TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Today is the final day for septic tank registration

Those who do not register face a fine of up to €5,000.

Image: Wanderley Massafelli/Photocall Ireland

TODAY IS THE final day for the registration of septic tanks and other domestic waste water treatment systems, despite recent calls from one TD for the deadline to be extended.

1 February was decided on as the final day for people to register their domestic waste water treatment systems, but by Monday of this week one third remained unregistered.

According to Census 2011, there are 487,911 domestic waste water treatment systems, including 437,652 septic tanks and 50,259 individual sewerage systems.

But just four days ago, 312, 383 people had registered.

A reduced fee applied for people who registered before 28 September 2012, and it then rose to €50 after that date.

Earlier this week, Sinn Féin spokesperson on the environment, community and local government, Brian Stanley TD, asked that Environment Minister Phil Hogan extend the registration deadline for septic tanks until 31 March.

A spokesperson for the Local Government Management Agency told TheJournal.ie that after today’s deadline, local authorities will be looking at their databases and collecting information on the properties that have not yet registered. They “will follow up as appropriate” after this.

People who fail to register in time could face a fine of up to €5,000. According to RTÉ, Minister Hogan said that those who fail to pay the fee would not be entitled to financial assistance if their tank develops a problem in the future.

Read: The full county-by-county registration figures>

More: Ireland fined €2 million over failure to impose septic tank rules >

Read: Deadline looms as one third of waste water treatment systems remain unregistered>

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• Does your property contain a septic tank?
    Was the septic tank included as part of the planning application for the property?
    Is your property in joint ownership?

Well then section 70L of the WATER SERVICES (AMENDMENT) ACT 2012, may not comply with Articles 40 and 43 of the Constitution.

Section 70L also attempts to apply “future performance and disposal standards and consequential or ancillary matters” in other words conditions to planning applications retrospectively.

Funny how this Government have stated they can not apply conditions retrospectively to items such as state pensions of contracts of employment, but at the same time can apply conditions retrospectively to septic tanks, even though the building regulations cannot be applied retrospectively to existing buildings.

See you in court Phil.

• Well since everyone who has registered is now the owner of their sh!t having bought and paid for it on the way in AND the way out, they should make a gift of it to Hogan. Post it to his home, his constituancy office, and to the dail. He’ll be delighted cos after all it’s valuable stuff now a price has been put on it

• they might as well fine me a million euro because they havnt a hope of getting either. you can’t take the knickers off a bare arse!

• Where do they come up with these prices?, €50 to register a tank and €5000 if you don’t! Imagine the government bringing a 70 year old women or a single parent to court on a €5000 fine for not paying €50! This country is run by closed minded people who are so disconnected from todays real society that these people must have been the “up their own arse wannabe socialites” that plaque college campuses and office buildings, I have a feeling these are the people that behind closed doors look down at the general public and regard us as ignorant low on the social class food chain who try to do nothing more then dodge charges at every possible situation.
    This country needs to be run with a real understanding of the situations people are facing and not a “slap some silly charge/tax on it to gain revenue with no real benefit to the public” frame of mind.

• It is all bully boy tactics based on lies , success from the start ? I think not. Plebs , fools .

• As I’ve said on another thread, if Hogan was serious about the environment registration would be free.

• Why do we always trot out the “old people” arguement? It applies to anybody with a sceptic tank.

The reality is that there are 1000’s of these badly maintained tanks polluting the ground water. It has to stop,

There is no disconnect from reality in stopping this.

• I totally agree. It is disgraceful to think how many septic tanks are leaking and overflowing and polluting ground water. We need to start taking environmental issues serious in this country. I live in a rural area and registered my septic tank. And as for old people… most of them have more money than the rest of us.

• Holy crap, 5 grand is a pretty steep fine

• All I know is that my parents one 80 and the other 77 have paid the €50 but are now absolutely worried sick about possibly having to come up with a few grand to update their septic tank. The grant will NOT cover the works that may need to be done. They’ve spent a fortune on the upkeep of their system and even had it inspected 2 years ago and were told all was well with it. Guarantee this will not be the case this time around. They should not be worried to the extent they are at this time of their lives.

• Septic & Photo of Hopeless Hogan quite apt.

• Hogan has failed as a minister and TD, he was required to deliver on property tax and septic tanks. I’m glad to say he has failed miserably. 50% subscription does not count as delivering. He should be sacked for trying to bring these in, and now sacked for failing. He’s an excuse of a man.

• Sh1t!!!

• Septic Phil needs minders when in his home consituancy of KK these days!
    Such an endeering character with such progressive policies

• Where is this all going to end does anyone know? Property tax, septic tank, increases in income and motor tax, commodities, energy, insurance not to mention little stealth taxes here and there.
    What’s the next big artery the government will pierce in order to bleed us dry?
    Love this country and would really hate to leave it due to elderly family still living here but sometimes I wonder is the only option to move.

• The joke is that biggest polluters of Irish water are local councils!

What has the government done about that? NOTHING!

Over 2 billion spend on cleaning water each year, so we can drink it and over 50% of it is lost due to poor piping before it ever reaches our homes.

What has the government done about that? Water tax! Great solution, ignore the real problem and go for the easy fix!

• If one third haven’t registered, how so they know how many septic tanks are out there. Also, how would revenue know who to go after …..

• @ Edward.. Just had to give you a green thumb there for that!! Very funny! Fair play to the ppl in Donegal though..they’re the only crowd that stand up for anything!!!

• Local authorities do not do enforcement. It is alien to their way of working.
    On the rare occasions that they do take action, they rarely get their act together.

• Hogan your a digrace.

• How can they put a tax on mini treatment systems that people installed after 2009. Mine cost over 4k just to buy and had to pay another 2k to get it installed. It uses electricity to keep the system pumped 24/7. So if I pay the charge will the government help pay my ESB bill or my tank maintaince?
    Not a chance

• Hey! What’s this bullshit about ‘You might not get Financial Assistance if your septic tank develops a problem in the future? Am I missing something here, or what? When WAS their any financial assistance provided for a faulty or out of date[decrepit] septic tank? News to me! I had a problem with my septic tank, so bad in fact that it didn’t work at all. The previous owners of my house had deliberately broken into the waste pipe so that it overflowed into a small stream at the back. Yup! That’s right. RAW SEWAGE and toilet paper! I contacted the Council and was told there were NO grants or Financial Help of any kind. What about the pollution I asked the Enviromental Agency?
    “Have you had any complaints from your rural neighbours?” I was asked.
    “No, not yet,” I replied.
    “Well, don’t worry about it!” I was told. In the end My wife and I had to take out a bank loan of over 5k to put in a brand new complete system after struggling with ‘patched up’ attempts. A lot of money considering I’m registered disabled and only on DLA.

• can vouch for that bill , previous owner letting raw sewage into local stream, council not bothered, typical of south tipp coco, laziest council in the country, wouldnt get off their arse if the chair was on fire. there is another post on here saying that local councils are the biggest polluters of all, im going to register the dail on the septic tank list, after all its full of sh1t and turds.

• You can tax the crap out of me all you want Hogan, your only a traitor with no democratic mandate at the end of the day.
    And Phil …just remember when you retire…..we’re gonna come after that fat pension and make sure you do time!

• So the 10,000+ votes he got in Carlow Kilkenny doesn’t count as a democratic mandate?

Damn, thought I had fully understood this whole “democracy” thing.

Could you explain it to me since you seem to know what it really means?

• People make their voting decision based on a party’s manifesto. Phil Hogan’s partys’ manifesto Feb 2011 stated under their plans for the environment, (p59/60) that they would not be introducing an annual recurring charge on the family home. Now of course Pat Rabbite has declared that these things are just utterences before an election to win votes so we’ll all know in future, but David do you not think that many of those 10,000 voters in Carlow Kilkenny have a right to feel agrieved?

• David? Anne makes a valid point. Love to hear your response.

• haha, proper slap-head on him!

• Like an arse with a pair of glasses on it!!

• What is it with you guys up in Donegal, only 4.7% of you have registered for the septic tank charges. Do ye think ye’re shite is cleaner than the rest of the country?

• Make sure you are standing near the FAN as the sh#t it

• The only crowd that pay for nothing and vote against everything

• Alas, it’s not the last day of this septic Government

• It’s important, as an island that we have clean water. This is pretty obvious. Our water gets polluted by faulty septic tanks. It’s certainly in our interests to keep our water as clean as possible and we shouldn’t be against this at all. The tactics by the government are a little skewed though. (in my opinion).
    The main cause of pollution to our water table, lakes etc is not septic tanks. It’s the overuse of nitrates by farmers. This has not been mentioned as far as i can see. I wonder if the government would ask the powers that be in Brussels for a sizable donation to help us clean up our act. I am not having a go at farmers by the way, but i do wonder if it’s an issue that should be addressed.

• The Revenue, when extracting the fine, will likely identify the offender as ‘one who believes they are above the law’.

Always a fertile demographic to conduct a full tax and vat audit of.

Register your tanks; it is the modern and intelligent thing to do. Ye can’t be sh1tting into the water table and poisoning Galway again or killing off the fish in our rivers with your sewage. It’s just medieval!

Add New Comment