TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

McGrath talking to possible Áras candidates as SF considers entering race

The independents in the Dáil will meet to discuss the presidential race on Friday as Sinn Féin expects to make a decision in the coming weeks.

Finian McGrath (File photo)
Image: Barry Cronin/PA Archive/Press Association Images

INDEPENDENT TD FINIAN McGrath has revealed that he is talking to a number of possible candidates which the Dáil group of independents could back for the presidential election next month.

Independent TDs in the Dáil will hold their own think-in this Friday ahead of the resumption of the Dáil next week where the issue of who to back for the presidential election is likely to be discussed.

McGrath, TD for Dublin North Central, told TheJournal.ie today that he will not made a decision on who he is backing until after the think-in but revealed that he is talking to “a number of possible candidates.”

He said that his colleagues “could turn up with top class candidates” who they have been speaking to in recent weeks but insisted that all would become clearer after Friday’s meeting.

TheJournal.ie understands that McGrath will be meeting with one possible candidate tomorrow.

Fellow independent John Halligan, TD for Waterford, said today that “nobody has come into the reckoning” in recent weeks, echoing comments he made last month in relation to the presidential race.

Elsewhere, Noel Grealish, independent TD for Galway West , said he had not yet made a decision but revealed he that he was “impressed” by independent presidential candidate and former Special Olympics CEO Mary Davis having recently met with her.

Sinn Féin

Meanwhile, Sinn Féin’s finance spokesperson today came out in favour of the party running a candidate for the election.

Pearse Doherty told RTÉ Radio’s Morning Ireland that “there has been a debate going on within the party” and added that he was conscious the next president would represent Ireland during the centenary of the 1916 rising.

Sinn Féin is due to make a decision on whether or not to run a candidate after its Ard Fheis which will be held in Belfast this weekend.

Mary Lou McDonald, the Dublin Central TD, and Michelle Gildernew, a Sinn Féin MP for Fermanagh and South Tyrone have been mentioned as possible candidates.  Neither could be reached for comment at the time of publication.

The party would need three more members of the Dáil or Seanad to back a possible candidate as it has only 17 Oireachtas members out of the 20 it needs to secure a place on the ballot paper for the 27 October vote.

A number of other independent TDs contacted for comment on the presidential race did not return calls at the time of publication.

Read more on the Race for the Áras >

Read next:

Comments (30 Comments)

• If Sinn Fein do stand a candidate there would be at least two problems. One problem would be is that it may split the vote on the Left and leave the door wide open for Mitchell. Secondly any high profile Sinn Fein candidate would probably been in the party pre-GFA and the media would have a field day with linking that candidate to the I.R.A which would mean many high profile members may be very reluctant to get involved.

• Phoenix magazine reckon that the only reason that they are doing this is to raise their profile and do a bit of PR work. They know they haven’t a hope of winning and would probably opt for Mary Lou McDonald as a candidate.

• No wonder Fintan McGrath doesn’t want Norris to re enter the race as it would make McGrath look like a right plonker. McGrath’s ego has gone into overdrive at the moment as a self perceived “king maker” and he is getting his 15 minutes of fame in the media spotlight. He had better make the most of it now before he goes back to being irrelevant after the election.

• I am surprised. McGrath stated smugly on Tonight with Vincent Brown that a major independent candidate would be announced now. So he’s only talking to a “possible candidate”?

The Shinners would love to get in – one of their own in the big house for the 100th anniversary of 1916 and head of the military! Could you see it happening?

• SF’s young TD’s are doing a great job in the Dail. They have a huge vote excluding N.Ireland making them a National party who is growing and growing. The comments about the past is laughable and people should move on and cop on..

• aslong as the SF canditate has not killed civilians they will get my vote,

• Will you require them to at least say publicly that the murder of Irish men & women is wrong?
      I mean, even if they weren’t members of the IRA themselves (like Gerry), they still support the notion that the murder of civilians is acceptable…

• RG Cuan 05/09/11 #

Paul, i think you’ll find that no member of SF will say the killing of civilians is or ever was acceptable. Unfortunately many civilians were killed during the Troubles but there is an almost unanimous agreement from all sections of society that this was wrong.

Also this post is about the Presidency but from some of the comments here you think there hasn’t been a peace process or that most people are moving on & trying to build a better future for our country.

• Sinn Fein president! More chance of banker standing trial or even Ireland putting a man on the moon!

• If Norris can be ejected from the race because he loved unwisely (from a political pov at least) what would it tell us if a party of (un)converted haters and murderers entered the race?

• Sound like you are the hater Hugh ?

• mart_n 05/09/11 #

Are you suggesting that Mary Lou McDonald is a murderer? =/

I don’t see why SF shouldn’t run a candidate. I would be highly unlikely to vote for one but they have as much right to put a candidate forward as any other democratically elected party.

• You know Eddie, I suppose I’m vulnerable to the charge that I hate much of what SF stands for and stood for. Yep, vulnerable to that charge.

Mind you, at least I’m not vulnerable to the charge that I engaged in organized conspiracy to rob, kidnap, torture and murder other Irishmen and women. And I’m pretty clear that I don’t want a President who has much tolerance for that either.

• Hugh. There is more going on at the moment, more important issues than listening to the likes of you, sound like the Irish Times from the 1870’s on about the fenians. Look at the calendar, move on.

• I think it’s a bloody shame we are the one western industrialised nation on the planet who would give such criminals a Democratic mandate to be capable of putting forward a candidate.

• Interesting view there Anthony, which criminal members of Sinn Fein are you referring to and what offences did they commit or were charged with? BTW I’m not a Shinner myself I’m just interested to know who you are talking about so that the nest time Sinn Fein come knocking on my door I can hit them with a few facts.

• Anthony Nicholas …. Fine Gael are responsible for murdering more people on this Island in the last century than the provisional IRA. It is an inconvenient truth for alot of you guys that the establishment parties including labour all had an active part in armed sruggle. Over 5000 people were killled during the 18 months of civil war 1922-23, 2000 more people than in the entire 30 year conflict in the North. Fine Gael’s founding fathers authorsided and carried out extra-judicial killings – that’s unlawful murder if you don’t understand the term.

Do you think that the likes of Collins and others were blowing kisses at one another in the 1920s and before you go off on one about times were different – they weren’t – killing a person in 1921 is the same as killing someone in the 1970s, 80s or 90s, there is no different. Fine Gael even organised a facist paramilitary organisation to enforce their political ideology in the 1930s.

So spare us the historically illiterate rant about western democracy.

• @Anthony. FG have been elected so you’ll just have to stuff it. No doubt their covering up and protecting the bombers behing the Dublin/Monaghan bombing, the killers of Seamus Ludlow and many others, all of whom were known to the Guards and had evidence against, all investigations that were ordered stopped by FG in Govt, the files destroyed. All were left go, as it did not fit in to the storyline that FG wanted to betray. Yes they set the Special Branch on to the survivors and victims families for years after Dublin.Monaghan for daring to question why the biggest atrocity in the conflict was only investigated for 6 weeks before being shutdown. The envelopes of cash mush have been flying around FG at that time. Yes they undermined the constitution in the 70′s and forced a decent, honourable president to resign because he upheld the law, at the vulgar ramblings of a chronic alcoholic , who no one would put out of the cabinet because he was FG Royalty. Yes they have countless gombeen men in their ranks and have bankrupted the state once.Yes Garrett got soft loans from a bank that he used tax payers money to bailout. Yes they tried to cover up the poisoning of women with Hep A and attacked them with the full rigour of the state when it was found out.

I don’t like them, they are just a different spin on FF but criminal and treacherous though they may be, they still have the right to run.

• ”killing a person in 1921 is the same as killing someone in the 1970s, 80s or 90s”
      ”So spare us the historically illiterate rant about western democracy.”

First of all, maybe you should go learn what illiterate means.
      Second of all, I’ll have to disagree. You seem to be completely ignoring the political environment that existed in the 20′s.

You also ignore the fact that Fine Gael did not exist until 1933. Although it is the predecessor of the party which committed those harmful unspeakable acts, it is in no way comparable or even recognisable to the modern day party.

”they still have the right to run”
      Yes they do. I acknowledged that when I mentioned they have a Democratic mandate. But just as they have the right to run, I have the right to have issue with it.

• Anthony Nicholas, if you don’t approve of the use of the word illiterate how about ‘ignorant’?
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cumann_na_nGaedheal

Cumann na nGaedheal became Fine Geal and all the founding TDs of Cumann na nGaedheal and indeed FF were TDs in Sinn Féin.

In my opinion the discrimination faced by Northern nationalists in the 1960s was probably worse than that faced by southern nationalists in the 1920s when they were demanding independence. Also, Have you ever been denied employment or hosuing because of your nationality or religion? If not, I don’t think you are in a position to be pontificating on this topic.

• You don’t seem to have read what I stated. And there is no need to be rude!

I am perfectly aware CNG was the predecessor of Fine Gael. I mentioned it. My point was that it is no way recognisable or comparable to its origins today. Sinn Fein is.

”opinion the discrimination faced by Northern nationalists in the 1960s was probably worse than that faced by southern nationalists in the 1920s”.

If that is your argument for the actions of the militant wing of Sinn Fein, then this conversation isn’t going anywhere.

Apart from that, I may pontificate on whatever I wish, Nolan. There is a comment section for a reason. That is a very bizarre logic to have. The day we can only have opinion on matters that directly affect is would be a sad day indeed.

• We can’t have Norris, but we can choose between Mitchell (who makes daft brushes look sane and reasonable), Higgins (who the post would probably kill thanks to his age), or some loony tune from a party whose claim to fame is still existing after thirty years of murder and mayhem?

FFS…

• RG Cuan 05/09/11 #

"Murder and mayhem"? You’re the one holding a weapon in your profile pic.

Primary members of all our main parties (FF, FG, Labour, SF) were linked to violence in the past be it during the War of Independence, Civil War or the more recent Troubles but all have moved on. You should to.

And the more candidates running for Uachtarán the better, no matter what party they’re associated with.

• SF have a few problems. Firstly they are three Oireachtas members short to get a candidate nominated. Secondly any of their high profile people (Adams/McGuinness) has blood on their hands, given their IRA connections. Thirdly, the politicians they have in this country are not high enough profile to have a nationwide appeal. Given that there is no FF candidate, they should however exceed 15% with a half decent candidate.

• You know, Tony, I doubt I sound like the Irish Times from the 1870s. They wouldn’t have been too calm about the kind of love that David Norris was engaged in.

I don’t really care what they would have thought anyway.

I do know that I regard all that recent murdering and torturing of Irish people in the name of Irish republicanism as vile. From all the evidence I can see, SF doesn’t. It’s a values thing.

• I think Mary Lou would give much more credibility to that office than any other of the plonkers that want to ru

• I think we could have a winner with Fintan Mcgrath !

It would be nice for a change, a man for the Citizens of Ireland with no Baggage?

Then again, why not run ” Dustin the Turkey” God know’s we have had enough bad selection already. Gone and Past !

http://youtu.be/-n–JnAwirk And you know, if we don’t like him we can roast him for dinner !

Add New Comment