TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Forty years ago today…Liam Cosgrave became Taoiseach

Here he is now, aged 92.

Gathering event

FORTY YEARS AGO today, Liam Cosgrave became Taoiseach.

Now 92 years old, the former Fine Gael leader is still participating in political life.

As part of the Gathering 2013 initiative, he visited the classroom of his father’s old school, CBS James’s St on Basin Lane in Dublin, today.

He is pictured with second-year pupil Morgan Campbell.

(Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images)

Read next:

Comments (28 Comments)

• What a brilliant picture, very striking.

• Many more years ahead I hope

• A man of dignity and courage with huge levels of personal integrity ! From the day he retired after a lifetime of service to the State and Fine Gael he maintained a dignified distance from the issues of the day.

• A man who represented an outright assault on the constitution and the impartiality of the law in this state. If Haughey, Ahern, Lenihan etc and FF represent the African tinpot dictator rob the people blind school. Cosgrave represented the South American control freak tinpot school of Govt. His Govt. were as much a threat to Irish democracy as Haughey’s and FF’s culture of criminality.

The treatment of President o’Dalaigh was disgraceful, the tolerance of corruption in the state as long as it suited political objectives. The response to the massacres in Dublin and Monaghan and a hundred other travesties.

Different to Ahern no doubt but like Bertie left a legacy that the state has yet to clear from its system. The belief that power was to be wielded for the good of your group, rather than the good of all. That the Status Quo in Ireland had to be protected by all means. Change to be despised as a threat to the established order and those that were at the top.

• I don’t understand why the man is being celebrated like this. The 1970s were hardly a decade of great economic or social progress. The treatment of President Ó Dálaigh by his government was a disgrace. Just because someone has lived a long time does not make them worthy of a canonisation!

• The oil crisis caused most of the economic hardship of that decade and that was outside of Ireland’s control.

• phil 14/03/13 #

He also voted against legalizing contraception. He tried jailing numerous members of the press for interviewing Sinn Fein members. Oh and lets not forget he was one the main reasons the Dublin and monaghan bombers got away.

• Cosgrave refused to co-operate with the Barron inquiry which this state set up in order to examine the Dublin-Monaghan bombings, he was the Taoiseach at the time.

In his 300-page report, Mr Justice Barron criticised the former Taoiseach, Liam Cosgrave, for not passing on information to the Guards given by British Prime Minister Harold Wilson at a meeting in London in 1974.
      During that meeting, Mr Wilson said that a number of UVF members suspected of involvement in the bombings which killed 33 people had been interned.

The man is a disgrace, this is only one of many serious failings in his duration.

• They were brought into protective custody in Long Kesh so they couldn’t be questioned about the bombings and the role played by British military intelligence therein. Cosgrave owes the people of Ireland but especially the victims and their families a full explanation.

• You are perfect for Fine Gael David Higgins, with an attitude like that. Leaders are meant to lead and find a way to solve problems, not “get into power” then shrug their shoulders and exclaim to be powerless. Weak.

• Deeply conservative figure. Failed to address abuses in Church run institutions.

• Mullen
    Let me tell you that people like you are the reason I’m delighted that Northern Ireland remains a Constitutional part of the United Kingdom. In fact after forty years of murder and mayhem and thuggery and outright savagery the only thing you have to show for it is the Queens shilling and more people in the North prepared to remain in the UK than before your killing and maiming of innocents began.

• Historial fallacy 101. You can’t judge people who made decisions in a totally different environment almost half a century ago by today’s standards. In 1972 the people demanded certain things from their leaders – conservative Catholicism being an obvious requirement. You’ll get the rare individual who breaks new ground but generally speaking political leaders operated in the environment they lived in. 2013 is going to be a harsh judge on 1972.

• “I’ll shed no tears when the free state relic does the decent thing, and sleeps with the worms.”

I hope the Ireland of 2050 more forgiving of your own particular perspective.

• Lets see that Dublin & Monaghan bombings took place with evidence sent to the UK. Section 31 introduced and scandals with abuse by Catholic clergy known about.
    oil crisis & High taxes and lots of emigration like now so nothing has changed except were run by Europe & no currency so a failure of a government like today’s last 2 governments.

• You wrote this after 11 years of education?

• Ben,
      You allegiance shows a lifelong FG Blue-shirt west Brit euro lackey mentality. Damage caused by the Cosgrove FG led government still lingers like an open sore. Collaboration with British services by sending to the UK the evidence of their murderous endeavours during the Dublin & Monaghan bombings. Failure to provide information into the Dublin & Monaghan bombings tribunal. Section 31 legislation with total disregard for Nationalist community voice in Northern Ireland’s plastic state.
      Anti Nationalist Republican stance was evident throughout to this day.
      Total appeasement to a foreign state in education,health & religious matters ie the Catholic Church. High emigration and punitive taxes with the oil crisis shows an individual like the present FG led government disregard for the majority to protect the wealthy minority is still the mantra today. Total failure of a politician and a government on all counts.

• Ben Gunn 15/03/13 #

I was referring to your literacy standards, not your opinions.

• He lives across the road from me in
    Knocklyon. He has a 24/7 365 day Garda presence at the gate to his house but he goes for a walk by himself everyday. He is Fit for a 92 year old. It’s always irritated me that he has Garda looking after him it’s such a waste of money

• May he have many more years of happy retirement. This man was an Irish Patriot like his father before him.

• Is this the guy with a Garda protecting him 24/7.

Add New Comment