TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Man killed in Monaghan road crash

The 22-year-old was the front seat passenger in a car which collided with another vehicle.

File photo of a Garda
Image: Photocall Ireland (File)

A MAN IN his early twenties has died after the car he was travelling in crashed in Co. Monaghan.

The 22-year-old was the front seat passenger in the car which collided with another vehicle at Colnoony, Drumully, Clones at around 3.50am this morning.

The 21-year-old male driver was uninjured while the 28-year-old driver of the other car received non life threatening injuries.

The road remains closed as Garda forensic collision investigators carry out an examination.

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• just to put a few people straight here tat the young fella tat dies was my cousin … and was neither drinking r driving …. no matter what the circumstances are the young man has lost his life and his family are left with a void that nothing will ever fill again … they have lost a brother , son , friend . and cousin and we never know when that knock might come t our own doors …………….. rip james we love you and will miss you forever xxxxx

• Absolutely laughably stupid comment Simon.

• Kim 15/09/12 #

RIP young man & condolences to his family n friends.
    Another poor family ripped apart.

• you cant blame the gardai 4 another death on the road,, unless they had been chaseing the poor fella… if he was speeding r drinking then he is the only 1 to blame..

• It was also the Gardai that would have broke the news to the family, cop on

• Try doin the work of a Garda Simon …. U wouldn’t last a week. And do a bit of research into the topics u are commenting on. U won’t sound as stupid then . There’s a good lad.

• ah yes Simon you are correct, why wasn’t the Garda that was meant to be on his beat where that accident happened so he could have prevented it, because the few Gardai that we have need to tell us constantly to drive carefully, because we don’t this ourselves.

• because we don’t KNOW this ourselves.

• Another awful accident at an early hour of the morning, when are people going to do something about the shameful road conditions around Ireland that are highly dangerous to navigate after hours. The poor road surfacing, lack of lighting, narrow, twisty roads, it’s not surprising there are so many accidents. Young people are suffering constantly due to this because driving tests are not conducted on these roads or at night. Road signage is non-existent, getting lost happens all the time. Having headlights coming towards you often means you are blinded, unsure of the road, trapped in a situation you are not familiar with and unprepared or experienced enough to know what to do. The worst part however is, that everyone is going to blame you for being drunk, reckless and foolhardy, when more than likely you’ll be just trying to get home in dangerous road conditions, with no public transport alternative.

• Road conditions and signage my arse… Boy racers that don’t have a licence driving like lunatics- simple

• @Gavin:

Licence age = 17 Driver = 21
      Why do you speculate the driver was not in possession of a full licence with 4 years driving experience? Was there another article or report that wasn’t mentioned we should know about?

Also what exactly is a “boy racer”, and why do you think they were somehow involved here?

Also, it’s good to know that your expertise in road conditions have been truly put to good use to consider that they were not at all involved from your extensive knowledge of the area, analysis of both day and night time conditions, surveying road users and testing them yourself, concluding them to be in fact your arse and therefore despite shortcomings, safe for users?

• johnny 15/09/12 #

Tobias, Gavin is allowed to assume things just as much as you are. Was the person local? If he was the he would know the road so your argument is void.

• @johnny: there’s a huge difference between assumption and accusation, Gavin was making the latter on bias.

Also, it is unknown whether he is local, so we can only assume. So, if you are going to go on assumption only it is just as likely he is not local, as it as likely that he is. However, regardless, being local does not void the argument of poor road conditions. Therefore your retort is void.

• Well said Donna. X

• Here here Donna, thoughts an prayers are with the family R.I.P

• Well said Donna. X

• RIP to the young man .

Does anyone know for sure , if Drink Driving and/or Speeding was a factor . Irresponsible driving cost lives .

• Droves… Bloody autocorrect

• I’m only surmising but my guess either alcohol and/or speed were involved. How many speed checks do our useless Gardai put in these genuine black spots. The answer is none. They are a disgrace.

• Why the f*** do you bash the guards when there is a fatality in this proxy country…. Everyday and I Mean EVERDAY, there are 5 to 10 teenagers speeding around the country roads where I live… Simple solution.. Do not let ANYONE drive a vehicle until you have passed your test… also . Get the garda reserve out in their drives with speed cameras for 6 months , catch thousands of speedsters , fine the shite outta them, this will put a halt to their reckless ways… Well, for a while.

• johnny 15/09/12 #

Ah simon did some big naughty policeman put manners on you in the past and this is your big brave way of bad mouthing them. Maybe you should go into a station and tell them they’re shite

• you shouldn’t be making any assumptions like that! if it was your son/nephew/cousin that died in similar circumstances i bet you’d change your tune!

• @ Keith. Free country. It’s fair to surmise. I wound think the same for any young male, myself twenty years ago included.

Add New Comment