TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Tight at the top: Only 3pc separates three parties in latest poll

The Millward Brown poll in the Sunday Independent has Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin all within the margin of error.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

FINE GAEL remains Ireland’s most popular political party, according to the latest opinion poll of voter intentions – but there is just three per cent between the top three parties.

The Millward Brown poll published in this morning’s Sunday Independent shows that if a general election was to be held tomorrow, Fine Gael would receive 24 per cent of the vote – down one point from the last poll by the same company.

Fianna Fáil – which had topped the last Millward Brown poll – falls back to second place, dropping four points to 23 per cent, just one point behind its rival.

Sinn Féin’s strong performances in recent polls continue; it is up one point to 21 per cent, and is now just three per cent behind the top party.

Labour, meanwhile, continues its poor form and falls two points to 11 per cent.

Independent candidates and those of other parties command the support of the remaining 22 per cent of voters.

The poll took responses from 983 people – leaving a margin of error of 3 per cent, meaning the gap between top three parties could be even closer.

However, the poll also found that 28 per cent of people had not decided on how they would vote – indicating that there is still plenty of room for parties to try and win extra support.

In an interview with TheJournal.ie, Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams insisted he would lead his party into the next election – saying senior figures like he and Martin McGuinness wanted to continue leading the party through the ‘transition’ that has brought it to power in Northern Ireland.

Read: Gerry Adams: ‘I’ll certainly lead Sinn Féin into the next election’

Poll: Which party leader should be Taoiseach after the next election?

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• The shocking statistic is Labour. Labour may not exist after the next election.

• I reckon that if Gerry Adams stepped down, became party president, and let Mary Lou or Pearce run the show Sin fein might edge ahead. We should get Martin mc guinness down here then and send him to Europe to negotiate haha

• I think if Doherty or Mary Lou we’re leading Sinn Fein the shinners would be at about Thirty per cent

• Just perfectly displays the complete lack of choice we have politically in this country. FF/FG are one in the same…Labour are too small and will be non existant after the next election and SF need a spell in coalition to prove themselves to the Irish people. The time is ripe for a new party that can truely stand up for our interests but that’s wshful thinking.

• Surely we must have the worst calibre of politicians in the world. How in Gods name do most of them get elected? Watching them trying to come across as intelligent individuals makes me cringe. Phil Hogan just has to be the most mentally challenged human being that’s ever been part of a Government anywhere. Then you have village idiot impersonators like the Healy Rae’s. it’s completely embarrassing. And that’s before we even begin to talk about the criminals that sit in Dáil Éireann. That’s a very long list indeed. Mick Wallace admits to grand scale theft, and he’s still a TD! Where else would that nonsense be tolerated? But surely the fact that a complete thick like Lucinda Creighton can become a TD says it all.

• FF screw the Irish peope through corruption and criminality, FG just do it legally. Paddy still gets screwed. 2 Parties that are so staid, outdated and institutionalized that they are incapable of acting in the national interest.

• There’s always a choice. One option is for everyone to not vote. Or to vote for anyone but the main parties. This would wipe out the current corrupt parties and change the political attitude. These guys do not represent the people who voted for them and it would be foolish to vote any of these guys again.

• DDI google them

• I don’t think DDI is the way forward either, putting more direct power into the hands of the general population strikes me as potentially catastrophic. We’re talking about the same electorate who keep voting for Fianna Fáil and Fianna Gael after all.

• I do think it’s great that they are trying something new though.

• We need a new political party, a new approach, with people who are interested in getting things done, who won’t stand for having meetings about meetings, who are not just interested in getting one up on the other party or making cutting remarks about other tds, with people who can think outside the box, a fresh party with members who are not going to be brainwashed molded by older tds who tell them how things work.

• When it comes to elections in this country you have 3 choices, the government, SF or independents. So far I think the government has proved itself to be a useless self serving corrupt prostitute of an institution so anyone who slags off alternatives is either blind or part of what’s rotten in this society.

• Bye bye labour, when you reach your deserved destination say hello to the Green Party!

• The scary thing is how on earth are FF and FG still so pooular considering both parties have had a massive hand in the destruction of this country. It is really baffling considering Sinn Feinn has not had a chance.

• This is the 4th time in my father’s life that FF have bankrupted the country and driven hundreds of thousands of our people on to the dole que and hundreds more to emigrate. Between emigration and unemployment nearly a million people will have their lives changed due to their corruption and incompetence and yet they are still scoring in the early 20% in a poll.

Is it just badness or ignorance that drives their voter base. Traitors.

• Absolutely. Returning Ireland to the markets, getting a reduction in our interest rates, fostering growth, reducing our deficit, stemming unemployment, restoring Ireland’s international reputation while sending the Troika packing and restoring our economic sovereignty….Fine Gael are ruining this country. I don’t know how they can sleep at night.

• Why not give Sinn Fein a chance, the others have burned them selfs to much now.i think there a party for the people and only for the people.we’ll see

• If only to upset the anti-shinners, this is great news.

• bombacho 03/03/13 #

Liarbour party. Payback time ladies and gentlemen. This party has been long forgotten in my head.

• BMJF 03/03/13 #

A new party with a society as well as an economy at the centre would wipe the floor with all of them. Political system in Ireland makes it very challenging to formally register a political party but I’ve no doubt if a true centre-left party started up (not a McDowell right wing one) then we could see a major movement!!

• when will michael martin address the allegations?

• It would be interesting to see a strong leftist party emerge since the two major parties are both conservative right wing. A liberal right wing would also be interesting to see, and could very easily develop with the next generation.

Just a massive shame that the two largest parties are basically the exact same; they just war different coloured ties.

• Proof they are all the same..
    Wasters,liars,scam artists and self serving chancers.

• The question is how do we get this German obeying shower out of government before they do any more damage to us.

• Great to see the people of Ireland are slowly beginning to see that Sinn Féin ate the best way forward for this country. Time for a new focus and fresh faces.

• *are

• New focus, like property taxes and water charges in Northern Ireland?

Spare us the spin, Sinn Féin would be just like the rest of them. At least the present lot know a thing or two about economics and don’t have any links to organisations of questionable legality!

• Fiona change the record. only for sinn fein the body count would still be rising. All other parties have shown themselves to be totally inept. I say give them a chance and let them try their policies out then judge them as a political party instead of “questioning the legality” of the party. FF et al have contributed to a serious amounts of deaths in this country with their cuts and taxes that sent too many unfortunates over the edge. Its time for a change.

• U couldn’t make a good party out of the three of them

• Sinn Féin on the rise. Great to see.

• That to my mind is akin to saying, pox is on the rise, great to see.

• It’s not great. It’s a sad reflection on our politics that people feel the need to vote for a party like Sinn Féin.

• Pretty bold statement Fiona considering all the other parties have basically destroyed this country and put thousands on the poverty line and are in directably responsible for deaths of people due to treacherous polices and austerity.

• So shall we just have a cycle of FF/FG/LAB every few years?

• Yeah and Sinn Féin have never been responsible for anyone’s death…

Austerity is with us whether we like it or not. SF haven’t laid out a credible alternative. They oppose everything but propose very little in return.

Gerry Adams as Taoiseach?

No thanks!

• @itswhatitis- FF destroyed the country. End of. You mightn’t like how Labour & Fine Gael have tried to fix it, but only one party got us here in the first place.

• Fiona,

If the best response you have is ‘Yeah well they were responsible for deaths also’ then you’re not fit to engage is constructive debate. Instead, why don’t you look at their polices, compare them with FF, FG, Labour and then make an informed decision. Personally, my thoughts on the whole situation is that I believe FG have had to take some tough decisions, rightly or wrong, the people will judge them in the next election. I believe this country is on the road to getting back to normalisation, it will take a long time, but baby steps! I do think Sinn Fein have good candidates, but are overshadowed and nearly discredited by Gerry et al. Similar to FG, journey men like Noonan get the nod ahead of people like Peter Matthews, and it’s a shame. But I wouldn’t rule out voting SF in the next election, we’ll see nearer the time.

• One party got us there and another two parties are not only keeping us there but are also making it worse, so if you are going to blame one crowd for getting us there then you have to equally blame the current crowd for what they are doing,

• Chair man,

Well what would you do? And how would you implement them? And if you say ‘Wealth Tax’, how would you make it fair and what level would it be at? A lot people criticise Government polices but cannot offer an alternative, an alternative that is realistic ?

• Yeah and fg opposed every tax break and spending increase!!! Cop on they were all as bad as each other. And no I’m not a member of FF and never voted for them, but I’m not deluded to think that fg are so innocent.

• Shut up Fiona, spurting the same old mantra, it’s old used up excuses you are using and by god I hope to see SF in power instead of your FGouls. Is daddy FG? All the family FG? Are you FG youth? Because NOWONE in their right mind would re-elect these backstabbing cowards to office again never mind the last shower.
      I’d vote the devil in instead, see what he does then I’d have a clear balanced judgement on everyone, THEN I can make an informed decision….. Roll on election time, roll on SF, DDI or SNF….time will tell

• @chairman- substantiate please how Ireland’s economic situation is worse now than it was when this Government took over.

• Michael- Governments govern. They alone are responsible for what happens on their watch. They alone have the instruments of state at their disposal. Enda Kenny doesn’t get to blame any failures of this Government on Micheal Martin being poor in opposition.

• Yes, I would introduce a progressive tax system. I would ensure that policies were primarily for the good of the people living in Ireland before the interests of international bankers and bondholders. I would ensure that the income gap between the highest income earners and the lowest income earners was reduced as this would benefit everyone in the country.

• Chairman,

You need to try harder, could you expand on that a bit? How would this tax system work, rates, how would it be applied ?

• So true FF may have made mistakes but FG/Lab supported them and now FF is returning the favor. The party whip system is a huge part of problem. DDI the new group has only viable solution

• Hello unemployment poverty starvation cuts health education signed up to pay more bonds where have you been are you totally deluded 40 businesses a week closing

• Sol bank – unemployment has stabilised, the cuts you mentioned are because of inherited debts, not new ones and an agreement to cut our deficit signed with the Troika by FF. The promisory note deal merely secured the country better payback terms. The state was already committed to paying them back. You have every right to blame this Government for things they’ve done wrong, but its futile to lambast them over the legacy they inherited. On the other hand, we’re paying less interest on our loans, the Troika is on its way out, our reputation has been restored, employment is beginning to grow, the economy is performing better than the EU average and our deficit is falling. So I ask again- how exactly can it be argued that the Irish economy is getting worse? Facts have to have some place surely in this debate?

• Was at a talk last night with Constantine G and Michael Taft. Both brilliant economists would disagree with you the level of debt we have and the level of personal debt we have is most likely leading to default on sovereign. It is not sustainable.

This country has another few austerity budgets to go through and we have been described as heading down the roads towards where Greece is.

And what is this I hear about your government bailing out a big media corporation in debt of 400 million we the tax payers are giving them 100 million. Ah NO ! Ask your government to disclose details please that’s if my comment stays up ?

• Ryan'O 03/03/13 #

Intrigued adelle….more info

• Adelle wins!

• Whatever happened David McWilliams? He was the economist of choice for the left for so long? You never hear of him any more. Must be paying the price for advising our FF heroes to guarantee the banks. As I recall our friend Constantin was adamant also that we’d need a second bailout. How did that prophecy work out? He’s no Mystic Meg. Given a choice between celebrity economists making a lot of money from promoting “the End is Nigh!” and the broader international community which believes we’re making good progress, I’ll go with the latter.

• He/she who controls the media wins. The Irish are suckers for spin ;)

• Very true.

• Kevin you really have to be told things a few times don’t you, I’m not left right centre, I am an undecided voter. Actually Constantine is Right, Michael Taft is not aligning himself either way.

All their figure were right and I believe them when they say that, this is not the end ,our debt is unsustainable, austerity is not working. These are very intelligent highly trained economists. I believe them.

Judging by what they are saying I think it is SF I will vote for, they would be more up to the job. Alot of negotiating will have to be done in the future.

• all parties are same give them wages and power and they soon forget what they were elected to do

• The margin of error means the gap could also be bigger. If you felt the need to state the obvious, you should have stated all the alternative pollings.

• Getting a little tired of these polls!!! I wouldn’t give any of them a vote if an election was called in the morning! All the same, promises, promises when looking for votes then screw us all over when elected! We need new blood who have the people’s interests at heart.

• Anyone sick of the current crop of failed politicians should look up direct democracy ireland. They are a party only formed last november but one that will give the voters in this country the only real alternative to what we have now. Look them up

• i dont know how ff fg can be in top 3 after the mess they made out of the country are people really that stupid to vote these liars and cheats back in, sinn feinn cant be any worse

• MrKnow 03/03/13 #

And round and round we go, really we Irish are as dumb as s#%t.

• This notion that some new party could just emerge with new faces and characters and would somehow be any different just isn’t taking into account the issue of why every party that takes power or comes close to taking power almost inevitably follow the same programme as those who went before. The real problem isn’t necessarily the parties although that share responsibility, it’s the system! If parties agree to operate within the confines of the system as it currently exists than they inevitably become corrupted by it (Sinn Feinn will be no different as they don’t advocate a systemic change at least not in the immediate term which is what would be necessary) the truth of the matter is that unless we see real systematic change it doesn’t matter who’s in power as they will just do the bidding of the big money interests that run it. Only one party as far as I can see are in anyway serious about addressing this key issue, the socialist party!

• Lack of choice, false promises, unemployment, desperation and Celtic beating Barcelona has lead to this rise in popularity for the shinners. Its a sad day really.

• First among eedjits!!

• Go Fianna Fail. The Irish want you back.

• With a bit of luck f/f will sort themselves out and get back into government

• that is the problem all FF ever do is “sort themselves out”, by giving friends and family jobs, state adviser roles to key party men, overpaying for simple jobs to party men. Facilitating white collar crime in return for bribes and donations.

FF is a non-political party, it is just a free for all at the tax payers expense for its leading members.

• That is what fg and labour are doing in government

• Cwmjm 03/03/13 #

Fianna Fáil still top 2 party have we all gotten amnesia.
    Who increase government spending to the current 70 billions a deficit of 12 billion
    Fianna Fáil appointed the governer I the central bank that did nothing during the banking boom years
    Fianna Fáil was the party that brought In The banking guarantee scheme
    As for Sinn Fein you are talking about people who have been convicted and who authorised the killing of Garda and Irish army and who robbed the northern bank.

• Sinn Féin have almost Communist Policies. They seem to want to take everything off the successful and hardworking. Yet they contradict themselves a lot. They’re against a property tax and in favor of a wealth tax. Ahh.. A property tax is a wealth tax. Most people’s wealth is tied up in their property.

• Idiots

• “Tight at the top: Only 3pc separates three parties in latest poll” – the real headline should be that there is only about a 3% difference in actual policy between the three parties

Add New Comment