TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Man arrested over €1.44 million drug seizure

Gardaí discovered the drugs while searching a van in Dundalk today.

Image: Photocall Ireland

GARDÍ IN CO LOUTH have recovered 240 kilos of cannabis resin with an estimated street value of €1.44 million.

Members of the Dundalk Drug Unit and the Garda National Drug Unit stopped a van at Martin’s Cross in Dundalk today following an ongoing operation.

The cannabis resin was discovered during a search of the vehicle.

One man aged in his 30s was arrested in connection with the discovery and is being held at Dundalk Garda Station under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984.

Read next:

Comments (14 Comments)

• It’s beyond a certainty this cannabis was soapbar hash. The gardai have done the uneducated cannabis smokers a huge favour by preventing this rubbish from reaching the streets. Well done the gardai.

• even the uneducated have the right to chose what they put in their own body, be it soapbar or other wise . and as i’m sure your aware if cannabis was legal and regulated “soapbar” would n’t exist.

• In other news, Bob Marley see’s massive decrease in this week’s album sales!

• What eejit take 240 kilos of drugs out for a spin in broad daylight ??? Another cache taken out of the pipeline thank you for saving us from that misery an garda soichana

• Any time there is a cannabis seizure there is all the same ‘tax and regulate etc’ type comments and its getting to be so repetitive. The story is about the gardai seizing an illegal drug and arresting someone! Thats it! The comments insinuating that it’s a waste of time, resources or whatever are just misplaced. If people believe cannabis should be legalised, and it’s obvious there is a compelling argument for it, then take it to the right people your councillors, t.d’s et all, form or join groups with like minded people and lobby… But at the minute it’s illegal and that’s all this is reporting

• Dario Fo 16/02/12 #

Dally. A courier..

• Dario Fo 16/02/12 #

Celly….. P txt..

• @ Jason Bourne “The comments insinuating that it’s a waste of time, resources or whatever are just misplaced” … and here I was thinking the comments section was for the readers to express there thoughts, idea’s opinions on the article. Sorry…my bad.

• Another criminal brought to justice.
    Pity he won’t stay locked up for long enough to act as a deterrent

• The comments are misplaced in the context of the drugs are illegal so the cops are doing their job, taking an illegal drug off the streets. How is it a waste of resources etc when they got over 1 million euro worth of illegal drugs? The argument that cannabis should be legalised is completely and utterly different and as I said there is obviously a really strong case for it! What do you want the cops ta do, just completely ignore cannabis cause it’s harmless and people enjoy it? So just let the cops ignore all the other illegal stuff other people feel is harmless aswell… Thats for other people to decide, not them..Doesn’t work that way I’m afraid, people should take it to the right forum

• “cops are doing their job” …. kind of like “we we’re following orders” huumm now were have i heard that excuse before. “What do you want the cops ta do, just completely ignore cannabis cause it’s harmless and people enjoy it?” I’d settle for them shutting up on the matter altogether but how many times have you heard a high ranking gaurd on some media outlet basically lying to the public about cannabis, have you ever heard a guard publicly even acknowledging the “Other side” of the drugs debate?

Thankfully the younger generation of gardi seem to have a bit more cop on. Lions lead by sheep.

• More fine work from that most reputable of establishments. Sigh…

• What’s the betting is li Wong or something like that

Add New Comment