TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Man, 53, dies after altercation with youths in Drogheda

The deceased was brought to hospital in Drogheda – and later to Beaumont – after an incident on the street

The junction of Bessexwell Lane and Shop Street in Drogheda, where the deceased man was involved in an altercation last Thursday.
Image: Google Maps

GARDAÍ ARE SEEKING witnesses to an altercation in Drogheda last week, after a man involved in it died in hospital today.

The incident happened at the junction of Bessexwell Lane and Shop Street, in the centre of the town, at about 2:30pm last Thursday, July 19.

Gardaí said they had been called to the location after an altercation involving the man and an unstated number of youths.

The man was taken to Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital in the town on Sunday, and was later removed to Beaumont Hospital in Dublin, where he passed away this afternoon.

The State Pathologist has been notified and a post-mortem will be carried out on the man’s remains tomorrow afternoon.

Anyone with information on last week’s altercation is asked to contact Gardaí in Drogheda at 041 9874200, or the Garda Confidential line at 1800 666 111.

Read next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• I hope they catch the thugs. R.I.P

• Disgrace!

• So many of these horrific assaults happening around the country every day, and we only hear about it when the victims die. Society is in a much worse state than the media or politicians care to admit

• Not to sure what age you are Jason mate,but things are getting outta hand, I am not a scaremongerer but there is a huge amount of youth driving around this country , hoodies up, with attitudes that ya wouldn’t see in Harlem ( no offence to anyone reading this from Harlem) I can only speak from my experience but they just look at ya, staring you down , muttering under here breath , smirking…. There is no respect anymore, people say ” I blame the parents” etc etc but I truly believe respect has to start at home, there are 12 year olds out at all times of the night, I don’t care if it’s school holidays or not, kids have no business roaming around at night with nothing to do, it’s time to get tough with these little shits…. I do no believe in bringing back corporal punishment as I was in school during that era and got bloody hammered enough times ( deserved it on the odd occasion) but teachers have there hands tied now, ya can’t do or say anything without getting into hot water… My solution , military service… One year, teach them respect and discipline and kick here holes when need be.

• Makes me sick to hear this.

• Agreed. I don’t know who the man was but it’s kind of sickening to hear that something like this can happen here in broad daylight. No doubt i/when they’re caught the dogooders will be out in force saying it wasn’t their fault, they had nothing to do your honour, a bad upbringing so it was inevitable that they would beat a poor man to death.
      By the way the way Gavin the picture shows the junction between Shop Street and Dyer Street, Bessexwell Lane is across the road.

• R.I.P

• They should be Locked up for good

• Jason you’re a clown!

• conscription into the army for two year minimum,might make some of these youth respect society and their peers!
    R.I.P may his attackers be bought to justice!

• They are only looking for witnesses now???

• Rip

• Con Fox 25/07/12 #

This poor man. These youths may now be guilty of manslaughter. Aside from any criminal convictions that may be successfully persued, they may have caused his death. Their conscience will be punishing them for their adult life. They have ruined their own potential and possibilities as well. You can be assured, they will be trapped internally and physiologically themselves. That is the real punishment and they deserve every bit of it. I hope it eats them up from the inside. There is no comeback from this for them. The mind is the final prison, when it cannot move.

• You’re assuming that any of them actually have sufficient conscience to feel guilty over this poor man’s death. Unfortunately it may be instead seen as a “badge of honour” that they have been involved in a killing.
      But I hope you are right and the guilt lives with them.

• Time we gathered a gang of men and gave these little toe rags a good slapping around. Tough guys in their groups terrorising people and little whimps on their own. It’s time they were sent cryin for their mothers. May that man RIP.

• Sometimes things do not initially appear to be as serious as they ultimately transpire to be. I’m confident that the perpetrators will be identified and charged, they rarely aren’t in situations such as these. Then in 18 months time well all be here commenting on the excessively lenient sentences handed down. BUT neither the incident in the first place or the ultimate conclusion in court (please god) are the responsibility of the Gardai. They have a duty to discharge now in terms of identifying and charging the perpetrators. That’s it.
    R.I.P….
    …..@jason one suspects you were once one of these youths who were constantly burdened with the perpetual suspicion of An Garda Siochana… #poorsoul

• The man was not drunk, or a pervert. I knew him. He was 53-year-old professional father of three, lived in Drogheda for more than 20 years. An “unstated number of youths” – a gang? attacked him in broad daylight. There are your facts. And I really do wonder if it was racially motivated.

• Sadly, nothing will be done. Its not unique to Drogheda, but the. town has a feral youth problem. No respect in society anymore. May the gentleman rest in peace.

• I understand that a lot if people here are talking about ” a lack of respect”in young people and it’s very true. But the real issue here is the (almost) lack of police presence on our roads and towns. It’s become a free for all for these kids. If they get caught doing anything it’s the exception rather than the norm so the deterrent is not there. Unfortunately it’s going to take some sort of mass murder like we’ve seen in the states before anything is properly done about it. It’s becoming like New York in the 70s.

• It’s abit late when the man dead now. Sorry rest in peace.

• SeanS 25/07/12 #

Not really, looking for witnesses earlier wouldn’t have changed that. Presumably the reason they are appealing for witnesses now is that the crime has shifted from an aggravated assault to manslaughter and the prime witness has just died, hence appeals.

• @ Jason.
    Your a clown man!

• Jason ffs man you admit you’re from drogheda and three times you spell “gaurds” what kind of education have you had its not “gaurds” you know well it’s” d gadds” now run along and eat your stolen ” Mazz bar.

• Why the hell are they only looking for witnesses now??

• Ah sure it’s grand thomas sure we all make mistakes when we’re young , when it’s one of your own family who are murdered by the youth who make mistakes will you feel the same? It was murder pure and simple

• Resel 24/07/12 #

A lot of thumb downs on honest caring comments.

• Wow I live in that building! Never saw/heard a thing. Guards never asked me anything, not really looking into it in great detail! Such a joke!!!

• just thought id let u all know who called me a clown ect for stiking up for the youth all charges were dropped and death was a week later and not from a row now excuse my use of english ect but this page is jus full of gossip so y dont you all critisise sum 1 else they will prob b rite as well ha ha

• I live just outside Drogheda and this is the first I have heard about this!
    What the hell was the delay in seeking witnesses? Good god!

• the poor man. i even don’t like coming back to Drogheda as i have had teenagers throw abuse when i got out for no reason. the fact the poor man was attacked and nothing was done till its too late is ridiculous. pray some witnesses come forward so that justice is served for the mans family.

• May his soul and the souls of all the faithfully departed through the mercy of God, rest in peace.

• from drogheda never heard about it …. yet again youth of drogheda gettin d blame im very sorry the man passed away but blaming the youth is always the gaurds awnser

• I think the facts speak for themselves as in, “an unstated number of youths were involved in an altercation with a man”. The “gaurds” as you say aren’t just blaming the youths. This incident took place involving youths, period! Just because you didn’t hear about it doesn’t mean it didn’t happen!

• i dont want to debate this i jus feel the youth of ireland are all painted with d same brush and it always seems to be people first thought must of been a gang of youths that was involved …. im truly sorry and shocked a man died i jus feel the gaurds in drogheda dont do enough anymore they jus want sum 1 to blame and close d book

• Well Jason, hopefully you are a fine example of Drogheda youth who has never been in any bother yourself and can serve as a demonstration that not all youths in the town are out to cause trouble…

• They’re not closing the book, the Gardaí are investigating the incident!! Do you think the youths of Drogheda are being set up Jason!?!

• and what is on this page is necesarely the facts

• No one is blaming ALL the young people. The story clearly says it was a “number of youth”.

• Gerard 25/07/12 #

@Jason

Your spelling and use of the English language is just another indication of where the youth of today are headed.

• @Gerard: To Easons?

@Jason: You’re dead right. It’s the fault of the Gardai that this man was assaulted in broad daylight. How dare they give a description of what the offenders looked like. I mean, why would they appeal to identify the people responsible for this terrible crime?

Grow up, Cop on and learn how to use the English language.

Add New Comment