TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Law reform could expedite appeals over mental health detention

The length of time to appeal being institutionalised may be shortened if changes to the Mental Health Act are introduced. Campaigners say it is not enough to address the issue of “involuntary detention”.

Image: tedeytan via Flickr

THE TIME IN which a patient can appeal their detention in a mental health institution could be reduced if changes are made to the Mental Health Act 2001.

A review of the Act is currently under way.

In June 2011 Minister for Mental Health Kathleen Lynch published the Interim Report of the Steering Group on the review, for which a number of recommendations were made.

One of the steering groups recommendations was in relation to the timeframe until involuntary patients can have tribunal hearings.

Under the current 2001 legislation, involuntary patients who wish to appeal their detention in an acute mental health facility can have an appeal tribunal hearing 21 days after the initial detention.

The Department of Health said the Steering Group considered a “number of options regarding the role of the independent psychiatrist, one of which could possibly facilitate earlier tribunals”.

“The Minister will consider the procedural issues relating to Mental Health Act 2001, including the need, if any, for a shorter time frame for tribunals,” it said.

David McCarthy of Mad Pride Ireland told TheJournal.ie that the shortening of tribunal times does not go far enough stating that the process as a whole does not work in favour of the patient.

“If the time is reduced and not the process changed as a whole then it is really only cosmetic changes. It is the idea of psychiatry as one big inner circle that has to addressed,” he said, adding that the detention of voluntary patients in acute mental health hospitals “is happening every day”.

Patients who voluntarily present themselves to mental health services can have their “voluntary” status changed to “involuntary” resulting in them being detained against their will, he said.

He also questioned the time period in which the patients are held until their tribunal hearing. “The level of medication they are on up to the point that they have their appeal hearing also needs to be looked at. The intervening period from the time they are detained and the time they go before the tribunal they are allowed to be treated and medicated. Their judgement is therefore impaired”.

He added:

Under our Mental Health Act, the psychiatrist is the final arbitrator in all decisions relating to the patient. If you go into a mental health clinic of your own will and then decide that you would like to leave, with one stroke of the psychiatrists pen they can detain you as an involuntary patient. You then have a right to have a tribunal hearing, but only after 21 days are you able to appeal. Under these rules, people are afraid that if they go in they might not come out and that is no way for us to deal with people who need help.

The Mental Health Tribunals Division was set up under the Mental Health Act 2001. The Mental Health Commission is responsible for establishing mental health tribunals for patients. A mental health tribunal must consist of a barrister or solicitor, a lay person and a consultant psychiatrist.

The Mental Health Act 2001 and the tribunals were introduced following the actions of one Irish man who took his case all the way to the European Court of Human Rights.

Croke v Ireland was a case that was taken to the European Court of Human Rights in the 1990s. Under Article 5 – guaranteeing the right to liberty and security – the applicant challenged the 1945 Mental Treatment Act, arguing that the absence of an independent and automatic review at the time of his detention, or a periodic review afterwards, was a breach of his human rights.

No judgment was ultimately handed down, on the basis of a friendly settlement reached in 2000 when the Government agreement to repeal and replace the 1945 Act with human rights-compliant legislation.

Lecturer at NUI Galway lecturer Charles O’Mahony told TheJournal.ie that although the 2001 act and the introduction of tribunals was a positive development, “not a lot has changed” – adding that cases similar to Croke v Ireland are taking place to this day. This is the real problem that needs to be addressed in the mental health services in Ireland today, he said.

O’Mahony gave the 2011 example of PL v Clinical Director of St. Patricks University Hospital as one which highlighted the “serious shortcomings” in the mental health laws at present.

That case involves a patient who was initially a voluntary patient at St. Patrick’s University Hospital.  When he expressed a desire to leave the hospital, the consultant psychiatrist formed the opinion that the applicant was suffering from a mental disorder. He was examined by a second consultant psychiatrist and an admission order was signed. His appeal of detention was appealed  to the Mental Health Tribunal. He was detained until December 2011.

PL denied that he had a mental illness.  However following his evidence to the tribunal the following day, the consultant psychiatrist re-examined the patient and revoked the renewal order expressing that it was his view that the applicant no longer suffered from a “mental disorder” as defined in the Act and was being discharged. However the patient was not discharged, even though classed as a “voluntary patient”. Justice Peart ruled that the detention of PL after the revocation of the Renewal Order was lawful.

Lara Kelly of Mental Health Reform told TheJournal.ie that the effect of the 2001 Act was an immediate and sustained reduction in the numbers of patients involuntarily detained and this is welcome and that they recommended that the automatic entitlement to independent review of detention by a tribunal should be retained. She added:

Our main concerns were to do with the lack of an independent complaints mechanism, the involvement of family members and the importance of the recovery ethos. However, the reduction in time has the potential to be positive, in that people who do not need to be in hospital will not have to wait so long before being assessed and, potentially, discharged. However, a key point for us is that the second opinion given is an independent one.

Amnesty International Ireland recommends that voluntary patients have the right to leave the approved centre at any time unless the criteria for detention as an involuntary patient apply, and he or she shall be informed of that right.

O’Mahony says that once it has ratified the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), Ireland will have to meet the obligations as required adding “hopefully these issues can be resolved”.

McCarthy said: “You have your human rights such until you try to exercise them. The system has archaic ideas of incarceration. It’s time we had a look at ourselves. It is 2012, not 1812 – it’s time for our laws to reflect that.”

The Mental Health Commission stated that “any change to time frames would have to be examined in terms of operational logistics as well as legal implications”.

347 psychiatric patients received electro-shock therapy in 2010 >

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• It is 4 years since I was incarcerated in a Psychiatric Unit. I was on an “anti-depressant”/SSRI which is known to trigger “mania” in some people. Plus something traumatic and stressful had happened to my friend. I had a “manic episode” but was still aware of what was going on. On that day 22.08.08, a wall of family arrived into my house. I instinctively knew what they were up to. I frantically tried to make contact with a solicitor but because it was August, they seemed to be on holiday. I finally made contact with a Mental Health Advocate, probably through Citizen information.

Shortly after I heard the beep, beep, beep sound of an ambulance reversing into my drive. I had not endangered my own life or those around me. 2 police, a swarm of Psychiatric nurses and ambulance staff arrived into my house. I could not believe what was going on. It was extremely upsetting. I packed some stuff and got in the ambulance in tears.

When I got to the hospital, I was seen by a Psychiatrist who made me VOLUNTARY (I realise this in hindsight). So the Mental Health Commission was not informed of my detention. I did not have a solicitor appointed and did not have a tribunal after 3 weeks. In fact, if I had murdered someone I would probably have had more rights. I had not harmed anyone.

I was locked into this backwater hospital for 3 weeks. Would love to name it here! I never got one minute of Psychotherapy as they pushed around their “trolley of potions and poisons” (that’s what I wrote in my diary). The hospital got €20,000 for sending the ambulance to my house (in total) so it was well worth their effort! I would call that a conflict of interest in itself. I eventually “escaped” to a private hospital. But with the help of
    the Mental Health Advocate I would have gone to the private hospital in the first place!

I lost my job. 4 years on I still have not had a job, even though I am highly qualified and have had good careers before this. I was never told that it was the “anti-depressant” probably triggered this “episode”. I was put on various drugs that were over sedating and very disabling – Zyprexa, Seroquel, Lithium, Lamictal, addictive benzos, sleeping pills etc. I was basically turned into a prescription drug addict. The year after my admission is a blur due to the traumatic way in which I was treated and the drugs that I was on.

I have since discovered that there are lawsuits against the makers of some of the drugs which can lead to rapid weight gain and diabetes. The Occupational Therapist did help me but apart from that I felt the whole system was a sham and a scam.

Due to withdrawal, never change of stop medication without consulting a doctor who knows what he is doing. I more or less stopped medication 1 year ago. I went to see Professor Ivor Browne about 6 months ago and that was a turning point for me. Suddenly everything made sense. It was exactly 3.5 years since the day of my incarceration and when I arrived in Dublin I bumped into the Mental health advocate that I was on the phone to on the day I was locked away. That was a strange coincidence. But with the help of that advocate things could have been so much better.

Ivor is a Psychiatrist who is trained in Psychotherapy and has nearly 60 years experience as a doctor. He is 83 and awesome to watch in action. He is very methodical in his approach. As for modern day Psychiatrists that is another story! After listening to an interview with Dr Michael Corry last night (Rest in Peace) I realised that less than 10% of Consultant Psychiatrists are trained in Psychotherapy. That would explain a lot.

I’m still a work in progress but I no longer see the medical model or drugs as the solution, even if some medication can help short term. But in the current climate of Big Pharma $$$ they are over prescribed. I believe more in a Psychosocial approach of Psychotherapy and getting the person back to being a productive member of society, as opposed to been disabled by high doses of medication. Some people may feel the need for a certain amount of medication and that is their choice. I do not judge them but if I know of serious risks with a certain drug I will let them know.

There has to be a better way. Having recently attended a Mental Health Law Reform conference in NUI Galway I realised from listening to people that over legislation will not solve anything. What is needed is a mindset change. But the current Mental Health Act 2001 does not protect the basic human rights of the person and Psychiatrists know how to work around it to maintain their POWER and CONTROL. Psychiatry does not have a Scientific basis yet they are seen as the “experts”. It was proven to be a fake Science nearly 40 years ago, in the Rosenhan experiment.

There are a few who tell the TRUTH. Professor David Healy and American Peter Breggin are two that spring to mind and I follow their work. Also GP/Psychotherapist/author Dr Terry Lynch.

From a holistic point of view there are many factors to consider. Including diet, exercise, caffeine, alcohol and stress management. I benefit from Buddhist Mindfulness Meditation. And when it comes to Bipolar disorder, which was triggered 4 years ago by “anti-depressants”/an SSRI, I try not to engage with the “high”. And the symptoms seem to be subsiding. Eventually. But with a different approach, the last 4 years could have been so much better. Hoping that others do not have to go through what I went through. Thanks for reading.

• By the way the “2 police” are part of the protocol of “sectioning” someone, even though I was never officially sectioned. As I was made VOLUNTARY when I arrived at the hospital. But Psychiatry have taken the word voluntary and reinvented it for their own purposes.

• Robin, have you ever engaged the Psychiatrists from 4 years ago for an explanation as to what went on and why? Would be worth doing and might help either 1) your understanding of what went on or 2) their understanding of your plight (or both). It might help bring closure, might open more questions but might also help change how people are treated by the same centre. Just a thought.

• When I engaged with a Professor recently (after hearing him say on radio that Lithium used to treat Bipolar and “anti-psychotics” used to treat Schizophrenia is MORE effective than the treatment for diabetes, which is a complete lie as, a) there is a test for diabetes b) some of the “anti-psychotics” (tranquillizers) that he talks about actually cause diabetes and have lawsuits against them as a result), a lawyer in California who is a Psychiatric survivor, and saw what I wrote to this Professor, said I might as well be telling the Nazis to be nice to the Jews. A bit of a strong comeback but some people have had a much worse experience than me. As he did in childhood.

Engaging with these people is usually pointless. I spent 2.5 years engaging with one and realised he wasn’t really listening. Just labelling. They also have fairly close ties to the pharmaceutical industry which seems to affect their judgement. It’s not like I would ever go into a hospital setting and discuss my issues with the original Psychiatrist who would not let me out to speak to my boss or made no effort to help me salvage my job. Or when I asked to go down the town with my friend for an hour she said “NO”. Even though I was “voluntary”. The bitch could keep you in the hospital. Anything you say or do is seen as “symptomatic” of some kind of “illness”. And when there new bible is realised, DSM-5, that’s when the fun will start. What is needed is more awareness by the general population or what they really can be like.

And by the way I have some of my records under Freedom of Information. Reading those records was very traumatic as there was a lot of misinformation in them.

• I had a hypomanic episode from Venlafaxine after I had a suicidal reaction to Citalopram – but my shrink told me to keep taking them!! This is while I’m hallucinating and think that this isn’t real life and the only escape is to ditch this body that feels like a prison cell, but I should keep taking the drugs that have caused it – brilliant therapeutic strategy there..
      When I tried to tell the doc about this they tell me side effects like that are very rare and not to worry about it?!
      Er, there’s a black box warning – “may cause violence and / or suicide”.. SSRI meds are the one thing linking the vast majority of school shootings and murder suicide rampages the world over – but lets just ignore that shall we? Let’s just prescribe these drugs to anyone who even mentions that they feel a bit sad..
      (see http://www.ssristories.com for more details on high profile cases where the person on a rampage is taking SSRIs)

I was fortunate enough not to end up in hospital, my father never trusted shrinks (and now I fully appreciate why) so he wouldn’t let me be signed in. Every person I know who has been incarcerated in a psych ward got more messed up as a result. Their parents thought they were doing the right thing, doctors always know best and they said that what they needed was “focused care and attention, and a break to rest and get better” which is fancy code for “we need to drug your relative up to the eyeballs so that the next time you see them their eyes will look glazed and they’ll have difficulty following conversations, they will be flattened and their personality that you loved so much will disappear as they turn into nice little robots”

Hospitals ruined some of my friends. They managed to change one friend from clinical depression to rapid cycling bi polar disorder – and when they had her medicated she was like a cardboard cut out of herself (glad to say she’s now medication free and doing so much better – and active with Aware and See Change), another friend is currently one of those “went in voluntary but has been switched to involuntary” people.. Since her first hospital stay a few years back she’s also turned into another person, she went in with post natal depression and has progressed to schizophrenia (which doesn’t usually come on suddenly in your late 30s..)

I have heard of Ivor Browne, I agree with his outlook, I went to the doctor because I’d had a load of nasty things happen to me and I needed counselling, instead I got drugs (to “get me into the place for counselling”) they got me into a place alright – they made me suggestible, suicidal, detached – and the second lot made me stop eating and sleeping and to become super intense, believing I was invincible – it was great fun because as far as I was concerned the meds were working and this was “happiness”, but in reality I was in denial, my life was falling apart around me, I was acting like a crazy person and making people I knew (and new people I met) feel uncomfortable..

When I found out about the big con that is psychiatry I cried, I was angry that this unproven (and in some cases extremely unsafe) medicine was given to me without a second thought, it almost killed me, I swallowed that muck on the fatal assumption that the Dr in their title meant they knew what they were doing.. Nonsense – they know what the manufacturer wants them to know, which a evidence based medicine has shown, is bullshit 99% of the time.

Psychiatry is the study of people who don’t need studying by people who do.

• A major problem also are the numbers of involuntary patients are skewed. Many voluntary patients are only voluntary as they have been threatened with being made involuntary if they don’t agree to stay. Unwittingly though, these voluntary patients are fact signing away any right to have their detention determined by an independent panel.. Many psychiatrists are caring genuine people, but the point is they have too much power. The judiciary are the only other people allowed deprive someone of their freedom, but there are many checks and balances (juries, legislation, sentencing guidelines, appeals) to ensure they can not abuse their power. The same checks and balances are not in place for psychiatrists and that is dangerous. The other thing to remember is a psychiatrist can take your liberty not based on your deeds but in their opinion of actions you may take in the future. Sorry for the pun, but this is in fact the real MADNESS.

• Never change any medication without consulting a doctor. Here is an article about “anti-depressants”/SSRIs by Dr Peter Breggin (American Psychiatrist). They can lead to suicide, violence or mania in some people. And the really dangerous times are going on the drug or coming off it: http://www.breggin.com/31-49.pdf

• Thank you Stadler. Finally a comment of objectivity and not personal perceptions. You are correct- unfortunately lack of insight or the capacity to recognise one is unwell is a major effect of mental illness and it is what makes treatment so difficult. As a psych nurse working on a locked unit I have genuine empathy for anybody who has had to experience that as unfortunately they can be hostile and bleak environments. But I can honestly say that in the last 4 years I have never seen a person involuntarily detained who wasn’t in urgent need of treatment and who didn’t benefit from the treatment. When reading all of the above comments I have read so many inaccuracies I wouldn’t know where to start. And I work with The Mental Health Act every working day.

• @Conor If you are referring to anything I say please be specific and I will clarify. I can honestly say that the trauma caused to me in the last 4 years of my life, not to mention the trauma caused in the last 40 years of my life, can not be described in words. I am linked up to other people through the internet and in real life who also have survived very traumatic experiences in ‘the system’. I am basing my experience on the Acute unit that I was in which is in the West of Ireland. In fact I have no problem naming the particular hospital if I have to. I am sure you may have helped some people. But others have been damaged in the system. Not to mention what used to go on in this country which was highlighted in the RTE “Behind the Walls” series. The Mental Health Act 2001 is under review at the moment for a very good reason. I am sure some of the staff in the hospital I was in are oblivious to the damage that has been caused by my “treatment” there.

I assume you are aware of the successful lawsuits against some of the drugs that are been used eg Zyprexa and Seroquel. These drugs may benefit people short term but long term are very damaging to people’s health. I was over prescribed these drugs and on them for far too long. Until I finally became “enlightened” and started to see what was going on. If you do not believe me, refer to the work of American Psychiatrist Peter Breggin and Professor of Psychiatry David Healy. Also Robert Whitaker has done a lot of work in this area.

Here is Professor David Healy speaking in Trinity recently about how pharmaceutical companies hide the results of negative trials. Scroll down to get the podcast: http://www.nursing-midwifery.tcd.ie/events-conferences/events-schedule/

• When I eventually got my transfer to a private hospital in Dublin, I was allowed to go in the garden and the church. I could even go to Heuston if I wanted to. I made some handmade cards and went to lectures there. I was even able to walk to Heuston and get the paper. I was there for one week. But yet again the emphasis was on just drugging me and tranquilizing me, as opposed to giving me any type of proper talk therapy. I was there for 1 week but because I wasn’t warned of the dangers of stopping these expensive medications cold turkey I ended up having severe withdrawal within 2 weeks of been set “free”. The whole system needs a complete overhaul. There is too much of a link with pharmaceutical companies and their perks.

There is also a place in Cork called Slí Eile ~ which translates to Another Way. “Slí Eile provides housing and support services for people caught up. in the revolving door of the psychiatric system”. We could do with more services like this and for the implementation of “Vision for Change” (2006). http://www.dohc.ie/publications/vision_for_change.html

• Apropos of inaccuracies:

“Finally a comment of objectivity and not personal perceptions.” Well, let’s see, do we have scientific evidence that such a thing as “mental illness” exists as a real medical condition? Do we have any kind of scientifically provable pathology? And so, do we have scientific, objective evidence that this thing, “mental illness”, comes along with “lack of insight” as part of the pathology? Nope, we don’t have the least shred of scientific evidence in support of these maybe not personal, but certainly under the circumstances no less subjective, socio-cultural perceptions of emotional distress. The idea that “mental illness” would be an objectively, scientifically provable medical condition in itself is a thoroughly subjective, socio-cultural and -political construct.

“But I can honestly say that in the last 4 years I have never seen a person involuntarily detained who wasn’t in urgent need of treatment and who didn’t benefit from the treatment.” Who defines what “benefit” stands for? Certainly, damaging people’s brains, incapacitating them physically, cognitively and emotionally, and shortening their life expectancy rather dramatically could be seen as a “benefit”. I reckon, it depends on the perspective. I for one, as somebody who also works in the field, and who has lived experience myself, regard it more an atrocity.

• Reading the comments, I can’t help but think ‘This is all we need – conspiracy theories…’ Ironic really, given what people think of those who come up with conspiracy theories. I wonder how good is peoples’ imsight into their illnesses really. I have a two friends who were recently ‘locked up’ on a psych ward because one went manic, claiming to have solved the economic crisis by buying vast quantities of oramges which he was going to convert to a clean, environmentally friendly power source and the other was convinced that his mother controlled his bowels and he locked himself up in his room for 2 weeks. Neither will acknowledge that they were ill and they came out claiming that the psychiatrists knew nothing about what they were dealing with and that they just forced drugs on them etc. Interesting that neither has any insight into his condition yet each still voluntarily keeps taking his pills that seem to keep him sane. They disagree with their psychiatrist who said they were ill. The mind is a very strong force when it wants to be, and lack of insight into their condition doesn’t make them right.

• Michelle 19/08/12 #

We have a govt that reckons that they can solve the economic crisis by putting our unborn grandchildren into modern day slavery to pay back their buddies loans.
      I, for one, go with the oranges theory!
      Ps I hear the lunatic asylum in Kildare street are looking for the inmates to return early!

• Nobody is saying people can’t be ill/ distressed. However, it has to be asked is locking people away with medication as the only treatment is really the appropriate way to aid recovery. I spoke with a woman who was in a High Dependency Unit. She was not involved in any of OT or other recreational activities. She was well aware her mind was playing tricks on her and she said her mind was torturing her. She asked a very valid question, how being in a locked unit with only her own thoughts for company, was going to help her ? Even in her distressed state she recognised the need for distraction techniques. I recently met this woman in a garden centre where she was buying bedding plants foe her garden. Gardening has helped her to relax and gave her mind and thoughts a break. I am sure when I met that woman first, she did need treatment but their are alternatives available that promote full recovery and treat people with dignity and compassion. There needs to be more investment in counselling, music & art therapy and other discoveries. Mental illness can be an excellent opportunity for people to rediscover themselves and look at the dysfunction in society and their lives that led them to that point. The main point is though, no profession should be given that much power, as it is too open for potential abuse. Surely, that is one lesson we have collectively learnt by now.

• John F 19/08/12 #

Mad eejits!

• Yes that guy who was hoping to invent a clean, environmentally friendly power source seriously needed to be locked up as he could be a danger to society! What a strange world we live in. And the use of that great word “insight” leaves me wondering about what sector @Stadler Waldorf works in. The word “insight” was all over my records. The Psychiatric industry’s favourite phrase is “lacks insight”.

I am lucky enough to have retained a good memory of what happened and have even kept a diary. And after reading “my file”, where talking to the staff was written down as “being over familiar with the staff” and where one of my families main complaint was that I was being “religious”, I do feel that the main people “lacking insight” was my family and the Psychiatric unit that I was locked away in. I don’t even get on very well with my siblings so why do they have the power to do something like that?

I never said that I should not have been in hospital or in come kind of environment that allowed recovery. My problem is the traumatic way in which the whole thing was handled when I would have spoken to a mental health advocate and gone voluntarily to St. Patrick’s private hospital, instead of the backwater that I ended up in. I should have been told that “anti-depressants” can trigger mania. That taking 10mg of Zyprexa and getting straight into bed would help. That is is not an “anti-psychotic” or a “mood stabiliser” but really a tranquilizer. Instead I got put on drugs for 3 years that have lawsuits against the makers, which led to weight gain and put me at risk of diabetes. {Never stop a drug cold turkey or change the dosage without consulting a doctor, due to withdrawal} When I just needed the drugs short term.

Not sure what you mean by conspiracy theories? If you are referring to mainstream Psychiatry,
      it is one big conspiracy. It is only when you become a victim of the system and then step back
      and realise what is going on that you can see why really is going on out there. I realise that
      some people may have had a positive experience but mine was not. I went to my doctor
      looking for help with panic disorder and anxiety and ended up with a label of “Bipolar Affective
      Disorder” (BPAD) and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) from the whole experience. In fact the BPAD
      was easier to cope with than the PTSD. Not to mention the stigma and discrimination
      that I have come across in the last 4 years, including from within my own family. Scottish
      Psychiatrist R D Laing would know what I was talking about (Rest in Peace). There is
      the odd one that actually knew what they were/are doing.

• I work in the legal sector Robin, and have made representations on behalf of people seeking access to their medical records because they weren’t confident enough to do it for themselves.

• @Shanti – what about doctors who prescribe using generic drugs? Hardly pandering to the ‘Big Pharma’.

• @Conor. Great. A lawyer/legal person. I could do with another one of those. The more the merrier :) There is one in California that I have contact with called Ted Chabasinski who is a Psychiatric survivor. Google him. I eventually made contact with my cousin who is a solicitor when in hospital, to find out what my rights were. But he was fairly brainwashed by the system. But I have “enlightened” him somewhat in the last while.

By the way, anyone reading what I wrote should not stop or change medication dosages without consulting their doctor. I repeat this where I can. I spent a month in hospital after stopping expensive medication cold turkey 4 years ago. I did not realise the dangers. But I do now. But I stopped taking medication 1 year ago. I still have a little bit on standby to chill me out or help me sleep, but the dosage I have taken over the last year has been minimal. I hope to be completely off medication very soon. I more or less am off it already.

I, on the other hand was full of confidence, getting my records. But a person needs to be psychologically and physically ready for what they are about to read. Unbelievable what I read and what was going on behind my back. I have an extra label in there that I was completely unaware of. I was given it due to a “flattened and blunted effect”, ie I did not show much emotion 11 months after the trauma and also was drugged up.

I would not really recommend that people get their records unless for something very specific. It was extremely traumatic to read. I suddenly realised I could not trust anyone. My GP wrote something that was completely untrue. When I questioned her about it she apologised and does not remember writing it. I will never trust the medical profession again, with a few exceptions.

There has already been the Shane Clancy tragedy when it comes to “anti-depressants”/SSRI. He was on the same drug as I was (when I became unwell). And died 17 days after starting it. His mother Leonie Fennell works tirelessly to highlight the potential dangers of these drugs and on her blog. Going on them and coming off is the real dangerous times. There are several stories worldwide http://www.ssristories.com and probably some in Ireland that we never hear about. But with the suicide rate sky rocketing and the pills been given out too freely, when will the people sit up and take notice? We put far too much faith in doctors and what they say. We need to ask more questions. I follow the work of Professor David Healy and Peter Breggin. Among others.

• Both of your examples here are hardly proof of your friends to be “insane”. As for your friend who thinks his mother controls his bowels, probably she controls, or has controlled, something in his life in a rather intrusive way. The language of the unconscious is a metaphorical one. Interestingly, psychiatry claims it to be a “symptom” of “mental illness” if someone has difficulty understanding metaphors metaphorically, and therefor tends to interpret them literally. The way you try to (ab)use your friend’s experience here as proof of his “insanity”, you’re interpreting his unconscious’ metaphor literally. Just like the psychiatrists who labelled him “insane” do. Who’s actually incapable of understanding a metaphor as a metaphor, who’s actually “insane” here?

As for the friend of yours who wants to use oranges to solve the energy crisis humanity faces: orange zest contains highly flammable oil. Usually, progress starts with someone having a by everybody else as “crazy” perceived idea, and just because you have more prejudice than imagination and knowledge, for instance about the oil contained in orange zest, that’s not proof of your friend to be “insane”.

• No, Marian they were both psychotic. The idea of someone else consciously controlling his bowels, the self isolation, the paranoia, the erratic begaviour… , the fact that he’s more rational now on his meds. As for the oranges, my friend had no idea what to do with them, he just bought vast quantities of the, and filled his house with them. No idea how they would answer the problems of a nation. He was manic – pure and simple. And guess what? He’s rational on his medication. Neither believes that they were unwell, but they continue on their meds. Everyone around them could see that they were. Don’t try and misconstrue their misfortune into something other than the fact that they were ill.

• “Don’t try and misconstrue their misfortune into something other than the fact that they were ill.” Matter of fact is that the vast majority of so-called “mentally ill” people are victims of obvious abuse (http://www.scienceagogo.com/news/20060514024158data_trunc_sys.shtml). Matter of fact is also that obvious, physical and/or sexual, abuse isn’t the only way how to traumatize a person. Indeed, the really traumatising aspect is not that much physical pain/injury, but the emotional abuse that usually accompanies both physical and sexual abuse, and that also may occur on its own. Just as numerous other professionals who are trained in trauma-informed approaches I’ve never met a labelled person who had not experienced abuse, one or the other kind. You can try and explain these people’s experiences away, using empty, meaningless words like “paranoid”, “manic”, “psychotic”, etc., but the fact remains that these words do not explain anything. By calling these people “ill”, you’re blaming the victim.

• Robin thank you for your story, you are brave and good to let us read about what happened , i always felt this Country would do better talking to people in crisis, rather than filling them with drugs which lets face it would only numb worries rather than help the person deal with them, i have no doubt your Situation is one any of us could find ourselves in with the right circumstances, and the more this subject is discussed the more mental health issues will be understood ..

• 21 days is a long time . It’s long enough for the drugs that you are forced to take,if you refuse to take psychotropic drugs this is just evidence of your mental illness, to render you a jibbering incoherent fool.
    If you weren’t mad going in you’d be barking coming out!
    I am always surprised that people think we have human rights in Ireland.
    I suppose we do until we go looking for them to be vindicated.
    Then you will find out exactly how many rights you have.

• Well done Louise on your work as a Mental Health Advocate. “Psychiatrists are caring, genuine people”. Mmmm! Some of them are very good at acting “caring and genuine” but you never know what label they are trying to slap on you behind the scenes, without even discussing it with the person attending their services. If they went back and trained as Psychotherapists, like Ivor Browne or Michael Corry, that might be a start. And stop spreading misinformation when they speak. I listened to one of them yesterday on youtube addressing people in AWARE and could not believe what I was hearing. He was describing Bipolar and said if the person starts to mow their grass or paint their door they are “manic”! And they are so clever that they now have a label to mask the fact that “anti-depressants” can trigger Bipolar in some people. They call it Bipolar 3 !

• I thought that was bi Polar 2? That’s what they decided to tell me I had.. I was “depressed” to start with, so they gave me an SSRI which cased suicidal ideations (which led to attempts), when I refused to take the SSRI anymore because it was making me hallucinate they gave me an SNRI and that made me hypomanic, so I got changed from clinical depression to type 2 bi polar.. Mind you they tried to throw in Borderline Personality Disorder too..

Really, you could diagnose ANYONE with a condition from the DSM, it’s basically a book which pathologises human behaviours – not only would you find you had something, you’re likely to find you have many things (for the benefit of anyone else reading this – each disorder is a list of symptoms of which you need 5 to be diagnosed, no tests – just symptomology)..
      New disorders are added via the world renowned scientific method of “popular vote”, and the bit that gets me is how do you medicate a *personality* disorder? Surely the personality is a result of nurture rather than nature??

Sorry, I – like yourself I presume – get very angry when the subject of psychiatry comes up!!

• I have been told I’m Bipolar 1 (which is the most severe type), I had a strong feeling I’ve had Bipolar 2 (which is more hypomania/milder mania) but after watching a youtube video of Psychiatrist Patrick McKeon yesterday seemingly people who become manic on “anti-depressants” are Bipolar 3. That is just a nice cover up for the fact that “anti-depressants” can trigger Manic Depression. And by the way, Dr McKeon tells us that if I mow my lawn or paint my door then I’m “manic”. Really? I thought that was fairly normal human behaviour. I have learned not to take these so called “experts” too seriously. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FaAX2gAMGao

• @Robin – Your experience was obviously horrific and I agree that psychiatry has a long way to go in this country with regard to holistic approaches, recovery model, multi disciplinary approach, psychotherapy etc. But it is important to recognise that we have improved a great deal in recent years and as someone who has worked in both HSE and private/semi private I agree that the facilities in the private Dublin hospitals far outweigh some of the old dated units in the HSE.

You refer to your assisted admission. Again I agree that this must be a horrendous experience but unfortunately in some cases it is necessary and until we have a better solution it is what we have to do.

You mention the hospital got €20,000? From who and for what?
    From the information you provide I can clarify that the reason you never received a solicitor or tribunal is because you were never made involuntary. You were detained for a period not exceeding 24 hours for the purpose of assessment by a consultant Psychiatrist (having already been assessed by a GP which is the procedure). The GP would have recommended assisted admission for an assessment based on his assessment otherwise the assisted admission team would not have been involved. If you were made voluntary you must have agreed to stay and accept treatment so therefore you were not “incarcerated for three weeks”. Also you mention that two police are part of the protocol. The Gardai are not part of an assisted admission unless a risk assessment indicates they should be in attendance. It is not common practice for Gardai to be involved in Dublin but perhaps in the west it is different.

With regard to perceived over prescribing I can say from experience that the day of patients being over sedated is long gone. If anything under prescribing in severe acute units is now a concern as assaults on psychiatric nurses continues to rise. I agree that the medication has side effects that can be quite severe for some people and extremely debilitating for the patients taking them post discharge but unfortunately it is the best science has given us for now bearing in mind the newer anti psychotic medications are a lot safer and with less side effects than the medications of years gone by.

I only mention the above because I think the public should read a balanced argument on what is a very real and sensitive subject. @Robin – I genuinely feel sorry that your experience was a very negative one but I think its great you remain passionate about debate and about change which will be the only way forward for the mental health services in this country.

• Oh, more inaccuracies: “until we have a better solution” As if there were no better solutions. Loren Mosher’s Soteria and Finnish Open Dialogue are the most well-documented solutions.

“I agree that the medication has side effects that can be quite severe for some people and extremely debilitating for the patients taking them post discharge but unfortunately it is the best science has given us for now bearing in mind the newer anti psychotic medications are a lot safer and with less side effects than the medications of years gone by.” 1. Science has repeatedly shown that there in fact are ways how to really help people in emotional distress, instead of just shutting them up: Soteria, Open Dialogue. 2. The newer “anti”psychotic drugs have different, not less side effects. They are no safer than the first-generation ones. On the contrary, the life-expectancy of those taking psych drugs has declined since the newer drugs hit the market. They have more severe side effects, and are less safe than the old ones.

“If anything under prescribing in severe acute units is now a concern as assaults on psychiatric nurses continues to rise.” Well, assault somebody in acute distress, with forced “treatment” for instance, and they will defend themselves. That’s psychology 101. If assaults on psych nurses are on the rise, I’d say it’s time for the psych nurses, and the entire system, to take a deep look in the mirror: something might just not be quite right with how you approach the people you claim you want to help. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22268678

• I replied to this message on Sunday but it was removed.

€20,000 was what the hospital milked from my VHI for my stay there.

I was not free to leave as I tried one day, when I did not feel safe, and I was told that I could but that they were free to turn me into an INVOLUNTARY patient! So “incarcerated” is a true reflection of my status in that hospital.

Modern “safe” drugs have lawsuits against the makers in some cases eg Zyprexa and Seroquel. Check out the New York times for articles about these lawsuits. I was sedated for 3 years on high doses of these drugs, until I finally became “enlightened”.

If what you say about the police coming to my house not being the norm, that has deeply upset me, as I know in my heart and soul that I did not endanger my own life or those around me. And I did not resist when they arrived, as I was on the phone to a mental health advocate and was been advised by him. I had made contact with him myself. I am awaiting on a nurse to come back to me to ask about that. And I will also be querying this with the GP. It just proves to me how dangerous the Psycho Psychiatric system is. And the way in which they abuse their POWER when faced with people in emotional distress.

But then I was well used to this all through me childhood. I watched my father been locked away several times from when I was 3 to 13. He was a gentle man and died age 52. Unlike me he never complained. But I now look back at his 20 years of Psychiatric abuse, including electric shock treatment, and see it in a whole different light. I also discovered what and who triggered off his first “episode”. It was partly the bullying inflicted upon him by my uncle. Who happened to be involved in locking me away too! R D Laing would understand this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8-UT3-0_Ms All my father probably needed was some talk therapy. Instead he was stuck on Lithium plus sedating drugs for 20 years. It damaged his thyroid. It seriously damaged my childhood. And it would appear to me that Psychiatry targets vulnerable people in society.

• I studied psychology 30 years ago..had a lot of arguments with the academics over the narrowness of their ‘science’ and their dogmatism. My conclusion was that they are a professional priesthood whose main interest is the furtherance of their own interests by whatever means serves..just like other professions and priestcraft practitioners.
    I got the degree…but by such a narrow margin it torpedoed any chance of work in the field. I managed to get my hands on the final exam papers and confronted them over the illogicality of the commentary on my answers. Ranks closed like a courts martial on a traitor who refuses to see the logic of war. They think a functioning ego(no matter how sociopathic)constitutes mental health. Just because you can conform to a disfunctional society you are fine(witness the use of psychiatric diagnostics in soviet and fascistic regimes, where the ‘normal’ are a pyramid of pathological bullies). I believe our definitions of mental health need addressing. Ivor Browne should have been made a minister with responsibility for mental health…he has a far saner approach. His book ‘Music and Madness’ is well worth reading. Thomas Szasz is also worth looking up(The Myth of Mental Illness)Amazon have copies of both.

• @Marian – You present an argument that is as articulate as it is academic but I sincerely doubt your involvement in a professional capacity in psychiatry remotely resembles my professional experience. Anyway, for now, I’ll be in work tomorrow witnessing the evidence of my opinions with my own eyes! I will read the various links put forth in this discussion.

• “A man sees what he wants to see and disregards the rest”. Check where these “service users” are in 1 year’s time or 4 years time. The brainwashing in Psychiatry runs deep and challenging it is a difficult task.

Making a Killing: The Untold Story of Psychotropic Drugging – Full
      Movie (Documentary)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDlH9sV0lHU&feature=player_embedded#!

• PSYCHIATRIC DRUGS CUT A PATIENT’S LIFE SHORT BY 15 – 25 YEARS!

http://www.drugawareness.org/recentcasesblog/psychiatric-drugs-cut-a-patients-life-short-by-15-25-years

An EXCELLENT article discussing the potential of extreme toxic effects of psychiatric medications upon people’s health! Although it has LONG been known that psychiatric drugs shorten life, few ever discuss it. Rarely have I seen someone, other than myself, speak this boldly about how very toxic these drugs are & the exteme gravity of the potential harm from these drugs! This is an article you will want to read for sure!

It is also an article that I believe every patient taking a psychiatric drug needs to take to their prescribing doctor. It is time for responsibility in medicine!

Short & to the point, but packed full of critical information that all patients & their doctors should have!! I will include for you here just a couple of excerpts from the article to give you an idea of what I mean:

“People who have been labeled seriously mentally ill are dying 15 to 25 years earlier than normal [1], and it is clear that this is largely because of the effects of the drugs they are given.”

“Before proceeding, it is essential to state that I believe that suffering people have the right to try anything to ease their pain, as long as two criteria are met – and they almost never are. Those criteria are:
      (1)The person recommending a treatment must learn about and disclose to the patient everything that is known about the potential benefits and potential kinds of harm that that treatment carries.
      (2)The person recommending a treatment must learn about and inform the patient about the whole array of things that have been helpful to those who have suffered in similar ways (not just the traditional, medicalized approaches but all approaches).”

See the full article here: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/science-isnt-golden/201109/full-disclosure-needed-about-psychiatric-drugs-shorten-life

• And the drugging of children with Ritalin and Equasym must be one of the most scandalous stories of them all. Seeing as it has similar chemical properties to cocaine. Messing around with the brain chemistry of the developing child. I watch a child on a regular basis and it breaks my heart to see what is happening to her. http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/19/opinion/sunday/raising-the-ritalin-generation.html?pagewanted=1&_r=2&smid=fb-share

• “but I sincerely doubt your involvement in a professional capacity in psychiatry remotely resembles my professional experience.” Oh yes, me too, I doubt that! As somebody who’s experienced severe crisis herself, my view of, approach to, and experience with people in crisis probably is a very different one from yours and lots of other professionals. The question is, which view, which approach is the most helpful for the person in crisis? To decide this, I suggest a look at the outcomes: on the one hand, we have the conventional system that understands crisis as brain disease, which it treats accordingly. The outcomes are chronification of the crisis, physical illness, cognitive decline, disability, early death. For the vast majority of the “patients”. On the other hand, we have an approach like Open Dialogue that views crisis as a psycho-social problem, locating the “illness” not in the individual, but in interpersonal relationships, and that, accordingly, doesn’t treat individuals with medical interventions, but the relationships with dialogical interventions. The outcomes are 83% full recovery. And nobody has to be force-”treated”, because the approach respects and values the person in crisis and her definition of herself and her experience unconditionally. Offer people in crisis a kind of help that respects them unconditionally, instead of violating them, and they will accept your offer happily. But don’t be surprised if you have to make use of force, if all you have to “offer” people in crisis is disrespect, oppression, and human rights violations. Nobody in their right mind (!) accepts such an “offer”.

• Pat Bracken speaking in Copenhagen. “Postpsychiatry -Reaching beyond the technological paradigm in mental health” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cV5RKT6Q8qU&feature=player_embedded#!

• Anatomy of a Global Epidemic: History, Science and the Long-term Effects of Psychiatric Medications

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtM1R2CKB30&feature=player_embedded#!

• The Right to Choose

In theory we agree we should have the right to choose yet it is an illusion for most people esp. those who have difficulty finding peace of mind. Is it any wonder that achieving any kind of peace is so difficult when those who are wrongly labelled ‘mentally ill’ are denied the basic human right to choose?

Many of those who think they can ‘help’ have no problem in denying people this basic human/civil right. They believe that they know better and it is their duty to decide to make someone else’s choice even though it might be impossible for them to ‘know better’!

To make matters much worse the power imbalance is so skewed that there is little or no choice when people find themselves in serious trouble. There is one way or no way! Even when there is another way it is so expensive or the only way dominates so much it drowns out more effective solutions.

In spite of this some people have found their own solutions. Yet they are not heard for the most part. Because they are relentless and often give their lives to provide real help to empower themselves and others they are achieving real change in the world. But they are still swimming against the tide! It is time for the tide to turn!

Nobody has the right to force another to do what they think is right.
    !Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive” C.S. Lewis
    http://www.mindfreedomireland.com

• Michelle 19/08/12 #

Robin
    I feel so upset at your obvious distress. Trust me when I say that things do get better. I know this to be true.
    Words fail me,so all I will say is that you should take care of yourself.
    One book I might suggest is ‘neither Freud nor prozac’ I can’t remember who the author is but you may find it helpful.
    And always remember you are not alone in this.

Add New Comment