TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Martin criticises SF for ‘playing politics’ with Northern Ireland

In his annual Wolfe Tone address, the FF leader also says Enda Kenny has added nothing to the Northern agenda.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive

Updated, 14:10

FIANNA FÁIL LEADER Micheál Martin has launched a stinging attack on Sinn Féin’s role in the Northern Ireland executive, accusing the party of looking to glorify the work of the IRA and dodging calls to apologise for its armed efforts.

In the leader’s annual Wolfe Tone commemorative address to party members, Martin also attacked the government – and particularly Taoiseach Enda Kenny – for reducing its general engagement in Northern affairs.

“It is as best foolish and at worst reckless to step back and believe that the DUP and Sinn Fein are capable of working in the interests of all groups,” Martin charged, speaking to members at the event in Bodenstown.

“They have constantly shown an interest in putting party interests ahead of broader interests.”

The Fianna Fáil leader told members that Sinn Féin had supported a recent welfare bill that had gone through Stormont, but had still tried “to play politics” with its provisions.

“Therefore they pretended to campaign against it and voted against it when it was clear that an Assembly majority was going to push it through in any case,” he said.

As the First Minister Peter Robinson said in a largely unreported speech this week, ‘Sinn Féin wants devolution but they don’t want any of the difficult decisions that come with it.

Playing politics and putting their party interest first is a consistent part of their ideology – something we see every day in the Dáil.

Sinn Féin ‘still glorifying the IRA’

Martin also criticised Sinn Féin for what he saw as hypocrisy of a party that continued to fundraise by selling IRA merchandise – branding the group an ‘undefeated army’ – and glorifying past atrocities, while “refusing to be open about their past or apologise for it”.

The former minister said Fianna Fáil’s own achievements in bringing peace to Northern Ireland were something it could itself be proud of. “No party in Dáil Éireann showed anything like the deep commitment which we showed to getting the process underway and keeping at it no matter what obstacles were thrown up,” he said.

“Unfortunately too many people today think that the work is over – that we can take for granted what has been achieved.  This could be a mistake of historic proportions.

“The Irish government has dramatically reduced its level of engagement with Northern affairs.  Given the effort that went into this process over a very long time by very many people, this sort of disengagement and complacency by our own government is unacceptable.”

Martin said Taoiseach Enda Kenny had attended only “the bare minimum of meetings” concerning Northern affairs and there had been “no push for initiatives to undertake vital anti-sectarian”.

Martin also again called for reform of the Oireachtas “so that the government no longer can strangle debate – and so that we have a second chamber which can ask the tough questions essential for accountability.”

The party’s election manifesto last year had said it would support the abolition of the Seanad “if our proposals for the reform of the electoral system and of government are enacted” – and had noted that two-chamber parliaments “are not an essential part of parliamentary democracy”.

Martin’s criticism of SF is ‘bogus’ – Adams

Responding to Martin’s marks, Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams said his counterpart’s criticism of Sinn Féin was “bogus”.

“The end of conflict, the peace process and the power sharing institutions are among the greatest achievements of modern years,” Adams insisted.

“Sinn Féin on the Executive is attempting, in the absence of fiscal powers, to manage a serious economic crisis and is succeeding much more effectively than Fianna Fáil in government or in opposition has,” he said.

Adams said Martin’s comments “have more to do with his fear of Sinn Féin in the south than a concern about the north”, and said the criticisms he had offered of the Fine Gael-Labour coalition rang hollow because the current government was merely implementing the policies of the previous one in which Martin was a minister.

Read next:

Comments (129 Comments)

• “They have constantly shown an interest in putting party interests ahead of broader interests.”

Is this fella for real? Christ almighty, you couldn’t make it up!

• Go away please! You sat on the cabinet which sold the country and set up the structures which saved your buddies. Please Ireland don’t buy this hogwash – Someone young needs to replace the old guard which ruined this country for generations to come. Then maybe people could listen again.

• If we do a collection, put it in a brown envelope and give it to him with clear instructions to go away it should work. Has there ever been a FF leader that didn’t follow instructions on receipt of an envelope.

• I also see their new members increasing their presence across social media – about 30 of them here with their red thumbs when the truth about Fianna Fáil is said. New Fianna Fáil please – well away from those that destroyed this country.

• That’s very worrying Don if they can’t tell right from wrong. Some are capable individuals but seem to be brainwashed by their idols. Bertie, brian cowen especially in Laois/Offaly, Car park loiterer Michael Martin. Id say a lot of them wouldn’t even know who Sean Lemass was or frank Aiken or even mick davern.

• I’m sick of this you did this they did that political party bull%hit, This countries problems are not down to brown envelopes (they didn’t help the situation ) ,the property bubble was caused by the Euro and the governments inability to raise interest rates to control it. As far as paying off bank bond holders (the second major reason where screwed )that was done by order of the ECB and against the wishes of the world bank and any sane economists .All political parties fully supported the euro and the treasonous bail out !

• A Southern Politician paying attention to the North when it suits them but ignoring it the rest of the time. Now where have I heard that one before?

• Fianna Fail – the party whose founding father put his own interests ahead of national interests.

That aside, since then, Fianna Fail have never but their own interests ahead of national ones… Oh….

• FF… putting party first since 1922!!!!!!!!!!
      Party of destiny anyone???

• They weren’t this Interested in northern politics when the struggle was going on. I think it’s a strategy for them to number 1 get into the north and take SDLP votes, number 2 pick up (feed them promises they cant possibly keep) vulnerable dedicated young republicans in the south and north that have differences with SF and run them in working class areas and number 3 pick up dissidents as possible voting options.

I thinks its a route less strategy that will backfire on them eventually when they know they are put of their dept. they do not have peoples interests at heart.

They want power and will target weaknesses in any opposition. Michael Martin and fianna fail republican. That’s is comical. Corrupt and bereft of dignity. Gemini party. They speak with two tongues.

• I must sort out that predictive text.

• this man is the head of a criminal organisation that should be banned in this country ,when they were in the driving seat all that flourished was whit collar crime and it still does .

• Spot on.

• Oh boy 21/10/12 #

It’s a strategic move by FF to turn potential supporters of Sinn Fein (back) to FF.

And they attack Kenny so as to get former FF followers from FG back to FF.

where are beliefs behind all this? That’s what’s wrong in this country.

• I’m amazed that he even knows where Bodenstown is and who Wolfe Tone is.

Martins constant anti Republicanism statements, indicate to me that the small print Republicans – FF , are still trying to spin themselves out a very big hole – unfortunately for them the hole seems to be getting deeper for them – fortunate though for the rest of us!

He is also obviously afraid of his life of the rise of SF – where most with Republican ideals in his Party have deserted his gombeen Party .

• A good strategy by Northern Republicans would be to give Micheal Martin a big brown envelope stuffed with 50k euro’s. Do that and he’ll turn in to a solid 32 country man and he’ll work his butt off reunification.

If people want to make FF party donations, can you please lodge the money in to his wife’s Dublin bank account. That is what happened with Owen o’Callaghan’s donation anyway, but as Micky Martin said that was how things were done in those days and its all kosher of course.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/03/05/micahel-martin-and-the-mahon-tribunal-report/

For clarification purposes. The M.Martin that met Oewn o’Callaghan with Bertie Ahern in a car park in Cork is not Micheal Martin and FF have confirmed that.

• Newsflash! Party leader criticises other parties! Honestly, how is this even newsworthy? It’s propaganda, pure and simple, and should not be making headlines.

• is it not politics on both sides?what a ploker

• Has anybody else picked up on the hypocracy of somebody using a commemorative speech to score political points by accusing other people of ‘playing politics’?

• The FF amnesia and hypocrisy machine is well oiled and in full operating mode.

“They have constantly shown an interest in putting party interests ahead of broader interests.” says MM, the leader of FF who have constantly shown an interest in putting party interests ahead of broader interests which leads him onto FG who have also constantly shown an interest in putting party interests ahead of broader interests.

• Conal 21/10/12 #

If he really cared, he’d put his party up for election in the North.

• People, be very careful about FF. They still have a huge undercurrent of support who are keeping low for the time being. Wait until election time and I fear FF will make a surge and start rebuilding into the political machine it once was. Martin has built up this image as the guy who knew nothing, who is appalled by corruption etc. He is seen as a good guy and this persona will be manipulated and cleverly forced onto large swathes of the electorate. Write this “cute hoor ” and his cronies off at your peril.

• Fianna Fails Mehole Martin is a parasite who can only fool the die hard over 65 “we rrrise and follow Chaaaarlie ” supporters,he dosent fool the people who live with unemploymnt,negative equity,pyrite,sewage fumes,sinking houses cos of rotten FF councillors interferin plaaning(brown envelopes) and of couse who are footig bill for tribunals,so Mehole is now pretending to be a republican,go away u parasite and let the people in Nrth live in peace/equality and isort out your own mess.

• There is of course one way Micky the Real Republican can prove he really is concerned for the welfare of his northern family.

He can support Sinn Fein efforts to have London grant fiscal autonomy to the Belfast Assembly. That will surely lead to greater independent government for the whole community there.

It would also silence or support those who continually complain about Sinn Fein opposing austerity in the south.

Come on Micky boy -you know it makes sense!

• Fianna Fail or Fianna failed the county and let the IMF in

• “They have constantly shown an interest in putting party interests ahead of broader interests.”

Seriously,Micheál Martin actually said this ??? Oh the irony!!!

• martin is a traitor pure and simple

• JakkiB 21/10/12 #

That poll during the week must have went to his head as he now believes FF are the leading opposition party! Bit of mud slinging might help him even more!?!?! When he holds his own accountable for the treason they have committed then maybe us intelligent people might see that he is sincere in trying to rebuild FF and until they are held accountable I see them no different than leeches!! #CompleteFail

• Martin’s comments “ring hollow” – Adams

http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/24785#.UIP0-fRlIm1.facebook

• Why does anyone give a toss about these clowns who have proven themselves to be so, many times over?

• Take them serious. They are very good at manipulating people and have infiltrated the fabric of society in a negative fashion for the 60 years. You remember the catholic church abuses which dev made sure were swept under the carpet, u remember Charlie Liam Lawlor, ray Burke, callelly, Bertie I Hearn, pee Flynn, Beverly cooper etc. And you remember cowen and giving away our am economic independence.

• because Micheal Martin and the criminals and traitors in FF are still a major threat to Ireland. If they get back in they’ll break and rob this country blind once more, they’ve done it 4 times already. They haven’t changed.

• The political prowess of a 4 year old! Simplistic tactics that must embarrass the back benchers in FF !

• Playing Politics. Eh where have we witnessed this before ah now I remember we have known nothing else here in Ireland politicians have ALWAYs played Politics and they think they are world class they yea at taking pats on the head and the odd kiss or two from the likes of Ms Merkel and Mehooole Martin is no different to the shower that are in at the moment

• Anyone who gives the stock “FF only looked after themselves, destroyed the country” type comment should go back and have a look at the manifestos of other parties for the last 15 years. We elected the government we deserved, right or wrong.

• I’m happy to go with ‘wrong’.

Incidentally, less than a third of voters gave fine gael their first preference vote in the last election, despite the other main political party wrecking our economy beforehand.

• Oh the sweet, sweet irony! They make me laugh, no wait they make me cry!

• A criminal calls criminals “criminals”….wow stop the press’…

• I’m from the north the nationalist population do not have a problem with SF why are ppl on here saying they do any problems in the north are due to the conservative gov in London as has been the case throughout history the conservatives have consistently done there utmost to persecute nationalist in particular SF. SF politicians were risking life and limb for the ppl of the north with no wages or reward long before the glory hunters of FF came along

• We should never forget the contribution SF has made to this country:

Sport
    They introduced baseball into Ireland and help boost the sale of baseball bats.

Employment

• The building industry always gained when a building was bombed.
    • The Funeral undertaker business
    • Arms industry.
    • The prosthetics industry also thrived
    • The car industry gained, cars that are set on fire or blown up need replacing.
    • Flowers and Mass card sales.
    • Stonemasons couldn’t keep up with the production of grave headstones.
    • Woolen industry with the mass production of balaclavas.

I could go on and on about the great contributions that SF has made to Ireland but I think I’ve said enough to make the point that YES Fianna Fail are not perfect but their only crimes were economic mistakes but they contributed so much to Ireland and with all the mistakes they made they never shot, bombed, maimed or murdered a human being in the name of Republicanism.

• “..they never shot, bombed, maimed or murdered a human being in the name of Republicanism. ”

I think you might want to take a look over your 6th class history book there for yourself.

• Stupid comment. You need a history lesson. This comment epitomises Fianna Fail. You Gombeen.

Ever heard of the civil war as one example. Dev hung many republicans.

• Are you for real, you dont even know the history of your party, IRA by night Fianna Fail by day. Thats the way it was for years with Fianna Fail until all the careerist joined the party for a job and quickly out numbered the few decent republicans left in the party. Did you know that when the war was raging in the north that some fianna fail members hid weapons and provided safe houses for republicans who were on the run.
      So enough of your crap about sinn fein, Fianna Fail stand for one thing only fianna fail.
      I am an irish republican and im proud of the Provisional IRA , they made mistakes yes but they took on the british empire and brought them to the table to negociate with the nationalist of the north as equals. Its kind of amusing that Michael Martin critising violence at a Wolfe Tone commemoration. Hypocrites

• you gained a lot yourself from FF membership. The EU parliament is know for its great expenses and salary package. Advising those FF Mep’s is a cushy no.

If you look at any one who defends FF you nearly always find that there is a connection to the party and their pocket.

• @Cllr Provo, you’re proud of IRA? Shame on you, you should educate yourself about the illegal campaign of murder these defeated morans inflicted on this country

• Martin go bk to sleep you clown

• are we sure M Martin isnt just a new script writer for the next series of Scrap Saturday or Fr. Ted?

• I happened to see the clip of the speech one the one o clock news, it was probably his strongest speech in a while and I thought there was much venom in it towards SF. I know there is a big thing about dressing in period costume at some of these commemorations but I doubt that the hats some of the lads had one were around in the time of Wolfe Tone.

• What party?

he doesn’t have one in the north. Remember he practically called Adams a foreigner during the leaders debate at the last elections, when Adams referred to white collar crime and M Martin went ballistic.

I think he might have called Adams a North Brit if he thought he’d get away with it.

• Fianna Fáil played a major part in bringing about peace on the streets of Northern Ireland .. It is recognised by all parties the tremendous amount of work done by FF ministers at very difficult times during the discussions and this must not be forgotten as some people continually try to wipe this from people’s memories by mudslinging at FF .

• Mark, stop making sense.

• Mark, It was John Hume that lead the charge … FF were only taggers on.

• FF (C.J, albert and Bartholomew) went along for the ride.

Hume sacrificed his political party and career as a result. Don’t you dare try and detract from his contribution to the peace and stability of the north. It was nationalist and unionist parties with (DUP) eventually supporting these initiatives that will eventually lead to self determination.
      Back into your box now FF minion. Stick to what your party does best – lies and corruption and jobs for the boys.

• In fairness Albert Reynolds done a lot for the peace process , he had the balls to meet gerry adams and he even asked the Brits when they were leaving the north. I have respect for the man. The rest of fianna fail wouldn’t know we’re the border is. Fianna Fail turned there backs on republicans for years and sanction their interment and torture in the south for years. Martin is a slim ball who stands for nothing but himself and ff, remember he called gerry Adams a foreigner because he is from Belfast. Martin is a slim ball who stood over criminality and corruption. Give him a Browne envelope to keep him happy.

• FF4Sean 21/10/12 #

Gwan Micheal! Lay into them! Good tactic to hilight there failings in the much vaunted peace process.

• And who is he again?

• >Criticise Sinn Féin for playing politics with Northern Ireland
    >Proceed to play politics with Northern Ireland by highlighting perceived flaws in the NI executive (after doing such a wonderful job in government yourself) in order to gain a few more grubby points in the opinion polls at their expense down here
    >Criticise SF for links to physical-force Republicanism at your party’s WOLFE TONE commemoration event; your party being the one that was founded by IRA men and whose ex-leader and other members ran guns for the Provos
    >Polish brass neck

• Ah Caroline that’s rich considering who signs stormonts pay cheques and Baron Adams redundancy .

• Martin is spot on, and by the reactions of some, what he stated hit a nerve. The truth hurts. Not one post debating the points made just the usual, FF in last Government rant.

• He accuses them of glorifying past violence … at a Wolfe Tone commemoration. Because that makes sense?

• If we in Fianna Fáil were more concerned about out party than peace in the north then why did the party do everything in its power to drag Sinn Fein away from the bomb and bullet and entice them to engage in fully constitutional politics?so Adams can carry on selling his “IRA undefeated army” t-shirts but the fact is that without the absolute patience and perseverance of Fianna Fáil Sinn Fein would find themselves in a very different situation today. Fianna Fáil didn’t do that for themselves they did it because they did not want to see any more innocent men women and children murdered on Irish soil.

• Ever hear of censorship? It did more harm to a peaceful resolution than any other action apart from internment in the entire war in the north. It isolated republicans from a political point of view. FIANNA FAIL introduced it. The British must have given a few TD’s the brown envelope with the royal emblem on it to carry out that flagrant disregard of freedom of speech. You denied the nationalist community a voice in the south by censoring key people like Gerry Adams,

You should hang you head in shame. I’m more determined for sinn fein to remain true to the principles in the 1916 proclamation so we never end up like our off shoot failed sister – FIANNA FAIL. Thanks for the extra motivation I need to ensure that I will always stay true to those principles as a citizen of Ireland and a human being. I will never be bought like the rest of you.

• Great, FF fixed all the problems of a provence of the UK
      What about the state they were elected to focus on?

• Fianna Fail could have prevented the war in the north, but instead they abandon the nationalist in the north while the British Army and loyalist mobs burned, shot, tortured people. The people in the north will never forget your lack of action. Traitors

• What about your Donegal deputies, were they on the same hymn sheet?

• Ollie pity key Provos didn’t get the same treatment they dished out to their victims

• One sided as usual.How about the loyalist murderers:(((

• The comment I made wad for @Hugh Conaghan

• Hahaha

Jesus their great for criticising every one else aren’t they?

What good exactly did ye do for our country when ye were in power? Hmmm

Oh ya gave the banks a blank cheque to do with what they like, but it’s alrite cos the tax payer will foot the bill AS USUAL!

What a joke!

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• Cal FF were involved a long time before the cameras arrived on the scene ..

• Fianna Fáil as Mark Power said played a major role in the peace process but no surprise the shinnerbots keep attacking because we are the only viable Republican Party, and let me remind you FF are the leading opposition party not SF. Oppose austerity in the south but have no problem but bring them in the north that’s SF the populist party.

• Have you no shame?
      It was your so-called republican party which engineered systematic secession of sovereignty to capitalist/banking cartels, it was your so-called republican party which bowed to foreign pressure foisting a foreign debt upon the nation and ruining the lives of generations, it was your so-called republican party which gave rise to the cynicism of the population through the mass corruption, cronyism, brown envelopes, and wastage of public money.
      It’s your so-called republican party which has the country both socially and economically bankrupt, your so-called republican party leaders who were culpable in the degradation of our state now live like kings whilst the rest suffer now crawl from under their rocks offering solutions and deriding policies you set in stone, the hypocrisy is astounding.

• Oliver are you a republican? If you were, you would know the 6 counties is subsidised by britain. Now SF/DUP have no say on how much money they get. They have to allocate the money in an equal manner in accordance with their briefs. Are you a FF councillor? I wonder do you know we no longer have fiscal sovereignty ourselves? Don’t blame fine gael, labour, sinn fein, ULA. It was all FF. bunch of self serving traitors.

• He is a member of FF, he has as much shame as he has pride or respect for his country.

• Michael Martin should lead all his cronies in the Dail in singing God Save The Queen. x-( :-||

• You can shoot the messenger, or (regardless of whether you support MM or not) you can take the time to verify his claim. It’s clear to anyone with an interest in NI politics that the assembly is completely dysfunctional. Sinn Féin’s claim that they can’t do anything since they don’t have proper fiscal powers seems rather hollow, when you consider that they haven’t been very effective at using the powers available to them at the moment.

And the south only want to co-operate when it comes to raising VAT on alcohol and other inconsequential things. Yawn.

• I’ve only two questions: why take an interest in the North now when your party clearly permitted the humiliation, slaughter and degradation of nationalists for over 75 odd years?
      Why stick an oar and stir things up when fragile peace exists?

Please answer.

• We have always taken an interest in the north, and never more so during the troubles itself. Under Jack Lynch, the Irish government took a case to the ECHR regarding the torture of IRA inmates. Fianna Fáil also played an instrumental role in the peace process, which prevented not only the slaughter and degredation of nationalists, but of all inhabitants in the six counties.

• “Why stick an oar and stir things up”.

What’s more likely to cause the collapse of this fragile peace – a dysfunctional political system dominated by lying, incompetent, self-interested, ex-terrorists and hate-mongers – or someone calling the situation as it is?

• You Still didn’t answer my second question?

• What situation? As you said yourself sinn fein and DUP has little fiscal powers. Westminster has introduced austerity into the north a long time ago in case you are wondering. the Brits don’t want you up there.

I think FF should be given a chance to go into government in The North. Maybe they will destroy the subsidised economy of the north by traditional methods. The Brits will have no choice but to give the 6 counties back to us. I’d say FF Is that inept it would actually threaten financial stability of the UK. That would be fantastic.

• What’s more likely to cause the collapse of this fragile peace – a dysfunctional political system dominated by lying, incompetent, self-interested, ex-terrorists and hate-mongers – or someone calling the situation as it is?

Good “man” Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh, but we are all well aware what it’s like in Leinster house already.

• The Shinners are worried they thought they had seen the end of FF after the last election, how wrong they were FF Abú.

• Never mind the Troubles etc, 48 percent Child Poverty levels in West Belfast. THAT is Sinn Fein’s legacy.

• Micheal Martin is bang on his assessment of the current state of politics in N I today.the antics of sinn fein is typical self serving but the electorate is fast seeing through their charade.
    The power sharing that has been in place should now move on and let people decide

• You forgot to say “in the current economic climate”. It’s what all fianna failers say in long winded statements. Nice try but your not at the FF national executive grammar level yet. Oliver is there already as is David. Keep trying. Martin: must try harder.

• Just shows your total lack of understanding about the north, the people have been deciding for years . You just dont except their democratic decision. The people in the north vote for sinn fein in big numbers because of what they stand for and their delivery on the ground for people. Michael Martin’s assessment is based on attacking sf for ff gain, nothing else.

• Bit rich for Adams to talk about bogus considering his refusal to accept the truth about his past

• @Ollie how many policy papers have SF published since GE11 ?

• Tús Nua 22/10/12 #

FF have some neck to come out and suddenly have an opinion on the north, after the traitors destroyed the economy ,gave away our soveriegnty and handed our tax money to the banks and walked away with scandelous pensions and benefits they suddenly want to attack the only party thats on both sides of the border, if FF are so worried about the north why havent they spread up there to help bring change

• “They have constantly shown an interest in putting party interests ahead of broader interests”
    This from a Fianna Fail leader!!
    Is this guy for real?

• And there’s me thinking Mr Martin and his minions could not surprise me again.

• It’s great to hear him giving advice on violance and death when his own leader Bertie actually promoted suicide. It says it all about FF.

• And if Enda Kenny was spending more time engaging with Northern issues, Martin would probably accuse him of neglecting engagements with Europe or not focusing on the economy.

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

But Martin is spot on about Sinn Féin, I’ll give him that much!

• I think people would be happy to see enda spending more time engaging with our own issues, instead of answering every question in the dail with a ‘noun-verb-fianna fail’ answer.

A pathetic leader, truly truly pathetic. He should take some responsibility along with the ridiculous salary.

David, was FF talking about SF here, or was he talking about FFg/FF/Labour?

Just asking, because you guys are spending so much time putting out the same message … ie attacking SF etc in order to distract attention away from the royal F*ck up you guys have made of our country, it just beggars belief!

• I find it amusing to see @David Higgins and @Cal Mooney agreeing with each other on certain things in this article! ;)

• As much as I would like to line him up along with ahern, harney, many more F Failers and many other party members and give a good slapping to…… he is talking sense here. There has to be ongoing talks with very strong willed/beliefs people of certain groups in Northern Ireland.

The pot will always be simmering where very different beliefs and politics are concerned. A minister, if not Kenny should be keeping on top of talks with all parties concerned in the North. As for M Martin coming clean with what real dodgy deals went through, until he does own up and tell all, I have no respect for him or Ms. O’Rourke talking like they were ‘great aul times’. a truck load of strong Parazone is needed in the Dail!

• @Sheila …. :D …
      The only thing we are agreeing on, is that using smoke and mirrors to try and distract people away from the issues in the 26 county’s is the dirtiest, lowest and most ineffective way the established party’s can operate ;)

If that inept, ill-informed FF traitor had bothered reading about the NI assembly welfare bill, they would have seen that SF voted against the cuts…
      http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19977525

This annoyed the DUP, who then accused SF (SF are members of the Government in the North) of only voting against the cuts, because they were worried about losing party support.

Like come on, if the cuts are wrong, they are wrong. Voting against cutting welfare is plain wrong.
      FF/FFG/Labour are supporting welfare cuts here in the South in the upcoming budget, This is their first attempt to cut SF in advance of the budget (where welfare will be cut to those that are most vulnerable … eg Home help etc).
      If anyome wants to be hoodwinked by FFg/FF/Labour, and believe the spin they are putting out against SF, then that is their prerogative.

FFg/Labour/FF supporting unforgiveable wage increases for themselves at the expense of the most vulnerable in society since 1922.

• Sheila, by the way … i 100% agree that SF should NOT be selling IRA merchandising etc. I want you to be 100% clear that this is totally wrong in my book, even if it is sold primarily to the ‘Romantic’ emigration families and their descendants in the US.

• And you my enemy are fianna fail. No1 cares what you think. Disappear back down to that hole u crawled out of.

• @ cal1 they’re stirring the pot in the north. I’d say FF would love a repeat of tensions breaking out. Dispicable. They do know real people both nationalists and unionists actually live side by side and relations are fractious in certain areas.

He should keep his mouth shut and let democracy take its course in the north. Self determination without violence Martin. It’s not about votes and covering up the economic treason ypparty are guilty of.

• @ cal1 they’re stirring the pot in the north. I’d say FF would love a repeat of tensions breaking out. Dispicable. They do know real people both nationalists and unionists actually live side by side and relations are fractious in certain areas.

He should keep his mouth shut and let democracy take its course in the north. Self determination without violence Martin. It’s not about votes and covering up the economic treason FF are guilty of.

• Fine Fail, the party that destroyed the economy, and ignored the plight of nationalists in the six counties for decades as they were butchered by the British and indeed aided and abetted the British, as they lined their pockets will demonstrate again why they are sickening hypocrites.

• Glen 21/10/12 #

Tommy, more people were butchered by republican paramilitaries than any other group, including the British institutions of the North.

• Glen,
      The IRA also ‘murdered’ more black and tans and british soldiers and Irish Police during the 1918-1921 conflict. They also killed more civilians, and disappeared many suspected informers.

WAR is a horrible thing. Lets leave our past where it belongs and live in the here an now.
      Not one Political party in the Dail was born out of peace. Labour has a history with SF too, just before you try and rebute it

• Glen 21/10/12 #

Cal1 I know and agree.
      We are all in agreement though I think about the main parties self serving ways. How do we change though?

• No Ollie – everyone is worried, as they all thought they saw the end of you lot after the last election.

you must know that from all the posts above.

By the way, whats all this lark at Bodenstown with the young guys in 1930’s felt hats. Its like the film set on ‘the wind that shakes the barley”

That Micky Martin is one hell of an actor though.

Irony Award of the Week – “Martin criticises SF for playing politics with the north” sure the craic is 90!

• I’m still waiting for an answer from the FF apologists on here:

Will Micheal Martin join with SF in calling on London to grant fiscal autonomy to the northern people and their elected assembly?

Or will that be too republican for him? It’s piss or get off the pot time!

• You would think to hear you Irish tax payer thst you knew something about the IRA all you know is what your right wing gov allowed you to know we went out and started a war for the Craic sure what had we to complain about surely not bloody Sunday you will never know the dirt of the British their torture chambers in gough barracks and castlerea the victims if the shankill butchers the bombing of locations the IRA got the blame for until the uvf were caught red handed and we purposely subjected ourselves to this as a community out of boredom? Why don’t you look up the history of frank Aiken and come back here and tell me all about the murdering IRA they were heros to a whole community of ppl you were not part of thst community do how can you judge now come back with your justification if frank Aiken

• He would want to start looking after his own before looking to other country’s

• Watched it on TV . Need to retire the lot of them. Let new untainted stock through. Try and get some opposition that has some credibility.

• Croiteir 22/10/12 #

What is republican about playing beggar my neighbour with corporation tax? As margaret ritchie said it would allow the north to compete withthe south. I am not for that. I want the north to be in with the south.

Fianna Fail are being hypocritical on a brass neck scale. If they are so concerned about the north they would have entered the democratic processes here instead of retreating behind the border. If it is not hypocracy it is cowardice. They are a partitionists party. They cannot dare speak about the north when they signed articles 2 and 3 away. If the want to end their abstentionist policy stand for elections and see who supports your analysis. Otherwise it is all from the mouth out.

As for Sinn Fein. They too are hypocrites. They could have killed the health bill recently in Stormont and now whine about its consequences. Talk about running with the hare and hunting with the hounds. I no longer support them. They too are a disgrace. What have they achieved? Where are the houses in Girdwood. Where is the Language Bill – for example. Shame Fein and Fianna Failure. Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum.

As for the violence issue. Fiana Fail hae no problems with violence – they are inextricably linked to it. As to are SF. It just depends who is literally calling the shots. With FF it was the good old IRA. and everyone else is wrong. With SF it was the Provies and the dissidents are wrong. Same old Same old. What a pair of hypocritical bar stewards they both are.

• Someone please set up a new centre / centre right party , with no historical links to the civil war , and one that might stand up for the country and stand up to Germany too

• If wishing made it so mate. That is what we need. A fiscally sensible, non-pandering, pro-work, secular, party. One willing to stick up for the people who hold up this country with their hard work….

• We had one called th PD’s , just in case you forgot they screwed the country and got rich doing it.

• The PDs didn’t screw the country. FF did. And managed to blame the PDs. The PDs didn’t get a chance to privatise and cut spending as would have bern their plan, since FF were f*@k buddies with SIPTU.

Now watch the looney lefties go nuts. Cut welfare (or at least change it to necessary vouchers and not cash handouts)… reduce the minimum wage so we are more competitive and so prices come down accordingly…. and more importantly cut taxes to create more customers in the market and reverse the welfare to education spend…

• Paul Anthony ward it’s nothing to the child poverty your labour party has inflicted on the children of 26 counties never mind a small area of 1 city

• Joe Reid 22/10/12 #

Angela, why not ask your friends in Sinn Fein to tell the British to get out of Ireland or is that too republican for them. There is only 1 historical difference between Sinn Fein and Fianna Fáil . FF never decommissioned .

• SInn fein never decommissioned either, they had nothing to decommission. The IRA put weapons beyond use without destroying one gun or bullet. It takes a brave person to put pick up a gun, but an even braver person to drop a gun. Give peace a chance , no need for guns anymore. A united ireland will come through a vote. Equality is already alive and well in the north with nationalist.

• Paul Anthony ward it’s nothing to the child poverty your labour party has inflicted on the children of 26 counties never mind a small area of 1 city

Add New Comment