TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

In full: Micheál Martin’s letter to outgoing US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton

The Fianna Fáil leader has written to the departing Clinton expressing his desire for her to return to public office as she is tipped for a presidential run in 2016.

Hillary Clinton with Micheál Martin in September 2010.
Image: Merrion Street.ie via Fianna Fáil

FIANNA FÁIL LEADER Micheál Martin has written a letter to the outgoing US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton as she concludes her time at the State Department.

With US President Barack Obama being sworn in for a second term, Clinton’s long-expected departure will see her replaced by John Kerry in the coming weeks.

As Minister for Foreign Affairs during the last years of the Fianna Fáil government Martin worked with Clinton on a number of occasions including a joint US-Ireland summit on hunger and malnutrition in New York in 2010.

The letter also addresses Clinton’s “friendship, leadership encourage and advice” on issues related to Northern Ireland.

“Given the events of recent weeks, engagement with and reconciliation between communities in Northern Ireland remains a key priority for all political parties,” Martin writes.

He also expresses his desire and that of “many Irish people” to see her return to public office in the future.

Read: Irishman who planned bin Laden raid to be named as new CIA head

Pics, video: Washington gets ready for Obama inauguration

Read next:

Comments (140 Comments)

• Apparently Hilary has already sent a note back reading “Who are you?”

• Quite a classy letter I think. The Clinton’s have always been friends of Ireland. Good to acknowledge that.

• Seems like a nice thing to do, a least he didn’t use Dail stationary.

• Clintons have always been friends to Ireland. Nice to acknowledge that.

• I think are are a number of other things Micheal would be better acknowledging first.

• They have been friends to Ireland, absolutely agree. BUT, they aren’t friends just because of a politicized media bite.

• Also Paul; the next election is three years away.

Don’t assume the polls will always go the way FF want them to. Especially after the Anglo Irish Bank issue which Fianna Fail still have to answer questions.

• Martin should get away so that the banks can take us to the cleaners a second time. This country is more polarized since 1997. The next three years is not going to change that; if anything the division will grow. A look of the 2016 election map revels a very stark division of rich regions and poor regions; poor counties and rich counties; and rich distructs and poor districts. If you are rich in a wealthy county your vote does not really count. This is likely a reason for the very low voter turnout – less than 70% of eligible Irish voted in 2011. For a local election the number drops to less than 50%; and a local budget referendum is lucky to get 10%.

I am not sure about what the solution is but it is interesting that we now effectively have mandatory healthcare insurance, but not mandatory voting. FF offer no credible solutions.

• I have a genuine question for the Journal.ie…..
    Is it now policy to publish letters by party leaders to senior administration members in the US as a metter of course? If so, can I assume, we can expect to see letters being published from all Partys on a regular basis?

If the answer is no, why was this one in particular published?

• Yours sincerely

Waylon Smithers

• Very good, no doubt they became good friends over the course of their tenures as Minister for Foreign Affairs and Sec. of State respectively.

• There is nothing to suggest that, unlike other political and retired leaders from Ireland she did not contact him when she was in Ireland recently. The delusions of friendship are on the one side.

Is there anything to suggest that she does not think of him as a corner boy on the make?

• Ha – just catching up to this discussion now. I’ve 12,500 tweets and 1,500 followers – and I use my real name – I think this disqualifies me as a “bot” ! Pity Journal don’t eliminate purpose built accounts entirely. Using a Klout score might be one credibilty gauge. PS I caught this one over lunch break – I don’t have the luxury of hanging out on here all day every day am afraid !

• Riiiight. So people who don’t use Twitter or Facebook but use their real name shouldn’t be allowed comment.

Interesting perspective. I hope you don’t contribute to policy formation!

• An account setup purely to comment on journal with no other online presence looks a little suss to me. Surely such a regular online type would have some other outlets. Maybe you’re the honourable exception. It’s also worth noting that the journals comments policy automatically excludes anyone behind a workplace firewall – due to the requirement to access FB or Twitter to use it – which are banned from most workplaces. I’ve mentioned this to Journal before as it can be frustrating reading articles but unable to comment – a situation I’m sure many find themselves in.

• James, I am only finished work now. I can tell you though, I work for a large multi-national and I have no probs logging onto twitter or facebook from work. I too, use my own account to log my comments. I must say, i have had soem clangers of comments logged my way by some of your party members, as well as those from Labour and Fine Gael. As one commenter has already observed, i would love to know if you are trying to influence Journal.ie policy? Do you not think you would be better off asking your own party to consider paying back some of the 500 million euro your party, along with Labour and FG ran up during the Tribunals over the last 10 years. Do you not think, you would be better posting FF’s official line on what reparations they intend to make to the tax payer due to the absolute corruption at the core of FF and the other party’s before coming onto this site to try and influence the likes of Journal.ie posting comments from annonymous accounts? Trust me, i have many many comments made at me from annonymous posters, its not nice, but guess what, comments on a news website are not mandatory reading. If you can’t handle them, dont read them. I hope you will respond on the comment i made from MY actual twitter account in relation to the Tribunals monies, and the fact that you guys kept bumping up Taoiseach and minister salaries and compensation packages, which are the highest in the world. Just asking.

• Straight forward question cal. Wonder what response you will get? Lets hope it’s honest and original.

• Cal, the company I work for doesn’t allow FB or Twitter from work. You can go on from your handheld in your own time but its a little more cumbersome, also more time intensive and not something you can do often during the day. If the company you work for has a more open social media policy then good for you. Many other corporates don’t. I gather it’s becoming the norm for corporates to block social media from the workplace network. In regard to your other points I have asked many things of my party in the past, some of which touch on issues you have raised. I’m not going to enter into a protracted debate on them with you here though – these types of discussions consume a lot of negative energy from all parties involved and rarely end well. Suffice to say you raise some valid concerns which I am aware of and have raised in the past. As for influencing the Journal’s comments policy I think the site would garner a wider comments catchment pool and quality interaction if they allowed an OpenId or guest style login rather than exclusively FB/Twitter as is currently the case and I’ve suggested this to the editorial team here before.

• “Very good, no doubt they became good friends over the course of their tenures as Minister for Foreign Affairs”

What makes you think they are “good friends”? In late 2010, the US treasury secretary (a Democrat) personally went against Fianna Fail after their bank guarantee skyrocketed the national debt. That relationship you mention wasn’t as cosy as you claim.

• James, thanks for the prompt response, and i know i am being pendantic, but you didn’t answer any of my points. I asked direct questions, and you have not given me feedback in response. You said i raised some valid points and you raised the valid points to your party.
      What was the response from your party? Have they made any suggestion about repaying some of the 500 million euro? have they made any sort of suggestion that they would support reducing pensions for past Taoisigh down to the EU norms (approx 50% reduction from their current levels). I ask straight questions and i ask for straight answers. Also, i want to know, what are the red-line issues for you personally, in order for me to understand whether or not, you have the best interests of the people at heart. Would you support forcing the likes of Miceal Martin to stand up and explain his role in supporting Bertie Ahearne during his leadership, even though he made comments like ‘people bnegative on the economy should go commit suicide’, given that we have had a 5x increase in suicides in Ireland over the last 5 years (primarily down to the economic situation), or that Miceal Martin supported Bertie Ahearne all the way through a blatant effort at hiding his corruption on National TV. It made us an embarassment to the world.
      How do you feel about inviting Willie O’Dea, Miceal Martin, Eamonn O’Cuiv back into the fold, after they supported selling Ireland Inc out from under the feet of the Irish people. 80,000 people per year are leaving our shores, because of your party’s policy (and continued by FG/Labour … hence i always refer to FG as FFG).
      These are straight questions, and if you give me straight answers, i will respect you, otherwise, i will file you away with other former and current Government members who will deflect honest direct questions away, with true and tried spin and innuendo, while not answering the questions that were asked.

• Great comment, Cal. Keep it up, but please, *paragraphs”

It’s hard to read when it’s in one big lump!

• Thanks Petr, I take the feedback :) I do need to improve my presentation skills. When i start to write my feedback, i post without reading it (honestly its from the heart always). I should send it to myself first on mail, then spell check, grammar check and paragraph as you suggest…

You are 100% right and i would get my point across more succinctly, if i took your advise. Most people don’t to read a large body of text that has no structure :)

• haa haa …’Advice’, not ‘advise’

• FF called for the Mahon tribunal to be sent to the to the DPP and the investigation into those individuals is on going as far as I’m aware. But Cal, if you think political parties should be financially responsible for the actions of those who represent it, I’ll assume your party, Sinn Féin will lead the way and start the “reparations” (as you called them) for the billions that SF and their sister organisation the IRA cost us in absolute terms and indirectly in FDI due to their protracted campaign of terror, targeting Irish citizen and businesses as well as agents of the state itself? Individuals named were responsible for any corruption and they themselves should face trial and conviction in order to repay their debt to society.

As for the bank guarantee, I have no idea what exactly happened that night, who was involved or what influence the ECB had but what I do konw for a fact is that SF voted for it first of all and then, once it realized that it would pass anyway without their support, cynically voted against it at second stage so that they could speak out of both sides of their mouth depending on the outcome. Interest of party over state much?!

You mentioned leadership. Ahern conned the majority of country with his tales. People close to him and those in his cabinet would have found it hard to believe that he would have abused their trust in him too. I assume it’s the same for the SF bright young turks defending their leadership now in the face of serious accusations.

No one was accusing you Cal of being a troll, however Petr and Mark Dalt (possibly the same person) most definitely are fake accounts which are exclusively used to post anti-FF comments here on thejournal. David_Graystone is another one which engages in this practise.

• Eoin,
      I am not a SF member…. i wrote comments on the column piece yesterday that were derogatory of SF. But your comment is a typical response in response to honest hard questions. By the way, challenged one of your fellow oparty members only 2 weeks ago, who suggested that i had dual identities (or in this case, triple identities, and they had to come back and apoligize publicly on Journal.ie, after i proved who i was to them off-line, and i made clear that i would go to the authorities over the seriousness of their allegation (they suggested that i had made some sort of threats under a pseudonym against one of your party colleagues).
      You are exactly the same as FFG… the two parties deflect questions you dont like, by making suggestions that anyone who questions your past/moral compass must be a member of SF. What is wrong with you people. Can you not acknoweldge the harm you are doing?

Here is a link to the article in question, along with a FF member first making suggestions and then retracting everything.
      http://www.thejournal.ie/report-on-magdalen-laundries-to-be-published-soon-747269-Jan2013/

If you guys cannot answer straight questions, you have zero right to make dirty false accusations on this site.

Here is the link to yesterday comment, where i derided SF
      https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?shva=1#inbox/13c5d7601fc6fdef

See the comment that i said that SF are as guilty of playing the troubles card as your party.

Now, an apology would be great, but as we have seen time and time again, FF apologies mean nothing… remeber Bertie saying never again to allowing corrupt people taking over leadership of FF after Haugheys raid on the tax-payer bank account.

• Yes Eoin, “FF called for the Mahon tribunal to be sent to the to the DPP and the investigation into those individuals is on going as far as I’m aware”. Did you guys for the same after Moriarty. you guys set up these tribunals… 500 million euros later … what? They reported and what? Your party, along with FFG and labour were found to be guilty. Will you oplease return the money to us? Or do you think you have a God given right to refuse to pay the 500 million euro? I see your constant supporters liker Pierce 2020 keep going on abut the SF TDs over-zealous use of ink-toner. It equates to 2000 years, yes 2 thousand years (every single year) of over zealous use of ink toner to match your tribunal history. I said yesterday and i say again, SF should consider returning the 30,00 over two years versus the norm per TD, on ink toner use. Please please respond to me on the points i have made.

• Cal you’ve been here for an age, first as Cal Mooney and then with the 1 inserted after you got banned if I recall for some “choice comments” you made and then tried to claim you were hacked. In all that time however you have been a champion of SF policies, SF related articles and have stated several times your intention to vote SF at the next election. You’re on this same Parnell Square strategy of pretending to be some independent concerned citizen that has been “won over” by SF, or going to vote SF “after long thought as the best alternative”. Spare me! Your second link goes nowhere by the way. And even if it did, that proves nothing. I’ve been quite publicly critical of some FF representatives (recently with Sean McEniff) past and present as well as certain policy positions I don’t personally agree with. People who agree 100% with their political party are either deluded or brainwashed, I am neither. (Despite some of the smart ass comments people may like to make).

• Eoin Ó Nialláin:

If you were forced to emigrate, I find it strange how you are a die-hard Fianna Fail supporter. Btw, Clare retailers recently lambasted Fianna Fail policies which decimated local trade.

• Eoin: “Petr and Mark Dalt (possibly the same person) most definitely are fake accounts which are exclusively used to post anti-FF comments here on thejournal. ”

In that case, why do a comment on a whole range of topics here? Y’know, if I’m a ‘fake’ with the sole purpose of posting anti-FF stuff?

You don’t get it do you? Nobody makes it their business to post anti-FF stuff; it’s just that many of us will never forget what you did to our country. We’re still angry.

By the way, I post under my real name. I deactivated Facebook two years ago and don’t really like Twitter as a platform. Doesn’t make me a fake.

• Moriarty concerned the FG/Labour government misappropriation of a mobile phone licence and is current to subject of a court case. It does not involve FF and as it is an on going case and therefore I shall not comment on it any more and would advise others to do the same until the case is over. I might ad that, give the period that Mahon concerned, there were no elected members of the council from SF. I wonder if there were how many may have been involved. None I’d hope…….but that’s all hypothetical of course.

No political parties (consisting of thousands of members) should not be liable for the actions of a small number of members, no matter how prominent they have been. If that were the case, SF should be wound up for the massive scale of damage they have caused this island.

I answered all your questions regarding support for Ahern, bank guarantees, etc. Just because you don’t like the answers, there’s n need to go off in a huff!

• Mark/Petr,

If the retailer came out against SF I’m sure that would make the local news, yet no mention of it on ClareFM, The Clare People or the Champion as of yet?!?! I do recall them welcoming the FF led council’s decision to freeze rates despite central government cutting council funding.

• Eoin:
      ————————————————————————————————————————————————-

Clare retailers recently lambasted Fianna Fail’s legacy of upward-only rents, higher tax rates [to pay for Anglo Irish Bank and its bondholders, the ~€2,800 a WEEK of a pension to Bertie which would take 1456 households to pay for].

Fianna Fail leader Micheal Martin’s refusal to give up his €90,000 pay-off as a former minister in early 2011.

• Mark/Petr
      ————————————-
      Source?

• Eoin, i posted on a DDI column yesterday that i would support them or a party linked to them…
      It was a column you probably didn’t read, because you dont perceive DDI as a threat to you yet. Damn, you guys have zero moral compass, throwing accusations out like there is no tomorrow, if you think it will help defect attention away from FF corruption, duplicity and incompetence. No offense, did you even read the link i posted in relation to a FF member making accusations at me, that if i had gone to the Garday, it would have been national press.

Instead of the personal attacks on me, and general diatribe you put out, accusing every who is anti-FF of being a looney-bin, a terrorist, a moran, a blue-shirt, a union rep…. why dont you look hard into your own party and its membership (past and present) and try to figure out what is wrong with your paty. You guys are no longer the party of destiny and cannot ride over the carcasses of every one else on your way to the Galway Tent. You havent once answered my question about repaying the 500 million euro that your party along with FFG and Labour owe this country for two tribunals that produced nothing but time and cover for all your corruption.

• I did answer your absurd €500mn question above Cal, try actually reading it. The few corrupt people should face the consequences of their actions. Same as those members of all parties that are involved in any criminality. Group punishment for the crime of the extreme minority makes absolutely no sense.

And I did read the other thread you posted. Saw no accusation (as it was most likely taken down in the retraction) but I did see the gracious retraction and apology given due to mistaken identity. National scandal though??? Seriously? Are you mad! A Sinn Féin member was convicted of assult on a Fianna Fáil member in Wicklow and I can’t even find a link to the story on Google but you think a few words on an internet forum would be a national scandal. You couldn’t make it up! Right lads, I’ve got an early start and have wasted enough of my time on ye.

Oh and fyi, there hasn’t been a (perpetually full of journalists filled) Galway Tent for 6 years now.

• You Shinners really need to get a room.

• Make the Clinton’s US ambassadors to Ireland.

• Did Micheal release this himself? Humble as usual!

• Is there any proof that the letter was even sent. It smacks of a giant ego and delusion. All a bit The Skibbereen Eagle warning the Russian Czar that it was keeping an eye on him.

She wouldn’t even see a letter from Ahern or Cowen they are hardly going to inform her of a letter from Bertie’s shoe shine boy Micheal.

• How is this considered news, and how did the journal get a copy of the letter?

• I am flabbergasted at the number of people who think this is a great thing he has done and who are slamming the people who are highlighting MM as a smarmy self righteous groveler. You all have short memories of why you are in the mess at present or else you are civil servants. Or thick of course is the other option.

• lol This thread is up only half an hour and already 4 FF party drones are all over it, lavishing praise on Martin.

They must have an early warning system or something!

• FF bot #1: ” The Clinton’s have always been friends of Ireland. Good to acknowledge that.”

FF bot #2: “Clintons have always been friends to Ireland. Nice to acknowledge that.”

The Failers never were very imaginative.

• Mehole fartin writes begging letter on his knees.

• Maybe the Fianna Failers are planning to use Clinton in their next election campaign. In their 2007 campaign, they used various soundbites from Clinton and a couple of others. To Fianna Fail, it’s basically their “nice guy” antic of getting as many votes as they can.

• I wouldn’t bother reading it, why would she?

• Well done Micheal Martin very nice gesture!!!!

• Very well though out letter on Micheál Martin’s part. Let’s hope Enda and Eamon take the same initiative. The Clintons have gone above and beyond the call of duty for Ireland.

• The Clintons know all about Fianna Fail and their corruption

• Courtesy is timeless. Lets hope we see them both back in high public office in future.

• I agree with you – right up to when you wished Mícheál Martin back into office!!

• Who can forget Micheal Martin’s passionate defending of Ahern during the tribunal and his actions as a Minister. Like many people in Ireland I do not consider Martin fit for the lowest public office in the country, so I can hardly hope to see him have actually power again.

• Lawless is a great name for a FF supporter if you don’t mind me saying.

• Vincent comment of the week. “Lawless” FF

• Ad hominem muchly?

• No, no. Attacking the party you chose, not the name you inherited.

• Where is your argument is the first place?

By the way you show your disdain for the people using latin as a retort. It shows yourself proclaiming to be higher in intellect that those that wish to interact in dialogue with you.

That is Fianna Fáil in a nutshell; they do not speak the language of the ordinary person who has no money, bad health and struggling to make ends meet.

• Latin was once the language of the upper class and the church so famed for covering up abuse of children. Britains greatest spy DeValera was their protector; the church that is.

• “Lets hope we see them both back in high public office in future”

Mr Lawless: Not gonna happen. FF supporters jumping at the latest poll. But we aren’t half way to the next election. There are three more years yet.

FF’s legacy will become apparent once Water charges and property tax kick in to prop-up the Anglo Irish Bank. 32 per cent of GDP from the Anglo Irish Bank legacy. Courtesy of the Fianna Failers.

• You have to admit it is funny James. It is like a FG member being called Jimmy Bigfarmer.

• The big threat to FF for the next election is that court cases and investigations form the Celtic Tiger period may be in full swing. Can a party re-org. if a large section of its membership and leading names are helping the Guards with their inquiries. FF are going to be dealing with criminal investigations for the next 20 years.

As for the next generation, they are the Ahern generation of FF. It is hard to expect much and from what I hear of people that know some of them they are worse than what has gone before.

• Seriously. I learned a smidgen of Latin in the Christian Brothers. Ad Hominem is hardly an obscure phrase online.

• From being called gombeens to being called elitist (or whatever else that last comment was implying) is it any wonder we are sometimes reticent in entering these debates?

• Says the man who told me recently I didn’t tweet enough and in the same thread where it’s been suggested am not a regular commenter (for reasons which I’ve already mentioned btw)

• James, any chance you could respond to my comments in relation to your posts above ….
      I know they are badly broken out, but i would have 10 times more respect for you for answering directly, without spin, the questions i asked than responding to comments abut whether Latin is relevant or not.
      As i suggested above, it well and good for someone to openly declare they are representing a Political party to come on this site, chastising the site for allowing people with hidden names, make derogatory comments against the party you represent, when you deliberately and decisively ignore real people who ask direct honest questions. ie you ignore the real people.
      Hidden accounts mean more to you and other political party members than real people and real questions? Hypocrisy or what? By the way, you posted you r last comment 9 minutes ago, i posed my real questions 45 minutes ago … shows where you and your party’s priority ly (lie).

• Didn’t tweet enough about real issues affecting the Kildare public before and after GE11 James, merely ritual self -back slapping . eg. here is a photo of me delivering a talk to a room , here is snippet of a course I’m studying or look how I balance my hectic schedule so well. Publicly sucking up to the party leader is just too much. Kildare needs strong representation and no party is offering that here. NONE.

• Cal, read my original response to you again. I said you make some valid concerns, (some of which I’ve expressed myself in the past), but I’m not getting into a protracted debate with you about them. Did you miss that statement in my reply? Reason why, it takes a lot of time, a lot of negative energy, it tends to be a circular discussion. I’ve been down this road before. I’ll answer your questions, you will ask some more questions, my answers won’t entirely satisfy and the whole thing will repeat ad infinitum (darn, there’s that Latin thing again, just slipped out). Bertie’s comment on suicide was appalling by the way, as I said at the time. For a man that had so much experience in front of a microphone (and you would therefore expect should no better) it’s amazing some of the things he came out with it.

• Gearoid I wasn’t a candidate in GE11. Am sure would have had plenty to say if I was. You appear to be taking issue with some of my FB/Twitter feed. As you’ve acknowledged in your comments it’s at least as much personal as political. I have a life outside this stuff. If you don’t like it there’s always the unfollow button?

• Fair enough :-)

• I didn’t mean to imply you were a candidate , I meant to highlight that someone who is on The FF committee of 20 and will probably run in GE16 should differentiate between their political and personal feeds. While refraining from self-promotion and pandering to those in a higher position .

• James, is there a single red-line item for you that would prevent you from supporting FF? Even one? please print it for the world to see. You cant answer a single question i asked, and i asked the questions multiple times. Your response, sums up what is wrong at the heat of your party, you do not want to get drawn into a debate on the answers. That is your right and the right of your party. How about we all tajke that attitude about every hard question in our society… Yeah, i dont think that washes James. ‘Sorry, I am not convinced, I am out’, as one of your supporters always to say.

• @james- I would suggest that the fact that your party bankrupted this country and surrendered our hard earned sovereignty is why you are a little “reticent” in engaging. Much like so many of the outgoing FF ministers at the last election, it’s better to keep out of the fight while memories are fresh.

• Who cares . Wikileaks has shown us the contempt this woman holds against other governments . She couldnt care less what he says .

• Fianna Fail – the Irish for “revisionist criminal”

• Opportunist balding knob head, him not her.

• Nice one Micheal,never mind the knockers.

• Micheál Martin and his party should be consigned to the political sin bin for at least a generation. Clinton wouldn’t care less about the letter from him nor from Kenny/Gilmore – Sheisters.

• What an inflated sense of his own importance he must have.

• puke!!

• Hey look on the bright side. The “Thousand Year Reich” only lasted 2 years. We only have to tolerate a grandiose know-nothing for another 14 years.

• Some people commenting here need to seriously catch themselves on. It was a courteous letter sent from the leader of the largest opposition party to a leading political figure in the US that he used to work closely with when he was Foreign Affairs Minister.

If a similar letter was sent by our Taoiseach or another party leader I would find it just as courteous despite being a member of Fianna Fáil.

It’s called politeness or at the very least good diplomatic practice.

• A fitting tribute to secretary Clinton who gave tirelessly to the Northern peace talks and Ireland in General . There is a mutual respect between the sectary Clinton and Micheal Martin who worked well together .

• If your goal is to bolster Fianna Fail, you started off terrible. Like the other FF supporters here; you haven’t been able to address any of the previous points I put to them.

To reiterate: Why did the Democrats veto Fianna Fail’s request after FF’s bank guarantee skyrocketed the national debt. That “mutual respect” you mention wasn’t so cosy.

Add New Comment