix of indos f/gael,my first time i have voted them.I voted f/fail last time and deserve
    what i got,i am in massive neg equity on my home,but thats my fault not the governments,I like
    alot of people was living beyond my means.Ye pay one way or another.I dont know how good
    f/gael will be,but one things for sure f/fail have no friends in europe,they think our gov are enept
    thats one reason for our interest rate on bailout so high they think we deserve it,and anybody
    who thinks we can go up against sar/merkel banging tables like Goombens,is wrong i think.

• Mark Pender 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Chicken.

• Brandon K 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Oh god he’s such an idiot and a liar.

• Report this comment

Well well well
    Some leader he will make if he gets in

• Sir 06/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Fine Gael are trying to do a John Bruton with Enda , but this is a new era I hope the polls reflect Fine Gaels mistake with a jump too Labour come next week & a real left alliance than puppet Enda can ponder what might have been come 25th Feb & his string pulling masters resigned to opposition spokesperson’s

• Brendan 07/02/11 #
    Report this comment

What a total and utter joke! Out next leader has no backbone

• Aodhan O Cuana 07/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Enda playing hard ball tactics here! Most people think he has made wrong choice! Problem is he maybe our only choice for an alternative leader! That worries me, as Enda maybe a grand fella but he thinks he can pick and choose his battles! Worrying

• Robert Lynch 07/02/11 #
    Report this comment

Ahh, poor VinB used “as a ploy”.
    Poor Michael Martin won’t get to say a lot while saying nothing really and trying to get people to see divisions in between parties that are supposed to be – well, different.
    And, poor Mr Gilmore (a possible Taoiseach) will have to debate with a man who is not going to be Taoiseach (at least this time round). It should really be Gilmore and Kenny debating then of course this should have all been arranged and agreed not just announced by 3 limelight searchers TV3, VinB and of course Mr Martin.

What were TV3 expecting? Do they think that every TV station can request the candidates to turn up for 2 or 3 debates each without prior agreement? TV3, TG4 and RTE are 3 companies which would result in 6+ debates over 3 weeks and the leaders of most parties (at least those who still hope to have a resemblance of their party after the election; unlike FF and GP) have other things to do.

TV3 and Vincent Browne are all about TV3 and Vincent Browne. When he chairs his show it is VinB who spends most of the time talking. And, when TV3 planned this debate, they timed it so that it would be the first. They didn’t bother to discuss the time, the presenter or the format with any other station or with any of the participants.
    Hopefully their two egos will recover with time… of course after VinB tries to have the last word by making jibes about Enda Kenny for the next week on each of his shows just like he has mentioned Joan Burton’s haranguing in every show since last week. Granted, she lost it a bit but to bring it up in every show since is just childish.

Add New Comment