TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Kilkenny nun named as Cork road crash victim

Sister Mairéad Murphy was 80-years-old.

Image: Photocall Ireland!

GARDAÍ HAVE NAMED yesterday’s road crash victim as 80-year-old nun Sr Mairéad Murphy.

The Kilkenny-based nun died when the car she was driving collided with a lorry on the Dunmanway to Bantry road at Clounties yesterday afternoon.

A nun with the Union of Presentation Sisters of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Sr Murphy was well known in the Newpark area of Kilkenny where she had lived for years.

TheJournal.ie understands that she often holidayed in her native West Cork, where the crash occurred.

The male driver of the lorry involved in the incident suffered minor injuries and was taken to Cork University Hospital for treatment. His passenger was uninjured.

Yesterday: Elderly woman killed in Cork road crash>

Read next:

Comments (14 Comments)

• maria 06/07/12 #

Rip

• rest in peace

• We don’t know the full facts yet to jump to conclusions regarding age , for all we know it could have been the lorry drivers fault so until we do get the facts there is no point in speculating, RIP to the unfortunate lady.

• How many over 65′s were killed on the roads last year and how many under 25′s???????

• How many people are killed on the roads every year by trucks? I read at least one a week, they drive at crazy speeds usually on mobile phones. I see this ever day of the week on the country roads…

• Of course people get impatient. Nevertheless there is no minimum speed limit and the limits posted are not targets. If anyone old or young wishes to drive slowly they may do so. The rest of the drivers need more patience. Of note anyone who feels they need their fitness to drive after illness, due to disability or because of their age can be independently assessed by http://www.transportandmobility.ie. I know many elderly who have chosen this because of family concerns and have taken on board the recommendations eg only drive locally, or not on motorways or daytime etc

• I know there is no minimum speed limit but I’m sure most people get frustrated driving at 60kph on a 100kph road… I know I do!! If you want to drive at half the speed limit you should at least have the cop on to pull in when there’s a tail back behind you!!

• Sorry for woman, but 80?

• I see where your coming from. Nothing to suggest her age mattered. BUT ….. After 65 to remove any suspicion on lack of faculties people should have a test every two years. There are some who drive and are elderly the can be dangerous however I know one lady who is 93 and sharp as a tack

• Nothing to suggest this woman was incapable of driving and either way it is sad, my sympathies to all who know her.

But age and driving is a thorny issue. My father is 85 and still driving. He is is good shape for his age and he has a doctors certificate and an eye test from late last year saying he is grand and got a new 3 year licence. But it still terrifies me. He regularly prangs the car off posts/walls/bollards etc – faithfully gets them fixed, I think in the hope they nobody will notice – he should get a regular custom discount at the body repair place. Every time I hear there has been an accident close to where he lives my heart is in my mouth.

He is very stubborn, nothing we can say will persuade him to give up his car. I am not just terrified for him but because he is a real danger to other road users. I spoke to the guards in the area, but there is nothing they can do if he is all certified and doesn’t do anything illegal on the roads.

• R.I.P. age should have nothing to do with it.! As long as a person has passed their medical..I don’t know why they don’t have a truck- lorry lane only
      It works everywhere else..

• There is no need for ageism

• The problem is elderly drivers tend to drive at a snails pace which causes traffic to backlog behind them… People then get impatient and carry out wreck less overtaking manoeuvres out of pure frustration…. Which in turn causes road crashes…. I’ve seen it so many times….

RIP

Add New Comment