TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Michael Lowry: Nobody will decide when I leave the Dáil

The Tipperary North TD says he has no intention of quitting – and wants to take Tribunal questions in the Dáil tomorrow.

A defiant Michael Lowry, standing at the plinth of Leinster House this evening, refusing to resign his seat as a TD.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

MICHAEL LOWRY HAS insisted that he has no intention of quitting his seat in the Dáil – and has offered to answer questions on the Dáil record from TDs querying his role in the Esat mobile phone licence.

Speaking to reporters outside Leinster House this evening, the embattled Tipperary North TD again dismissed calls for him to resign his seat in the wake of last week’s publication of the Moriarty Tribunal report, which found Lowry had “delivered” the result of the bidding process for Ireland’s second mobile phone licence to Esat in 1996.

“Nobody will decide when I will leave this house,” a defiant Lowry asserted. “Michael Lowry is not going anywhere.”

The Thurles-based TD – who was returned with a first preference vote of over 14,000 just last month – said he had faced fourteen years of “accusation and innuendo” because of the Tribunal’s operations.

Lowry said he had read the Tribunal’s findings over the weekend, and that “the more I read them, the more incensed I am that any person could put findings such as this on paper without evidence to back them up.

“I want, tomorrow, the opportunity to give my critical analysis to the manner in which this tribunal conducted itself, and to the manner in which it came to findings which are not substantiated in an evidentiary trail”, Lowry said, again characterising the findings as “the opinions of one individual”.

Confirming that he had asked the Fine Gael-Labour government to allot him 50 minutes to make a statement to the Dáil in this week’s debates on the tribunal findings, Lowry said he wished to answer questions with “clarity and precision”.

This evening government chief whip Paul Kehoe told RTÉ News that Lowry would be given two opportunities to speak to the Dáil on the subject; he will make a personal statement tomorrow, when the debate on the report’s findings begins at around 5pm, and another chance to speak on Wednesday after a question-and-answer session with communications minister Pat Rabbitte.

The government benches had offered Lowry 30 minutes’ speaking time, after initially offering just 20. Lowry was one of three independent TDs who did not join the Dáil’s technical group, and instead is reliant on the government benches to guarantee speaking time in the house.

€235,368: Lowry’s massive payoff if he quits politics >

Moriarty’s findings are “grasping at straws”, insists defiant Lowry >

Read next:

Comments (28 Comments)

• Can anybody explain why Lowry, who was named as being corupt by the Moriarty Tribunal, has not been arrested? This lack of accountability is why people are so completly cynical about politics. He should be forced to resign and forego his massive apyoff from the taxpayer. Its completly indicative of how ignorant the populace when the voters in Tipperary elect this crook! Just think of how much these tribunals cost, the time involved and still nobody gets into real trouble.

• The Tribunal didn’t have the power to jail. I don’t think anything can happen until the DPP and the Gardaí now go through the report/claims. Thankfully Mr Kenny has already (apparently) forwarded same to them. So we’ll keep our fingers crossed.

• Couldn’t agree more guys like Lowry make me sick but the idiots who will continue to re-elect him over and over again need theirs heads examined. It’s not just Tipperary, all over the country there is this attitude that these cowboys are some kind of Robin hood figures at local level. However when it comes to arrests there has to be evidence. Despite the millions it cost and the years it sat for, Moriarty came up with little or no evidence in the end. Lots of opinion, belief etc but unfortunately f all evidence. In our great little country you need a lot more than ‘we know you did it’ to get someone into a proper court

• In any other business he’d be f**ked out!!!! Its no wonder we’re the laughing stock of Europe. I thought Russia was corrupt but this is ridiculous.

• North Tipperary electorate is quoted as 63,235. Some 14,104, or 22.3% of them gave Michael Lowry their first preference vote. Meaning 49,131, or 77.7%, did not.
    Tar. Same Brush. Don’t.

• Theres bound to be plenty more dirt on this joker, he was too greedy. Hope he gets jailed pronto.

• Forget Captain Corruption here. There’s many more like him in the Dail pit of shame. This endemic brown paper bag lying, dishonourable curse of power is down to one thing only. The voting people of Ireland. 14’000 of them in Tipperary alone, some of whom threw this piece of shite up in the air in celebration on election night. It’s those same 14’000 imbeciles who should be walking the plank too. They should be heading for Dublin right now on their hands and knees in repentance to throw the stinking fish they gave power to into the Irish Sea…..
    Let him swim to one of his offshore accounts and rot there

Not too strong you think?

• Lowry is a traitor to this country and should rot in jail. I was sure he wouldn’t get re elected just shows the type of idiots we have in this country people who put their local issues above the country as a whole when we needed them most. Shame on you.

• Arrogant b*****d. We will tell you if we want you to leave. We put you there!

• “Did a senior politician act corruptly?”, 14 years, no Gardaí, quarter of a billion €, no one jailed

“Did someone tap senior judge’s phone?”,
    less than 14 hours, Gardaí, definitive no, topic closed

• Absolutely amazed at the three red thumbs my comment got! Are there actually people who think that if the people of this democracy want a TD to go, he shouldnt go?? Are you people for real??

• What an arrogant twat !! He will get his cummupence ! Eventually ! It just does my head in that all the talk of change before the election and it’s the same old same old all over again.

• Deny what can’t be proved and put a spin on what can’t be denied…is the motto of Lowry , Callely et al . For them whats ” legal” and what’s ethical are concepts that reside in separate universes. Can u imagine a working class man before the courts for non payment of a TV licence being given the latitude these parasites have been given? They should be slipping out their cells in the ‘Joy.

• With arrogance like that, I think Lowry has been swimming in the Fianna Fáil cess pool…..oops GENE POOL too long.

• Nobody!!! Did ya hear that Enda, sounds like a dare to me:-)

• Dave never despair there are loads of wank..s out there. Michael Low..y is a complete asshole and should step down NOW, but it seems he still has loads of supporters in his constituency, they must be on mind altering drugs, cos nothing else would excuse such a crazy action as voting for him!!!!

• Eamonom 29/03/11 #

Everyone incensed by Lowry’s behavior and calling on him to resign should , I think, be put wide to the fact that if indeed he did resign his seat (which is highly unlikely – he has a neck like a jockey’s balls) the odds-on favorite to replace him would be….Michael Lowry Jr. yes that’s right – his son who is currently a councillor. I can tell you also, being from Tipp south there are a lot of people in Thurles who are genuinely upset at the actions of this man but are afraid to speak out. There is a palpable sense of fear around there in opposing him and the rest of his cronies. Thurles is not a big town and the Lowry supporters are very vocal and as anyone heard on the radio after the meeting in the Anner on Thursday Night, not afraid to use physical force to back up their point.

• You make it sound like the Sopranos are running south Tipperary. All people had to do was not vote for him. Never vote for him or his son. The truth is .everybody gets a kickback from having this type of politician on your side and people settle for that rather then putting the interests of the country first. Seeing those gobshites that turned to support him was a bit like watching the loyal overly pious cronies that appeared on the Late Late Show years ago to support Father Cleary. .. only to find out later he had two sons . Deny Deny Deny.

• There’s no secret ballot in Thurles?

• Eamonom 29/03/11 #

Indeed they do have a secret ballot in North Tipp, same as they do in Dublin Central and Dublin Central west where both Ahearn and Lawlor were elected. Secret ballots are not the issue. The issue is the climate these candidates can create around them and in smaller communities that influence can be pervasive and insidious. No it’s not The Sopranos but there is a pressure brought to bear on people in the area. TBH I find Lowry as repulsive as the next man, but the rest of the country ganging up on EVERYONE from North Tipp and tell them how they should vote and how they should put the interest of the country before themselves, even though they live in an unemployment blackspot, is just more bullying. Let Lowry be convicted and lose his seat that way. My point was if he resigns, they’ll just hand the seat to his son. They’ll feel that It’s a meeja witch hunt and tat will be the residual in North Tipp from all this. People need to take more responsibility for their own engagement in politics and the direction of the country, but those notions will always be subservient to the immediate local needs of constituents.

• What an arrogant P@$&$!
    He sounds like Mubarak (Egypt) gone, Gaddafi (Libya) on the way out, Bashar al-Assad (Syria) about to go, Ben Ali (Tunisia) also gone. All corrupt leaders who thought/think it is/was their God given right to rule, well democracy and the people had/have other ideas…….GONE/GOING but the people in Tipp obviously don’t want this, they want to be represented by a lying, corrupt, arrogant person???

• Hey RollYourOwn. Any chance you’d roll mine?

• FF and FG are all the same, corrupt in power, Change what change!

• Eire 28/03/11 #

I hope Lowry stays on as a TD as it will be a reminder of the collective responsibility he & members of that Government whom Enda & Pat (Rabbitte whom could not speak at cabinet unless spoken too Heven!) where members off to name but a few , & the then Leader John Bruton whom stood shoulder to shoulder with his embattled communications minister till Gentle Ben took him down (well out of Fine Gael at least) & not to mention the FG donations next General Election we’ll be still talking about this hopefully at the steps of the Central Criminal Court

• Where’s my post gone. Free Speech or no free speech that is the question

Add New Comment