You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Oireachtas TV
AS IT HAPPENED

AS IT HAPPENED: 'A great deal is going on, but the problem is getting worse, Taoiseach'

Enda Kenny faced questions on the homeless crisis, Gerry Adams and a United Ireland today.

Afternoon, folks. It’s Sean Murray here, following all the happenings at Leaders’ Questions. If you have any thoughts, comments, or opinions, you can leave a comment below or tweet us @thejournal_ie.

Today, Taoiseach Enda Kenny faced questions on the homeless crisis, the murder of prison officer Brian Stack in the 80s, and a United Ireland.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan accused the Taoiseach of missing the point when it came to the housing crisis, while Micheál Martin said that reports of Gerry Adams passing on the names of Sinn Féin politicians in connection with an IRA murder to the Garda commissioner created an “extraordinary situation”.

And first up, we have Micheál Martin.

In March 1983, Brian Stack was shot. The only prison officer murdered by the provisional IRA during the Troubles, he says.

“It took 30 years for them to admit that they murdered him.”

He says the IRA statement tried to retroactively justify the murder. Deputy Adams passed on the name of four individuals to the Garda commissioner, he says

Martin calls it an “extraordinary situation”.

He asks Enda to meet with Gerry Adams to ensure his cooperation with the situation.

“The IRA needs to come clean” on how they murdered Stack, Martin urges.

The State needs to move now and do something, he finishes.

Enda agrees that it’s an extraordinary development, especially “given statements made here”.

Austin Stack said he gave no names to Gerry Adams. If names were furnished by Adams, including public representatives to the Garda commissioner, it is “a very serious matter”, according to the Taoiseach.

He expects the Minister for Justice to make a statement on the matter.

enda Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

“If I interview Gerry Adams, he’s not going to tell me,” the Taoiseach says.

Adams needs to clarify the contradiction that has arisen here, he adds.

Martin comes back by calling the killing an “atrocity” that’s gone unpunished for 30 years.

He asks: how did deputy Adams come into possession of those names, and pass them onto the Garda commissioner?

He adds that the Stack family are due consideration by the Remembrance Commission.

michael

Enda says that Gerry Adams needs to clarify where he got the names of these people who were passed on to the Garda commissioner.

The Taoiseach says that Adams says Austin Stack delivered them while Austin Stack says he didn’t give Adams the names.

“The Sinn Féin party needs to address this,” he says.

He adds that the Stack family deserves the truth.

Gerry Adams is absent, so Mary Lou McDonald will ask the questions for Sinn Féin.

She discusses Nicola Sturgeon’s appearance in the Seanad.

Sturgeon has been clear about Scotland’s interests, she says.

Citizens would like the Taoiseach to stand up in the same way for Irish interests that Sturgeon does for Scotland’s, according to McDonald.

mary lou

She says that she has no doubt Enda will find the time to read the Sinn Féin paper on Towards a United Ireland.

You will have a seat at the table during Article 50 negotiations for Brexit – you need to use those talks to advance Irish unity, she says.

“Brexit is a British problem that requires an Irish solution,” McDonald adds.

I’m glad you’ve raise the issue, Enda responds.

Brexit will impact us more than any other European country. We need to “preserve what we’ve got”, he says.

The question of a United Ireland is contained within the Good Friday agreement.

It contains a very clear measure whereby a United Ireland could happen.

They are a binding issue for both Ireland and Britain, he says.

“Does this mean a border poll is imminent? No it does not” Enda says.

Nor are the Government going to look for that imminently, he adds.

“The time is not now.”

McDonald praises the hard won Good Friday agreement.

The democratic and peaceful manner for how everyone North and South must agree on a United Ireland is welcome, she says.

“I’m not asking you to act in a pre-emptive or a coercive manner. I’m asking you to pin your colours to the mast on Irish unity.”

Will you enter into a conversation about the reunification of this country, she asks.

Enda says that in his discussions with May, a hard border was rejected.

Other European leaders support Ireland in its efforts when it comes to Brexit, according to the Taoiseach.

“We have a particular set of circumstances,” he says.

The intertwining of our economies will be of mutual benefit going forward.

These matters have been raised with other leaders, he adds.

Next up, we have Noel Grealish, an independent TD for Galway West.

He’s asking about improvements to A&E, and waiting times on trolleys at University Hospital Galway.

Patients are being shoehorned into every nook and cranny, he says.

He quotes the Taoiseach himself, who called the A&E department in question “not fit for purpose”.

He fears half a million will have to experience trauma before a new facility is built.

grealish

He wants a minor injuries unit installed in Galway.

“Will you agree to provide this unit as a matter of urgency?” he asks.

Can you confirm that the Minister for Health will announce the go-ahead for an emergency department in December, and how long will it take, he adds.

The emergency department at University Hospital Galway is too small, Kenny says.

It’s catering for a million people in the greater region.

“We put into the programme for government a commitment for a new emergency department,” he says.

We’re now looking at provision of funding for that, he adds.

It’s just a case of backing up our plans for these hospitals with financial backing, Kenny adds.

“I want a firmer commitment on when this is going to actually happen,” Grealish says.

Currently, waiting times are simply unacceptable in Galway, he says.

A quarter of patients were still waiting to be seen after nine hours, according to Grealish.

He’s going over time, so the Ceann Comhairle moves him along to Kenny’s answer.

The Taoiseach reiterates that it was in the programme for Government.

He adds that a 75 bed unit was just completed that will hopefully free up a number of wards on site.

Staffing numbers have also increased at the A&E in Galway.

“Can I give you a date for it? No. But it will be an absolute priority,” he finishes.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan up next.

He’s talking about the number of people sleeping rough in Dublin.

People starting to sleep out in tents tells us about the scale of the crisis, Ryan says.

He asks: what can we do further to make sure that no one dies from exposure to the cold while sleeping rough this winter?

He says Simon Coveney’s plan will take years to take effect.

Can we follow European examples on homelessness and rent, he asks.

green party

“We are still not treating this homeless crisis with the severity it needs” Ryan concludes.

The most comprehensive housing plan has been set up, including provisions for homelessness, according to Kenny.

We’re acquiring vacant housing, expanding shelters, he says. Additional emergency accommodation is being brought on stream during the winter months.

Another 200 emergency beds have been provided for homeless on the streets, he says.

The Taoiseach says that additional bed space being provided will cater for the 115 rough sleepers in Dublin.

Minister Coveney’s plans follow successful examples from abroad, the Taoiseach says.

He points to additional funding for temporary accommodation for charities such as the Peter McVerry trust.

“There’s a great deal going on, Deputy Ryan,” he adds.

Ryan goes on the attack: “A great deal is going on, but the problem is getting worse, Taoiseach”.

You ignore the rental crisis, he tells Enda.

“Will you not address the underlying problem of renting?”

We shouldn’t give the construction industry just tax breaks to stimulate house building, he adds.

A new rental strategy will be unveiled in the Dáil in the next few weeks, according to the Taoiseach.

“This problem has become exacerbated by the shortage of accommodation,” he says.

This is a comprehensive plan to deal with the housing shortage in all of its forms.

And that’s a wrap for Leaders’ Questions today. Thanks for joining us!